Vegan
Pizza
Organic
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Caribbean
Catering
Costa Rican

Plant-based restaurant serving courses like burgers, salad bowls, pizza, brunch foods, and cakes. Has juices, smoothies, kombucha. Dine with view of trees outside. Est. 2019. Open Tue-Thu 12:00pm-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 12:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-8:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Almendra
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by JonathanAlvarado

Akdrjohn

Points +69

Vegetarian
09 Feb 2024

Absolute Charm

We used the Happy Cow app to find this absolute gem in the (smallish) town. What a fantastic find. The proprietor was the perfect representative of this beautiful country, and he was so surprised and enthralled seeing all the outstanding reviews on the Happy Cow.

We ordered almost a sample of all the foods and found them all delightful. (Not a big an of the sushi, but I’m sure that is more my preference). My parents (who don’t follow the same dietary plan, thought the food was wonderful).

The facilities were unique and stuningly clean. I’m currently traveling again, but had to come back and write this review while this gem was back on my mind.

Don’t miss this treat.

Advertisement

AdamInCostaRica

Points +53

Vegan
28 Jan 2024

De la mejor comida en Costa Rica

Una auténtica maravilla.

Sabores riquísimos. Me gustó todo, de la limonada de fresa a la hamburguesa con ensalada con aderezo de maracuyá delicioso, y el tiramisú increíble.

Vale viajar para un almuerzo o una cena especial en un ambiente muy bueno y empleados Tuanis.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-28

Pros: Calidad de la comida, Variedad del menú, Empleados

Cons: Nada

villain

Points +6967

Vegan
26 Jan 2024

My favorite restaurant in CR

The burger was great, much more flavor than your typical lentil/bean patty. The housemade cheese on the pizza also has a flavor that's very unique to Almendra. The brownie, chocolate ice cream, pecan parfait was incredible.

You get to dine amongst trees, birds, and gorgeous nature. The entire restaurant is an eco-friendly open air design with beautiful views. They even made a hole in the roof to preserve a large tree growing through the restaurant. There are also two adorable little cats who lounge in the vacant chairs.

For sale to take home are great bags of coffee, chocolate bars, and vegan upcycled bags.

Price is great for such high quality!

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-26

Pros: Eco-friendly open air restaurant , Everything is made in house, Best burger, pizza, and ice cream

Karin1975

Points +177

Vegan
03 Jan 2024

Loved this place on the way to San Jose

Nice to have a last stop in nature and all vegan before heading to the airport. We loved the vibe and the food. Amazing staff, very friendly. #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan, Menu is perfect, Location

Ariellaw

Points +160

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Tasty comfort food

The restaurant is beautiful, with lots of greenery. The staff is nice and the food is tasty.

JanetBirchnallTrave

Points +36

Vegan
20 Aug 2023

Superb all vegan menu

The best chocolate milkshake ever, then we gorged on pulled pork hamburger, mac n cheese, pizza and duo tacos (with 2 different meat alternative fillings). They use tofu, seitan and oyster mushrooms amongst their meat alternatives.
They also had an Asian menu which looked amazing.

Pros: Friendly staff, no English so we smiled a lot, Super tasty food

TerriBell

Points +26

Vegan
10 May 2023

Simply Outstanding

I’m gonna miss this place ! The food was sooo fresh and just WOW’d me. Every single dish i ordered was delicious. I ordered 5 dishes, the food is sooo good the service was amazing the atmosphere and seating was amazing. This is a place you want to visit when in Costa Rica you will not be disappointed. The food had a local twist on it but it was not lacking flavor whatsoever it was really good we ate everything 😄😄 and I’ll be going back tomorrow for more! The salad that comes with the Mac n cheese is worth fighting for!

Pros: Food flavors, Service, Atmosphere

Cons: Drinking Water wasn’t really cold

natgabs

Points +184

Vegan
01 Apr 2023

Great food and amazing location

Mac and cheese was simple but good. The “bacon” tofu on top was salty but I enjoyed it that way to be honest. The tacos were great, especially the fried mushroom taco. Good desserts and drinks also.

Pros: All vegan , Cat roaming around, Located in the forest

LindsayErndwein

Points +84

Vegan
14 Mar 2023

Cozy vegan meal in the forest

We ate at Almendra after a long weary day of travel. It really hit the spot. I got a citrus mint drink & seitan tacos two ways and my husband got a smoothie & the burger. We also got plantain chips served with an incredible aoli. The dining area is also super cozy and overlooks a tropical garden. There are also a couple of cute cats that roam the property. Service was excellent. Would definitely visit again.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-14

Pros: Completely vegan, Comfort food, Cozy atmosphere

jollyvegangiant

Points +96

Vegan
06 Mar 2023

Yes yes yes!

What a slice of paradise in the jungle. This incredible treetop all vegan restaurant is an amazing collection of delicious food and great vibes.

The portions are generous, food is delicious, and staff is so friendly.

We had a long day of plane travel and then a drive to Manuel Antonio. This was an epic stop along the way

Pros: Incredible treetop vibe, Delicious food , Beautiful options

Cons: Way off the beaten path, so hard to get to , Pricey for Costa Rica

laura_e_vegan

Points +1204

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

Amazing desserts

We came here for dessert on our way to the airport and were absolutely delighted by our choices. Both the parfait and the sundae were absolutely delicious. We only wished we had room in our bellies to try the savoury food as well. Next time!!

Hilton303

Points +32

Vegan
19 Dec 2022

Always delighted

I travel here from Denver and visit several times each visit, amazing food.

Pros: Great service, Nice atmosphere

CarlaWeiland

Points +592

Vegan
13 Oct 2022

Very nice restaurant!

Delicious food in a beautiful atmosphere 😻😻

SmilingMike

Points +31

Vegetarian
02 Sep 2022

Jungle air with great food

Service was most excellent and they spoke to me in English on the way out which is rare in Costa Rica. Food was excellent. Loved sitting in the jungle - the air is thick, it's good for the mind.

AnitaLeiva

Points +30

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Can't leave without trying the parfait

I love this place, surrounded by nature, food is super tasty and desserts are something else.. very recommended.

tjain

Points +29

Vegetarian
08 Apr 2022

Great ambience and good food!

We stopped here on the way to Monteverde.
Great food. Excellent ambience. Small cute place.
Please visit and give them your business. You wont regret it.

JPaulKrystyniak

Points +51

Vegan
20 Jan 2022

Worth the detour

We made a short detour on our trip to stop here for lunch and were glad we did. The pad thai and burger were both very good. Nice laid-back small atmosphere.

Pros: Nicr menu with many options

eliestafeliz

Points +806

Vegan
12 Dec 2021

Chef Changed and so did the food

The food is not necessarily bad, but different. The menu slightly changed as well.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-10

Minnemade

Points +1160

Vegan
10 Oct 2021

Hidden gem about an hour form San Jose

The restaurant is in an unexpected location. We found it by coincidence while traveling from San Jose to Monteverde. That being said: it’s worth the little detour. The setting is nice (jungle vibes) and the food is delicious. A bit more expensive to Costa Rican standards, but worth every penny. We went again while traveling back to San Jose!

Pros: All vegan, beautiful setting

Cons: A bit more expensive

Davidlp

Points +109

Vegan
09 Oct 2021

Excellent drive stop

As we were driving past San Jose, we were looking for a vegan place to stop, I couldnt believe this restaurant was here. It’s good. It’s all vegan, home-made almost everything. We had the full deal, appetizers to desert. The brownie with vanilla ice cream, the nuggets, the mac and cheese, the falafel bowl, with a substitution for one if the sides. All good. I would def come back.

itsmichaeldiego

Points +1806

Vegan
23 Jul 2021

Just amazing

Best ice-cream I’ve ever had, and I’ve eaten many... cheesecake and smoothies are great too. Didn’t eat dinner but I am sure is amazing too. Beautiful place surrounded by nature

Pros: Beautiful place

LishMCC

Points +640

Vegan
20 Jul 2021

Beautiful and Delicious!

This is beautiful and tucked away! It is right next door to Casa Verde resort/hotel. The food was delicious! We have the Mac & Cheese and the Pad Thai. Also, brownies and ice-cream for dessert. Everything is homemade. Our waitress was also the chef! Highly recommend!

Pros: 100% Vegan!, Homemade!, Amazing food!

Cons: Dessert was pricey

PURALuzern

Points +25

Vegan
02 Apr 2021

Most delicious vegan food in Costa Rica

Loved the food and the cute outdoor location! All the dishes are freshly handmade, the service is super friendly and quick and everything is just unbelievable delicious! Probably the best vegan burger & burrito I've ever had! Highly recommended!

Pros: Food, Service, Location

IntentionallyBlank

Points +354

Vegan
10 Dec 2020

Surrounded by nature

Great spot! Using too much vegetable oil for my health preferences, but it’s tasty. Friendly staff

pashukevich

Points +47

Vegan
11 Nov 2020

Cute spot. Delicious food

Definitely give it a try if you're in the area. 👌🏻

ST78

Points +121

Vegetarian
09 Jan 2020

Worth making a detour for

So excited to see a fully vegan business in Atenas. The restaurant is really modern and hipster style in a beautiful open air setting with lovely gardens, I could have happily spent hours hanging out here. The food was delicious and service was super friendly. Great range of both food and drink on the menu, which gets updated regularly. We all had the burgers (there are 3 options to choose from) and shared a passion fruit cheesecake to finish. Even the non-vegans in our group were impressed! I would definitely go here again and encourage others to support this local run business.

Pros: Beautiful setting, Tasty good food

Cons: A little more pricey than other places in Atenas

G3gars

Points +111

Vegan
27 Dec 2019

Classy location and super good food!

We found this place by chance! Loved our experience!!!

Pros: Outdoors location , Great food, Lots of choice




This page has been viewed 3891 times.