• Bab Ssour

  • (16)
    22
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Moroccan
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Veggie items include bean and lentil dishes, fava bean and vegetable soups, peppers and tomatoes cooked salad, cooked zucchini salad, various Moroccan salads. Will prepare vegan on request and market availability. Some seating on floor and a terrace upstairs. Located in the medina on the way to the main square, to the left down some steps, nearby Plaza Uta el-Hammam. Relocated from Rue Elkharrazin, 5. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-10:30pm.


Venue map for Bab Ssour
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by RenatoCiammaruconi

SonyaClark

Points +24

Vegan
27 Oct 2023

Delicious and cheap

Our best meal in Morocco loves the range of vegan starters particularly. Food came out extremely fast and the price was cheap! We ordered lots of vegan dishes without issue. Not a touristy place at all

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-27

Pros: Cheap, Delicious, Vegan

Advertisement

Patatine

Points +2430

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Ok food but many options missing

The food is ok and the price us fair. VEGAN options are not so many and today half of them were not there so...
Yeah...
I got tosato and paprika plate for 15 DH

VegiLioness

Points +703

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

Really good affordable option

We went for the Friday veggie couscous special but we went at 4pm and they did not have it. But upon explaining we are vegetarian, the server was helpful with getting us some good food. One was a tasting platter with rice and a lot of different vegetable dishes in small portions, so good!! We also got the lentil and white bean dishes which we ate with the provided bread. We also a Moroccan salad, a second helping of bread and a 1.5 L water and the total was 75dirham. We felt like we got a great meal for a good price and left very full.

Pros: Really affordable, Good variety of veggie and bean dishes, Nice view on top floor

RitaFi

Points +1149

Vegan
23 Oct 2022

Great food

They have great vegan options. Veggie Tajín, chickpeas and most starters are vegan and delicious. Staff is nice and the view in the terrace is super cool.

Pros: Not expensive , Variety of vegan Moroccan food

VeganMrsM

Points +63

Vegan
21 Nov 2019

Delicious Moroccan food

Cosy family run restaurant. Had the lentils and harira soup, both delicious. Lentils were earthy, flavoursome and a good portion size.

Pros: Cheap!

Antisystem

Points +176

Vegan
16 Nov 2019

Would recommend it

We chose this place because of many good reviews on Happy Cow. However we were disappointed and had to leave: staff new nothing about veganism and only one of them good speak English. He said «Vegan food? Yes, of course, we have vegan food. Would you like meat? Oh, you don’t like meat?”. And we also didn’t like the atmosphere there. No labels for the vegan options on the menu. I definitely wouldn’t recommend anyone to go there, there are 2-3 other places in the city with nice vegan options.

Walterwide

Points +1943

Vegan
06 Oct 2019

The best place!

Lovely environment friendly staff and the tastiest food. Definitely one of my favorite food, I have been there many times in the past three years and I had on of the best food ever. Many vegan dishes, all of them are very special and so delicious. Oh, I can’t wait to go back and dive once again in their amazing food.

Moonbow

Points +235

Vegan
27 Sep 2019

Bab ssour

The staff here are so friendly, and welcoming. While the vegan options are not labeled they speak excellent English, as well as many other languages to help you navigate the menu.

Vegetable couscous is offered Friday. Vegetable tagline, of course. My favorite was the malva and green zucchini. Although frankly everything we tried there was delicious.

Lentils, chickpeas, white beans, red beans, pumpkin, eggplant, harira, Moroccan salad, tomato & red peppers, everything so good. Paired with the olives and bread, I always walked out full and happy.

Pros: Delicious, Many options, Friendly staff

Cons: Can get very busy

Fricka

Points +1304

Vegan
18 Jan 2019

A truly nice place for tourists...

... That does not try to pull you off the street. Nice interior, English spoken and many intetesting plant dishes - lentils, beans etc in different sauces and herbs. Prices are great, too. I had soup, three types of plants with bread, olives and tea for 55 MAD.

Thomaslt

Points +16

Vegan
29 Dec 2018

Food was okay, nothing special

The waiter showed me the items on the menu that were vegan. I had the vegetable tagine which was basically just potatoes, carrot and chickpeas. For what it was it was fine. It was really busy so the service took a while.

Pros: Nice vibe, Helpful staff, Good ingredients

Cons: Simple dishes, Small portions, Crowded

thelifeofpie

Points +172

Vegan
22 Oct 2018

Best food I’ve had in Morocco

This was probably the only place I felt comfortable that they didn’t use animal products in my food.
Great staff. Accommodated me very nicely.

Pros: Great food, Excellent prices

Cons: A little hard to find but worth it

TroelsBergstrøm

Points +67

Vegan
24 Feb 2018

Nice and local feeling

I liked that They have more than just tagine- also soup and lots of different extras. They offer to mix up a full dinner for you - and they cook different things each day so stay open minded.

raeyurei

Points +33

Vegan
20 Mar 2017

Vibrant restaurant with vegan choices

The only vegan that I met while traveling in Morocco was a waitress at Bab Ssour. The menu doesn't list which items are vegan, but she told me all of my options. What a relief to speak with someone who actually understands my needs and to feel confident in the veganosity of my meal.

This is a very fun and lively restaurant aimed at tourists, so it's always filled with people from all over the world, but with excellent Moroccan cuisine. The people working there speak many languages and I are wonderfully welcoming. Great prices. I kept going back!

Over the course of a few visits I had the vegetable tagine, moroccan salad, and bread dipped in the lentil stew, white bean stew, chickpeas, and eggplant dip. Veggie couscous was available one of the days I went and was excellent.

NataLiSombra

Points +66

Vegan
08 Feb 2017

Left much to wish

Quite fascinating that the day that I went to have a dinner at this restaurant, they had minimal options for vegans. There were no beans, lentils or chickpeas, neither there were eggplants or zucchini. I had to choose between veg tagine, Moroccan soup and tomato+pepper dip. Meat eaters seemed to enjoy their meals though...

Pros: Unlimited amount of bread and dips

Cons: Only few options from the menu were available

bnom

Points +348

Vegan
12 Nov 2016

Great option

Very good food at cheap prices (I had 2 things at 12dh per item). Provided free olives, a huge piece of bread, and 2 dips. Nice staff. Vegan items aren't marked, need to ask them.

RenatoCiammaruconi

Points +21

Vegetarian
10 Jul 2014

Delicious Home-Cooking

A fabulous small eatery, 1 minute from the main plaza, (Plaza Uta el-Hammam) where all the restaurants are. Follow the road around after Pizza Haji, Paloma Restaurant, easy to find. If you are tired of the usual vegetable couscous and vegetable tangine (although available) this is the place. Well decorated and friendly ambience, this is Moroccan homecooking made from the heart and inexpensive. There are meat dishes served but a good number of vegetarian dishes, various beans, lentils, soups, green peppers and tomatos, zucchini salads, all the regular Moroccan salads. If you want a particular vegetable available in the market, just ask Sahid and he will do his best. Sahid said if there was greater demand for more vegetarian dishes, he would love to expand the vegetarian menu, he said that he has some great ideas on vegetarian dishes, he said this is more what Moroccans eat at home. This is more homecooking than restaurant food. Do try the yoghurt deserts, one with date syrup and carob. For Japanese people, Sahid speaks fluent Japanese. Friday lunch is Cousous only.
Updated from previous review on Thursday July 10, 2014

Pros: Excellent Food, Great Value, WiFi Available

Cons: Still Further Vegetarian Dishes Develop




This page has been viewed 5494 times.