Vegan
Western
British

Est.July 2015 a vegan cafe and kombucha bar. Open Mon 06:00-20:30, Tue 06:00-21:30, Wed-Fri 12:00-15:00, 18:00-21:30, Sat 12:00-21:30. Kitchen stops serving an hour before closing time.


121 Reviews

First Review by MissHLMorris1234

PhilSleigh

Points +186

Vegan
25 Feb 2024

Excellent vegan restaurant

We really enjoyed our meal at Anna Loka. The menu had plenty of choices, and all the food was really excellent - good quality, and presented well. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we recommend this restaurant to anyone living in or visiting Cardiff.

Pros: Really excellent vegan food, Friendly and helpful staff, Nice to be in

Advertisement

ColinM

Points +582

Vegan
03 Feb 2024

Why isn’t everyone eating here?

Veggie, vegan or (dare I say it), carnivore, eat here! All vegan and absolutely fab whatever your dietary preferences. Amazed it was only half full when we were there…..

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-03

Pros: Patatas Bravas, Chilled atmosphere

Cons: None I can think of!

b.jones

Points +25

Vegetarian
11 Jan 2024

Many nice options

I love the amount of vegan options and they're all delicious!

veganevolutionist

Points +1898

Vegan
08 Oct 2023

Cool place!

Sorry no photos 🤦🏼‍♀️
I had the veg and tofu parcels, and a Gingerella to drink.
B had the tofu and spinach curry with rice, and Karma Kola to drink.
Lovely food. On street parking. The toilet is right at the back of the cafe past the kitchen and long bar.

MaryaLemmon

Points +40

Non Veg
21 Sep 2023

Amazing food!

My bf and I went to Cardiff for a week and this became the best restaurant we tried. The staff is super friendly and the food was just incredible.

We had the dumplings as a starter and then my bf had the Peacemaker bow, and I the Arabian wrap with crispy tofu as a side. We enjoyed every bit of it. I would definitely recommend it!

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-21

Pros: Top: Crispy tofu, cheeze sauce & beetroot kofta, Quick & Super nice staff, online booking, Perfect quality-price

Cons: Not so close to city centre

harveyrj

Points +340

Vegan
27 Aug 2023

Delicious even in the rain!

Vegan food truck at a food festival. So much flavour in their vegan selection box and the mushroom curry was superb!

Pros: Flavourful food, Reasonable price , Varied selection box

RIRM

Points +78

Mostly Veg
22 Aug 2023

Yum vegan food

We come here every year for a treat for my birthday. Can never resist the gherkin starter with amazing cheezy sauce (although look at the 2021 serving vs the 2023 serving of them in my pictures 🤔👎

The bao buns were spectacular!

My main was the Buddha bowl. Yum! Partner went for the doner wrap which he really enjoyed. Glad they now have a liquor licence.

Def a place I’d recommend.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-22

Pros: All vegan! , Yummy

Cons: Bit sparing on the servings for gherkins!

jessjessxx

Points +315

Vegan
31 Jul 2023

Brilliantly Tasty Food

We booked in advance for a group of 6 of us for lunch. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. I ordered the arancini starter, which was nice. Some ordered the crispy tofu which I tried and it was sooo good! I will definitely be ordering that next time. I then ordered the asian fusion tray as my main and this was delicious. For dessert I had the mango cake which was really good too. Overall a very good experience and brilliant food. Would return.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-31

Pros: Great Menu with lots of choice, quiet environment

citizenInsane

Points +1397

Vegan
12 Jul 2023

Delicious food and friendly staff

Great little restaurant with definitely indulgent meals. I had the BBQ seitan bowl and it was great and delicious (although very laden with mayo and other sauces).

emmelineangel

Points +429

Vegan
11 May 2023

Lovely, fresh vegan food

Really nice place, good deco, all vegan

Pros: All vegan , Fresh food, good portions

Cons: Sausage is a bit floral tasting which was odd

wretched

Points +65

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

2 star hygiene rating

This place used to be my go to spot for vegan food growing up, since covid the management has changed resulting in a 2 STAR hygiene rating from 5 STAR - that alone is horrifying

Son-of-Richard

Points +98

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

Impressive!

I’m not from the area and didn’t make the reservation but what a great choice of restaurant!

I went for a big seitan burger which was delicious but the star of the show was definitely the crispy tofu in Peking sauce we ordered as a side. I’ll definitely go for the Asian set menu next time.

Service was a little slow but the staff were very friendly and we were in no rush so it wasn’t an issue.

Definitely on my list for a return visit.

T_uckers

Points +248

Vegan
30 Nov 2022

First and best vegan in Cardiff

Really delicious food and some more interesting dishes than a lot of vegan places. One the pricer side but worth it.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-30

AnnabelleArnold1

Points +149

Vegan
29 Oct 2022

Amazing

10/10 even my non vegan friend loved it!

Pros: 100% vegan , Food is amazing, Staff are friendly

Cons: None

lisajsam

Points +22

Vegan
23 Oct 2022

Tasty Burger

Didn’t have to wait long for food to be served. Food was very tasty. Well recommend

Pros: Lots of choice on the menu

berrydracula

Points +18

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Delicious

Very good food and lots of appealing options on the menu. I will go again and again.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-10

Pros: Variety of different food types, Good food, 100% Vegan Menu

HowieLevit

Points +101

Vegetarian
16 Aug 2022

Great vegan burger place

Great vegan food

JoshuaMacleod

Points +86

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

Fantastic Grub

Loads of nice, creative options. Fantastic starters/sides.

Pros: High-quality vegan options , Great staff

Cons: A little bit expensive, but not OTT

beancurdbabe

Points +109

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

delicious food and friendly staff!

absolutely loved it! everything we ordered was SO delicious and the portions are amazing! my eyes are definitely bigger than my stomach so I didn’t finish it all, but managed to get some to go containers😌
The staff are very friendly as well, overall a wonderful experience! Can’t wait to go back again!

erin199831

Points +205

Vegan
18 Jul 2022

Good food

Haven’t been here in quite a while but when I went it was good! I had a vegan burger which was yummy

LisaSpykers

Points +6742

Vegan
12 Jul 2022

Good but not mind-blowing

We shared a bunch of starters which ended up being a lot of deep fried stuff. Nonetheless, most tasted pretty good. The fried tofu in a sweet sauce was my favorite and the waffle for dessert which was loaded with yummy toppings. Not the most amazing food experience but not a bad one either.

Mary-Jayne

Points +210

Vegan
09 Jul 2022

Perfect lunch!

Everything is fully vegan and it is satisfying!

Pros: Fully vegan!

gracepontin

Points +128

Vegan
08 Jul 2022

Good food

The burger and mac and cheese here are really good. The burgers are quite hard to finish for me but still great. Non-vegans also tend to like it here so I think it’s good for everyone.

Pros: 100% vegan, friendly staff, good food

Cons: small interior

AJoshi

Points +191

Vegan
03 Jun 2022

Not like it used to be

I visited Anna Loka a few years ago and the food was fantastic. It seems the ownership has changed hands. This time, it seems that the fried foods were fried in old oil. Leaves more to be desired for! I hope the owners take this as feedback for improvement.

Pros: Service, Decor, Nice staff

Cons: Food tastes okay at best

Grimsbygrim

Points +16

Vegan
28 May 2022

Not like it was

Been to Anna Loka’s many times and have noticed the decline but yesterday was very disappointing. We entered as the opened for the evening and the first things I saw was the lunchtimes tables had not been cleared and food was still on them ! The kitchen was a mess with clutter, packaging and paperwork all over. The whole place needed a good clean. My partner said the toilets were disgusting. We decided to stay never the less.
The service was ok but definitely not worth the 10% service charge they automatically add to the bill. The food was again ok but nothing like the quality it used to be.
Half way through the meal the EHO entered and “ripped” into the owner because he had hidden the hygiene rating, we checked and it was a 2!!
Really sad to see one of the trailblazing vegan restaurants come to this. I hope the new owners (who aren’t vegan l) take note and get the place back to a quality establishment

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-28

Pros: Pickled tofu. , Tomato sauce.

Cons: Dirty , Poor service , Value for money.

gemgiraf

Points +267

Vegan
21 May 2022

Always great food

A great place whenever I want to treat myself. Faves include the breakfast, rodeo burger and lemon cheesecake

VickiWanSlattery

Points +1396

Vegan
16 Apr 2022

Hit the spot

There was a bit of confusion about the hours as the website, Google and Facebook all said different! I rang up to make sure they were open - hours changing from next week!

We got 20% off some items as it was an Easter special offer.

Between us we got the peacemaker bowl, the doner wrap, patatas bravas, the flame juice and Adonis smoothie to take away.

Quick service and enjoyable food.




This page has been viewed 30344 times.