• Amore Food Market & Cafe

  • (22)
    8
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

An organic wholefoods market shop carrying over 800 products, including fresh organic produce. Has a cafe that offers a fully vegan and gluten-free menu, using mostly organic ingredients. Serves soup of the week, bowls, burgers, bagels, cabinet sweets, smoothies and hot drinks. Caters for paleo and keto diets. Open Mon-Fri 10:00am-6:00pm, Sat 10:00am-4:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Amore Food Market & Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by Alicekate

MarVigan

Points +27

Vegan
18 Feb 2024

Nice, delicious and organic

The shop and the owner were lovely. So many great regional and organic products. We ordered a avocado toast and some pancakes. Both was very delicious, beautiful prepared and well flavored. Everything on the menu is vegan.

Pros: All vegan menu, Delicious , Organic

Cons: Bit pricy, but organic

Advertisement

Grania

Points +13

Mostly Veg
30 Dec 2023

Satisfied Tummies

Amazing turmeric latte, large minze & cheese pies with crunchy tops and super tasty filling, delicious smoothies and beautiful sweets. To top it off, great hospitality from friendly interesting people. Very much an accidental treat to discover. Highly recommend dropping in.

Pros: Great food, Lovely hosts, Excellent supplies

EvelynS

Points +414

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Paradise in a hidden corner

I read the reviews and had to track it down. Not disappointed, well worth the hunt. I had one of the best English Breakfast teas ever, with a chocolate covered date. Husband said he had one the best ever coffees he has had, with whisky chocolate bar. Took a chilled curry for dinner along with a bag of tangelos for desert. Plenty of seating.

Pros: Just everything is awesome: people and food

LucieUrbancova

Points +22

Vegan
30 May 2022

The best place for a Vegan, and all GF too

Love this cafe/shop. Tasted Yummy burgers on Fridays and my favorite broccoli salad and pies on other days, also heaps other options available....
Great service and nice cheerful helpful owners.

Pros: All vegan and gluten free

Cons: Closed on Sundays

CarrieLeigh

Points +16

Vegan
13 Apr 2021

Cute cafe with great vegan food

What a lovely cafe! Stopped off at Amore on my way through Timaru and was blown away by the range and quality of the food. Ordered a coffee, the loaded bagel, and beetroot velvet cake and was happy with the value for money. The staff were friendly and the owner, Kelly, has clearly worked hard on something she is passionate about and can be proud of.

citizenInsane

Points +1397

Vegan
27 Feb 2021

Delicious

A nice little spot, quite surprising in a sort of semi-industrial area. I was so hungry and arrived there for brunch - I had toast with avocado, a cappuccino, and a brownie slice. Everything was delicious and the manager was very friendly, however I did find it a bit pricy.

Pros: Healthy foods, Delicious, Cosy spot

Cons: A bit pricy

Amorefood

07 Apr 2021

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Yes unfortunately all our costs have gone up since the lockdown and because we use organic and spray-free ingredients and 95% of everything is made from scratch on-site some items may appear more expensive than other cafes which don't use the same quality nutrient-dense ingredients or put the same care & love into the creation of each menu item. We appreciate the time you took to spend dining with us and also to write a review! Kelly xoxox

FrancesSch

Points +85

Vegan
18 Jan 2021

Delightful surprise

Saw this on Happy Cow and decided to visit. What a delight! Never would have guessed such a treasure wasn in Timaru. Fabulous selection of delicious healthy food in the cafe/restaurant section, and a lovely shop as well. Great place and really helpful friendly staff.

Amorefood

07 Apr 2021

Thank-you! Yes, customers often say we are Timaru's best kept hidden secret. We hope more lovely folks like yourself keep coming & spreading the word so we become well-known and not such a hidden treasure😉- Kelly xoxox

Melissaabee94

Points +23

Vegan
14 Jan 2021

Great cafe and great store

I had an amazing salad in the cafe which was a mix of 4 different salads, all really yummy! The owner was super friendly and gave some really good advice about gut health and well-being!

Pros: Everything vegan , Helpful advice from the owner, Range of products in the shop

Amorefood

07 Apr 2021

Yay. Glad you enjoyed our Salad Bar this summer. Hope your gut health becomes abundantly awesome and you are thriving! - Kelly xoxox

smc20

Points +16

Vegan
12 Dec 2020

Delicious food in Timaru

I stopped in for lunch, and was really impressed by the food, the adjoining store, and how pationate the owner was about making really tasty, and very healthy food. I will definitely stop in again the next time I am in Timaru. A real gem 🙂

Amorefood

07 Apr 2021

Thanks so much for stopping by and yes I am passionate about health, wellness & nourishing tasty GF, plant-based food. Thanks for your lovely review. - Kelly xoxox

itsmecarey

Points +17

Vegetarian
08 Sep 2020

The best vegan food ever

My husband and I went to this cafe for lunch last week and we were totally amazed at how delicious the food was. The owner of the cafe was totally lovely as well. We were so impressed with this cafe that we came back later in the day for a coffee and cookie each....all so good. It is a pity we don't live in Timaru but this will be the only place I will go to when we are next back there.

Amorefood

07 Apr 2021

Wow, thanks so much for your awesome review and hope to see you more often when you're visiting Timaru next. - Kelly xoxox

Derf29

Points +41

Vegan
07 Sep 2020

Healthy

Great and unexpected find in Timaru. Healthy food with lots of options. Friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic owner.
We will be back.

Pros: Easy parking

Cons: Slightly out of town

Amorefood

07 Apr 2021

Great glad you found us despite not being on the main street of Timaru. Our locals love that we have the parking here not readily available elsewhere in Timaru CBD as you have highlighted. Appreciate your positive review. Hope to see you soon. Kelly xoxox

SW2

Points +19

Vegetarian
12 Mar 2020

Fantastic food!

We popped in here for some breakfast and had the avo on toast! It was so yummy and the lady who owned the restaurant was so friendly and passionate! Would definitely recommend!

Amorefood

10 Jul 2020

Awesome thanks so much for your feedback. Lockdown had the Amore Food Cafe shut down but we are back up & passionately running & would love to see folks back again😄

dirtydine

Points +50

Vegan
05 Feb 2020

A must visit in Timaru

A delicious vegan cafe! Stopped in on our way passing through Timaru for lunch and it was so good we stopped again on our way back to Christchurch the next day. Will be making the visit whenever we are in Timaru. Thank you!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good prices, Colouring in books while you wait

Amorefood

10 Mar 2020

Yes so glad you folks double-dipped at the Amore Food Cafe. Look forward to your next visits?

Marikiwa

Points +197

Vegan
12 Jan 2020

Delish and healthy

Cute little café and organic shop! For what I understood all the food cooked at the café is vegan. We got a burger I think made of lentils, and a salad bowl with a fritter.. Everything felt so healthy and was also so tasty and full of flavours! Really happy we found that lovely place during our short stop in Timaru and left very satisfied!! Nice owner too!

Pros: All vegan café , Well stocked organic shop

Amorefood

10 Mar 2020

We are always so happy when folks like you are satisfied with the Amore Food Cafe food. It really makes all the hard work & love we put into every dish so worth it. Thanks for sharing the love :)

Katzenka

Points +31

Vegan
08 Jan 2020

Yummy filling wholesomeness!

We stopped by for lunch super hungry and left satisfied and feeling light and nourished. We had burger and abundance bowl, both super tasty!!! Loving the vibe of this place and little shop. The owner was nice and chatty😄More places like this please.

Pros: Everything is plant based and gluten free

Cons: Nothing

Amorefood

10 Mar 2020

Glad you love our vibe & what we are trying to create here in Timaru with the Amore Food Market & Cafe. Look forward to more appreciate punters like yourself Katzenka?

AlexisLouise

Points +30

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

Incredible!

Stopped in here on our road trip and wow, the food is amazing! You can dine in or take away. Everything is gluten free and vegan. The yummiest healthy salads, bagels, burgers and raw treats, and more!! Also a little grocery store where you can buy fruit n veg, etc! I had the bagel with a vegan cream cheese and kimchi and seeds and other delights on top! So good!

Pros: So much choice!, So tasty and healthy!, All gluten free and still soooo delicious!

Amorefood

10 Mar 2020

Thanks so much for your lovely review & sharing the love about the Amore Food Market & Cafe. ?

NotTodaySeitan

Points +85

Mostly Veg
05 Dec 2019

Great cooked and non cooked options.

Great cooked and non cooked options.

Amorefood

10 Mar 2020

Thanks for your useful feedback. Please come again anytime. :)

Windowwipers

Points +16

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

Vibing

Great food and such nice vibes if you want to dine in. A good selection to choose from and her Kombucha is divine.

Pros: Excellent food, Nice vibe, Good serving size

Amorefood

03 Nov 2019

Hi there. Glad you enjoyed our vibe & food. Yes the Kiss Kombucha is a winner with all our customers enjoying a glass with lunch or dinner or filling up a bottle to takeaway?Hope to see you again soon. Kelly xoxox

Leanz

Points +78

Vegan
13 Sep 2019

Wonderful

This cafe has gluten free and plant based food. The food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The staff were lovely. We will be back - thank you

Pros: All food is vegan, Very reasonably priced, Friendly helpful staff

Cons: None

Amorefood

03 Nov 2019

Hiya. Awesome you enjoyed our food & thanks for the feedback. We pride ourselves on being the 1st 100% GF organic plant-based cafe in Canterbury & will keep trying to improve as we finish off the cafe & bring in more cabinet food & a deli?Kelly xoxox

Sammyad123

Points +44

Vegan
11 Sep 2019

Incredible food and lovely staff!

Every time we visit Timaru we struggle to find vegan options...and when we saw this gem of a place on Happy Cow we decided to give it a go...and were certainly not disappointed!

I had a delicious 'abundance bowl' full of yummy nutritious things including cauliflower gnocchi and crispy curried tofu, my partner had a jackfruit and mushroom burger which was to die for!

The prices are very reasonable and all the food is organic, if we'd had more time we would have stayed to browse the market next door and enjoy a hot drink as they sounded fabulous. We were told the menu changes frequently too!

Thank you again to the owner and lovely ladies working there....We will be back!!!!! 😁

Pros: Good prices, delicious food, great staff!

Amorefood

03 Nov 2019

Hiya. Thanks for the feedback & posting the photos as well. As we are new on the scene (still in soft launch phase) we appreciate any feedback that can help us improve. We will eventually get cabinet food in as well just working on logistics etc... Hope to see you again soon?Kelly xoxox

Jody92

Points +32

Vegan
10 Sep 2019

Really lovely cafe & store

We stopped here on our way today and it is a really great cafe with awesome food, where we also got a customised smoothie! Def recommend heading there!😄

Pros: great plant based menu , 100% gluten free , Lovely service

Amorefood

03 Nov 2019

Hi. Thank-you for taking the time post feedback. We really do appreciate it as we are only in the soft-launch phase & hope to improve as we get cabinet food in & continue to finish the cafe side off. Glad you enjoyed your customised organic smoothies?Kelly xoxox

Alicekate

Points +11

Mostly Veg
28 Mar 2018

Green tea & empathy

Thank you so much for sorting out a green tea for us today.  Totally above and beyond to provide a little oasis of calm & nutrition as we stopped in on our 2 day drive.

It was a lovely stop at your fabulous shop.  Lovely to see the interesting things you can get in this part of the world. Fascinating about the micronutrition.

Good luck with your new cafe, It's a fabulous venture.

The coconut ice cream was divine!

Pros: Informed nutritional approach

Amorefood

03 Nov 2019

Hiya. Just catching up here on the feedback and came across your beautiful message. So happy you found us as your oasis on your journey as many of our travelling customers do. Thanks for sharing the love. Kelly xoxox




This page has been viewed 4204 times.