• Apagio Taverna

  • (14)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Greek
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Traditional Greek island food. Vegetarian items are marked with a V and owners will make more vegetarian dishes by request. English menu available. NOTE: please send updates regarding vegan items. Open Mon-Sun 10:00am-12:00am.


Venue map for Apagio Taverna
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by NickyP01

NinaW7

Points +247

Vegan
19 Oct 2021

Not bad.

There are a few vegan options here. I had a tomato salad and some locally sourced spinach. The restaurant is predominantly orientated around seafood and meat.

Pros: Tasty seasonal, local ingredients , Lovely setting by the seafront , Friendly cats in restaurant

Cons: No vegan beers

Advertisement

AnnabotGlados

Points +253

Vegan
22 Aug 2019

Really good food

Reviewing this restaurant with a delay, so can't remember what exactly we had there, but do remember that it was really tasty and the owner and staff really friendly and more than happy to cater for vegans. They also gave us free deserts.

Pros: Great vegan options, Friendly staff

GinnyDoxey

Points +154

Vegan
28 Jul 2019

Best vegan food in Greece

Such an amazing restaurant with brilliant staff. The guy (who's parents are from Southampton) was so lovely and helpful. Lots of vegetarian options, most of which could be made vegan. The vegan food we had was exceptional. Cannot recommend visiting more. Plus a beautiful view of the sea

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Amazing staff, Great scenary

EllenBaker

Points +18

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Incredible for a non-veggie restaurant

Despite not being advertised as a vegetarian restaurant, their menu very obviously stated the vegetarian options, of which there were plenty to choose from! The staff were incredibly welcoming and hospitable and were keen to give recommendations on dishes - I asked for 2 of the salads and Jacob recommended that I have half of each because they were big portions! The portion sizes are extremely generous and the quality was incredible! Even though we’re only on Poros for a few days we’ve decided to go back for our last meal - couldn’t recommend enough!

ada.vegan

Points +16

Vegan
09 Jun 2019

Many vegan options!

The food was great and the service was excellent. The food was really tasty which isn’t always the case with vegan options in non-vegan restaurants. Would recommend to groups that have vegans, vegetarians and meat eaters! Ask the waiters for recommended vegan options, they’ll be pleased to help you. You can also do half-portions so you can have several dishes to taste!

Updated from previous review on 2019-06-09

Pros: Good value, Tasty vegan options, Helpful staff

nicnac74

Points +24

Vegan
28 Aug 2018

Amazing vegan food. I would give 5* if it was possible

This family run restaurant is amazing, the food is to die for the service is second to none and the family are so approachable! They really go out of their way to accommodate your needs! Just brilliant.
We have eaten here every night since we found them, which was our 3rd day and wish we'd found them sooner.
I highly recommend the Vine leaves, Fava, Tomatoe croquets, the stuffed tomato & peppers, the Linguini and pitta bread is the best I've tasted.
Tonight is our last night here and Liz (the lovely mum and retired chef) will be making our meal, we don't know what it'll be as we're leaving it in her hands and her son will also be preparing a meal for us ( can't wait😄 )
Lovely family, was a pleasure meeting them, would love to come back.

I would recommend booking your table if you visit at peak times.

Pros: Food is fabulous Service is 2nd to none, On the water front Very inexpensive , People waited ages to be seated as it's that great

Cons: Have to go home ;), Serves meat/Sea food

JemiB

Points +280

Vegan
23 Jul 2018

Absolutely delicious! Lots of vegan options

We had the fava (lentils), aubergine dip, stuffed tomatoes and bell peppers, grilled portobello mushrooms, tomato croquettes (MUST HAVE), fried courgette- all fabulous.

Pros: Many vegan options, Staff very knowledgeable about veganism, Caters for all

Cons: None

veggis

Points +48

Vegan
23 Jul 2018

Delicious food

Lots of great vegan food. I would recommend the tomato croquettes (just don’t get the yogurt sauce), stuffed tomato and pepper, balsamic mushrooms, pita, and fava, aubergine fries :)

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great service, waiters all knew what vegan meant , Relatively cheap

Cons: Not a con, but it’s quite busy so book ahead

broshi

Points +47

Vegan
23 Jun 2018

excellent selection with superb taste

we had 7-8 different dishes and all were excellent

Scocco32

Points +25

Vegetarian
30 Oct 2017

Aboslutely amazing!

Apagio taverna is absolutely amazing,the food we tried was mouthwatering and the wine which was local so good!
Try the stuffed vine leaves dolmades which are homemade ofcourse, beetroot salad with garlic dip, honeyroasted vegetables with grilled local cheese......and ofcourse the homemade tzatziki!
The staff is so professional and will do anything requested to make you feel like home!
Cant wait to go back next year!
Congratulations Apagio taverna for making our trip better!

anniemaggiemay

Points +85

Vegan
10 Sep 2016

Brilliant find!

We ate here on the last night of a roadtrip in September 2016, and it was our favourite meal of the whole trip. The staff were super friendly and welcoming, and knew exactly what to suggest when we said we were vegan. The restaurant has a lovely friendly family-run atmosphere.

We ended up eating a delicious meal of tomato fritters, fava, gemista (stuffed peppers) and of course Greek salad. The food was all locally sourced and beautifully cooked.

Would definitely recommend this restaurant to any vegetarians or vegans visiting Poros!

Pros: Delicious veg options, Lovely atmosphere, Friendly staff

AlisaInWONDERLAND

Points +27

Vegan
21 Aug 2015

Brilliant for a non-veg redtaurant!

Items on the menu are not clearly marked but if asked the staff (who all speak perfect English) will tell you the ingridients. The lady of the restsurant said she was also vegan (I didn't say I was, she just figured it out!) so knew straight away what I was looking for and recimmended me dishes. I was pleased it was more then just salad.

Pros: Friendly staff, good service, and cats! lots and l

Cons: nothing

Haahu

Points +21

Vegetarian
23 Jun 2014

Good, friendly and helpful

Friendly place. Staff was very helpful with vegetarian food. Feta cheese in filo pastry with honey was good and filled pepper and filled tomato was also good. Reasonable prices.

NickyP01

Points +13

Vegetarian
23 Oct 2010

You must go to the Apagio!

One of the best experiences we had in Europe. This family run business is located right on the water and the outdoor seating is ideal. The food was amazing. Fava dip, tomato and zucchini fritters, rocket salad, boiled greens, stuffed mushrooms and tomatoes, artison bread, potato salad, pasta, grilled veggies and many others. The food was fresh and and the flavors were incredible. This family takes great pride in their product, and really goes the extra mile. For example, Spiros the husband of the couple that owns the restaurant cures his own capers that he picks himself. He takes a small boat out to a little rocky island where they grow, and climbs cliffs to collect the capers and leaves to cure. These were by far the best capers I have ever had.
This amazing couple also created a vegan menu for us and started handing it out to other tables as well. They wrote them out by hand and decorated them with dried wild flowers.
They took such great care of us that we ate there every day. Not only was the food out of this world, but the family was so kind and gracious. At night locals would gather and play guitar and sing greek classics and even a few english covers. I feel like I can't say enough about how great our time was at the Apagio. I highly recommend the Apagio Taverna and the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because this web site will not let you give the highest rating to a restaurant that serves meat, but as a vegan I can say that we ate like kings, and the service and willingness to cater to our diet was better than most all veg restaurants. If your a vegetarian in Poros than go check it out you wont regret it!

Pros: lots of options, family run , local evening hang out

Cons: serves meat




This page has been viewed 5659 times.