Alfarroba

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 14 reviews )
Contact
0932881545
Find

Rua Tomás Ribeiro, 28, Lisbon, Portugal, 1050-230

Restaurante vegetariano, fully vegan since Oct 2016. Choose from three different main dishes combined with integral rice, vegetables, and salad. Try the coconut pudding. Nice atmosphere. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-4:00pm.

Category: Vegan, Western, Buffet, Fast food, Portuguese

Reviews (14)

First Review by Linnland

A Piece of Heaven on a Hill - Edit

Everybody's happy in this delightful eatery. It's vegan buffet at it's best, with a large variety of food. The soups are outstanding. Very reasonably priced.

Pros: Healthy choices

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

disapointing - Edit

I was really looking forward to eating at this place with it having such good reviews, we arrived at 3pm one hour before closing and it looked like they were ready to close. We weren't given an menu or an option of food to eat, the only thing they could serve us was the one dish that was left over from their lunch menu, it was not what the tastebuds were calling for but as we had walked a good 30 mins to get here we decided to stay and eat it anyways. The food was average nothing special and it wasnt very hot. I was quite surprised that with even 1 hour until closing time the kitchen was not able to offer us anything else to eatl. In my 10 years of hospitality experience I have never known this to happen. What was the point of them even staying open? I wont be going back here. The building itself is quite quirky and shows a lot of history, this was nice.

Cons: 1 hour before they closed and we got the choice of

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful vegan food - Edit

This is a lovely place run by a very friendly chef who makes everything fresh, but often runs out of food, so try to get there as close to opening as possible! Available dishes change daily, and it's not open on weekends. I had a yummy pasta dish and a seitan burger. Also has the chocolate tart for dessert, which was exquisite.

Pros: Everything is fresh and delicious

Cons: Not open for dinner or on weekends , Food can sell out fast

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best vegan, gluten-free place in Lisbon - Edit

This is one of the best places, if not THE best vegan place in Lisbon if you're looking for something healthy and not fast food.

I have tried a few other places in town and they seemed like a production line - just a company with staff working there who don't really care. At Alfarroba it tastes like homemade food that has been prepared with love.

It's not over-salted or sugared. There is at least one gluten-free item on the menu every day and there are plenty of gluten-free dessert options.

Don't let the small menu put you off. This place is a real find. I'd recommend coming here and eating with the locals rather than fighting through the masses near Cais do Sodre and having to put up with loud tourists.

- lovely, friendly owner and staff who are happy to help and advise if you have special dietary requirements
- small place, but if you go at 2 p.m. after the office rush you have it almost all to yourself
- Beautiful tiling decor
- healthy meals that make you feel good
- big portions ('small' main for about 5 euros... fills you for the day)
- only a few minutes from Parquet metro (blue line)
- three warm dishes per day (you can choose a warm dish plus rice and vegetables for 5 euros)
- the main dishes change daily - they're posted on Facebook in the morning
- desserts (e.g. gluten-free, vegan sweet potato muffin for 1.50)
- soup for 1.50
- you can also get to takeaway



Updated from previous review on 2017-06-06

Pros: Cheap, Healthy, Lots of gluten-free options and all vegan

Cons: Only open for lunch

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

the best lunch - Edit

My boyfriend and I went there the other day and the food was sooo delicious. You have at least 3 main meals to choose from plus salad and rice on the side. It was seriously very tasty. Best vegan lunch in Lisbon so far. The lady who works there is lovely and very helpful. Very chilled atmosphere. We came in April 2017 and they are doing some work on the building so the entrance to the restaurant is behind the scaffolding. ( we spent running in circles looking for it:)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great for lunch - Edit

Limited options but good for lunch. No menu as such, you select from the handful of dishes they have that day.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Clean! Fresh! Original! - Edit

First things first: Alfarroba is now all VEGAN. This is a small place near the 'Parque' metro stop in the Saldanha neighborhood. It is only open for lunch and was quite full when we were there. The woman, maybe the owner, was so friendly and helpful. You pick out your main at the counter and it comes with salad and rice. You can get a small plate with one entree or a large plate with 2 entrees (or maybe three). You can pay extra for a juice or a dessert. I had honeydew melon juice...yum. The entree of the day was like a lasagna without the noodles or perhaps more like a moussaka...lots of vegetables including greens chopped finely with a cream and nut topping...so delicious and unusual. There was a seitan dish and a lentil dish that had some Eastern spice influence making it rather exotic. Many people had a coconut pudding topped with mango sauce for dessert. Dessert is extra.
We have eaten in most of the vegan restaurants in Lisbon and I found Alfarroba's food to be very clean and fresh. It is easily reached by metro. Only open for lunch.

Updated from previous review on 2016-10-31

Pros: Fresh food, Vegan

Cons: Can run out of food...get there around noon.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very nice and friendly - Edit

This is a very nice restaurant serving affordable vegetarian food. The have a daily menu and the "mini prato" is around 5€. The dishes are simple and have a home made feeling with plenty of veggies and grains.
The place is very cozy and tastefully decorated and the service was super friendly.
It is not very big so it tends to get crowded at lunch time

Updated from previous review on 2016-11-02

Pros: Super nice staff, Fresh juices. Delicious desserts!, Good price/quality

Cons: Crowded at lunchtime, Rather small

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing lunches! - Edit

Alfarroba always has good lunch options (most of them vegan), excellent desserts and refreshing fruit/tea drinks. Please ask as not all vegan items are clearly marked or they might use honey.
I find it super charming and absolutely delicious each time, very recommended!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy and almost 100% Vegan - Edit

A very good place to have lunch! The only use honey sometimes, so you can have a great vegan meal here.

I always love the combination of three dishes, whole rice and vegetables available.

I also love the apricot mousse!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Whole foods, Delicious desserts

Cons: Small place, Noisy if crowded, Cash only

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Convenient and pleasing - Edit

Alfarroba is a very small and cozy "quick meal" type restaurant, located on a lovely street corner of Rua Tomás Ribeiro - a fantastic location in the very central Picoas area. The room is minimally and tastefully decorated and the big windows let in the sun as well as the hustle and bustle of the street.

The place tends to get packed during office lunch hours as many people from the surrounding offices go there to have a quick and rather unexpensive meal. However, if you go between 12:30 and 13:00 you shouldn't have a problem finding a table.

Most main courses are vegan, as well as the accompanying cereals and vegetables. I find that even the somewhat more elaborate dishes at Alfarroba have a very authentic and natural taste, which suits well my preference for less processed and healthier food. Regarding the dessert, I highly recommend the cocoa tartlet which is simply mouth-watering. You can check Alfarroba's Facebook page to learn which dishes are available each day.

I just wish I had a place like this near where I work to be my default place to have lunch!
Updated from previous review on Thursday November 26, 2015

Updated from previous review on Thursday November 26, 2015

Pros: Very central location, Tasty and authentic food, Inexpensive

Cons: Rather small room that can get crowded

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

All is Good Here - Edit

Smasher of a friendly little place serving soups, main dishes, hot and cold drinks and cakes. Good vegan choice and great value meals at around €5-6. There's always a meal of the day along plus a couple of others. On 5th Sept 2014 it was a soya hamburger. The soup was a delicious cream of broccoli at €1.60. There's a good turnaround here and it's popular with the locals as well as workers from the nearby office areas. Bravo. Here here for Alfarroba!!

Pros: Friendly, Value, Cosy

Cons: Limited opening hours

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Small Selection Of Well Made Food - Edit

Pleasant small place. Had two menu options on offer when we went. Food was nice and was also cheap.

Not the full restaurant service, but it wasn't trying to be.

Would go again.

Pros: Tasty Food, Cheap

Cons: Choice, Hard To Spot

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lunch - Edit

lovely place for a lunch. prices are around 6€ and totally worth it!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Lisbon Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Alfarroba closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7085 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support