American
Fast food
Take-out
Fusion

Vegan burger truck serving burgers using beyond, impossible, mock fish, and mock chicken patties. Est. 2020. Check Instagram for specials, locations, and times or call. Check Instagram for date and times. Outside Bob’s Kailua. Open Tue-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm. Check Instagram for any changes to hours.


Venue map for Badass Burgers
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by JTA

myra975

Points +1739

Vegan
23 Jun 2023

Badass Burgers Hawai’i

*New Location: Food truck now outside of Bob’s Kailua.

Parking Options:
• Free designated parking area on property

Dining:
• Ample outdoor seating space with picnic tables

Grinds:
• Thickass - Requested Beyond Meat patty, Violife cheddar cheese, (V)Bacon, (V)Vegan Shrimp, lettuce, tomato, sauce and served on a brioche bun .. flavorful and delicious!
• Badass Chick
Crispy buttermilk Chick’n patty, Violife cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, sauce, chipotle Mayo and served on a brioche bun .. my favorite so far, crunchy!
• Hammah-Burgersteak - 2 scoops of rice, 2 Beyond Meat patties, sautéed onions and mushrooms, potato salad and smothered in gravy .. great portion, full of flavor, and the potato salad was amazing.
• French Fries ordered separately

The owner Kai, was very kind and excited to share his creations with everyone. It was a pleasure to present him with an Excellent Reviews decal. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-21

Pros: ‘Ono grinds, Friendly service , Good portions

Advertisement

static175

Points +398

Vegan
19 Mar 2023

Great Catering

We catered a vegan dinner for our wedding from them and it was amazing. All the omnivores attending the wedding loved it as well. The owner is very friendly and loaned us serving utensils and plates as well. He even added a couple extra pans of food on top of what we ordered no charge. He also delivered it to us which was awesome and helped bring it in and set up. Great experience and next time I'm here I will definitely visit his truck and get some food.

Jadediana

Points +2523

Vegan
22 Oct 2022

Best Burgers Ever!

I’ve yet to find a vegan burger from them that I don’t like. Recently they’ve done a couple of burgers with truffle Mayo and it is impeccable. Their vegan chicken burgers are also incredible if they have them on the menu. Right now they’re doing a bunch of different pop-up events but it’s worth looking at their Instagram to find them. Easily the BEST vegan burgers on island.

Be on the lookout, they just got a food truck and they’re going to transition to being open 6 days a week! Coming soon, but haven’t seen a date yet😄

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-11

sur44life

Points +307

Vegan
01 Jan 2022

Great Food and Service

The best place for fake meat burger or chicken sandwich! I had the Thick Ass burger and my wife had the Badass Chick'n Outlet. Both were above our expectations. The service was great! They got swamped with orders before we arrived, so the food came out late. But, they explained, apologized, and brought us out free mango-lemonaide.

Pros: Good local food made vegan! , Great caring service , Local owned and operated

Cons: A bit pricey, Only open Fri & Sat 10:00-3:00

BrightonMD

Points +1227

Vegan
28 Nov 2021

Decadence thy name is Badass Burgers

Once in a blue moon why not bow to the other side and eat something purely delicious and decadent? Healthy? No. As tasty as hell? Yes!

I had the Korean chicken sandwich with mayo, tomato lettuce and kimchi on a brioche bun. Scrumptious. My daughter had the chicken plate with rice. The battered deep fried chicken is made with thin, large mushrooms. Absolutely great.

Pros: Delicious decadent , Great options, Absolutely phenomenal service and attitude!

Cons: The Hawaiian plate has limited availability

Ms.Jenna

Points +525

Vegan
26 Nov 2021

Not recommended

Great customer service. Had the chicken sandwich and bad ass fries with vegan ranch sauce. Nothing special about fries, just regular fries but I enjoyed having ranch sauce on them. The chicken sandwich was ok, I did not like the Chipotle sauce or the cheese. The sandwich is very large so ask to cut in half. Over all I was more impressed with their customer service than the food. The sandwich was over powered with the sauce and lack flavor. I taste more oil that it was fired in, instead of the plant based chicken

Pros: Good customer service

Cons: No parking, No straws

MelinaSantos

Points +198

Vegan
14 Nov 2021

Must try!

Favorite meal of our trip! Junk food vegans dream lol. I got the chicken sandwich and added bacon and fried onions and it was to die for. We ordered ahead of time because we saw a review saying they might sell out. Also just fyi their website says sold out until they open

Pros: Customizable , Online ordering available

Cons: Expensive , Uber drive from Waikiki , No seating due to covid

VeganUnicorn1

Points +48

Vegan
02 Oct 2021

Best Vegan Hawaiian Food !

I will literally never forget the amazing food I ate at bad ass burgers. I pre ordered my food 3 hours ahead of time so I could pick it up when I was ready & I didn’t risk missing out if they sold out. My boyfriend and I got the sweet Korean chicken. The food was so CRISPY & FLAVORFUL. Pick up only , they will curbside deliver.

Pros: Fully vegan , Authentic Hawaiian food made vegan

Cons: Parking sucks , Can sell out before closing

vegtraveler123

Points +28

Vegan
25 Sep 2021

Amazing place

The food was incredible. It was the type of indulgent, flavored, comforting type of vegan food that made us savor every bite. The meats were so juicy and flavorful, and the sides were just as great (especially the potato salad!)!! Really generous helping, too. They had peanut butter cookies for dessert, and they basically melted in your mouth.

We wanted to go back for a second visit but time didn’t allow it. and the employees were SO sweet and friendly. I feel like we could have stayed all day!

JB14

Points +85

Mostly Veg
18 Sep 2021

BadAss Burgers is BomB!!!

My diet is Gluten Free, Vegetarian/Vegan. Trying to finding a vegan place to eat in Hawaii always brings a chuckle to a Local.

Pros: Lots of Vegan options , Gluten free options , Big portions

Cons: Kinda pricey , No parking , Easy to miss

MeganKnorrHaselkorn

Points +24

Vegan
29 Aug 2021

Friendly staff & even better food!

Small joint that offers vegan burgers, vegan chicken, and fries. I had the badass chicken sandwich and it was amazing! Even better was the friendly staff and even the owner came out and thanked us for coming. Overall, a superb experience. Highly recommend!

Izanowak

Points +542

Vegan
22 Aug 2021

Actually really good

When I saw the prices I was not stoked considering fries aren’t included but it was actually really good and really filling. I got the truffle-ass one and it was a double decker! It was very good and the staff was really kind.

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Expensive , Run out of food so come early, Longish wait

LoganMelton

Points +1245

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

Worth the price

Truly delicious burgers/plates. We were initially shocked to see the price along with the long wait. However, once we received the food our stress went away - the portion sizes are massive and the food is incredible. I had the sweet chicken plate and it was the best chicken I have ever had.

Pros: Large portions, Delicious food

Cons: Expensive (expect to spend around $20)

ZacharyHerreraAllen

Points +18

Vegan
19 Aug 2021

MUST eat at vegan food joint!!

Phenomenal vegan food, the thick ass burger is to die for! Amazing meatless chicken and even better service. The owner came out to see how the food was and he is so nice. This Is a MUST eat at food joint!

scraphouse

Points +36

Vegan
19 Aug 2021

Best vegan burger I've had!

This place is a must! The food is amazing. Best burger I've had. The chicken and Korean chicken was just as good. The owner is so kind and nice. The staff is really great too. Very clean.

ReeseCobb

Points +22

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Definitely fits the name!

I have visited twice this far, and by far one of the best vegan burger joints I have frequented. I will assuredly return to this restaurant when I have that urge for a delicious burger!

Pros: Variety of vegan options , Very friendly staff, Just opened for dine-in

Cons: Not much seating for dine-in

Hubbell96

Points +20

Vegan
17 Jul 2021

Awesome Burgers

This place is amazing! Great burgers and fries. Come hungry portions are huge.

Pros: Vegan, Delicious

Melaz

Points +241

Vegan
20 Jun 2021

Real goood

Tried the burgersteak which was flavorful and so filling. Can eat it for 2 meals!
Very nice people behind the scenes. Will definitely visit again. #supporthawaiian

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-20

Pros: Yum yum yum, Fried onions!

Cons: They don’t have milkshakes. Yet 👀

ttnag

Points +91

Vegan
20 Jun 2021

Badass is right!

Two words, Hammah-Burgersteak. Get it and you won’t forget it.

Pros: Delicious , Good price , Great people

JTA

Points +645

Vegan
25 Mar 2021

Hard to find

I wanted to try their stuff. The place was hard to find. When we finally found it by asking the next door restaurant they told us they were closed. Hopefully they open back up soon.

Cons: Hard to find




This page has been viewed 5002 times.