Lacto
Ovo
American
Organic
Beer/Wine
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant and bar offering food made from locally sourced produced and will accommodate most dietary requests. Soup is always vegetarian and sometimes vegan. Vegans may order dishes like fried tofu skewers with peanut sauce, fried tofu on salad, and stir-fried udon. Ask for the day's vegan dessert option. Previously at 2 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport. Open Tue-Sat 4:30pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Bandaloop
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by zaphod46

SaraNorlin

Points +2869

Vegan
10 Jan 2024

One of the best in Maine

I loved this place! They have so many good vegan options. It's quiet enough to have an actual conversation, the service is good, and the mixed drinks are creative.

Advertisement

veronicajones

Points +305

Vegan
22 Oct 2023

Cozy, delicious vegan

We had a great 3-course dinner tucked upstairs in the loft on a cold, rainy night. It’s a relaxed vibe but the food is really delicious. We had a wilted spinach salad and mushroom fricassee to start, along with excellent cocktails and a loaf of fresh-baked wheat bread. The three sisters stew with masa dumplings and Samoan stew with tofu for dinner — both very tasty. And dessert! Crème brûlée and a spiced apple cake. We were happy and stuffed— and so glad we’d stopped by! Highly recommend — there are actual vegan options, good ones, here!

Lauraistheworst

Points +36

Vegan
02 Oct 2023

A vegan date night? In Maine?

Vegan selections were unbelievably delicious and not the same old boring copy paste vegan offerings. It was so nice to have desert options. Whole restaurant just has a good feel to it, will def be back.

eatfruitnotfriends

Points +36

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Several delicious vegan options!

We were very pleasantly surprised, having struggled to find good vegan options elsewhere in Maine! My partner’s vegan burger was delicious and I had a tofu shakshuka which was so tasty! Other places in the area were ridiculously expensive but here was much more reasonable - about $20 for a main course.

Pros: Friendly knowledgeable staff., Gorgeous place, inside and outside tables., Good, healthy vegan options.

Cons: It gets busy so be sure to book!

beccavinson

Points +494

Vegan
14 Aug 2023

i love bandaloop

every summer my family comes here and it never disappoints. they have plenty of vegan and non vegan options, so it’s a great place to come with non vegan friends and family. The menu changes frequently but the fried tofu with pickled kimchi is amazing!

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-13

Pros: nice vegan options , the ambiance is beautiful!

ceatonrobbgmail.com

Points +144

Vegan
24 May 2023

Incredible Meal

Everything we had was so good. They even label the vegan friendly wines on the menu. I had the pasta special and added tofu (adding baked or fried tofu is an option for almost all meals). My (omnivorous) parents shared a bunch of small plates. They even had a sour made with aquafaba instead of egg whites! Two thumbs up all around!

Pros: So many vegan options!, Very gourmet , Has vegan drinks and desserts!

Cons: Cocktails are a bit strong😉

Sshewokis7

Points +48

Vegan
07 May 2023

One of the best!

Bandaloop is one of the best restaurants in southern Maine for vegan options! I’ve never had an app, meal, dessert or drink I didn’t love. Their menu changes frequently enough too that there’s always something new to try. I highly recommend!

Pros: Rotating menu, Several vegan options

EC5

Points +2088

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

Amazing food

We have been here a handful of times now and it’s always a special treat: literally every vegan option on their menu is absolutely out of this world. Definitely recommend if you are looking for high quality and inventive menu.

MadisonRanta

Points +189

Vegan
08 Sep 2022

delicious!!

a good selection of vegan options and a super cute atmosphere. i got the 4 onion and garlic bisque as well as the tofu skewers. the staff is super knowledgeable about vegan items as well as very friendly. i can’t wait to go back!!:)

Pros: affordable , lots of vegan options

JeanneEarle

Points +60

Vegan
08 Jul 2022

Worth the trip

Traveled over 1 hour to go there and it was worth the trip. Atmosphere is awesome and they had several unusual vegan options for appetizers, main meals and even desserts. They even revised their red snapper special and made it with tofu instead. Everything was delicious and our waiter Ben was attentive and knowledgeable.

ChicaGoPokes

Points +70

Vegan
01 Jul 2022

Vegan variety!

Great place to go with meat eaters, picky eaters, and folks with dietary restrictions. Everyone will be happy and full when they leave. The sushi style rice cakes were absolutely amazing (from the small plates menu). If you consume alcohol, they use Aquafaba for the foam on the cocktails which was an amazing touch.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Lots of variety (new American, Japanese, etc.), Clear labels for all dietary restrictions

KerstinKenney

Points +50

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Excellent spot for all!

I love that they have multiple vegan options here for all courses. I struggled to decide what to order. The cocktails are also really great - and strong! My boyfriend, who is a meat eater, said that this is his favorite restaurant that he has been to, not just because of the food, but also because of the atmosphere. We split the Japanese rice appetizer which was excellent. I ordered the vegan burger (without aioli) and got stone ground mustard instead. I also got the berry cobbler with sorbet for dessert. Everything was outstanding, and I wish that I could rate this spot 5 stars.

emacduff095

Points +302

Vegan
13 Apr 2022

Fresh Ingredients, Creative Dishes

Refurbished barn into a warm and spacious restaurant. Seasonal menu with lots of vegan options. Friendly staff.

Pros: Lots of vegans options , Creative dishes , Cute restaurant space

Cons: Slightly expensive

kathrynvinson.

Points +498

Vegan
13 Mar 2022

great vegan options

my family comes here every summer. my parents love the non vegan options and i love their vegan options. highlights have been tofu, lo mein, and great salads

Pros: vegan options, great food, great vibe

MsBunny

Points +129

Vegan
02 Jan 2022

Great vegan options!

Lots of options for a vegan and non, if you’re dining with non-vegan eaters. Food is delicious and atmosphere is great

Pros: Lots of options

sm4392a

Points +42

Vegan
21 Jul 2021

Great find near ogunquit

Lots of options- not just one- or two.. a plethora. The tofu/ yakitori potatoes were fantastic! Finally felt like I didn’t have to sacrifice everything on my dish!!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Tofu delicious , Not typical vegan options

jayluhx

Points +1462

Vegan
02 Jul 2021

NEEDS 5 stars!!!

This restaurant NEEDS 5 stars. The service, the inside itself (GORGEOUS), the food, the options. Oh my goodness. One of the BEST restaurants I’ve ever been to in any aspect. The atmosphere was stunning, the staff is amazing, so many vegan choices (including several desserts), everything was flavored to perfection. Loved it so much that I’ll be going back tomorrow again. Must make a reservation to get in so definitely do that if you go! A must stop!!!

Update: went back the next day. Service was still perfect, food was so flavorful and amazing. Can’t describe how amazingly exquisite this place is!!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-01

swiley

Points +147

Vegan
13 May 2019

Best vegan food in town

This is easily the best vegan food in town and they just announced that this coming summer will be their last in Kennebunkport. If you haven’t been, you need to try it! The kale salad is SO GOOD.

BuffCreeBarr

Points +74

Vegan
21 Jun 2017

All good

Went as a vegan with two meat eaters. Everyone happy, great friendly efficient staff with above average food both in taste and presentation.

AmybethHurst

Points +67

Vegan
14 Aug 2014

Love this place

I wish I could get there more often. Prices are a bit out of my budget for now, but not unreasonable at all. The food is perfect every time, without fail. Thank you! It deserves "five cows," it's that delicious, but this ste won't allow that since they do have some meat products. But, they are absolutely delicious. Amybeth Hurst, Portland

zaphod46

Points +367

Vegan
19 Jun 2014

Very Flexible

The staff here are very flexible. Most of the dishes can be easily made vegetarian and they even let my wife piece together her own dish from ingredients in the menu. Food was delicious.

Pros: Fresh , Pleasant Atmosphere

Cons: Pricey




This page has been viewed 6010 times.