Vegan-friendly
American
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Asian
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. In 2017 Beelman's Pub in downtown LA changed its concept to providing a fully plant-based menu. Find choices like the impossible burger, fries, hot dog, burrito, and beer nuts with chili. Reportedly no longer vegan as of Dec 2022, added chicken to the menu. Open Mon-Wed 4:00pm-12:00am, Thu 12:00pm-12:00am, Fri 12:00pm-2:00am, Sat 10:00am-2:00am, Sun 10:00am-12:00am. Hours may vary; call ahead.


65 Reviews

First Review by lerussell

schicklindsey

Points +247

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

SO MANY OPTIONS

Wow. It’s so great to be at a bar that isn’t all green and healthy vibes… like this was just a regular great bar, not a dive but dive energy! Food was great. All around wonderful time.

Advertisement

RonDeutsch

Points +46

Vegan
27 Jul 2023

Didn’t know they added meat

Lifelong veg*n wasn’t aware they stopped being all vegan. Ordered an appetizer and wound up eating a real chicken wing. Horrified and disgusted.
Places that start as a vegan restaurant should not change without making very large signs saying that they now serve meat.

VRunner

Points +289

Vegan
23 Jun 2023

Very tasty

I know some reviewers are upset they aren’t fully vegan, but with full vegan restaurants closing recently in Southern California, any place that caters the majority of their menu to vegans should be supported, IMO. First time here. Stopped at lunch at the food came out really quickly. Split buffalo cauliflower with a friend as an appetizer. It was delicious. My main was Viet Nom Nom wrap. So amazing and flavorful. Couldn’t eat it all, good portion sizes. I am glad I finally got to visit this place and hope they find a successful business model that allows them to keep making delicious vegan food.

ChelaLandau

Points +1420

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

No longer a vegan bar :(

Honestly, if I had never been there I would be thrilled to walk into this bar and find so many vegan options. But when they go from being vegan to adding dead cows and chicken wings, it's just so depressing. That on the heels of the vegan bar/restaurant Junkyard Dog closing; depressing.
The bartender says that business is up since adding meat to their menu. They said that people who were not vegan would just drink and that adding meat to the menu has a lot more people ordering food when they drink.
I guess I just don't understand that because there's so much fast food deep-fried stuff here that goes with booze even if you're not vegan.
Ultimately I just wish people were better.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-21

tim_doubleday

Points +274

Vegan
11 Jun 2023

Nice place

When in DTLA this is the place to go. Great cosy pub with food (apparently not vegan anymore☹️)

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-16

rickem

Points +528

Vegan
30 May 2023

Great bar food

Perfect place to grab bar food after drinks in DTLA.

Had a great burger, fries, tater tots, and corn. The food isn’t fancy but it really hits the spot.

Of course I wish it were 100% vegan but my guess is that they added a few non-vegan items to serve their clientele and stay in business.

It’s a shame but their menu is still 80% vegan and I’d rather they stay in business than close so I’m happy to support this place.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-30

kryptonitewhale

Points +240

Vegan
18 Mar 2023

Vegan Pub Food!

Amazing classic american ‘bar food’ gone vegan! Omnivore friends were impressed, and so was I! Great drinks too. Highly recommend the soft pretzel and chick-phil-apino sandwich.

2023 update: no longer vegan, closes kitchen at weird times

Updated from previous review on 2019-01-06

VeganAF4life

Points +26

Vegan
28 Nov 2022

They are not vegan anymore

We were told they added cruelty to the menu with chicken wings and grilled dairy cheese. We called and they confirmed they have added the cruelty. They took a great place that we loved and became like any other place. Bye bye Beelmans

Cons: Turned their back on animals and added cruelty

HelenWong

06 Dec 2022

@happycow please change this place to non-vegan.

vtraveller

06 Dec 2022

Hi Helen, just sent in an update. It'll be adjusted soon 😔

IgorBuenoGurski

Points +200

Vegetarian
01 Oct 2022

Tacos!

The tacos were so good. A must eat if you are there. Wonton Mee bites made with tofu and the sauce it came with, we almost ordered two.

Pros: Lots of vegan, Cold beer

Cons: They have real chicken wings in the menu

mramericano

Points +175

Vegan
21 Sep 2022

Tried to eat the whole menu!

Cool casual vibe, great cocktails and delicious food. They use a lot of beyond chicken and impossible meat - no complaints here!

SingleBlackVegan®

Points +34

Vegan
09 Sep 2022

Yummy-Ness

Fast service. And the Tachos are absolutely amazing! I love the flavor of the Viet Nom Nom wrap. 🌯

badgirlsvegan

Points +2016

Vegan
07 Sep 2022

Great bar

Great vegan food and selection of drinks at a convenient DTLA location

cwl666

Points +1359

Vegan
30 Aug 2022

Very solid pub food and cool atmosphere

Everything was pretty good and we had a really nice time

bssorak

Points +41

Vegan
10 Jun 2022

Loved It!

Such a treat to go to an all vegan restaurant - - sooo many choices it was hard to decide. We had the cheese sticks, taquitos, Korean bar-be-que tater tots, hot dog, loco moco bowl, and kale burgers. Kids say the best reason to ever return to LA is this restaurant. Real pub atmosphere, so sticky tables, etc. but doesn't take away from the great food. Could use a vegan dessert option or two.

SergioAlvarez

Points +22

Vegan
01 Jun 2022

The tacos were good, that’s about it, the burgers were just ok.

The tacos were the best, burgers were ok. Too expensive for the quality.

Nattyy

Points +2226

Vegan
21 May 2022

More than bar food 😍

The food at this place was epic, all fresh, really tasty and big portions, starters and mains huge but not lacking in quality. Great to see a busy bar fully vegan, great to trick your friends as the place does not shout vegan. Highly recommend.

Unibrows97

Points +417

Vegan
02 May 2022

Cool Atmosphere

Not only was the food awesome, the atmosphere was so cool and fun!

mjk

Points +40

Vegan
01 May 2022

Great vegan bar food. Fun atmosphere and very friendly staff

Great food and comfortable atmosphere

mongoose10

Points +639

Vegan
29 Apr 2022

Creative Dive Bar

Since no one else has mentioned this I’ll state the obvious: this is a dive bar, hole-in-the-wall type of place. Like the floors are sticky dive bar. Obviously it’s phenomenal to have any bar go all vegan so that’s fantastic. Food was creative (had the won tons, ceviche and viet nom nom wrap). Skip the salad - so bland (reminder to never order a salad at a bar?). Lots of people mentioned great service but you order your drinks and food at the bar so I don’t have much to say about that. Food arrived quickly, yay. Prices seemed pretty steep for the establishment but that seems fairly standard for LA.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-29

Pros: All vegan (except 1 beer), Quick food, Creative food options

Cons: Pricey

SarahMays

Points +1164

Vegan
21 Mar 2022

Vegan Irish pub

Beelman’s was a fun find in downtown LA. They had lots of choices and the two things we tried were both very good. We also liked the cocktails we got! The only downside was we didn’t want to eat outside because there were a lot of flies on the patio.

Pros: Vegan restaurant with lots of options , Yummy cocktails

LisaSpykers

Points +6742

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Great vibes, great food

We really enjoyed our visit! The food was full of flavor, the portions were well-sized, we enjoyed the music, and the atmosphere was buzzing. Can't ask for more!

CoyBryant

Points +44

Vegan
18 Mar 2022

Awesome all vegan food Irish pub

Great spot if you're downtown LA

jflower5

Points +90

Vegan
14 Mar 2022

Great bar scene!

Went to this place to try the totchos, it’s was good, I also tried the wrap,popular item and it was good, but the location is a turnoff because of parking .

petulance

Points +244

Vegan
24 Jan 2022

delicious

You can get an impossible burger basically anywhere in LA these days, but at only at Beelman's can you get it with pineapple slaw or crispy banana peppers. Really delicious flavors, unique menu!
A little spendy, but worth the occasional splurge. The drinks are great too and even though the ambiance isn't my thing, it's a nice addition to the vegan scene.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-24

EmanyGreen

Points +70

Vegan
18 Dec 2021

Food was great

Beelmans butter bun burger

Pros: Burger was delisssshhhhhh yum!, Enjoyes the atmosphere

Cons: Ask for water never got it

SeitanSeitanSeitan

Points +3072

Vegan
18 Dec 2021

Great bar & tasty food

Very friendly staff made us feel very welcome in our first night in LA. Food was delicious and beer was great. What more do you want? Go there!

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-18

veganin-pty

Points +148

Vegan
25 Nov 2021

Great drinks and food

Everything was bomb!! Service, food and drinks where incredible.

Pros: Vegan menu, Drinks 🍹 and happy hour, Great service

Cons: Difficult parking




This page has been viewed 11785 times.