Vegan
Beer/Wine
Mexican

Trendy Mexican vegan bar by Matthew Kenney, est. 2017 next to its sister-restaurant 00&Co. Open Mon-Thu 12:00pm-11:00pm, Fri-Sat 12:00pm-12:00am, Sun 12:00pm-11:00pm. Sat-Sun Brunch 12-4


Venue map for Bar Verde
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

49 Reviews

First Review by ciphersankofa

RavishingRavenous

Points +930

Vegan
22 Feb 2024

Delicious Vegan Tacos, Loud

Beautiful and delicious vegan tacos. There is often loud music playing, almost like a club. So if you prefer a quiter place, this may not be the place for you.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-22

Pros: Amazing Tacos

Cons: Loud music

Advertisement

scottlovesanimals

Points +259

Vegan
15 Feb 2024

Fun Vegan Mexican

Went for Valentineโ€™s Day and it was packed and really loud. The nachos were great, my spicy enchiladas werenโ€™t too spicy, the mushroom tacos were a bit bland. The cheese was excellent though. Great staff, fun place.

chels2ocean

Points +693

Vegan
18 Jan 2024

Good food and presentation

Tried the Maitake tempura tacos and the quesadilla. Both were good, wish the quesadilla had more of the cheese. Lots of people around me got the nachos so will have to go back for those ๐Ÿ˜

Gopala108

Points +2542

Vegan
21 Nov 2023

High End Vegan Mexican

We went here for a nice date night. Outdoor patio. Summertime in the city. High end Mexican. Service was excellent.

Was a touch pricey yet food was on point. Everything vegan. Really good quality Mexican food that was vegan and only reason am holding back giving it five stars was that was a touch pricey.

Pros: excellent service, good quality Mexican food

Cons: a touch pricey

Tucker333

Points +513

Vegan
16 Nov 2023

Delicious food!

Bar Verde offered an exciting variety of Latin foods, and really nothing we ordered was a miss. If you are interested, the huitlacoche croquets were fantastic, and probably our favorite thing that we ordered. service and atmosphere were fantastic too. Bar Verde definitely lives up to the standard set by double zero and was worth our time. Would 100% go back.

MaryPascale

Points +186

Vegan
19 Jun 2023

Delicious Mexican food

Margaritas and loaded nachos? Yes, please! Check it out you wonโ€™t regret it! ๐Ÿ™‚ this place is outstanding!

Pros: Everything๐Ÿ˜„

jadaruss

Points +1515

Vegan
25 May 2023

Good drinks

Didnโ€™t try the food but the drinks were delicious!

TabithaA

Points +4437

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

Amazing!

The best vegan nachos I've ever had.
Delicious cheesecake
Winner all round.

Pros: All vegan, Amazing food

NayeliAbrego

Points +2261

Vegan
09 Dec 2022

Incredible Latin Food

Being Latina, I grew up with a lot of Latin cuisine... and this place truly brought me back to my childhood. The enchiladas, enmoladas, empanadas, churros... there is so much here that is amazingly delicious. Also, the fact that all the cooks and servers are Latin is kind of the best thing ever. They really know what they're doing ๐Ÿ˜

Pros: Real Latin Food, So delicious, Very high quality

thinkingaboutcows

Points +498

Vegan
05 Nov 2022

love!!

great vibe, great food! prices are reasonable and in a fun area of the city. i got the sangria and jackfruit tacos. i would definitely go back to try more things!

csailor

Points +770

Vegan
25 Jun 2022

Appetizers= amazing, entrees= ok

I've been blown away by the appetizers I've tried but the entrees have not been as great. Nachos are the standout.

KA80

Points +83

Vegetarian
23 May 2022

Tasty

Very different to Adesse in London but same amazing depth of flavours. Loved the mushroom tacos and quesadilla. Really fun atmosphere.

fabienpenso

Points +137

Vegetarian
25 Apr 2022

Good

Had the quesadillas and guacamole on a side. Great service; and great food.

niiccolleee

Points +101

Vegan
05 Mar 2022

Delicious

There is not one negative. Absolutely delicious! Drinks ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿป food๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿป desserts ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿป

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-05

GFGoldenLady

Points +1855

Vegan
13 Feb 2022

Delicious tacos

I went here on a whim with my husband, we were dating at the time. Very very good food. And they had gluten free options!

EXCELLENT spot, wonderful service and amazing cuisine.

GF Cookie Monster

Points +500

Vegan
18 Jan 2022

Great vegan Mexican (completely gluten-free)

If you like Jajaja or V-Spot, you'll love Bar Verde. Nachos, empanadas, esquites (grilled corn...yum!), and many kinds of tacos, featuring things like quinoa, cauliflower and jackfruit. Everything is delicious! It's amazing to have gluten-free dairy-free versions of desserts like flan, cheesecake, and churros. Beautiful decor. There are several vegan Matthew Kenney restaurants on this block, including a pizza place and a pasta place. Given that it's an elegant, sit down place, the prices are justified.

Pros: Everything is gluten-free, Nut-free items marked for those with allergies, Lovely decor

JoshHyatt

Points +460

Vegan
28 Dec 2021

Amazing Mexican Food

The food and ambiance in this establishment is spectacular. The mole is remarkable and the croquettes are something to write home about. If you are looking for vegan Mexican food in Manhattan, do your self a favor and check them out! Great food and wonderful vibe! #Veganuary

veganrunning

Points +566

Vegan
23 Dec 2021

Great NYC Vegan Gluten Free Mexican Food Restaurant

Empanadas, Quesadillas, dessert inspired Flan is DELICIOUS ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-23

Pros: Vegan All Gluten Free menu, Next door to 2 more Matthew Kenney Restaurants, Delicious vegan menu with many options

Coconutsux

Points +129

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Great food.

Enchiladas were perfect. Husband had the burrito. Also delicious. Very busy spot.

davistoofly

Points +62

Vegan
02 Aug 2021

Food was good

Everything was on point with the food
The drink especially margaritas was a lil different taste, maybe it the liquor usedโ€ฆ

Poundie

Points +13006

Vegan
26 Jul 2021

Classy but laid back, on vegan corner

This is a taco &c. place, located right next to two other fine vegan restaurants (Double Zero and Sestina). The restaurant is laid back, great to hang out for a meal and drinks.

The food is waiter served (that is, you don't order at the counter, like a bunch of other places in the area), on dishes with silverware (as opposed to paper plates and plastic forks). The food is excellent; very tasty and well prepared--far superior to taco places in NYC that offer only a couple of vegan options.

Mari4

Points +898

Vegan
13 Mar 2021

Good pandemic eating out experience

Food was excellent. We booked an outdoor table but since there werenโ€™t any available we sat inside by open patio doors. Tables definitely were not 6 feet apart and it felt more full than 35%. Service was extremely slow, but maybe because it was an exceptionally warm night and more peoplw out than normally and they were not prepared or maybe because itโ€™s a small place and cannot fit enough personnel during this excwptional time. I donโ€™t know. What we ate was good and beautifully presented.

felicitasnyc

Points +795

Vegan
08 Nov 2020

Excellent food and drinks

Fabulous and reliable vegan spot by Matthew Kenney. Great margarita pitchers, nachos, burritos! Love to take my non vegan friends as they love it as well! Service is great. During Covid they have a Good amount of outdoor seating available! Highly recommend!!!

Pros: 100%vegan, Fresh, Great ambiance

JeffBrackett

Points +138

Vegan
29 Sep 2020

One of my favorite restaurants

Nachos are a go to!
Burrito is CLASSIC delicious!
Recently tried the Broccoli Tamales and I cannot recommend them enough! Probably my new favorite dish!!

Pros: Good hours, Great food

terrywashere

Points +175

Vegan
25 Sep 2020

Delicious but lacked flavor

I had quite few dishes and I was not satisfied it is also pricey. Bar verde is better

ThePrairieVegan

Points +359

Vegan
21 Sep 2020

The best of the Mathew Kenny restaurants so far!

I have feelings about his shops, but I love this one! The food is great! The Sevice is great. The flavours are on point! I love it! Bravo!

Pros: Good menu, Fairly priced, Great staff

foundationcitizen

Points +54

Vegetarian
20 Sep 2019

Amazing and unique

Really had a gourmet feel, not the usual Mexican faire, each appetizer and main course were clearly very well thought out, and the freshness and taste shined. We had an appetizer that were like small empanadas which were nothing short of stunning, and another dish I think it was an elote corn dish, with very distinct flavors. Truly a great meal all the way around.




This page has been viewed 13123 times.