• Avatar's

  • (13)
    11
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Indian
International
Delivery
Take-out
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Several northern California locations making cuisine with heavy Indian influence. A few vegetarian choices, but if you tell your server that you are vegan, the kitchen will customize a meal for you. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-9:30pm.


Venue map for Avatar's
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by corinal

corinal

Points +1600

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

Amazing combination of styles!

We told the server (who is one of the owners) that we were vegan and he took our menus away saying we wouldn't need those and then proceeded to tell us that he would serve us the most amazing vegan meals of our lives. I was very excited to let someone else make the decisions and he brought us out two mystery dishes where we had to guess what the main ingredient was. We were wrong, but spent the meal fully engrossed in solving the mystery, which added to the dining experience. I won't say what the mystery ingredients were so you can have your own experience, but the food was absolutely amazing and so flavorful and creative. The dishes were a combination of Indian and Italian or Indian and Mexican, which go really well together. We went back the next night for two different mystery dishes and then ordered three more meals to go for the next day when we drove home down the California coast.

It is a family-run establishment, which adds to the warmth and friendliness of the place. We hugged good bye when we left for the last time. It really made a difference that the owner was also the server because he knew all about their food and what is vegan and was so excited about preparing us something new and interesting (rather than saying something like "oh so you eat fish?" or "I'll have to check to see if they can make that without cheese").

We loved it there and look forward to going back the next time we are in the area!

Went back again in 2022, several years later, and were just as happy. They made us enchiladas with mole and what tasted like a mango sauce, and sag paneer with grilled veggies. Delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-20

Pros: Amazing vegan meals creatively prepared, Outstanding flavor, Really nice, warm, friendly staff

Cons: Small space

Advertisement

ACav

Points +85

Vegan
15 Oct 2022

Best Vegan Go-to in Marin!

They use fresh spices and grind their own powders. They want everyone to be happy and are accommodating to your health/diet needs. The food is delicious and my body feels energized and happy from their meals.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-15

Pros: Ashok,, the owner, is super accommodating, Delicious, fresh ingredients , Family-run biz that cares about the community

Cons: A little more expensive , Bring a blanket for a cool, windy day , Haven't yet run into Dr. Dean Ornish @lunch

HaleyB

Points +43

Vegan
01 Jul 2022

AMAZING food and experience!

Wow, we were so lucky to have gone to Avatar's while visiting Sausalito. We were greeted by the nicest people ever and when we told them we were vegan they took our menus and excitedly told us they would prepare something wonderful for our dinner. And they truly delivered on that! The food was AMAZING literally the best we had in California and we really centered our trip from Santa Barbara to Sausalito around food lol. Of course, I won't give away the special main ingredient from our meal at Avatar's but what I can tell you is it is vegan and it is absolutely delicious. 10/10 worth the visit and I will probably travel back to Sausalito from the east coast because I LOVE IT!

Pros: Amazing food, Kind staff, Unique experience

WFPBCarole

Points +75

Vegan
16 Jul 2021

Good food but pricey

Fun experience where special vegan meals are made just for you if you tell them you’re vegan. Very creative uses of veggies! Everything tasted really good, especially the corn samosas. Kids meals (for omnivores) were expensive and the kids barely ate them because this restaurant doesn’t use regular bread. Meals were expensive considering a third of what was served was rice.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-16

Pros: Creative vegan dishes, Vegans are welcomed and treated well, Tasty food

Cons: Expensive , Kids meals probably won’t work for picky eaters

Forman

03 Dec 2021

We were there a few months ago. Food was really good but the pricing on those special vegan meals! Ouch.

kevinjeff

Points +16

Vegan
02 Mar 2020

Great vegan specialty food

Great vegan specialty foods at a non vegan restaurant

Pros: Personal unusual recipes

Cons: None

BackyardFarmerGirl

Points +66

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Delicious and fun

This lively gem is worth an evening out! Great service and yummy vegan food served by the playful owner. Wine was good, too! Would give it five stars if it offered a higher variety of vegan options, but the house vegan special is honestly delicious, and would go back just for that!

Pros: Friendly staff, Lively atmosphere , Spices galore

Cons: Few vegan options

LenaStar

Points +173

Vegan
17 Jun 2018

Delicious special vegan meal!

They will make a special vegan meal for you if you tell them you’re vegan—I lived in India for a year, and this is definitely one of the best Indian meals I’ve had. “Marindian” as it says on their menu! Truly fine and so unique.

Pros: Special vegan meal, Nice ambiance , Children’s menu (quesadilla for the nonvegan kids

Cons: Serves meat

tommyb

Points +45

Vegan
16 May 2018

The best lunch I have ever had

Really...it was good, but don't tell the boss it was the best...or he will change you double!!😄😅

As a vegan, I had what the owner recommended - a delicious curry and shared an Indian enchilada with my spouse...

All in all delicious vegan, and vegan friendly dishes.

They do prepare food with fish, lamb and other animal bits - but they are careful to avoid cross contamination..

martint

Points +7367

Vegan
08 Oct 2016

Too expensive

It was so good to know that there is a restaurant in Sausalito where you can have a vegan meal. Or, according to the manager, "the best vegan meal you ever tried". That is an enchilada filled with carrot puree and cocoa sauce. OK, that was tasty. But so so so so so pricey!!!. For two persons we paid 60 dollars (samosas + 2 courses + 1 coke), and it was the most expensive dinner that we had during our stance in San Francisco. We had better, bigger and cheaper meals in other places, so I was fully disappointed. I don't know whether to recommend this place or not.

Pros: Vegan option

Cons: Expensive, Small portion, Decoration and ambient

Flyingmare

Points +24

Vegan
13 Sep 2016

Customer Service!!!

Great vegan surprise dish! Owner took our order and made the experience wonderful and fun. Made the special dish others have talked about. I will go back to try the other vegan dishes they have to offer!

Pros: Good lighting at night, Nice and warm on a cold night, Owner wants you to get what you want the way that

Cons: none

Laudi

Points +366

Vegan
30 Nov 2015

Fresh and Healthy

We read the reviews for this place and thought we'd give the special vegan meal a try. The food was very good, fresh and healthy. The owner even made us guess the ingredients. Even though the owner said, we wouldn't find better vegan food elsewhere, I have to admit I've had better vegan meals in other places :).

Pros: Healthy and fresh, Creative ingredients

Cons: No vegan dessert

HopeDesroches

Points +22

Vegan
01 Aug 2015

Good Stuff!

I told the eccentric owner that I am vegan and he made me a mystery me meal and brought it over. It was very good and we had a nice experience. The owner said he is a nutritionist and it is very important to him to make meals that are healthy.

aflame2432

Points +30

Vegan
15 Aug 2014

Great Fusion Cuisine

Very good and very unique dishes. Make sure to let them know you're vegan and don't even bother looking at the menu.

Pros: Unique, Service




This page has been viewed 4455 times.