CLOSED: Aloha Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 43 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

Rua do Monte Olivete 20, Lisbon, Portugal, 1200-279

Organic cafe serving breakfast, salads, burgers, cakes, and drinks. Pastry and desserts are sugar-free. Confirmed closed by owners, August 2018, sister branch at Sesimbra Beach remains open.

Categories: Vegan, Organic, Raw, Mediterranean, Take-out, Bakery, European, Breakfast, Portuguese

43 Reviews

First Review by jac_mo

AnneVlaanderen

Points +19

Vegetarian
18 Aug 2018

Closed

Went to visit and iT was closed even though on the app iT Saïd iT was open. Also the name is No longer up to date.

Ricardo

18 Aug 2018

Hello, I'm one of the HappyCow Ambassadors.
I'm sorry the restaurant was closed when you visited. I just checked their Facebook and it turns out that times in HappyCow were not up-to-date. So, I've just submitted an update for the opening times.
By the way, this has happened to me too, so I usually also check their opening hours in their Facebook page. So I'd recommend doing that, just in case.
At the same time, if you find times are not correct, please send an update.
The site depends on us, its users, to keep it updated. :)
Thanks!

LilacHippy

30 Aug 2018

Hi, I've had confirmation from the owners that this branch has closed. They have a sister branch in Sesimbra Beach which is open.

GianLucaGori

Points +83

Fruitarian
10 Aug 2018

very nice café and people

It is a very cozy place with some very nice dishes :) people are very kind and welcoming

Updated from previous review on 2018-08-08

Orion

Points +982

Vegan
18 Jul 2018

Average

Limited brunch menu unless you want something sweet, I had the quiche which I thought was under seasoned and my partner had avocado on toast which was over salted. The opening hours are wrong on here, didn’t open until 10am.

Pros: Cheap, Friendly staff, Clean

Cons: Not a lot of options for brunch , Food wasn’t amazing

Advertisement

schalketto

Points +302

Vegan
30 Jun 2018

No ways are they open till 9 pm

No ways are they open till 9 pm

Cons: Not open till 9 as per details on Happy cow

srfk

08 Jul 2018

Perhaps not the fault of the restaurant though that there is out-of-date information on HappyCow? Often restaurants are added to Happy Cow by volunteers, such as you or me: not the actual restaurant itself. There is a reporting feature on HappyCow (click on Edit Review above) via which you can report this change.

HappyCouple

Points +43

Vegan
25 Jun 2018

Cosy and yummy

Cosy place, not expensive. Had soup and a vegan quiche for lunch. Very good portions and the quiche was delicious! There's also a great range of vegan and sugarfree desserts you can choose from. The lady who served us couldn't speak much English but was very friendly. Only cash here.

Pros: Delicious, Not expensive, Cosy

VincentVeldhuizen

Points +71

Vegan
21 Jun 2018

Perfect brunch

Delicious, great sweet little place. The brunch menu was great.

Pros: vegan

mrkempi

Points +157

Vegan
21 Jun 2018

Brilliant brunch

What a great place this is. A warm welcome, easy to follow fully vegan menu, and really outstanding food. Go now.

KathrynDaviesKemp

Points +151

Vegan
21 Jun 2018

Lovely place for brunch ❤️🌱

Fresh and tasty food, highly recommend!

Pros: Avocado on toast is delicious, Cute little cafe , Friendly staff

Cons: Limited menu but all vegan so we were happy 😊

MathildeRobichaud

Points +82

Vegan
03 Jun 2018

Wonderful

The ladies were really nice and food 😍😍 not pricy also!!!

lenaN

Points +45

Vegan
30 May 2018

Excellent brunch

Very good brunch. Varied options and reasonably priced- will definitely be back!

Pros: All vegan, Filling and healthy food

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

28 May 2018

great place, good value for money, delicious

Enjoyed branch options on multiple occasion, will come bk when in Lisbon again. Highly recommended

lenneek

Points +298

Vegan
21 Apr 2018

Good and affordable food

Great place on a great location. It's a bit small and it's normally full, so it's best to either make a reservation or visit at unusual times. Me and my boyfriend both ordered the burger of the week for around 8 euro, in our case that was their lentil burger, which came with sweet potato fries and mayo (similar to another vegan restaurant in Lisbon). Everything was delicious, except for their brownies, which are made with beets and definitely don't taste good (confirmed by 5+ people). Other than that everything was perfect and the staff was friendly. Definitely will visit again.

Pros: Affordable prices, Friendly staff, Great location

Cons: Too busy

Rumbleroar

Points +38

Vegan
07 Apr 2018

Full of potential!

To start, the food was really good. Both me and my girlfriend ordered the Burger of the Week plus juices. The food was really good and we both enjoyed it, with the exception of the bread that was too dry. The juices were great and fresh. At the end we ordered coffee and honestly, it was one of , if not the best coffees I’ve ever had.

The most urgent change that needs to be done in my opinion, is that the menu is composed of “xxxxx of the week/ day” however there is no list or information on what is the actual xxxx of the day. So to either have in the menu the different plates served listed or some board on the wall visible with this information updated daily. This way there’s no need to ask the overworked waiting staff what is the xxxx of the day/week.

Besides that the only complaint is that they seem understaffed, having the waiting staff always back and forth without time to actually get to your table in order to get your order. So we spent some good 15 minutes between sitting down and ordering.

Super friendly people and Good food, however will probably go back for brunch and afternoon snacks type of thing.

Pros: Good food, Friendly Staff, Good location

Cons: No description of the plate of the day without ask, Understaffed

Wildebeast

Points +88

Vegan
04 Mar 2018

Lovely cafe

We had pancakes and a brunch menu. Food was very tasty, the staff was so friendly. If I would be living in Lissabon I would come here very often!

0711

Points +53

Vegetarian
28 Feb 2018

very nice place for lunch

This is the perfect place to have lunch. Very tasty and warm atmosphere.

thecharlotte

Points +662

Vegan
19 Feb 2018

Brunch and coffee

Aloha serve good food but I had the bad luck with terribly rude staff and long wait when I was here. I wish I didn't have this experience because I lost interest in coming back.

Pros: Good food

Cons: Rude staff

KevinFrea

Points +119

Vegan
03 Feb 2018

Fabulous Brunch, great value

We got here early, and we're glad we did because it filled up quickly. Went for Brunch II and it was both healthy and delicious, which can be a rare achievement. The brunch included a free choice of cakes, soup, salad, hot drink, juice, and yoghurt with fruit, all vegan. Will be back.

Pros: high quality food.

AnaGabriela

Points +588

Vegan
24 Jan 2018

Good coffee

The place is very nice and the staff friendly and helpful. The food doesn't suit my particular tastes, but my partner liked his food and mine also. I would recommend it for the coffee.

leeroykunz

Points +16

Vegan
20 Jan 2018

brunch

Great food, wonderful location

nutri_shion

Points +75

Vegan
25 Dec 2017

Cozy place, healthy food

The place is very small, so reserving on the weekends is a smart idea - otherwise you will probably have to wait. But the food is well worth it. I had the breakfast II, which was filling without making you feel sluggish. The owners are very friendly and it feels good to support such small family-run businesses. Keep it up!

MichaelHenschel

Points +56

Vegan
17 Dec 2017

Lovely brunch

Simple atmosphere with lots of good food, great stop for brunch with friendly, helpful staff... the English menu made me think it wasn't vegan but that was quickly cleared up

Veganolive1

Points +3190

Vegan
15 Dec 2017

Cosy Vegan Haven

A lovely vegan cafe offering brunch, breakfast, lunch and cakes. I had delicious oatmeal porridge with cinnamon and fresh fruits with decaf coffee. I had a chat with Carla who looked after us about being vegan in Lisbon...which is getting easier now there are places like Aloha cafe... would definitely return.

Pros: All vegan menu

TudaG

Points +53

Vegan
03 Dec 2017

stunning food, friendly service

Amazing, fresh food... friendly service... and inexpensive. Love this place!!

mariaka

Points +20

Vegan
24 Nov 2017

Great brunch

Brunch, all vegan, yummy, need I say more?

OrianaFM

Points +28

Vegetarian
20 Nov 2017

Great Brunch

Went there on a sunday morning for brunch. Because there were too of us we tried both type I and type II (the second has a few more itens). More than enough food with great flavour and beautifull presentation.

Pros: Great food, Beautifully plated food

laurenm89

Points +28

Vegan
18 Nov 2017

Nice breakfast

Aloha was really quiet when we visited but the food was good. We got a matcha latte each (really tasty but served in a glass - difficult to hold!), then I had a great acai bowl and my boyfriend got the Aloha breakfast. It was a really tasty way to start the day!

AhimsaFF

Points +16

Vegan
16 Nov 2017

Disappointing and expensive

Really disappointing dry food compared to the expensive prices. Friendly staff, and we need more vegan cafés around, but they need to improve their quality or put the prices down..

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Lisbon Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Aloha Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8466 times.