• Ba Le Sandwich Shop

  • (14)
    12
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Delivery
Take-out
French
Fusion
Vietnamese
Non-veg

.Serves meat, vegan options available. Accommodating to vegans, make sure to specify. Options include 2 kinds of soups, sandwiches made on vegan French bread, cold noodle salad, 2 coconut based desserts, and pearl drinks that could be ordered without whipped cream on the top. Lots of tofu. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-6:00pm, Sat 11:00am-4:00pm.


Venue map for Ba Le Sandwich Shop
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by jeremiahgreer

msvegan3

Points +36

Vegan
07 Aug 2023

95% flesh, only a couple of over priced vegan options

I've been going to Bale for years on and off when I'm here. Vegan options are limited to just a couple of items, and on the sandwiches you must tell them "no mayonnaise".

The cleanliness REALLY needs to be improved along with new paint etc. Hence, It's not an inviting or pleasant atmosphere to eat..

The pickled veggie sandwich is now $12.50. Overpriced for what it is.

Pros: tasty sandwich, traditional when not packed w/ iceburg lettuce, fresh bread

Cons: lack of hygine, grungy, small portions, price

Advertisement

ZacharyWolfheart

Points +176

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

A few things can be modified to be vegan

Two types of tofu banh mi can be made vegan by omitting the mayo. There are different condiments on the tables. The tofu pho can be made vegan by asking for the mushroom broth.

Updated from previous review on 2019-09-12

Ladulé

Points +604

Vegan
09 Dec 2021

Good sandwich

Pretty good bahn mi sandwich on fresh bread. All you'd want in a sandwich.

Pros: Vegan options

MarkusMars

Points +230

Vegan
16 Jun 2021

Best Pho, Crispy Crunchy Baguettes, Super nice owners

I love this place. It really looks old and uncomfy when you enter the place, however, once you take your first bite, you’ll feel like in heaven. So tasty! Their mushroom broth is delicious, the portions are perfect and filling, their sandwiches crunchy and their ingredients fresh.

jainstonge

Points +218

Vegan
09 Mar 2021

Very Amazing Vietnamese Vittles

Confirmation we’d died and gone to vegan heaven in Kona. After Journey Cafe and Herbivore, we came here for vegan banh mi and pho. It was exceptional and we live in an are loaded with Vietnamese eateries (NoVa). The food here is top notch and highly recommended Very nice folks running it too.

SouthernmostVegan

Points +1554

Vegan
14 Feb 2021

Unexpectedly good

Based on previous reviews, I walked in with low expectations so I was pleasantly surprised with our flavorful choices. We ordered the Lemongrass Tofu Banh Mi on their fresh French Bread (specify vegan, no Mayo) and it was soooooo good and a great value at $9.50. Their French bread is vegan and can be bought separately.

We also ordered the vegan Vegetable Pho and the Sliced Tofu Pho (soup made with mushroom broth). The vegetable version was gorgeous with tons of veggies. The tofu version had 2 small slices of tofu and scallions and nothing else: won’t order this again. Both Pho could use more flavor but there are plenty of side sauces you can add to spice it up.

The Spicy Lemongrass Bun (cold rice noodle salad) was also a huge hit.

Lastly, we happily ordered the sweet potato pudding. They also serve a tapioca pudding. Both puddings are vegan and made with coconut milk.

marieroberts

Points +1427

Vegan
13 Apr 2019

Little vegan options

Staff wasn’t helpful in choosing vegan meal, so walked out with nothing unfortunately- could have been a bad day for them, staff was young and seemed very inexperienced.

In the same strip plaza is Jamba Juice. They have delicious açai bowls- ask for no honey or granola (contains honey too) on top, they subbed with shaved pistachios which was delicious!

Pros: Sorry can’t think of any

Cons: Not vegan

scrunchi2003

Points +34

Vegan
24 Dec 2018

Phooooo

I could eat the pho from here every day. Huge bowl, lotsa tofu, & they’re always quick & friendly. The lemongrass tofu plate & the bahn mi are also good, but I have to get the pho every time.

KaindofQuirky

Points +41

Vegan
30 Jun 2017

a favorite of mine

I have been coming to this restaurant for years and while options are limited I love the vegan pho and tofu bahn mi with out mayo. There are also salad wraps and soy milk in the drink refrigerator. I highly recommend.

Pros: vegan protein , great flavors

Cons: limited options

RobinPLA

Points +109

Vegan
24 Dec 2016

Strip mall with very little vegan

I didn't try the food. But there is virtually nothing vegan on the menu. A ban me with tofu would be vegan if they didn't put mayo on it. There is one soup. Really depressing. Maybe something else I missed. Not vegan friendly at all.

CharliLee

Points +35

Vegetarian
23 Aug 2014

Great value delicious

Very pleased Each serving enough for 2, prices reasonable. Staff very helpful with all my dietary issues. Food was great. Best value we have found on the island!

Pros: Priced, Serving sizes, Taste good !

Veggie_Yum_Yum

Points +33

Vegetarian
03 Mar 2014

Great Food & Great Prices

We really enjoyed our lunch at Be Le. We ordered a crepe to split and tofu sandwiches. The we asked them to add tofu to the crepe and it was really delicious. There were a couple of sauces that we weren't sure if the were vegan or not so we just went with what we knew, but I am sure they could explain what is vegan and what isn't. They were very friendly and helpful.

They were also flexible in taking off the mayo on the tofu sandwiches to make them vegan. The sandwiches were a very good size on fresh bread and were only $5/each. That is a GREAT price (especially for Kona). The french bread is amazing!

We live on the east side of the island and Ba Le now has me looking for excuses to visit Kona. I would give this 5 cows if I could, but since they do serve (mostly) meat options the system only lets you go to 4.

Pros: Bread, Price, Veg Options

Marmot

Points +65

Vegan
11 Apr 2012

Tasty Vietnamese food

Several vegan options, all very tasty. I especially liked the lemongrass tofu bowl. Just tell them you want it vegetarian and they'll make anything with a non-fish sauce.

jeremiahgreer

Points +16

Vegan
22 Sep 2011

Delicious Lemongrass Tofu!

I live in Kona and I am vegan and eat at Ba Le quite frequently. The spicy (or non-spicy) lemongrass tofu is excellent and very affordable. Where else in Kona can you get a vegan tofu sandwich on a house-made crusty french roll OR a bowl of vegan pho soup OR tofu over rice with a salad, for $5 each! You can't beat the price and the food is excellent. Lots of locals eating there.

Pros: Good value, Large Portions, Excellent Food




This page has been viewed 6293 times.