Convenience mart that sells some ready-to-eat vegan bento boxes (stocked at around 9am Tue-Fri). Located on the 15th floor of the JR Gate Tower in Nagoya station. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Bellmart
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by Aiii

gerrardould

Points +3101

Vegan
17 Feb 2024

Convenience store on 15th floor

Several bento boxes and onigiri

Advertisement

rymc

Points +351

Mostly Veg
23 Dec 2023

It’s a Bento

Generic bentos with soy meat can be found here. Ideal for grabbing before continuing on the Shinkansen to wherever you’re headed.

One discrepancy that’s worth clearing up: they now often lack the “vegan” sign that used to be there, but looking through the ingredients label on the soy meat bento we did not see anything that would indicate animal or fish products being used. If you don’t speak or read Japanese, use your phone camera to translate the ingredients label - and budget an extra 5-10 minutes if you think you’ll need to do this. YMMV if they’re sold out of course, and the obvious caveat that it’s impossible to be 100% sure here. Certainly didn’t taste like it to me though.

It’s also not just this Bellmart that has them: saw the same bento at another location on the ground floor of the station. The one on the 15th floor is generally larger and isn’t as crowded so you’re just more likely to snag one there before they sell out.

Pros: Convenient , Tasty

Cons: Not explicitly labeled

olalke

Points +47

Vegan
30 Jul 2023

Good vegan option if you’re in a hurry

We had a longer break between our trains so we decided to get food to go from here. They had two vegan boxes - a bean dry curry and kabayaki. Would recommend the bean dry curry more though both were really good. We ate them on the train and were happy we didn’t have to be hungry for the trip. The bigger bellmart where we went is on the 15th floor of the JR Gate Tower

Pros: Quick vegan option, Tasty even cold

Cons: A bit hard to find

Mintee

Points +50

Vegan
28 Mar 2023

No vegan bento

No vegan bento at all. They said they don't prepare it anymore. Unclear if it's in general or today.
Was also a little bit hard to find.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-28

Pros: Kind stuff

leashoffoxes

Points +92

Vegan
13 Aug 2022

Really tasty and great value

My second attempt to grab a bento from Bellmart. The first time I went on a Wednesday they were all sold out by 1pm, great to see that they're popular. Came back on a Friday and they had a few left. The bento I bought was delicious and fully packed. Underneath the soy meat was rice and beans, really filling. Mine was 540 yen. Will definitely be going back regularly!

Pros: Super tasty, Such good value

Cons: Sells out fast (also a good thing)

digitalmimi

Points +1794

Vegan
27 May 2022

Vegan bentos on the 15th floor of Gate Tower

They have a small selection of vegan bentos, marked clearly as vegan or “動物性フリー”
Very tasty. I wish the store had a few more vegan options, like cup ramen or bread, but happy to see anything vegan. Bento was very tasty.

Aiii

Points +372

Vegan
01 May 2021

Found vegan Bento box of Grains!

It's an convince store located on the 15th floor of JR Gate Tower sell ready meals and souvenirs. The vegan restaurant Grains started selling their bento box here. I've checked and confirmed with the owner that she only supplies there from Tuesday to Friday around 9am. They are good value and delicious. I absolutely love it! My favourite is Okara-konjac Kabayaki bento(おからこんにゃく蒲焼き弁当)!

Cons: Mostly sells dead animals




This page has been viewed 1665 times.