Vegan
American
International
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Fusion
Gluten-free

Vegan restaurant chain best known for plant-based offerings with a menu of globally inspired dishes. Beyond Sushi has five locations across Manhattan, offering a full-service dining experience along with takeout and delivery. Reported closed December 2023.


Venue map for Beyond Sushi - Upper East Side
© OpenStreetMap contributors

58 Reviews

First Review by Poundie

mohanaholloway

Points +481

Vegan
15 Dec 2023

so bomb

absolutely divine sushi and atmosphere!!!!!!!! didn’t even snap a picture of the cheesecake. but it was so great! amazing service as well!

Pros: Fun menu, Good dessert , Good atmosphere

BeyondSushiNYC

18 Dec 2023

Thank you for choosing to dine at Beyond Sushi. Satisfying your taste buds is our ultimate goal. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please check out our sister restaurants, Anixi, Coletta and Willow.

Advertisement

lulutmlnsn

Points +235

Vegan
13 Oct 2023

yum yum yum yum YUMMYYYY

ahhh we got the chickn yakitori and my mom who is a new vegan cldnt believe it wasnt real meat haha !! thts how u knowwww^^ !! i loved loved lovedddd the cucumber side tht came w this !! it was soo good ughh i had almst all of it !! i got the broccoli and chickn bowl 4 myself and it was rly good !! i ate everything but the rice bcs i think its called sushi rice ?? i dont rly like the taste / texture but thts totally a personal thing. im sure others like it lots !! and honest id still order it again even w not liking the rice !! the broccoli and chickn were soo yummy !! and omg the pandan cake !!!!! ahhh the frosting was so yummy i loved the citrusy flavor and how it went w the coconut !! the cake sorta tasted a little vanilla - y without pandans earthy sorta flavor which was a little disappointing i think it cldve used some more pandan - y flavor loll ?? idk but id order it again totally !! u can rly tell a lot of thought went in2 the menu here !! thx sm 4 the yummy lunch ill b back^^ !!!

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-13

Pros: yummy so so yummyyyy, quick + kind service !! , pretty inside , the outside doesnt do it justice^^

BeyondSushiNYC

11 Oct 2023

You’ve gone the extra mile to write a good note. We see that and really appreciate it. Friends like you really make this a fun business to be in. We would love to see you at one of our sister restaurants, Anixi, Coletta and Willow.

NWatlington

Points +641

Vegan
25 Sep 2023

Great Vegan Sushi

Still debating wheter if it’s the best vegan sushi I’ve ever had but it’s pretty good nonetheless.

The desserts were 10/10 and so were the Chilli Noodles.

BeyondSushiNYC

26 Sep 2023

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars.

Jayveganeats

Points +74

Vegan
18 Sep 2023

Great Ramen and dumplings

The atmosphere was fantastic. The food was still delicious, and the service was prompt. I did not enjoy the Matcha Affogato, but I did enjoy the Ube Cheesecake.

BeyondSushiNYC

20 Sep 2023

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars.

RichardDeAlmada

Points +38

Vegan
17 Sep 2023

Great fresh sushi

We had the charred avocado and spicy tuna. They were really fresh and delicious.

BeyondSushiNYC

18 Sep 2023

You’ve gone the extra mile to write a good note. We see that and really appreciate it. Friends like you really make this a fun business to be in. We would love to see you at one of our sister restaurants, Anixi, Coletta and Willow.

peasandpeanuts

Points +256

Vegan
16 Sep 2023

Amazing sushi

Super quick service. Had 3 varieties of sushi and all of them were beyond delicious and fresh. Definitely a must

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-16

Pros: Fresh , Clean, Quick service

Cons: None

MichaelWalker

Points +58

Vegan
21 Aug 2023

Best sushi in NYC

I love vegan sushi. I will try it anywhere it exists and this was some of the best I’ve had and for sure the best in NYC. I’m a huge fan of when restaurants replace crab and tuna with imaginative fruits and vegetables instead of just blobs of mystery ingredients. Beyond Sushi does a great job of mixing fresh ingredients and pairing them with delicious sauces. Spicy mang, nutty buddy, and the spicy crab roll were all tasty I wish I could have kept eating more but the other rolls will be conquered next time. I’m the meantime, go support this place. Oh and the server was outstanding. I didn’t get his name but he was super attentive and charismatic.

Pros: Food, Service

BeyondSushiNYC

22 Aug 2023

Hey thanks for that! We promise to provide great food and service and a fun environment all the time. please check out our sister restaurants Anixi, Coletta and Willow. We can’t wait to see you back soon.

StaceyLWood

Points +68

Vegan
27 Jul 2023

Big fan

I've never had sushi in my life so this was new for me. Loved it! Got the rainbow roll right flavors left without feeling weighted down but completely satisfied. You won't be disappointed check it out

Pros: Flavor , Fresh, Satisfied

BeyondSushiNYC

31 Jul 2023

Thank you for choosing to dine at Beyond Sushi. Satisfying your taste buds is our ultimate goal. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please check out our sister restaurants, Anixi, Coletta and Willow.

maharg

Points +51

Vegan
18 Jul 2023

Stick with the basics...

Overall, was a good experience. I wasn't too keen on some of the original dishes but the vegan alternatives for non-vegan disehs were all great.

Pros: Great vegan alternatives to non vegan dishes, Spicy items were actually spicy

Cons: Original dishes were not my favorites, A little pricey

BeyondSushiNYC

20 Jul 2023

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars.

KarooLine

Points +74

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Delicious vegan sushi!

Delicious sushi
Nice choice
Fresh ingredients
Nice stuff

BeyondSushiNYC

03 Jul 2023

We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience. Please join us for a meal at one of our sister locations Coletta, Willow and Anixi.

Char.lotte.anne

Points +40

Vegan
09 Jun 2023

Life Changing

Absolutely delicious, the Ube Cheesecake and the Cauliflower wings were incredible. Wonderful service as well!

BeyondSushiNYC

13 Jun 2023

Satisfying your taste buds is our ultimate goal. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Please check out our sister restaurants Coletta, Anixi and Willow. Have a nice day!

LRS13

Points +255

Vegan
29 May 2023

Amazing Sushi!

The menu options were plentiful, the presentation was stellar, the service was fantastic, and the food was delicious!

Pros: So many choices, Great atmosphere , Well sized portions

BeyondSushiNYC

30 May 2023

Hey thanks for that! We promise to provide great food and service and a fun environment all the time. Please check out our sister restaurants Coletta, Anixi and Willow. We can’t wait to see you back soon.

IsabelaMonteiro

Points +583

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

Great sushi!

Large menu with creative sushi rolls and more - they’re such pieces of art that you’ll eat with your eyes first. Really nice staff as well! Go on lunch time and enjoy the lunch deal for a reduced price.

Pros: Large menu, Creative combinations

Cons: Expensive

BeyondSushiNYC

10 Apr 2023

Thank you so much for your support and your realness.

GoldenLAura

Points +364

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

The best V sushi

We had more than a lunch there during our staying in NY. They have a lot of different kind of sushi and all of them are vegan.
Nice place, good and fast service.
I recommend it

BeyondSushiNYC

06 Mar 2023

Your validation is what keeps us going - we are in the business of being compassionate and your support makes a huge difference. Have a great day!

al30sh

Points +114

Vegan
21 Feb 2023

Mediocre

Maybe it was the sound of the menu, or the vibe in the restaurant, or the price of everything, but we expected a really great vegan sushi meal and we got "meh." I love sushi rolls with black rice, so there were a few great options to choose from. The spicy mango roll was so bland, it was like eating unseasoned rice with some vegan mayo and hot sauce on top. It was like a 2/10 (and I would give the 2 for the black rice, the rest of it was a total miss). The nutty buddy roll/wrap was pretty good, but sort of underwhelming. The rainbow roll looked like fish sushi which was really amazing, but the taste was also quite bland. The one thing we liked was the mushroom roll. We also got a few avocado rolls for my kid and it cost $11 per roll! Big mistake to order that - what a rip off. For upscale vegan sushi this was really a let down!

Pros: Black rice in sushi is always a good base!, Menu has some delicious sounding things.

Cons: Spicy mang roll - bland af!, Most of the food was sort of flavorless and blah, Expensive basic avocado roll :(

BeyondSushiNYC

22 Feb 2023

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars!

Amyladedada1

Points +488

Vegan
14 Feb 2023

Great vegan sushi

I’m glad New York had Beyond Sushi. A really great spot for plant based sushi. With that being I did just have amazing vegan sushi in Vancouver. In comparison I would go to Vancouver. But since I am closer to New York I will enjoy Beyond Sushi and celebrate its existence.

BeyondSushiNYC

16 Feb 2023

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars!

VeganFamilyTravels

Points +1612

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

Great food and service

There was a great choice on the menu. We chose avocado maki, zalmon maki and buttermilk fried chkn bao. Christian the server immediately pointed out that the bao was spicy and asked if that was ok. As we preferred non spicy they added the sauce in a pot so we could choose whether to have it. The service was quick and the food was lovely. #Veganuary

Pros: Completely vegan, Very friendly, Tasty food served quickly

BeyondSushiNYC

10 Jan 2023

Hey thanks for that! We promise to provide great food and service and a fun environment all the time. We can’t wait to see you back soon.

oulajsp

Points +132

Vegetarian
20 Dec 2022

Tasty, classy sushis

This was my first time in an all vegan sushi restaurant. We were two, and ordered three different kinds of sushi to share, because everything just seemed SO good. We had the Rainbow rolls ($16/10 pieces), the Philadelphia rolls ($9/8 pieces), and the Spicy mang ($9/8 pieces).

I was pleasantly surprised by the Philadelphia rolls, as the "zalmon" (fake salmon) and the vegan cream cheese tasted delicious. It was delicate and filling at the same time. I also liked the Rainbow rolls, which are the most expensive sushis of the menu. They were quite big, and the mix of vegetables in the inside really matched the "tuna"/"zalmon" and avocado toppings. The smoked pepper sauce and lemon zest were also very nice and tasty.
I was a bit disappointed in the Spicy mang (brown rice, mango, avocado, cucumber, veggie slaw) because, as good as it was, its taste was exceeded by the sauce, which reminded me of a mayonnaise.
I also asked for a sweet soy sauce, as I don't like the salty one, and was given a delicious one, but I wasn't told it was extra and discovered it on the check.

The athmosphere was very calm, cozy and peaceful (we ate at 2pm, so we were pretty much alone in the room). The two waitresses were very kind and polite. Overall, it was a great meal, and a very nice discovery. I'll probably come back whenever I have the opportunity!

Pros: All vegan sushi restaurant!, Calm and cozy place, Classy, and tasty, but not TOO expensive

Cons: Sauces are extra (except for the salty soy sauce).

BeyondSushiNYC

21 Dec 2022

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars!

KelseyOlsen

Points +299

Vegan
18 Dec 2022

The entire family loved it!

The cauliflower wings and dumplings were the family favorites!

BeyondSushiNYC

19 Dec 2022

Your validation is what keeps us going - we are in the business of being compassionate and your support makes a huge difference. Have a great day!

NayeliAbrego

Points +2261

Vegan
09 Dec 2022

A must!!

Oh my gosh, fully vegan sushi! This was so much fun. All kinds of flavour combinations and different items. The Fried Chick'n Bao was especially good, but honestly, everything is amazing.

Pros: Fully vegan, Delicious flavour combinations, High quality

BeyondSushiNYC

12 Dec 2022

We appreciate your time in writing a review. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a nice day!

Angelfaludi

Points +255

Vegetarian
04 Dec 2022

Very good Japanese rolls

I had three types of Japanese rolls : the Philadelphia rolls (cream cheese, salmon etc.), the rainbows ones (with « tuna » and « salmon » on the top) and spicy mango (with black rice, mango, spicy mayo etc.) and they were very good and filling. My favorite was the spicy mango I think. The rainbows ones were pricier (16$ for 10) but they’re bigger, with more stuff inside.

The waitresses were very lovely! The restaurant has this fancy atmosphere, which is nice. I wish it was a bit cheaper because then I would taste more stuff at once, but honestly we were two and shared three dishes and we were full.

Pros: Very good vegan rolls/sushi, Nice atmosphere and service

Cons: A bit pricey

BeyondSushiNYC

05 Dec 2022

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars!

Fbayarriramos

Points +78

Vegan
20 Nov 2022

Para repetir 😍

Buenísimo! Para volver a repetir sin duda!

Pros: Todo vegano y súper bueno! , El personal muy amable , El ambiente muy agradable

Cons: No puedo decir nada malo, es perfecto!

EsraRice

Points +665

Vegan
06 Nov 2022

Great spot

Great variety of foods on the menu. Potstickers and mushroom sushi I tried were both delicious. They have a good happy hour, as well. Fast and friendly service-thanks Javi!

BeyondSushiNYC

07 Nov 2022


Hey thanks for that! We promise to provide great food and service and a fun environment all the time. We can’t wait to see you back soon.

JohnDundon

Points +72

Vegan
23 Oct 2022

Creative sushi

The sushi and rolls were fresh, healthy, and delicious. The Nutty Buddy wrap was delicious, and healthy - the wrap is lettuce.

Pros: All vegan - no menu decoding needed!, Lots of variety

BeyondSushiNYC

24 Oct 2022

We can always try harder to fulfill your needs. What we plant now, we will have to harvest later. Please come back so we can turn that into 5 stars!

xlycia

Points +218

Vegan
22 Oct 2022

Vegan sushi

Everything here was absolutely fabulous. We had the bao, which were lovely, but the real winner for the sharing plates was the chick’n satay and peanut sauce. I am going to dream about that. We had multiple rolls as well, my favorite were the spicy tuna and the rainbow, but they were all excellent. Definitely would go back!

Pros: All vegan, Good amount of seating

BeyondSushiNYC

24 Oct 2022

Greetings! Hope you are having a cheerful day. Thank you for your kind words - we really appreciate it.

#veganfirefighter

Points +80

Vegan
13 Oct 2022

10/10

The stuff was super friendly, the food came fast and was awesome! We also liked the atmosphere of the restaurant. Its small but nice.

Pros: Awesome vegan sushi, Friendly staff, Food comes fast

BeyondSushiNYC

18 Oct 2022


Hey thanks for that! We promise to provide great food and service and a fun environment all the time. We can’t wait to see you back soon.

TimH.

Points +1104

Vegan
13 Oct 2022

Beautiful, clean, delicious food

Keep coming back until you find your favorite dishes, each offering a unique flavor profile. The only thing this restaurant is missing is Ramen..

Cons: Music is too loud and anticlimactic




This page has been viewed 9361 times.