• Allonby Tea Room and Gift Shop

  • (7)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Western
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small cafe across the main road from the beach. Sells a range of crafts, soaps, gifts, and second-hand books. Offers a separate vegan menu consisting of sandwiches, toasties, flatbread, vegan cakes, plant milk, vegan cheese, and more. Dogs welcomed. Open Wed-Sun 10:00-16:00.


Venue map for Allonby Tea Room and Gift Shop
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by Braidy

kazheath

Points +37

Vegan
17 Nov 2023

Great Little Tea Room

Thank you Happy Cow for directing us to this Tea Room. There were a lot of vegan options including full meals. We just opted for a toastie and cake, the coffee was lovely too. Would definitely return if we are in the area again.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Several vegan cakes, Lovely coffee

Cons: None

Advertisement

mockingbird

Points +2172

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

A very pleasant surprise

I wasn’t expect much in terms of vegan food in Allenby so when I did a quick HappyCow check, was happy to see good reviews on the cafe. The reviews were right too, a small selection of 5 options on a vegan menu offered some very interesting choices. I went for the Moroccan nut roast and it was lovely. Couldn’t say no to one of the vegan cakes either. Very down to earth, typical Cumbrian cafe. I will return.

VeganJo

Points +174

Vegan
14 Apr 2023

Great food and lots of options

We happened on this place accidentally and what joy! Moroccan nut roast and cauliflower and aubergine curry were lovely! Tea in a variety of interesting pots and lots of types of tea too! Lovely staff and a great experience.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Proper home made food, Great tea in lovely pots

Cons: None, I'd give 5* if I could

jamesinbedfordshire

Points +33

Vegan
18 Feb 2023

Great little find

So unexpected to find a load of vegan options in a small and faraway seaside village. Lovely staff too 😊

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Ihk89

Points +35

Vegan
23 Feb 2020

Little gem

Menu for vegan and veggie options is on the back of the regular menu! Took me a while to come across it!! So great to have options in this out of the way place. Lovely soup and soya milk for drinks. Definitely will be back.

Pros: Vegan options

aquajen

Points +82

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

Amazing find

This place is very unexpected as it now has a full vegan menu. Also a vegan special each week and a vegan cake of the day. We had a vegan choc chilli followed by sticky toffee apple cake with vegan ice cream. Both dishes homemade and full of flavour! The staff are lovely and prices very reasonable.

Braidy

Points +395

Vegan
07 Sep 2017

Ramshackle seaside charm

This is a traditional cheap and cheerful seaside café (with a neon OPEN sign and everything!). The staff are nice and the chef is vegetarian so can rustle up something vegan on request (I was given stuffed vine leaves plus roasted tomatoes on a jacket potato). There are many vegetarian options and soya milk is available for drinks, though they can't make vegan hot chocolate. The café is not wheelchair accessible but there is a toilet and baby change up two steps. There is wi-fi here and a wide variety of scented candles, used books and other knick-knacks on sale. Overall pretty nice, though there's room for improvement.

Update: it has improved!! Visited in August 2017 and was given a HUGE mug of vegan hot chocolate. I asked whether the burrito could be made without cheese and was told, "Oh, we've got vegan cheese!" So I had a proper, very tasty meal. Hurrah! And the staff remain VERY friendly and welcoming.

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-16

Pros: Vegetarian food in Allonby!, helpful staff and chef

Cons: Closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, not that many vegan options




This page has been viewed 2688 times.