Lacto
Beer/Wine
Asian
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Asian fusion restaurant with a separate vegan menu. Has yum cha on the weekend. Open Mon-Wed 11:30am-10:30pm, Thu-Sat 11:30am-2:00pm, Sun 11:30am-10:30pm.


Venue map for Akiba
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by mamm

GraceEvelyn

Points +25

Vegetarian
09 Sep 2023

Very Tasty

Vegetarian options are very tasty, have been going here for many years and is a popular place. Definitely try the miso eggplant, it’s amazing.

Advertisement

liljeblomst

Points +38

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Great vegan japanese

We ordered the vegan Feed Me 9 Course Meal. Everything was so delicious, the dumplings and salad were incredible and we will be going back for more. The service was excellent, the food also came out pretty quickly too. We also had the Passionfruit Mojito and Mango Mule cocktails which were lovely. Very pretty restaurant.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Delicious food, Great service

IshbelRoss

Points +540

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Funky Japanese Restaurant

Really nice vibe and good vegan selection! Enjoyed our time here but thought the service was a bit slow!

thinkingaboutcows

Points +498

Vegan
27 Dec 2022

separate vegan menu!

the place was very cute with a nice outdoor seating area and had a separate vegan menu which i appreciated. i ordered the mushroom tofu dish which i didn’t love, but i would go back to order something else.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-24

Iellwen

Points +75

Vegan
08 Sep 2021

Would give five stars if 100% vegan

I had the vegan banquet option and all the food was divine, and very diverse as well. Could not fault!

The service was on point too, we had our own table service which was a nice touch. Although having said that, I am not a fan of scanning a QR code to get a menu and placing orders. I always thought this place would be more experience but the banquet was the same price as Lazy Su, although the portions were smaller but left you being full which I think is what matters.

I know this place is a modern Asian fusion restaurant but personally I would have preferred some Asian music to be played rather than one of the workers Spotify playlists which is what it sounded like. Would have been a better vibe for me.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-08

Pros: Amazing vegan banquet, Great service, Nice decor and lighting

Cons: If choosing solo menu items it can be expensive, Wish they had better music, QR code for menu

Tiggy

Points +15165

Vegan
30 Jun 2021

Nice, but courses could have been arranged better

We booked this place for dinner because it was near where we were staying. We ended up sitting in a sheltered, heated outdoor area, which I never really like, and sure enough there was a heater beating down on the back of my neck, so that I had to sit beside, rather than opposite, my companion. We ordered the eight-course vegan 'feed me' menu ($49 per person) comprising most dishes on the vegan menu, which I washed down with an Asahi Dry ($11) and my companion a small hot sake ($10). Dishes started off small (edamame, agedashi tofu, dumplings) until the fourth course, when we were presented with a large bowl of roasted potatoes, to be eaten by themselves, with not even a sauce or dressing. Although we were initially worried about leaving hungry, we were finally brought out four dishes (mushrooms, eggplant, fried rice, Chinese broccoli) and this definitely filled us up. While the meal was not cheap, it was generally delicious and I did not feel ripped off. I might have changed the way it was served, but ultimately the food was pretty good.

Pros: Very good food

Cons: Order and matching of courses could've been better

Bethanyjmw

Points +159

Vegan
17 Oct 2020

Try the vegan banquet

Akiba is a funky upscale restaurant with lots of vegan options. Ask the wait staff for the separate vegan menu and they can bring it to you. They also offer a vegan banquet where the chef will make you 8 small plates from the vegan menu, of the chef’s choice.

I have had better vegan banquets in Canberra (try Morks and Lazy Su) but the food at Akiba is still pretty damn good. Miso eggplant is definitely a highlight if you just want to order 1 thing.

Pros: Whole separate vegan menu

Cons: Quite expensive

EdYan

Points +2536

Vegan
12 Oct 2020

Separate vegan menu

Akiba was very responsive and accommodating to us as vegans, not just by presenting the separate vegan menu (same items on the regular menu but it was so much easier when they already filtered out only the vegan options) but when we ended up being seated directly in front of the sushi/fish preparation station where a couple of fish were being kept on ice they offered several times to move us to a table where we weren't confronted by dead animals! (FYI, we declined the offer because we were fully aware we were eating in a place that served animal products and sometimes it's important to be reminded the reality of what that means).
We enjoyed the food, particularly the miso glazed eggplant (which was topped with pepita seeds, puffed rice and nori) as well as the wok-blasted mushrooms with tofu and cashews. Less impressive were the vegan laksa dumplings as I found the filling a bit paste-like in consistency.
Finally, service was really impressive. Super friendly and responsive by all staff encountered.

Iheartpiggies

Points +50

Vegan
02 Feb 2020

Not very vegan friendly

This restaurant does have a small vegan menu, but as it was before 5.30 when my friend and I went in they weren't actually serving most of it. We ordered Laksa dumplings from the vegan menu and as we were ordering the waiter told us that the soy ramen was also vegan. However, when said soy ramen arrived, it had an egg plonked in the middle. My friend pointed this out and the waiter (a different waiter) went away to check it. He then brought it back and said "we don't actually do vegan ramen", at which point a waitress came over and proceeded to tell us patronisingly that they only do vegetarian ramen. I said to the waitress, the first waiter told us that the ramen was vegan, she said again no it's vegetarian. She then gestured to the ramen and said "well it's made up, you can have it if you want". As if we would both just go oh yes, just this once I'll eat an egg and throw my values and beliefs in the bin. Her attitude was quite frankly disgusting. The first waiter tried to make it up by offering us a plate of tofu and vegetables that I think was supposed to have some semblance of ramen, but I would not recommend this place. Also as we were leaving there was a big vat of ice on the counter with a dead octopus on it, so I'd hardly call it vegan friendly.

mamm

Points +310

Vegan
28 Jul 2019

Small separate vegan menu

Nice restaurant to go with a group to be able to share. A small vegan menu is provided (no dessert though:() the food was good, service friendly and fast

Pros: Separate vegan menu

Cons: No vegan dessert




This page has been viewed 2525 times.