Lacto
Indian
Nepalese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Nepali and Indian food with several vegetable-based dishes. Ask about dairy use.


Venue map for Annapurna
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by ebarneyr

m@earthville

Points +9182

Vegan
21 Aug 2023

Numerous veg options, but ask about dairy

With a pleasant atmosphere and a friendly manager, Annapurna is a good option for mixed-diet groups or when the local veg places are closed.

The menu includes many options for lacto-vegetarians, but vegans should ask about dairy ingredients and make sure they understand not to include dairy-based condiments such as raita (which is included by default with the samosas, for example).

They can veganize the saag paneer by holding the paneer and using coconut milk instead of cream, and the result is delicious.

There’s both indoor and outdoor seating, and the latter is lovely when the weather is good.

Updated from previous review on 2016-12-30

Advertisement

ZachNovak

Points +18

Vegan
10 Sep 2022

Staff took care of us

They knew were vegan and made sure everything was substituted appropriately (coconut milk instead of cream). They were friendly and the food was good!

timothynicholas

Points +65

Vegan
13 Jul 2022

A whole veg section

The menu has a whole vegetarian section and most of it can be veganized by subbing coconut cream for dairy cream. I had Chana masala and another dish and both were able to be veganized and were delicious.

Pros: Able to sub coconut cream for dairy, Lots of veg* options

Cons: Weird location in a hotel

SummerLee

Points +1677

Vegan
01 Feb 2022

Great mountain eats!

Park in the hotel parking lot, go through the lobby and it’s inside. Great menu. All the veggie menu can basically be made vegan! Enjoy!

DavidPowell

Points +84

Vegan
21 Dec 2021

Great vegan option in Vail

With a large hungry group of mixed dietary needs, Annapurna delighted all. Our vegans enjoyed the veggie momo and veggie chau chau. We carried out so can’t speak to the service or atmosphere but were happy that the restaurant got every part of our large order exactly right, including spice level, on a night when they were super busy. #grateful

Pros: Nicely seasoned vegan dishes, Convenient Lionshead location, Omnivores loved it too

Cons: Location signage is small, Parking lot on the small side

ArmaanPremjee

Points +60

Vegan
06 Dec 2021

It’s NOT vegan!

Do not trust the food here. No labeled vegan options. I specified multiple times that I’m vegan, yet the server suggested food with meat/dairy in it. After I clarified what vegan meant and ordered, they still put dairy in the food. I fell sick afterwards. Very disappointed.

Cons: No Vegan options!

AundriaMedina

Points +40

Vegan
26 Jun 2021

Pretty good

Food was hot and tasted pretty good. They only gave me one vegan option and it really only tasted like coconut milk and portions were small. But definitely best option in Vail for a vegan hot dinner.

onemorekaty

Points +36

Vegan
28 Jul 2020

Good food, cute place, lots of vegan options

Stopped by for lunch and sat on their outside patio, overlooking the river. The server said any of the veg items could be made vegan. I got the coconut korma and it was yummy. Servers were very sweet and helpful. Will definitely be back.

Aniseed

Points +4913

Vegan
27 May 2020

Awesome Nepali Food!

All the dishes we tried at Annapurna were heavenly! Loved the Baigan Bharta, Alu Dum, and Coconut Vegetable Korma.So happy to find a vegan korma made with coconut milk. All their menu items can be veganized with coconut milk (I was also assured that there is no ghee, butter, milk ,etc in my food-- the staff knows what vegan means!) The roti is whole wheat and cooked in the tandoori oven. It's very tasty I recommend. It is also the only the vegan bread at Annapurna. The restaurant is located in the lodge and may be difficult to find the first time.

NDVegan

Points +6162

Vegan
24 Dec 2018

First decent meal I've had in Vail this trip!

Much needed Indian feasting. Got the dahl & the coconut veggie korma. The roti bread is vegan too. Not the naan. Next time I want to get the mo mos.

Pros: Vegan options, Yummy

Cons: The building its in has a moose head in the foyer

Bat City Realty

Points +23

Vegetarian
11 Jan 2018

Vail veg/vegan options

Excellent food, vegan upon request! So Good, affordable (for Vail), and definitely will return! I was skeptical because of the location, but if you’re a vegan, you’ll get over the fact that it isn’t on the main square. Try it!

SallyCarttar

Points +20

Vegan
29 Jul 2017

Lots of sneaky vegan options, just ask!

Amazing service. I was a little skeptical at first, but the staff (shoutout to Om!) did a great job of veganizing the menu. I was even surprised with a coconut milk version of the kheer for dessert! The spice level is customizable and the food is really tasty. A little bummed that Happy Cow won't let me give 5 stars. 10/10 would recommend!

Pros: vegan options abound!, very friendly staff, good food with real spice if you want it

Cons: hard to find...inside a hotel, small portions, not quite shareable, staff not always very attentive

Collier

Points +93

Vegan
30 Dec 2016

A solid place in Vail

The old Vail has it's Jewel in Annapunra. Vegan options are plentiful. Had the Veggie Dumplings, and the Udon noodle, although not the Udon normal noodle, It was great food! Fast service, but watch out we had good water then another waiter came and that stuff we think was Chlorinated. Great Fast service.

Pros: Fast Vegan, tasty, Ready to modify dishes w/ coconut milk etc

Cons: Chlorinated drinking water maybe, opens at 4:30 for dinner not sooner :(, Walking distance to Vail Library -

ebarneyr

Points +43

Vegan
12 Oct 2016

Really good meal!

We requested vegan and the kitchen was happy to substitute coconut milk for cream...thus our dal and aloo masala(cauliflower and potatoes) were vegan and excellent!




This page has been viewed 5190 times.