Barrio Star

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 9 reviews )

Find

2706 5th Ave , San Diego, California, USA, 92103

Serves meat, vegan options available. Modern Mexican food. Uses local and organic ingredients. Casual atmosphere. Marks menu for veg, vegan, and gluten free. Vegan choices including tofu or soy chorizo tacos, a tamal, a bowl. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-2:30pm, Mon 5:00pm-9:00pm, Tue 5:00pm-10:00pm, Wed-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm, Fri-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm, Sat-Sun 11:00am-3:00pm, Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, Delivery, Take-out, Mexican, Non-veg

9 Reviews

First Review by ShantiPeace

LorraineGadsden

Points +679

Vegan
02 Dec 2021

Limited but Tasty Options

I was disappointed they didn’t have tofu tacos, however, the soyrizo tacos were really good. The side or rice and beans came with cheese even though it’s labeled as a vegan dish, so make sure to ask for no cheese. They told me the chipotle sauce was vegan. I wouldn’t say it’s the best vegan option in the area, nor would I probably go again, but it was good tasty especially if you are a soyrizo lover.

imyursister

Points +22

Vegan
14 Mar 2021

Tofu tacos

Overall this I was pretty good. The tofu tacos are good but not anything special. I think the tofu is just cubed & warmed through. It would be better sautéed or fried. The beans & rice were really good. The salsa & chips were also delicious. Next time I will the gfv tamale.

Pros: Clearly marked veg & gf options.

Cons: Tofu prep was a little boring for tacos.

AutumnTierra

Points +1380

Vegan
06 Jul 2019

Good mex food

I liked this place. It labeled vegan options on the menu, as well as vegetarian and GF. There were two vegan options; a taco plate and tamales. They have a cute atmosphere and a good location. I had a jalapeño margarita that was also delish.

Pros: Labels vegan options , Two vegan entrees

Cons: Limited vegan options

Advertisement

DeirdreMick

Points +30

Vegan
07 Nov 2018

Many delicious choices

I would give it 5 stars if it would let me. Lots of vegan choices. Got the Brazil bowl with tofu & soy chorizo tacos. Both were outstanding!

julierosica

Points +28

Vegan
26 Dec 2017

Should be 5 starts but app wont let me

The atmosphere of this place is so cute, great food but can be casual. I ordered the Soy chorizo tacos and it came with black beans on the side, the beans had chipotle mayo on them and when the waitress overheard how i was vegan took the beans back and got me new ones in the matter of seconds. Great costumer service!! Food was mouth watering as well.

Pros: Great costumer service, very fresh food , nice atmosphere

KTabibian

Points +18

Vegan
07 Aug 2017

Great Options, just make sure to ask no cream or cheese on the beans ( if vegan)

Great ambiance, plenty of options. Food was great. Staff was really friendly, would come again :).

DNice88

Points +625

Vegan
02 May 2016

specify no cheese or cream on black beans

Delicious vegan tacos (tofu and soy chorizo)! The taco plates come with black beans on the side but the menu doesn't specify that those beans come with cheese and chipotle cream smothered on top. Unfortunately I got take out and did not realize that until it was too late. Still worth going just be sure to ask for no cheese or cream if you choose black beans! The avocado sauce is confirmed vegan.
Updated from previous review on Monday May 02, 2016

Pros: specific vegan and vegetarian menu options

Cons: black beans come with cheese and cream

magnets

Points +44

Vegan
14 Nov 2015

Great Mexican Food with a Vegan Flair

Visited this place one year after the first visit and even though the menu has changed over time still the best Mexican vegan food in the Balboa Park area. The menu has expanded but the Vegan options did not seem to have followed the trend. The food was still great and priced reasonably well. Definitely a place to go if you are Vegan and in the San Diego Zoo or Balboa Park area

ShantiPeace

Points +496

Vegan
28 May 2015

Gourmet Mexican

I just had an excellent tamale dish with greens, whole grains, beans and two sauces. Wholesome vegan and probably the best tamale dish I've had yet. Also had a cucumber starter dish and an excellent side of guac. All fresh and made with care. A bit pricey, but it is reflected in the organic fresh fare. Atmosphere is simple. Close to Balboa Park

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to San Diego Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Barrio Star closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2979 times.