Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Macrobiotic
Juice bar
Beer/Wine

Organic cafe serves sandwiches, veggieburger, locally grown greens, vegan baked items, and beverages; egg and dairy used in some dishes. English, Chinese, French, Japanese spoken. Outdoor deck seating. Same building with Tengu Natural Foods. Address in Japanese: 埼玉県日高市高麗本郷185ー2. Open Mon 11:30am-6:00pm, Thu-Fri 11:30am-6:00pm, Sat 11:30am-7:00pm, Sun 11:30am-6:00pm.


Venue map for Alishan Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by sanshue

Tsukimi

Points +2312

Vegan
30 Oct 2023

Good food in nature!

If you want to eat good food surrounded by nature this is your place. While I was living in Saitama I came here a lot. The building with terrace near the river is just beautiful and has a European flair. You can walk and hike around the restaurant, too.
Would love if that place goes 100% vegan!

Advertisement

Angie_

Points +322

Vegan
20 Sep 2023

Lovely café

This café has a beautiful terrace located right next to a small river. The food was good, and at least half of the menu options are vegan.

Pros: Great location, Several vegan options

jordf

Points +167

Vegan
27 May 2023

Carrot cake!!!

Beautiful spot near river and a random surprise on our walk to a hike. Staff speak great English and the organic store next door was a nice find. We took a brownie to go on the hike and it was more cakey but wouldn't super recommend (good as a non sugary treat) but we had the carrot cake with soy ice cream on their patio later and I loved it. Ice cream with nicely spiced and carrot cake tasted super healthy and dense (not sweet) but so good! 550 yen for cake and ice cream is a good price

Pros: Carrot cake, Price , Beautiful spot

Cons: Brownie

mikagilboa

Points +203

Vegan
31 Mar 2023

Good service

Many vegan options. The food was okay, nice.
I’m not particularly impressed
The waitress had good English and the place feels cozy.

Pros: Many vegan options , English menu

Cons: Kinda high prices, Food is ok

Ruzha

Points +3163

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Cozy Meals and Desserts

A great place for a cozy meal in the countryside. We went there a couple of times, the second time during the annual spider lily festival at Kinchakuda. It was quite busy because of the festival, but the service was still fast and efficient. There are a lot of vegan options, and everything was very delicious! We had the vegan curry, the daily soup (pumpkin coconut), the vegan cheese toast, the carrot cake with soy milk ice-cream, and we took a brownie to go.
Last year, we went there in October with a couple of friends, and had a few other options, of which the apple pie was truly excellent!

sasham

Points +3612

Vegan
04 May 2022

Good food

Good place for vegans who want to get out of the city and explore the country side. Several vegan dishes and desserts and most drinks can be made with soy milk. Ingredients taste very good and presenation is top notch.

TimeManx

05 May 2022

Is there anything to do or see around just so that I have an excuse to go?

jordf

27 May 2023

I went hiking and came across it. Hikama mountain!

サンドラ

Points +472

Vegan
15 Jan 2022

Good burger and pizza

Food was tasty, just peanutbutter cookie felt too dry and nothing special...

Updated from previous review on 2020-09-30

Pros: Many vegan options

Cons: Pricey, Peanutbutter cookie was super dry

flow08

Points +527

Vegetarian
13 Nov 2021

Vegetarian and vegan cafe next to Alishan food shop with outdoo

Everything is wholesome and with both vegan and vegetarian options. However, taste of what I had was a bit bland.

Pros: Wholesome food, Reasonable price

sekinekko

Points +24

Vegan
06 Nov 2020

日高の川沿いにあるカフェ

木に囲まれたテラス席でおいしいご飯がいただけます🌱
ヴィーガン・ベジがわかりやすいメニューで、どれもおいしそうでした🥺
ベジタブル丼をいただきましたが、ボリュームがあってサラダもおいしかったです🍅
食後にスパイシーで濃厚なチャイを飲み大満足💚
ありがとうございました😊

Pros: 体に優しいオーガニック食品と豊富なヴィーガンメニュー

Cons: クレジットカードが使えず現金のみなので注意です

kristincangrejo

Points +84

Vegan
29 Sep 2019

Great food, lovely location!

Right next to the river. The organic store next door is also great :)

Mioca

Points +34

Vegan
16 Aug 2019

Woody restaurant by the river

We visited there with our puppies. Only outside is available for doggies.

There are Vegan and normal menu, so you can enjoy with non-vagan friends!!

All dishes we ordered are all great!!
Unfortunately Price is not cheap,,, but I understand it’s not easy to make vegan food here in Japan. So it doesn’t matter!!

Earthdiet

Points +120

Vegan
18 Aug 2015

Great stews with local vegetables

We loved this place last Fall. We had a tasty stew. The restaurant was very reasonably priced and extremely delicious. Beautiful restaurant on the river. We thought the little natural grocery store attached was over priced.

RBBaileyJr

Points +17

Vegetarian
21 Feb 2015

Lunch ` Alishan's

Great food and great atmosphere! The service was excellent, and the prices were reasonable...even the other patrons were very nice to us. A little out of the way, in terms of location...but the backdrop is wonderful!

Pros: Food, Patrons

Cons: Location

ahimsalove

Points +13

Mostly Veg
29 Jul 2011

A lovely little getaway

Alishan Cafe is definitely not just around the corner. However, its worth the trip out there, with a beautiful river flowing past, and a large park to stroll around in, see the horses and generally relax, or if you are looking for 30 mins good exercise, then Hidaka mountain is good for an easy hike.

The food is vegetarian, some vegan, and all delicious. Its not Gordon Ramsay Hyatt Regency style fancy food, but down to earth wholesome well rounded meals.Not boring in any sense, and lunch sets have soup, salad (with amazing home made dressing) usually rice and your main event.

My favorite is the Vegie Burger, or Bagel. Both are awesome. I mainly prefer bread to rice, but im partial to the Mabo Dofu too. im not such a cake person but banana cheescake is hard to pass up, and you have a good excuse if youve climbed the mountain before lunch.

All in all an awesome experience. Super friendly staff and lots of cute kids exploring the area, as lots of mothers with young kids seem to love it there.

I saw a review with concern about eggs. In my opinion eggs are ok veg food, but its up to you. They are willing to accommodate any variation of food dietary needs. You just have to ask.

Pros: Delicious, Healthy, Friendly

Cons: Far from city (also a pro)

Surveyoronline

Points +10

Non Veg
17 Jun 2010

Amazing Food and Drink

Called in on Sat 12-6-10 whilst hiking in the area. Food was excellent and Lemongrass Tea refreshing. Service was prompt and professional. All round very pleasant experience. (I am not a vegetarian so cannot comment on that)

Veganfriend

Points +29

Non Veg
29 Apr 2007

We Tried, but failed

We tried to get here but it's off the main street and in the middle of nowhere. Also it was around 7 and they were already closed

Jack Bayles

09 Feb 2018

So sorry to hear you missed us. The middle of no where is equi distance from somewhere. Seriously though if you ever make it ask for Jack ( I work here almost everyday) Sorry we could not connect.

sanshue

Points +13

Vegetarian
27 Oct 2006

Egg in a vewgetarian restaurant ??

is this a vegetarian restaurant ? how come egg is part of the ingredients used as the recipe - pls see the recipe section (under the 'Stuffed Bell Peppers' & 'Quinoa Pancakes' dishes).

aocj

22 Feb 2013

like we said in the description on this site, Alishan is a vegetarian and not an exclusively vegan cafe.
those recipes, by the way, haven't been used in years. (we're in the process of redoing the whole website.) a good half the menu items at present are vegan at any given time and anything not already baked can and will happily be made according to whatever vegetarian dietary specifications the guest may have. thanks for asking.




This page has been viewed 4814 times.