CLOSED: Adwa I-tal Kitchen

  • Catering Catering
  • Vegan
    ( 31 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
016814455
Find

28 National Rd 736, Kampot, Cambodia

Formerly an I-tal restaurant, now offers daily I-tal cooking classes, daily Khmer language classes, I-tal catering, organic brown rice, Indian spices and wholewheat flour. Adjacent to Vietnamese-Khmer Friendship Monument. Reported closed, Apr 2018.

31 Reviews

First Review by adwacambodia

vegan restaurant - Edit

Adwa l-tal Kitchen is one of the two Kampot’s vegan restaurants ... it’s easy to find as it’s at the top of Street 736 near the Vietnamese Friendship Monument roundabout (Happy Cow map is accurate) ... Adwa l-tal Kitchen is a family run restaurant and when I arrived I was greeted by the very friendly English speaking co-owner who is vegan ... the food options change regularly and there is always a great special-of-the-day to enjoy ... I had the special-of-the-day I-tal Amok Thali (US$4.00) and a delicious cold pressed juice (US$1.15) ... the quality and quantity of the food was excellent ... Adwa l-tal Kitchen is a small, clean vegan cafe so please support this great businesses when in Kampot

Pros: it’s vegan and it’s not expensive

1 Response
Read More

adwacambodia 28 Nov 2017 - WOW!! Give thanks, this is the best review yet. Thank you for taking the time to a little off the beaten path and a pay a visit to Adwa I-tal Kitchen. I enjoyed our conversation. I feel blessed that our food meets the approval of someone with your palette and years of vegetarianism. Truly, giving thanks.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious - Edit

A small place but with delicious food. We discover the Thali there and it was really good.
The owner is really friendly and gave us advice for visiting the city.
Definitely a place to go in Kampot !

1 Response
Read More

adwacambodia 28 Nov 2017 - Thank you so much for the kind words. We give thanks for the opportunity to share our food with lovely people.
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wonderful thali - Edit

Adwa was a bit hard to find, but a nice surprise. We went three days in a row and each day the food was different and full of various flavors, and very filling, highly recommended.

Pros: great deal, healthy, fresh

Cons: hard to find

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very Nice Location - Edit

small restaurant & english-khmer language school run by a nice guy (US expat). indian daily changing indian thali and 1-2 more things available. thali was very tasty and a quite big portion as well! definitely worth going to!

Pros: tasty! good price!, nice owner with kids

Cons: closes sometimes before 6pm if all food is gone, s

1 Response
Read More

adwacambodia 26 Oct 2017 - Thank you so much for the review. We were blessed to have you as customers while you were here.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

awesome healthy food for 4$ - Edit

The thali is changing everyday. It was delicious. Nice staff.
Recommended!

1 Response
Read More

adwacambodia 27 Sep 2017 - Give thanks for the kind words, we are blessed.
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

fresh & healthy - Edit

Adwa had a very nice thali, Indian foods with a Khmer salad. The place was hard to find, the sign is in Khmer language. We really liked everything, owners are friendly. For $4, the thali was one of the best deals we found in Kampot, and soooo delicious.

Pros: fresh , friendly

Cons: hard to find

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty and filling! - Edit

Food was really good and filling - both times I've been. So worth it's price. The owners are super friendly as well. Highly recommended! I know I'm going back.

Pros: Tasty food, Homely , Nice owners

1 Response
Read More

adwacambodia 28 Aug 2017 - We are blessed to have such wonderful customers. Give thanks.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food! - Edit

This place was great. The food was absoloutely delicious and the owner was super friendly!

We had the daily Thali which was a range of curries, salad, chutney, rice and bread which were all amazing!

Pros: Delicious food, Fresh juice, Great service

Cons: A little hard to find

1 Response
Read More

adwacambodia 24 Aug 2017 - Thank you so much for the kind words and feedback. Sorry we are hard to find, but I hope it's a worthwhile discovery.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delish - Edit

This place is amazing, and it will bring your taste buds back to life. It's a very small place, but the food and prices are really fair, and it's clean too. The thali is one of the best deals my wife and I found in Cambodia.

Pros: $, Thali, Raw Desserts

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very Good Indian Food - Edit

I never had vegan Indian and Khmer food before, but Adwa was really a nice surprise, and to have so many different flavors on the thali in big portions for $4 is a rare deal in Kampot.

Pros: Thali , Flavors

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

ម្ហូបម្ហូបម៉េ្លះ - Edit

ម្ហូបបួសឆ្ងាញ់ហើយនិងធូរថ្លៃ.

Pros: ស្រស់ , ថាសធំ, រសជាតិ

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Truly Amazing - Edit

For $4, I can't believe the thali I was presented. Adwa is a must visit, and the thali changes every day, so there's a pleasant surprise, there were even a few Indonesian things on the thali when I and my husband visited.

Pros: Good Food, Great Price, Friendly Relaxed Atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow Wow Wow - Edit

Everything is affordable and delicious. We had the raw carrot cheesecake after having the thali of the day, and everything was obviously made with love and care. For $6, you can barely get a good curry and white rice in Kampot. Adwa is a bit different, the thali was $4, and the cake was $1.50, and I also had a jicama juice, which was 4,500r. For just bit over $6, I had a feast, drink and dessert, something that would be $15 or more near the riverside. The owners are sweet and all dishes are made by them, without the use of staff, a real mom and pop operation.

Pros: Thali, Raw Cheesecake, Jicama Juice

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Food - Edit

I didn't know what I-tal food was until I ate at Adwa. I understand it to be vegan, but without the use of unhealthy things such as white sugar, white flour, MSG and much more. The thali is the feature of this place, and that's what I ate while I was there. The menu looked good too, but didn't have enough space in my stomach for other things. The thali was amazing, and not restricted to Indian foods, there were some Indonesian and Khmer things on the thali the day I was there. Everything was full of flavor, and the thali is made from scratch each day, featuring all new dishes everyday. Go to Adwa and you won't be let down.

Pros: Flavors, Healthy, Affordable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing authentic 4USD Thali - Edit

Relaxed homely atmosphere. Very clean and the best healthiest food in Kampot.

1 Response
Read More

adwacambodia 11 Jul 2017 - Thanks Marty, I now realize is your last name is Lambshank on facebook, so now I realize who you are on fb too. Thanks for coming, we always appreciate your business. Hope to see you again when you return.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegan Restaurant Ever - Edit

I had a hard time finding this place as it isn't near the river or anywhere else in Kampot, but it was worthwhile discovery. There are only 3 tables, it's a very cozy place that is also home to the owner. The Indian food is made with coconut oil and coconut milk in place of ghee, milk and yogurt. The thali of the day when I was there had a bowl of sambar, aloo sabzi, a morning glory salad, moringa leaf pakoras, peanut chutney, a spirulina chapati and organic brown rice, and it was all just $4, one of the best deals I've found in Cambodia. There are new and different cold-pressed juices in the cooler everyday, I had the jicama one, and it was delicious, with a taste like apple and peanuts, really nice with spicy food, almost a bit like rice milk. You need to check out this place while in Kampot.

Pros: Thali, Price, Quality

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vadas like Falafel - Edit

We have good falafel in Turkey, but I never tried before the peanut vada in the Roti Wrap. It was delicious, and very similar to a falafel wrap, but much better and spicier. The best part is it's only $2, a real deal in Kampot, where food prices are very high.

Pros: Peanut Vada, Price, Quiet and Relaxing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Palak Paneer - Edit

There was a dish on the thali similar to palak paneer, but made with tofu and pureed morning glory instead of spinach and paneer. It was delicious. I loved the use of local Khmer produce with Indian spices.

Pros: Palak Paneer, Thali, Price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

That Thali Though - Edit

I have never such a tasty yet affordable thali in Cambodia. Thumbs up all the way.

Pros: That Thali, Location, Unique Dishes

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Highly Recommend - Edit

Wow is all I have to say! You must eat here, you won't be let down.

Pros: Wow, Wow, Wow

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

surprise - Edit

I think Cambodian can not eat vegeterian food, but I eat with fri come from PP, and surpise Cambodia can eat and tasty.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Indian Thali - Edit

Excellent thali

Pros: Cheap, Delicious, Fresh

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

I've eaten a lot of Indian food in my life, and I was hesitant to eat Indian food made by a westerner, but it was authentic, but also some very creative dishes you wouldn't normally see in an Indian restaurant. The moringa leaf pakoras were out of this world.

Pros: Moringa Leaf Pakoras, Thali, Peaceful and Quiet

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Restaurant in Kampot - Edit

I was so glad to find this place and escape the chaos of the riverside. Adwa is much more affordable than all the other veg options in town, plus it's way more fresh and tasty. All dishes are made by a lovely husband and wife team, no employees.

Pros: Mom and Pop Operation, Tasty, Affordable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Out of this world Thali - Edit

When I came the thali was Sambar, Shahi Tofu, Yardlong Bean Salad, Fried Mushrooms, Curry Leaf Chutney, Wholewheat Spirulina Chapati and Organic Battambang Brown Rice. It was by far the best meal I've had in years.

Pros: Tasty Thali, Spicy, Cheap and Friendly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hidden Treasure - Edit

It took me a while to find this place, which has a Khmer language sign, but it was a worthwhile discovery. This is Kampot's only exclusively vegan restaurant. The I-tal food is prepared lovingly by a sweet American and Khmer husband and wife. Everything is fresh, and the cold-pressed juices are delicious, especially the jackfruit juice.

Pros: Jackfruit Juice, Fresh, Vegetable Thali

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice Meal - Edit

I and wife have roti sandwich, it was very good, and have frendly service also.

Pros: Cheap, Tasty, Friendly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kampot Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Adwa I-tal Kitchen closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 652 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support