Vegan
Ovo
Chinese
Buffet

Winnipeg Chinese restaurant serving Chinese food. Buffet style set up for lunch, paid for by weight. Uses faux meats made from soy protein. Sep 2017 reported fully vegan. No msg. Weekday lunch buffet from 11-2, plus full a la carte menu in evening. Open Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:00pm, Mon-Sat 5:00pm-9:00pm. Last orders at 8:30pm.


39 Reviews

First Review by Katrinamgerman

iomartin

Points +55

Vegan
16 Oct 2023

Some things were good, others not so much

The crispy "oysters" were an interesting appetizer, I liked them but other people in my party didn't. It did remind me of seafood, which was nice. The Sweet & Sour Veggie Ribs were a big disappointment, there was just dough and very little "ribs". The sauce was good, though.

The pineapple fried rice was good and so was the crispy veggie fish.

While many items are marked as vegetarian, we asked and they said the restaurant is 100% vegan.

For people with little kids: there is no changing table in either washroom (they do have high chairs though).

Advertisement

doublewire

Points +36

Vegan
28 Aug 2023

Calm, casual ambience

An excellent restaurant with a calm, casual ambience. Everything we ordered was superb. The standard for vegan restaurants is high! Highly recommend the wontons in spicy sauce鈥攁bsolutely incredible. Also pictured are the hot and sour soup and sesame seaweed tofu sheets.

BradleyWPlett

Points +27

Vegetarian
27 Aug 2023

Delicious and lots of options

I've had several meals at Affinity and they're always very friendly and the food delicious!

Ssawz

Points +388

Vegan
18 Aug 2023

Really Flavourful

I tried this place out for the first time during VegOut and I was impressed. Delicious is another place with similar options that everyone told me was amazing but I ended up hating. I thought this might be a similar experience but instead I got an amazing meal that I really enjoyed and would definitely order again. My only issues was the texture of the gluten balls was a little chewy.

I'm updating my review because this has become a favourite place of mine. The lemon chicken is my go to, and when they have the pan fried veggie buns those are a must try as well!

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-17

Pros: Tons of options, Delivers, Delicious

Cons: Delivery is expensive

becglt

Points +282

Vegan
25 Jul 2023

Great service

The staff is very nice & the portions are bigger then I expected. The miso soup tasted like celery & water, the Lo Han Chow Mein was very bland. The sweet and sour sauce was good. Overall good but not great.

Pros: Good portions, Nice staff, Clean toilets

Cons: Bland

igiko100

Points +17

Vegan
20 Jan 2023

Great Buddhist Vegetarian fare

Amazing food - carefully made and tasty every time. Lovely ambiance and lots of menu items. Everything is vegan except options for milk/cream in drinks and ice cream desserts.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-20

Pros: (Almost) all vegan, Unique menu items like golden balls and bean curd, Not expensive

Cons: No longer have lunch buffet since Covid

Greyspoon

Points +26

Vegan
28 Sep 2022

Excellent!

Pretty sure the whole menu is vegan, a nice treat!
Went here for dinner with my brother and my fiance. We got the Spicy Szechuan Tofu, House Tofu in Black Bean Curd, and Potato Curry, with a side of brown rice and the fried wontons. Also got some ginger tea. The food was all amazing, and the side of rice was enough for 3 people. The ginger tea is sweet and very strong. I really liked it, but it was too strong for my fiance. :)
10/10, definitely recommend.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious , Affordable

Phoenix_Hudlin

Points +140

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Delicious Vegan Cuisine served to you with superb customer service!

I discovered this gem whilst living in Winnipeg. Their menu has a lot of vegan options to choose from that are packed with delicious flavour. But above all else I adore the staff that work in the restaurant.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-23

Pros: Affordable , Friendly staff

Cons: Menu is quite expansive

JaneBlanchette

Points +13

Vegetarian
19 May 2021

Delish!!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food is amazing! You must try the crispy mushroom and dumplings. Give them a try. You won't regret it.

Pros: They are happy to accomodate gluten free options.

Nienke_nr

Points +62

Vegan
19 Nov 2019

Soooo much choice!

The choice is sooo big and everything looks so good. Very hard to choose. We took the sizzling mushroom, it was super delicious. And the spicy tofu strips also yummy! Prices are very fair and the place is spacious. Friendly staff, quick service (but it was vey quiet). Would like to try everything!

Pros: Big choice , friendly staff , fair priced

bengaudes

Points +20

Vegan
01 Aug 2019

Delicious food, excellent service

A must for any veggie looking for amazing Asian food!

Pros: All vegan, Authentic taste and ingredients, Medium-large portions

sabrinajh

Points +477

Vegan
08 May 2019

Easily my fave

This is my favourite restaurant in winnipeg. The dishes are great quality, not greasy. I just can鈥檛 say enough about how tasty everything is. The staff are so nice and the service is super fast. My favourite dishes are the lemon chicken (made from seitan), the black bean noodles, and first and foremost, te deep fried crunchy mushrooms! I would travel for days for those mushrooms. Absolutely amazing.

Pros: Delicious food , Great staff , Did I say delicious food?

Cons: None

MargaritaVSykes

Points +58

Vegan
22 Apr 2019

I love it!

This is such a great restaurant! I鈥檓 so happy to go somewhere that鈥檚 all vegan and so yummy. There are so many options, not just 15 things! And you get lots of food! There will definitely be leftovers!

Pros: Everything is vegan, Friendly staff, Lots of food

dio

Points +22

Vegan
12 Nov 2018

Good, but I鈥檓 not blown away

Pretty good, tastes authentic but could use more salt on some dishes. I went for the lunch buffet and i felt decently full (I spent $12) I just wish they had white rice argh!!!

nicgarwil

Points +228

Vegan
16 Aug 2018

Fav Spot

This place never lets you down. Monday-Friday lunch buffet of fried rice, fresh veg, sushi, tempura. You pay by the weight of your plate. Highly recommend, friendliest staff.

Pros: Amazing Food, Location, Kind staff

tracey&darren

Points +16

Vegan
22 Jul 2018

Awesome!

Our family's favourite! The service is friendly. The menu is vast, but we have found our fav's. kung pao gluten, sweet and sour soy pork, garden veg chick'n, hot and sour soup, won ton soup, spring rolls and steamed dumplings. Combo dishes come with tea jelly--yum!
Go for the food, not a fancy decor or cocktails (no liquor license). The prices are similar to other Chinese food restaurants.

jesidayne1029

Points +53

Vegan
20 May 2018

Best Chinese buffet in the city

The buffet is the best! They have really good selection in authentic Chinese dishes. One of my favourite spot for lunches in the downtown area because of their price deal. You can get a fair quantity. Been here for dinner as well, and we loved everything. Drinking tea while eating vegan Chinese seems to just be such a good pair. The owners are very friendly, will go back and continue to be customers :)

Updated from previous review on 2018-05-18

GinnyJud

Points +179

Vegan
08 May 2018

One of my Favourite Vegan Restaurants in Winnipeg!!!

Have yet to have anything here that I didn't like (and I've had almost the entire menu). Try the crispy black mushrooms and crispy veggie balls, you won't regret it :) Service is always SUPER friendly though sometimes a little slow.

Pros: Consistently Good Food, Entirely Vegan - No Cross-contamination Paranoia!!, Great location

Cons: Decor is a little outdated but still cute, Service can be slow, don't go if you're in a rush

J茅r么meDoloy

Points +18

Vegan
04 Apr 2018

Great choice of tasty plates

A charming and pleasant place, menu is a never ending choice of promising meals.
I was alone so could not order too many but the plates can be shared in order to taste more.
Will be back for sure!

Pros: All vegan!

Cons: Can be a little long to serve

AdamFrank

Points +323

Vegan
19 Nov 2017

Super Convenient Lunch

The buffet was a super convenient lunch option as it was fast and delicious. There were lots of vegan options too. The table service was slow but that was just for drinks. And my criticism of the food is that it was very oily. My partner would probably rate it 4 stars but I think it was your average restaurant food. Still would go back and probably eat lunch regularly if I lived in Winnipeg.

Pros: lots of vegan, fast, affordable

Cons: oily, slow drink service

FridayFields

Points +49

Vegan
09 Nov 2017

Amazing Food

The difficult part is trying to decide on what to get. So many choices and all so tasty.

liak

Points +159

Vegan
05 Jul 2017

great restaurant!

Everything is great at Affinity. I love the lunch buffet. Owners are great!

purpledonuts

Points +25

Vegetarian
17 Nov 2016

Best ever lunch buffet

Affinity has the BEST lunch buffet! they always have new and delicious items and instead of a set fee you weigh your plate to determine the price, which is perfect for me. My plate usually comes to about 8-11 dollars. They always have rice, noodles, broccoli and cauliflower, some kind of green and sushi, but there's always about 6 or 7 other rotating items.Dinner there is amazing too! My favourites are the meatballs in brown sauce, wonton soup, and colourful bean curd layers. I can't eat too much fried food and they have plenty of fresh, non-fried options. If I'm ever away from Winnipeg this place is what I miss most!The restaurant itself is spacious and clean. It's not fancy but the lighting is nice. The people that work there are really nice too.

Pros: Everything is amazing, lunch buffet is the best lu

Cons: Sometimes the food can be a bit salty for my taste

jls

Points +91

Vegan
27 Sep 2016

delicious and quick lunch buffet

I stayed within walking distance to this place while visiting Winnipeg. The lunch buffet was great for quick and easy grab and go vegan eats. I loaded up my to go container and I was impressed with my total considering how much food I had. It's nice to be able to set the amount I want.

Everything was pretty flavorful. They even had fired banana dessert. While I'm generally not a huge fan of bananas, I was glad they had them. I plan on returning to this place when I'm in the area again.

Pros: friendly service, great value, good variety

sniph10

Points +53

Vegetarian
16 Jan 2016

Unique Vegan Chinese Food

This restaurant is truly unique by having a very large selection of vegan and vegetarian menu items that are very delicious and affordable. Been there twice and ordered extra on purpose for leftovers. Friendly staff. Food is served hot (temperature wise) straight out of the kitchen. Unique menu items that I did not think were possible. No complaints and lots of praise.

Pros: Unique menu items, Food served hot and not cold, Friendly staff are attentive

Cons: Older style decor

Veg*nMonster

Points +26

Vegan
23 Jun 2015

Best Veggie Chinese in the City

I go to Affinity regularly for either takeout or to eat in. They are consistent with every dish they prepare - consistently amazing! Fave dishes are: steamed dumplings, hot and sour soup, wonton soup, spicy gluten, veggie steak, curry chow mein, sweet and sour veggie ribs. Several dishes are or can be made gluten free.

Pros: family run, very friendly

Abee_

Points +28

Vegan
08 Jun 2015

Soooooo yummy!

My husband and I don't like Chinese restaurant food, but we decided to try this place since everything is vegan there. I am so glad we decided to try it out! The food is sooooo good. We go there all the time now and recommend it to everyone. The food is delicious and the prices are very low. There are a lot of options which is good and over time we found out our favourites but everything we have tried there we enjoyed. The dumplings and wontons are two things we always order. The people working there are very friendly and on Mondays they offer a discount. We love it!




This page has been viewed 12526 times.