Delivery
Take-out
Middle Eastern
Lebanese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small, family-owned Lebanese restaurant. Veggie suitable dishes are marked on the menu. Nice decor. Open Wed-Sat 12:00pm-8:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-7:00pm.


Venue map for Alforon
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by Elizabeth

LorraineGadsden

Points +6212

Vegan
12 Dec 2023

Lots of Veg Options

After living in San Diego for a few years, I have constantly heard people praise Alforon, so my friend and I were excited to give it a try. We ordered lemonades, spicy hummus, falafel, dolmas, and spinach pies. I really liked my mint lemonade. However, the rest of the food was just okay. The hummus was the best part, but we paid extra for it to be “spicy,” and we couldn’t taste anything remotely “spicy.” The spinach pies and dolmas were both really salty, and that’s coming from someone who likes salt. The falafel was okay, but I am not a huge falafel person. My friend, who loves falafel thought it was decent, and she liked how crispy it was on the outside.

Overall, while the food was not bad by any means, it did not live up to our expectations. However, I fear we may have just gone on an off day because otherwise, I have only heard wonderful things. On the plus side, they did have a decent amount of vegan options, and the person working did understand veganism well (including mentioning non-labeled options that could be made vegan).

Advertisement

JocelynZimmerman

Points +24

Vegan
04 Jul 2019

AMAZING

I would have given it 5 stars if Purple cow would let me. The food is AMAZING. Service is superb! Would highly recommend. The Vegan Kipple was my favorite.

CassieMcCooties

Points +22

Vegan
22 Jul 2018

Amazing!

Tried Alforon for the first time tonight and I'm so glad we went here. The food was so delicious and the chef was super friendly. We ate the Olives with Jalapenos, Za'atar bread and vegan Kibbie, and then some brownie cake thing for dessert. Highly recommended.

Pros: Delicious food. , Great service., Wide selection.

Rebeca1978

Points +18

Vegan
19 Sep 2017

Vegan options are amazing!!

Very delicious flavorful and tasty vegan options. The falafel sandwich was exploding with flavor and textures and the tahini sauce in it almost taste like yogurt sauce but way better. Sorry I didn't take a picture of it. I took one bite and couldn't put it down for a picture.

Pros: Excellent flavors

rrr1976

Points +59

Vegan
07 Mar 2017

Great Vegan Options, Great staff

As a Vegan, was just in heaven (has both meat and vegan/vegetarian options). George even came out and toured us thru the kitchen. Breads made to order/fresh. From the outside, you might not know it, but once inside...amazed at the warmth. I came up from Washington state and brought my local friends to it on a whim. They live a mile away but had never been. I was was hunting good med. food. I now miss it and will visit again next time in San Diego. My friends...went back the very next week. As George says: "Don't be long."

Pros: Fresh, Vegan, Great Service

Cons: In San Diego and I live in Washington State!

SuperTed

Points +381

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2016

Friendly, Funny, and Delicious!

First, the food is absolutely delicious and by itself is worthy of a five-star rating. What makes this place stand out for us are Sam and George, the husband-and-wife owners. He runs the kitchen and she runs the dining room. George is happy to explain everything on the menu, and make suggestions. His help was most appreciated, and we ordered things we may not have otherwise ordered. Everything was amazing!

Sam, from the moment we arrived, proved herself to be the funnier of the two. She clearly enjoys what she does, and loves making people laugh. She had us in stitches, and we still chuckle about her a month later.

If you live in San Diego, or you are just visiting, go to Alforon! You will not be disappointed.

KellyBone

Points +2723

Vegan
08 Oct 2015

Oven Baked Joy

The expanded dining room offers a peak into the open mouth of the flat bread oven. The menu clearly marks vegan and vegetarian items with lots to choose from for both. I strongly recommend the Zaatar Extra Flat Bread topped with wild thyme, sesame seeds, sumac, tomatoes, olives and fresh mint. It's a filling meal for the ridiculously low price of $5.50.

Pros: Clearly marked veg items

westcornersville

Points +654

Vegan
09 May 2012

Very Authentic and Very Good

Having been to several countries in the Middle East (including Lebanon), I will say that this is probably the restaurant in San Diego that serves food that's the most like what you'd get in the heart of the Middle East (the Levant). It's really good food, and quite reasonably priced. Also, everything is well-labeled on the menu based on whether vegan or vegetarian status. Definite recommend!

Pros: excellent food, very authentic, reasonable prices

Cons: a bit small (not a big con)

Elizabeth

Points +199

Vegan
10 Jan 2012

Great place!

We actually found this place because of Google offers. This is a cute place, it's a small place with about 5 tables. We had the Zaatar extra, which has olives, tomatoes, and fresh mint. This was pretty tasty. It was just a tad sweet, I'm not sure if it was the spices.We then had the vegetarian which had onions, spices, olives, and oil. This was our favorite. So flavorful. We split both of those, so you each have 4 pieces. We each had the wrap with hummus. This wrap has hummus, falafel, lettuce, fava and garbanzo beans, tomato, tahini, parsley, and pickles wrapped in a pita wrap. This was so flavorful and so good! After each bite we both would mention how tasty this wrap was.

Pros: excellent food, great value, nice portions

Cons: Small place




This page has been viewed 5232 times.