Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 63 reviews )

Find

Nimman Haeminda Rd, Soi Hillside 3 (at opposite Soi 13), Chiang Mai, Thailand, 50200

Restaurant and bakery. Restaurant is located on the 2nd floor. Offers a changing menu written on the blackboard. Specializes in vegetarian/vegan versions of Thai traditional dishes. No mock meats or MSG. Has house-made vegan cakes. Colorful artwork adorn the walls.
Note December 2021: Restaurants in Thailand may open for indoor dining, but some provinces are requiring restaurants to close for dine-in by 9:00pm. Call to check hours before going. Alcohol is not permitted in restaurants in any province. Open Mon 11:30am-8:00pm, Thu-Sun 11:30am-8:00pm. Closed Tue-Wed.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Organic, Thai, Western, Beer/Wine, Delivery, Take-out

63 Reviews

First Review by SteffenS

VaibhavChaturvedi

Points +51

Vegetarian
27 Jul 2020

Delicious vegan / vegetarian Thai food

Very friendly owners. I arrived at 7:50 P.M., so just before the closing time of 8:00 P.M. but, the owner was super welcoming. Customized food for without egg. Had the Red Curry, Pineapple Fried Rice, Tom Yum (really nice), Fried Veggies and Mixed Berries drink. Everything was very tasty

Pros: Biggg portion sizes, Parking easy to find around the place, Friendly owners

Kaddie

Points +148

Vegan
08 Mar 2020

Genial!

Sehr leckere Gerichte top Auswahl!

Pros: Viele vegane Gerichte , Günstig , Freundliche Leute

Cons: /

Vegansteffi

Points +116

Vegan
05 Mar 2020

Amazing

Especially the pad thai with butterfly pea noodles is a dream! Nice little terrace or balcony! Would go there again👍!!

Advertisement

OreganoZen

Points +84

Vegan
10 Feb 2020

Entre os 5 melhores de Chiang Mai

Lugar muito agradável! Fomos jantar no Anchan em uma noite muito agradável, então foi possível ficar na sacada.
A comida é deliciosa e muito fresca. Mesmo com muito movimento, o nosso pedido chegou rápido e quentinho!
Como nós adoramos a comida Thai, pedimos um prato muito interessante, que foi o Butterfly Pea Pad Thai (o noodles é violeta) e um delicioso e aromático Fried Rice.
Se você estiver pela região do Nimman, não deixe de ir comer no Anchan.

Tom-Hunt

Points +68

Vegan
20 Jan 2020

My favourite vegan restaurant in CM!

Located down a quiet soi off Nimman road. Delicious food, no matter what you order.. honestly everything on the menu is good here, and so so tasty.. a lot id vegan restaurants can be a bit bland but they use the right level of spice and seasoning here.

Has great smoothies too, and a changing dessert menu made daily.

Pros: Too many good dishes, try what you want!

Cons: Slightly expensive, smallish restaurant!

chiangzajac

Points +153

Vegan
25 Dec 2019

good place to visit

this is one of the place where you can go once and you will not regret if you will not vist it again. generally it is ok, good quality, good taste but it is nothing „woow” like on other vegan places (that is my personal opinion);
on the end everyobe should vist it to make own decision;

Pros: lot of vegan and vegetarian options, clear menu with marked veg options, probably one of the best place in his area

Cons: meals are good but thats it

shizow

Points +637

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Delicious vegan Thai food

Delicious vegan Thai food

Cons: Expensive for what you get

Beresj10

Points +140

Vegetarian
12 Oct 2019

Best vegan/vegetarian restaurant in Chiang Mai

Over the 5 years I've been visiting Chiang Mai, Anchan remains the best value, tastiest Asian food I've found. Actually it's just got better over the years, now with a great range of dishes on offer: curries, stir fries, salads, juices etc. Some of my favs are Miso aubergines, Green curry and Indian curry. I've never had a bad meal.

The produce is of high quality, clean kitchen, everything cooked freshly to order. Great prices. Lovely, lovely staff.

Pros: Great range of delicious Thai food, Wide choice, Cosy feel with indoor and outdoor space

Cons: Can get busy, Food cooked to order so you can wait at busy times, No air con, but lots of fans

bennick

Points +30

Vegetarian
11 Oct 2019

Super good veggie place

Upstairs in a pretty comfortable space they serve a ton of delicious vegan meals. My favorites were the curries and the veggie stew.

Pros: Tons of vegan options , Vegan ice cream

ninajee

Points +38

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

Delicious and Huge Portions

The food was so good and it came out fast! Very delicious. I am definitely coming back here.

itswq

Points +15

Vegetarian
08 Sep 2019

Excellent food, slow service

Went with family and friends. Cosy restaurant with 1 cook and 1 service staff , so expect to wait 15-20mins. Food is good though.

Serves brown rice only. No white rice.

Pros: Delicious food. , Big serving portion, Generous with vegetables

Cons: Slow service

Traveller1

Points +17

Vegetarian
04 Sep 2019

Tasty + relaxed

Medium sized, serves hot, tasty veg food, low price.

Pros: Price, casual

Cons: No smoothies.

LinnBonito

Points +67

Vegetarian
02 Sep 2019

Lovely place

Such a nice and calm place, who is centrally located. The banana-flower salad is spiiicy, but OH so GOOD!

Pros: Very nice menu, Good prices , Nice staff

PirateBird

Points +231

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

Fresh food, generous portions!

Great spot to eat. Fresh and tasty!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Generous portions, Nice comfortable seating

heretobehappy

Points +553

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

delicious authentic thai food

I had the red pumpkin curry, one of the best curries I've had in Thailand. Also recommend the blue (butterfly pea) pad thai. I am vegan/gluten-free.

Pros: generous portions, cute space, friendly staff

Rob_here

Points +86

Vegan
08 Jul 2019

Best food we had in Chiang Mai

Came here a few times during our stay and each time the food was excellent. All freshly cooked from organic ingredients and very friendly staff.

Pros: Most food vegan or can be made vegan.

stretchwithgumby

Points +146

Vegetarian
02 Feb 2019

my favorite place in Chiang Mai

Been here twice. It serves comfort food which is not only delicious but is served in generous portions. I have been to about 8 places in Chiang Mai and this tops the rest.

Pros: large portions, scrumptious

MelanieSwan

Points +52

Vegan
28 Jan 2019

Excellent

Great food. I had the butterfly pea pad Thai and the red curry. Great flavours and menu. A solid choice.

oskeewowwow

Points +451

Vegan
10 Jan 2019

Busy because the Thai Food is so Great!

We only made it here once during our 5 days in Chiang Mai because it was either closed or full of people. The panang curry, pad see ew, and pad thai were all some of the best we had in Thailand. We went here with five people, including meat eaters and everyone loved it.

Pros: Amazing Thai Food, Many vegan options

Cons: Busy

SaraOliver

Points +336

Vegan
23 Dec 2018

Good options

Good food but a bit pricey. The vegan options are very clearly labeled.

MaisieStedman

Points +101

Vegan
01 Nov 2018

Tasty well priced food

Tasty veggie food - vegan options clearly labelled, but you can also ask for veg options to be veganised. Lots of people saying it’s the best pad Thai they’ve found - so I got quite excited to try it but I have to say it’s definitely not the most flavourful I’ve had in Thailand - I preferred the curries.

Laodamia

Points +135

Vegan
28 Oct 2018

Calm place for vegans to chill

Anchan was my comfort food place to go to in Chiang Mai. For about 150 baht you can get full of vegan goodies, in a calm atmosphere far from the dust of the road, and the sound of motorbikes. Freshly made dishes, large portions, clearly marked vegan options (and many of them!) on a long menu. Taro fritters, cashew pad thai (or any pad thai actually…) are great choices. Mint smoothie was my fav refreshing drink, but I bet all others are as good (tried berry one too).

Pros: Big portions, Clearly marked vegan options, Great smoothies

DarrenHazan

Points +50

Vegan
19 Oct 2018

Absolutely incredible

120 baht a dish and the pad thai is amazing (ask for no egg) and the sweetcorn fritters are incredible if you're happy having a bit of greasy/oil.

They are really nice in there and very accommodating.

JackWells

Points +36

Vegan
10 Oct 2018

Hidden Treasure

Butter fly pea Pad Thai with mushrooms was stunning and delicious. Green curry, spicy but flavorful. Awesome spot for anyone.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good size portions, Lovely staff

veganziggy

Points +157

Vegan
24 Jun 2018

Clean, Vibrant & Delicous Food

I don't have a bad word to say about Anchan. Everything we have ordered has been fantastic. They don't use too much oil or cook the vegetables until they are much like many other Thai restaurants do.

The staff are lovely and really helpful if you have any questions. Most things can be made vegan even if it says vegetarian on the menu so just check with the waiter.

The Pad thai is the best we've had in Chaing Mai by far!

Pros: Beautifully cooked food, Peaceful ambiance, Helpful staff

peasandunderstanding

Points +248

Vegan
28 Apr 2018

Peaceful place in busy Nimman

If you are heading to check out Nimman, Anchan is a must. What I enjoyed most about this place is how relaxed it feels compared to its city centre counterparts. The food is super tasty (I had the green curry with pumpkin) with vegan options clearly marked on the colourful chalk board that makes up the menu. All in line with the slogan adorning their sign outside the door "vegetarian food so good you won't miss the meat". There is also a nice terrace to enjoy the breeze from whilst observing the street below.

pascale&alex

Points +83

Vegetarian
03 Apr 2018

Fresh and good food

We were in Anchan on our first evening in Chiang Mai and were amazed. After three weeks in Thailand, the eggplant-miso dish convinced us, finally a really different taste than most. Also the mint smoothie is super refreshing and not too sweet. We came back a few days later and tried a curry with palm hearts and the tofu sweet sour. Both very tasty and served with brown rice. The choice is not huge, but everything is fresh. The tables for two on the balcony are sweet, absolutely recommended.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Chiang Mai Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Anchan Vegetarian Restaurant closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 15275 times.