Alternative Stores

  • Vegan-store Veg Store
  • Vegan
    ( 14 reviews )
Contact
+44-1916030577
Find

1 Wesley Way, Benton Square, Benton (at Coast Business Park), Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, NE12 9TA

Shop selling all vegan products, including clothes and footwear, beauty and health, specialty foods, confectionery, nuts, grains, gluten free, organic, wheat free, and more. Next day delivery available. Open Mon-Sat 9:30am-5:30pm, Sun 10:00am-4:00pm.

14 Reviews

First Review by SandraR

Nice all vegan shop - Edit

Huge selection of vegan products and one of the first all vegan shops I have been able to find. It's fantastic that it also has a selection of vegan shoes and cleaning products etc... And it's easy because everything is guaranteed to be vegan. The staff are really friendly and chatty. The only down side is that it took us so long to find as the location is a little odd and the sign posting is lacking.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-26

Cons: Location , Ships to Europe

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great shop - Edit

a really good ship with a huge selection of vegan products.
shoes, t shirts, dried, tinned, ambient and frozen food.
oddly out on an industrial estate, which is very odd but allows a larger premises than a city centre and more products. has a large online sales business and is really worth looking at.

Pros: vegan, large, online

Cons: location

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Craig. Thank you for your review and feedback. We are looking to open a premise in Newcastle City Centre in the not so distant future! Keep an eye on our website which we are also currently redesigning and rebranding and please sign up for our newsletter so we can update you on any new developments!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A vegan treasure trove! - Edit

You can find everything vegan in this store from boots to cheese. It's brilliant just being able to walk around picking things up without having to check labels etc. A fantastic store!

Pros: Great range of vegan goods., Affordable.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A good starting point for Vegan & Veggie diets - Edit

Plenty of vegan and veggie staples and items which are not available in the standard high street health food shops. Veganaise, tempeh, Seitan, melty cheese and more tofu than you can shake a stick at. My only criticism is that when we went 7/01 I found the 2 staff a little frosty and not especially helpful which wasn't great considering how far we had travelled to visit. Last time the lady working was really friendly, loads of hints tips and recommendations - keen to engage. A good place to start when you are navigating life as a new vegan! About the same prices as Holland &a Barrett

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Emma. Thank you for your review and feedback. I am really sorry you didn't get the experience you should have on your last visit to the store. I will take your feedback on board and we will do all that we can to ensure this does not happen again. I hope you will give us another chance and visit us again in the near future! As you are not local, we also ship orders out daily and if you would like to order from us online, discount code 'DSJAN17' will give you a 10% discount site wide unitil the end of January.
Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great little vegan store! - Edit

This store has lots of different vegan food options and shoes at reasonable prices. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful too!

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Louey. Thank you for your kind review!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Super Friendly and Helpful - Edit

I live about 9 miles away form this store but it is worth visiting (even though it offers mail order) as the staff are so friendly and approachable. I was delighted to see they sell Bonanza Veggie Steaks as they have been a delicious must for me for many years (I used to buy them in Fenwicks who discontinued them, no doubt to make way for more animal products.:-( ) I like the fact that the website has tips on how to use the products, for example I now make my own 'meat' (seitan) by using their gluten flour and following the recipe on their site. Shopping here is a very enjoyable experience and the staff put a lot into their store.

Pros: None

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Sookisoo. Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you love the Bonanza Veggie Steaks as much as we do!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +52

everything a vegan could ask for - Edit

Alt store is one of the only all vegan all dairy free stores in the north east. The most amazing selection of chocolate you can find. Shop for frozen food to toothpaste it all there and if it isn't they will try to get it for you. Alt store deliver anywhere in the world and prices are competitive. All in all its a great place to shop where the staff are friendly and helpful. New stock arriving all the time so check the alternative stores website for offers etc

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Leanne. Thank you for your kind review!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

GREAT FOR ALL - Edit

Great place to shop, they sell lots of vegan products including dairy free cheese and chocolate. This place is also great for allergy suffers such as those who are lactose intolerant, soy allergy etc.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and are always happy to help you, great customer service is a must for me.
The shop is local to Newcastle and 2 mins away from palmville metro station, they do taster days so you can taste the goods they sell, sosmix pie I recommend yum !
This shop also delivers all over the uk, plus other countries which is great if you cant get to the shop.

Pros: excellent choice of food, great staff, great footwear

Cons: need more of them all over the UK

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Melanie. Thank you for your kind review! I am pleased you enjoy our taster days! We also agree with your con and hope to have more stores all over the UK too so please sign up for our mailing list to keep updated on any new developments!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Paradise - Edit

Quite simply, the only vegan shop in Newcastle. You will find everything you could possibly want including cheeses, desserts, chocolate, vitamins, snacks, frys, v-bites, meats, laundry liquid and shoes to name just a few. Located near to Palmersville Metro it is definitely worth the trek and you won't be disappointed. Alternatively, you can always order online too.

Pros: Choice, 100% Vegan, Lovely helpful Staff

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi deadpledge. Thank you for your kind review!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Warehouse - Edit

Quite hard to find if you don't know the area but if you come into the trading estate look immediate left and you'll see it beyond the metal fence. They sell everything vegan you could possibly imagine. There are fridges and freezers full of cheeses, salamis, tofu and seitan based 'meats', and don't forget marshmallows. My particular favourite is the Vegusto cheese range which is definitely the best vegan cheese I have ever tasted to date. At £4.99 a pack it ain't cheap but it's worth it. As well as savoury foodstuffs you'll find a huge range of confectionery and household and cleaning products. If you fancy a drive to check it out I can't imagine it being a wasted trip. Otherwise, they also do everything online.

Pros: great stock, unusual items , some bargain items

Cons: hard to find, some items are pricey

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi hack_man. Thank you for your kind review! We now stock a huge variety of different vegan ceases including a large range of 'Violife' from blocks to slices to cream variety and the whole 'Tyne Chease' range - one of our most popular cheases which is a raw chease made locally and available in blocks or creamed variety.

We are also looking to open a premise in Newcastle City Centre in the not so distant future! Keep an eye on our website which we are also currently redesigning and rebranding and please sign up for our newsletter so we can update you on any new developments!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Vegan Shop in Newcastle - Edit

Very pleased to find this store. Everything is vegan. A massive selection of chilled and frozen foods along with tons of food and grocery, sweets, chocolates, baking goods, health foods, Suma foods, etc etc
The staff are really good too, they ordered in a few things in for me that they don't normally stock, plus they took the effort to drop them off to me a few days later.
I was also pleased with the advice on vitamins, supplements etc, especially on b12 and probiotics.

Pros: Massive range of vegan foods, Great staff, Best chilled and frozen range ever

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi gab dean. Thank you for your kind review!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Newcastle Vegan Store - Edit

So pleased to see we have a vegan store in Newcastle.
I had purchased online and didn't know they were based in the North East.
They have a massive range of vegan food and grocery, vegan shoes, protoveg sosmix, chilled and frozen, nuts, seeds, grains, chocolate and sweets, vitamins and minerals.
Nice to see they are a vegan business with vegan and vegetarian staff,
Staff are very friendly and helpful and great at finding items they don't yet stock.
the delivery service is great too, nice and fast.

Pros: Excellent range of vegan goods, Friendly helpful staff, Delivery Service

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Newcastle Vegan Girl. Thank you for your kind review!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Heaven - Edit

This is a great place for vegan shopping in Newcastle as they have so much stuff.
I was really pleased to see Potoveg Sosmix on sale and its the origanal stuff too, plus they do a great vegan burger mix.
The staff are so friendly and have even opened up after hous for us a few times.
Beware of the range of real vegan cheeses as they are so addictive.

Pros: range of organic prepacked nuts and seeds, expert staff very friendly and vegan, original protoveg sosmix sausage mix

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi newcastlevegan. Thank you for your kind review! We also have an issue with a vegan cheese addiction! In particular 'Tyne Chease' - you need to try this if you haven't already!

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Affordable Vegetarian Shoes and more - Edit

I was really pleased to find Vegetarian Shoes online at realistic prices but even better I found they also have a store in Newcastle upon Tyne.
Its an excellent store as they have a great choice of vegan goods, health foods and whole foods, dairy free cheese and devine chocolate.
Ive bought quite alot of vegetarians shoes and groceries now from Alt Stores and the staff are really friendly and helpful. They opening hours are limited but they will kindly open up outside of normal hours for customers on request.

Pros: Afrordable Vegetarian Vegan goods, Good Choice of Vegetarian Shoes, Friendly Staff

Cons: Limited opening hours

1 Response
Read More

AlternativeStores 17 Jan 2017 - Hi Sandra. Thank you for your kind review! Our opening hours may have changed since you posted your review and we are open Monday to Saturday 9.30 to 5.30 and Sunday 11.00 to 3.00. We will still kindly open later for you on request too.

As a thank you for your review, discount code 'DSJAN17' will get you 10% discount on any orders placed online by the end of Jan! This can be used on our wide range of shoes too!

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Zahra - Alt Stores  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Newcastle Upon Tyne Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Alternative Stores closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3308 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support