Vegan-friendly
Organic
Salad bar
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Bakery
European
Gluten-free
Finnish

Vegetarian cafe and restaurant serving daily lunch consisting of vegan soup, salad bar, warm main course, fresh bread, and hummus. Additionally, organic coffee, tea, wine, sweet and savoury baked goods (including vegan ones) are available all day. Est. since the late-2000s, previously at Välikatu 8. Open Mon-Sat 11:00-18:00.


Venue map for Ani's Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by Annika

TheBlackCat

Points +1117

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

Contaminated buffet

I came at a bad time when the chef was out and the were only serving soup with a salad buffet and some cakes. The buffet was good but it was contaminated with milk. I'm not entirely certain if it was the food preparation or just mixing up non-vegan utensils at the buffet table. Since it's vegetarian as well they also serve real butter and things might have gotten mixed up. The cake was very good though!

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-27

Advertisement

Kykykäkä

Points +793

Vegan
07 Jun 2022

Lovely restaurant with great salad buffet

It was so nice sitting outside under the sun ☀️ Everything in the salad bar was vegan today and very delicious!

lnylund

Points +33

Vegan
05 May 2022

Best lunch in Porvoo so far!

Cosy place and buffet with large variety in rich tasing foods

Pros: Lunches full of taste, Lots of protein rich options, The lunchbuffe is easily made vegan

Cons: A bit pricey, but worth it

-Claudia-

Points +806

Vegan
03 May 2022

Really cozy!

The place itself is decorated very beautifully, the owner is lovely as well and immediately started chatting with us :)

I would’ve wished for more vegan desserts though, but the apple pie I had was good!

Atmosphere is really laidback, the location in Porvoo is great as well.

AlexisPeltier

Points +30

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Excellent !!!

Très beau café/restaurant.
Le personnel est très agréable, beaucoup d'options Vegan en plat comme en dessert et tout était vraiment bon !!!
Un lieu à ne pas rater dans votre balade à Porvoo

SeitanSeitanSeitan

Points +3072

Vegan
16 Dec 2020

Lovely place, great food

We had the lunch with salad buffet and a warm dish. Warm option was tasty vegan bolognese with pasta. Their salad buffet is amazing, they even had carrot lox and eggplant herring (Dec 2020). I also loved their bread rolls so much I had to buy some to go.

ChurchOfSeitan

Points +792

Vegan
29 Aug 2020

AMAZING PANNARI BRUNCH

Went as a vegan and got STUFFED. Everything on the brunch buffet was vegan or had a vegan option. Yes even the croissants! Finnish brunch is buffet style with bubbly, so I went with the prosecco (also delicious). Very good also for my omnivore partner. He LOVED the jackfruit and said it was identical to chicken (kinda creepy, i just thought it was nice jackfruit lol). BIG YES RECOMMENDATION!!

eh

Points +69

Vegan
14 Jul 2020

Excellent salad buffet

All vegetarian, mostly vegan, with clearly marked exceptions. New location right in the middle of Porvoo Old Town.

Banjovitz

Points +40

Vegan
07 Dec 2019

Lovely brunch

Great brunch with the option to only have the salad bar which was very diverse also from a vegan perspective. It was easier on the wallet too! 🤘🏻Vegan options at the time were pretty limited outside the brunch table.

Luksi

Points +447

Vegan
13 Mar 2019

Beautiful lunch

This adorable little restaurant near town center was truly warming experience on cold winter tuesday. Art on walls, wooden decor and helpful staff made me feel truly welcomed. Food was delicious and well seasoned. Salad table had many different fresh options and all was vegan, hummus, tahini, sauerkraut & nutritional yeast. Falafels were perfect texture and very tasty. Sweetpotato-beetroot pyree was my favorite. Had creamy&brisk lingonberry cheesecake and coffee as dessert. I will definitely visit again.

Pros: Delicious&beautiful food, friendly staff

Cons: Some dairy products

JoLinna

Points +20

Vegan
19 Oct 2017

Nice atmosphere!

Nice atmosphere and great service. Almost every option is primarily vegan. I especially enjoyed the vegan chocolate cake!

Herkkuli

Points +137

Vegan
19 Oct 2017

Enchanting

Ani's Cafe is one of a kind. The building has a rich history you can sense. It is superbly managed by the owner who makes sure every little thing is as it should.

The food is mostly vegan and if dairy is used there is always a vegan option available. We got exceptional service as a vegan couple eating at Ani's Cafe. The food was reasonably priced, very good and there is also cakes!

The atmosphere is great for a fancy-but-relaxed lunch (up to 2.30pm) and for coffee & cakes - or wine (up to 4pm). The only downside of Ani's coffee? It's not open in the evening or weekends!

Do not miss this enchanting place if you are in Porvoo! Seriously recommended for everyone!

Pros: family-friendly, romantic, cakes

Cons: limited opening hours

luuuris

Points +146

Vegan
03 Aug 2016

Cozy and delicious

We had lunch which was excellent with a vegetable soup and a fresh salad buffé with lots of options including vegan burgers and hummus. The bread was newly baked. The only non-vegan ingredient was butter for the bread and we were offered vegan cream cheese instead when we asked for the vegan option. They also offered vegan cakes but we were too full to try. I will definitely be going back.

Pros: excellent food, cozy vibe, friendly staff

Cons: a bit pricey

Annika

Points +11

Mostly Veg
29 Oct 2009

Lovely and delicious

A lovely, charmful place with a calm, relxing atmosphere with not only soup of the day, but also filled peppers, lasagnes a.s.o. in between.I warmly recommend!

Pros: Lovely environment, delicious vegetarian food, Organic coffe and cakess




This page has been viewed 4452 times.