Ao 26 - Vegan Food Project

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 173 reviews )
Contact
967989184
Find

Rua Vitor Cordon, 26, Lisbon, Portugal, 1200-484

Vegan restaurant serving different plates daily, plus has snack foods like burgers, scones, fries, toast; desserts include cheesecake, chocolate cake, brownies, chocolate mousse; beverages are natural juice and biological wine. One menu option includes soup and the main course. Open Mon 12:30pm-3:30pm, Tue-Sat 12:30pm-6:30pm, 7:30pm-11:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Western, Beer/Wine, Asian, Fusion

173 Reviews

First Review by Kaitykah

great quality food - Edit

Very popular place in Lisbon. Few seats so it's full very quickly. Better come right at opening hour. Nice ambient and perfect for a fancy dinner. I had the seitan steak with mushroom sauce which was very delicious.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vale uma visita - Edit

A primeira experiência que tive não foi positiva, já que nem sequer pude provar a comida. Apesar do restaurante estar praticamente vazio, todas as mesas estavam reservadas e fui impedido de entrar. Entretanto esta dificuldade logística com as reservas parece ter sido ultrapassada, já que as duas vezes seguintes consegui lugar para comer sem ter realizado as reservas.
A segunda experiência continuou abaixo das minhas expectativas. Experimentei a bifana e, apesar de saborosa, não achei nada de extraordinário. Não vale o valor que paguei.
Na terceira experiência gostei de tudo que experimentei. Pedi a entrada com mini burger e bifana, prato do dia e tarte crua de sobremesa. Bebi cerveja biológica.
É um bom restaurante, mas talvez o mais caro de Lisboa. O que para o meu orçamento, não convida a muitas visitas. A comida é saborosa. E, pelo que tenho visto, todas as críticas tem a atenção da gerência, que busca encontrar soluções e melhorar.

Pros: Comida saborosa

Cons: Preço, Difícil de estacionar

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 21 Feb 2018 - Obrigado pela sua crítica constructiva! Tentamos de facto, melhorar sempre :) Esperemos que em breve se realize a quarta visita, para uma experiência ainda melhor! Até à próxima!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

one of the best vegan fooda ive ever had - Edit

The food here is outstanding. Nice atmosphere and fair prices

Pros: completly vegan

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 21 Feb 2018 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My favourite vegan restaurant - Edit

There are many good vegan restaurants around the world, but Ao 26 is my personal favourite. I have been to Lisbon quite a few times these past few years, and I always end up here.

Good food, good beer (the Dois Corvos
Finisterra, a fine Portuguese example
of an imperial porter, can be found here!), good service. Try their lentil burger with sweet potatoes. And the desserts of course.

But beware: it may be difficult to get a table.
This place is really popular, and deservedly so.

Pros: Food

Cons: May be difficult to get a table; pre-booking is im

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 21 Feb 2018 - Thank you!!! We love having you everytime :) Until next time, see you soon!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food, prepared with care - Edit

The delicious food is prepared and presented with such care... And the environment is also great! The only problem is that it is so good that sometimes it's full and you have to wait for a table!

Pros: delicious food prepared with such care

Cons: gets full

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 21 Feb 2018 - Thank you :) We hope to see you again to enjoyed fully plant based love based prepared meal :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A different experience - Edit

I visited this new place a few months ago and loved it!

It is still new, so I'm sure it will improve with time, but I had a wonderful time there.

The food was great, as well as the place itself. The staff was also quite nice and the bathroom was heaven. Yes, normally bathrooms don't stand out, but this one..... you have to see it!

I will come back soon to try other dishes.

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-06

Pros: Tasty food, Friendly staff, Nice vibe

Cons: A little expensive

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 12 Feb 2018 - Thank you for noticing our little art bathroom! hehe :) We hope to see you soon again! Thank you for sharing your experience!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food and nice staff - Edit

I went with my sister and we had the tofu dish, cheese plate with some smoked seitan and the francesinha. It was all super delicious and the dishes were beautifully put together.

Pros: food is delicious, staff

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 12 Feb 2018 - Thank you, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your experience overall :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great cheese plate! - Edit

Excellent food, nice staff and atmosphere. Try to make a reservation, I think it may get busy sometimes. Cheese plate is awesome!

Pros: food, atmosphere, staff

Cons: may get too busy

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 12 Feb 2018 - Thank you! Vegan cheese is always a must!! :) see you next time  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Just perfect - Edit

Beautiful dishes and really nice staff. I strongly recommand this restaurant.

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 12 Feb 2018 - Thank you for the rating on our food and staff! We are very glad you enjoyed the experience :) see you next time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty vegan and gluten free food! - Edit

Had a wonderful meal with friends at the restaurant. As a vegan coeliac I was able to enjoy very tasty and healthy food. The place is cool and the staff is super nice!

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 12 Feb 2018 - Thank you for your review, we are very glad to know you enjoyed your experience! We hope you visit us again sometime soon :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Highly recommended. Best sweet potato fries ever - Edit

Most other places say sweet potato fired but they mean potato chips. These were fries and amazing. We had burgers that were awesome. Great atmosphere too. We had to wait about 20-30 min for a table but a quick walk around the area sorted that. Suggest booking at popular times but highly recommended. Oreo peanut butter pie mmmm.

Pros: Fresh delicious food, Nice staff, Atmosphere

Cons: Slight wait , Other reviews almost put me off going

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - Thank you Sarah! Fries are friends :) As we do have a small space we wish to receive everyone on the spot but we are glad you enjoyed the walk :) See you next time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really delicious food. - Edit

Burger was big and tasty. Oreo cake was really great, not too sweet. And was cheap- two glasses of wine, one burger, one sandwich and two oreo cakes-27,5€ ( tip). I never paid that for quite large and delicious dinner for 2 people in NL.

Pros: Quality, price

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - Thank you for your commentary! see you next time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantástico!! - Edit

Tudo o que provámos estava divinal. O staff foi muito simpático e o espaço é super giro. Recomendo vivamente!

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - Obrigado Ana! :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

WONDERFUL! - Edit

The place is of congratulations, service, food and wonderful environment. I was very pleased with my Burguer, it was really tasty and delicious (I didn't take the beetroot Burger because I like more lentil burger in general) and it was very good !!!

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - Obrigado Marina :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Worth the wait - Edit

Saturday night without reservation. We had to wait 45 minutes for a table, but it was well worth the wait.

Big portions, and excellent food. Good presentation, too. We had the Tempura and Pumpkin Millfolhas from the starters menu, the Francesinha as main course and the Chocolate cake for dessert. There is also a very nice selection of drinks.

Friendly staff. But better to make a reservation during the weekend.

Pros: delicious food, interesting menu

Cons: Long wait (make a reservation)

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us! We now accept bookings on saturdays only from 9PM :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Grande Cuisine - Edit

Lovely staff and location. The food is excellent and creative. Every bite you take will pleasantly surprise you. Best place I’ve been in Lisbon. Highly recommend!

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Totally remended! - Edit

The staff is very very nice, they have a good team! I love all the food they offer and it is very tasty!

Pros: Tasty food, Good desserts, Very nice staff (they speak english and have the e

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - Thank you for your words! See you next time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

not thrilled. - Edit

everything tasted delicious but when i asked about which products are organic, one waitress told me only the tofu. millet and quinoa. another waitress told me all produce and when she went to check with kitchenstaff, none of them knew.
i find it dissapointing that so few vegan/vegetarian restaurants in lisabon do not use organic produce. everything groes abundantly in this wonderful country. sure organic is a bit more costly. so raise your prices abit. and does not everyone have a right to ne eating clean and fairly produced good? and would it not make sense for vegan restaurants to set an example. we run an organic b&b in portugal do we know it is doable!!


Updated from previous review on 2018-01-11

Pros: delicious, nice lunch menu

Cons: not organic, bread could be lots netter, olives in olive country were a sad canned vareity

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Jan 2018 - We understood the link you point out between vegan food and organic food, regardless, our project believes that vegan food is on it's main core plant based cruelty-free food, thus our project not being 100% organic. We wish to offer our clients a variety of plant based food at an accessible price. Still, we consider going organic on soy, cereals, and coffee! Thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I recommend it - Edit

Staff was nice, food amazing and the place itself is great! A bit pricer than other places but still affordable. Totally worthy! Chocolate peanut cake was incredible

Pros: great food

Cons: need to book your table

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 10 Jan 2018 - Thank you! We adjust our prices to the food and experience overall :) hope you visit us again soon!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Phenomenal - Edit

Holy vegan this place was amazing. We arrived Friday at 13.30 which was a mistake.. apparently it was a public holiday as well so it was packed. We were put on the list and came back 40 mins later. Our table was then given away to a woman with a child as per Portuguese law? It was random.. Had to wait another 20 minutes after that but we stuck it out and super glad we did. The ambience is awesome and the staff super friendly. We got the couvert to share which was yum. We also shared our mains, dish of the day (tofu skewers), vegetable toasted sandwich and the sweet potato fries.. Oh my goodness all were sensational. Those fries were definitely 10/10. We finished with chocolate mousse and creme brulee. My only fault would be that the creme brulee had not set.. not even a little bit. It still tasted great though so all good! We shared 750ml of water to drink and our entire bill was 25€. Super great meal.. one of the best I've had and I've had a lot. Side note: we were told they don't take bookings Saturday nights but they do for Fridays. You can book via Facebook or by calling them - that's what the lady told us. I'm not entirely sure about lunch bookings. Just get there when they open

Pros: all vegan! amazing food. staff friendly

Cons: Portuguese law giving our table away!!

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Dec 2017 - Thank you for your review! We take bookings for any opening time from monday to friday, saturday is the only day we don't take bookings! Also, we only serve lunch on monday :) We are very glad you had a chance to experience our project regardless the wait and the little extra waiting time for the next table, due to our portuguese law as well as restaurant policy (we give preference to mothers/ families with children younger than 3 and pregnant woman).
Hope we see you sometime soon!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

thanks! - Edit

Someone here really loves food and it shows very nicely. Everything from the Gary plate to the wine to the mousse was delicious. Take friends here but be prepared to wait to get in.

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Dec 2017 - Gary is always a must :) Hope to welcome you again! Thank you for your review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excelente - Edit

Pedimos la hamburguesa de remolacha y fue muy rica! Gran servicio y buenos precios

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Dec 2017 - Gracias!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good food, reasonably priced, and friendly staff - Edit

I had the quarter pounder burger, with a side of sweet potato fries. It was very nicely presented, and it tasted incredible. My friend had a salad, which was huge!

The staff were attentive and friendly, and the prices were very reasonable.

Pros: Very good food, Friendly staff, Good value for money

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Dec 2017 - Thank you for your review, Scott! See you next time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lovely place - Edit

A small restaurant that we walked to easily from our air bnb in Bairro Alto. Was not too busy at 5pm on a weekday in off season. Our waiter Juan was friendly and personable and guessed right away that we were Canadian. Appreciated him and the restaurant very much! I had the Caprese pear sandwich and my boyfriend had the Cheesy Sandwich. I don't know if I've ever had such amazing tasting vegan cheese! If we had that back home I would be VERY happy. We also had a bread platter which was also great. £23 altogether, very affordable in my opinion! Small menu but worth the trip.

Pros: All vegan, friendly staff, great tasting food, aff

Cons: small restaurant with limited seating

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 31 Dec 2017 - Thank you for your review Serena! We are very glad you enjoyed your experience with us to the full :) See you next time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing! - Edit

I went there for lunch without a reservation and was lucky to get a table for one hour - the whole place was booked out all day! The hour was absolutely enough as service and kitchen were very fast. Extremely friendly waiter, I had the seitan burger with vegan cheese and sweet potato fries and a fresh lemonade (11€ in total) and it was all so so good! Wanted to go for the chocolate cake but I was so stuffed that I couldn’t eat any more, so I’ll go back for a smaller lunch and cake, haha. Make sure to book a table or try to get one on a Saturday, as apparently they don’t reserve tables on Saturday to give people the chance to come spontaneously.

Pros: all vegan , great food and service, nice atmosphere

Cons: none, go there!

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 11 Dec 2017 - Thank you for the review! We are very glad to know you enjoyed it )  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

crowded but cozy place - Edit

The restaurant opened at 7:30 pm and there we were already waiting with at least 6 other customers outside.
Later, the place was really crowded, but still cozy. We ate a seitan steak with mushroom sauce & sweet potato fries and a meaty lentil burger. Both were good, but also more expensive than other vegan places in Lisbon that we tried out.

Probably a good idea to book a table.

Pros: 100% vegan

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 11 Dec 2017 - Thank you for your comment, we are very glad you liked it! :) We take bookings, except on saturdays!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Top Vegan Restaurant - Edit

The food is super tasty! One of the best vegan restaurants I've been to. During our stay in Lisbon, we kept coming back for more. Everything we tried was delicious and beautifully presented, not under- or overdone, but just right!
Very good value for what they offer.
Although it is super busy and you definitely need to make a reservation in advance, it has a very nice, pleasant ambiance, unpretentious, comfortable seating and interior.
Nice service too, not overattentive but again just right! :))

Pros: everything

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

Ao26veganfoodproject 08 Dec 2017 - Thank you! We loved the pros and cons part of your review! :) See you next time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Lisbon Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Ao 26 - Vegan Food Project closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 14133 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support