Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Typical Vietnamese food but has a vegetarian section to the menu. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Bao Anh
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by Aaronr

HàJP

Points +20

Vegan
26 Apr 2020

Great food, great owner

We came here serveral time. We really enjoy food and drink here. The owner is very kind and helpful. He knows what is vegan. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Pros: Cheap, Clean, Great atmostphere

Advertisement

Ventureoflife

Points +503

Vegan
07 Jan 2020

Decent quality and price

Nice Restaurant in the tourist area of Ninh Binh City

Pros: Fresh food, Lots of vegan and veggy options, Friendly personal

Cons: Bigger size is possible

NooraT

Points +150

Vegan
26 Dec 2019

Simple but tasty

We had two tofu dishes(pineapple chili and lemongrass). Both were good and each portion had about 300g of tofu and not much vegetables. If you are not eating alone, I recommend having one tofu dish and another one with only vegetables. Fresh juices are good too. The owner is very friendly.

Pros: Lots of options , Knows what vegan means, Cheap

Cons: The dishes could have more garnish(herbs etc)

Tuulia.

Points +786

Vegan
04 Dec 2019

Fresh and really tasty vietnamese food!

The owner of the restaurant is so nice! He offers free snacks, free fruit (banana), free tea and from 7pm-9pm free beer. He speaks pretty good English and knows what vegan is. He also recommends some dishes. The tofu can be little bit oily but the spices used are perfect. I can really recommend the country style tofu with pineapple, tomato, lemon grass etc.

Pros: really nice owner (+ free snacks and drinks), tasty vegan options, old school hiphop music in the background

Cons: can be quite oily

DuncanMacbethLead

Points +1183

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Nice place

Nice little place in Ninh Binh. Owner was really welcoming and had good chat! A group of four of us shared pineapple tofu, lemongrass chilli tofu and spring rolls. All the food was tasty, with the price and portions being really good.

Free beer between 7pm and 9pm is also a massive plus! Good music as well!

Only downside is not loads of things appealed to me on the menu, but I guess that’s personal preference!

Pros: Good amount of vegan options, Friendly owner, Cheap and free beer

Cons: Serves meat

Tacho

Points +13

Vegetarian
01 Jun 2019

Sehr leckerer Abend

Sehr nette Bedienung, überhaupt nicht aufdringlich, aber gleichzeitig interessiert und zuvorkommend. Haben zwei Biere, Snacks und eine Limonade gratis bekommen. Essen war auch wirklich lecker, nette Stimmung, jederzeit wieder!

Pros: Flexibler Service

Cons: Etwas lautere Musik von den anderen Läden nebenan

oliviagrace

Points +83

Vegetarian
23 Jan 2019

Great food, great owner

We had free beers and snacks while we waited for our dinner. Owner was super nice, food was great. I recommend the fried spring rolls.

theres.k.

Points +16

Vegan
13 Jan 2019

Best veggie experience around Ninh Ninh!

We had a fantastic dinner at this restaurant. Lots of delicious, very fresh vegan options. The owner was super friendly and even gave us some water and snacks for free for our train ride afterwards. They've been serving vegan dishes for many years and cater to your taste. Prices reasonable.

Pros: Excellent food, Good value, Very friendly staff

BenediktMichael

Points +96

Non Veg
27 Dec 2018

Really nice owner, good food!

We went there ( 1 vegan, 1 vegetarian and me (almost vegetarian) - it was a great experience.
The owner was super nice and friendly and gave us a complimentary beer or tea (if beer isn’t your thing).

The food was great!
We had veg pho, rice with tofu and I had the tomato soup with tofu.

Pros: Really good food, Really nice owner, Complimentary drinks

LisyButterfly

Points +33

Mostly Veg
03 May 2018

Would give it 5 stars

Absolutely amazing food and the owner puts himself completely out for you. Gave us complimentary tea and gorgeous juicy pineapple for dessert. We were a group of 7 with various dietary preferences (enthusiastic carnivores and exigent vegans) and everyone was raving about the size and the taste of the dishes! Really highly recommended! We weren’t sure about it at first, because the restaurant opposite was full and this one empty, yet because of the ratings here and Happy Cow we made the leap and were truly delighted! Thank you so much! (vietnamese coffee was excellent and really cheap too)

Pros: amazing owner and who cares for your experience, free complimentary tea or beer (7-9pm), great vegan/veggie selection

sinasamira

Points +69

Vegan
10 Mar 2018

Very vegan friendly!

The food here is delicious and cooked with a lot of spices. Just tell them, that you like it spicy.
The owner is very friendly and speaks good english.
Actually most of the vegetarian food is vegan.
We were also in the vegetarian restaurant but this one was better. The portions are very big and cheap.

Pros: cheap, tasty, very friendly owner

TarekHou

Points +17

Mostly Veg
04 Mar 2018

Happy Place, reopened

Hey guys,
I just came to this place and it actually reopened today.
You have a vegetarian menu wich turned out to be fully vegan. They use vegetable oil and no ingredients like e.g. fish sauce to cook their meals.
The owner Han (hope it's spelled right) is a beautiful character and has good english knowledge so i highly recommend it. Also have a chat with him and enjoy. :)
I tried just simple noodles with veg and the portion was also bigger than expected.
It is a family buisness and the prices are between 40-60k for a meal.

LouisBergemann

Points +46

Vegan
01 Jan 2018

Gem amongst other gems!

This place and the two other places opposite it which also serve vegetarian options all have the best tofu I've ever tasted. Lovely people, lovely atmosphere, big cosy home cooked meals. Best tofu of my life. Highly recommend this town and this restaurant, and if its closed, pop across to the old couple across the road and try a tofu banh mi!

Pros: best tofu in Vietnam, big meals, cheap

Dinasaurus

Points +22

Vegan
09 Apr 2017

best spring rolls ever!

nice food with different vegetables as usual. the veggie springrolls were insanly good and fresh.
delicious!

AlexMarc

Points +205

Vegan
22 Sep 2016

Amazing local service, owner even gave me a ride to train station!

This restaurant was right next to my hostel, and had a big sign saying vegetarian options so I went to check it out.
A lot of places in Asia are a bit sketchy when it comes to wether or not the food is pure vegetarian (for example fish sauce or bone broth in soups), but the owner quickly put my mind at rest with his good English. He and his wife are just so friendly too!
He brought out some free rice crackers and green tea for me as a starter, and free pineapple at the end. Portions are also very big, even the 'small' sizes. Anyway he recommended small, saying the portion is big enough. He didn't try to sell me larger portions. I ended up going back 3 more times because the owner is so nice and food is great and cheap. Really has a local feel.
On the last day I told him it was the last time I'd be eating as I was going to the train station. He told me to come back at 10pm and I can jump on his motorbike and he can take me. At the station he gave me a hug and wished me good travels, and went off really quickly, as if to say 'I don't expect a tip'.
Really recommend this place! Owner restored my faith in Vietnam after experiencing people always usually trying to get money from you.

Pros: Amazing smiley service, Cheap and local, Big portions

Mimoli

Points +289

Vegetarian
04 Sep 2016

Good option

We had spring rolls with rice. Tasted really good. Friendly owner.

TheVeganKettle

Points +18

Vegan
14 Jul 2016

Great food, price and owner

Would have given 5 stars if happy cow let me! The owner (Ha) was super friendly, gave all customers a free beer, and took my friend to a pharmacy that was 1.5 km away. The food was also very good and you had the choice between small or large (but small should do you fine)!

Pros: Lovely owner , Great price , Quality food

Aaronr

Points +85

Vegetarian
19 Jun 2016

great food, friendly staff

I was quite pleased with the service and quality of the food here. Good sized portions, and the owner kept making sure we had everything we need and even offered a few free goodies. Would give 5 stars if Happy Cow would allow it.




This page has been viewed 4975 times.