• Acqua al 2

  • (8)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Italian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Known for its assaggio di insalate (sample of salads). Call ahead to ask about the daily veg offerings. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-15:00, 18:30-22:30.


Venue map for Acqua al 2
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by AlyssaMiller

trasera11

Points +67

Vegan
22 Mar 2023

Really cool place!

Has a couple vegan options, but need to ask the staff, who are VERY friendly and helpful and know what vegan means. Some of the pasta is not made with eggs. Also, really cool ambiance. There’s autographed plates on the wall from folks who have visited (Lou Reed was there 20 years ago;). Highly recommend.

Advertisement

julianawilhelmy

Points +72

Mostly Veg
05 Feb 2023

Yummy and good restaurant atmosphere

There was only 1 vegan option for the entire menu and once you tell your server they will tell you that. It was a pasta with tomato sauce and it was very delicious. While the options were limited, the atmosphere of the environment was so cozy and the staff was very nice. I would easily come back.

mike1366

Points +1200

Vegan
30 Aug 2021

Great food, wine, and ambience

Ambience is very cozy, warm, and fun. Not a ton of vegan options but the pasta dishes and contorni that are vegan are delicious. Great wine list and cocktail program. They used to have restaurants in San Diego and Washington, D.C., but the original location in Florence is now the only one.

Tresac

Points +29

Vegetarian
12 Aug 2020

Bad

Pretensious service. Had a reservation for three but they would only let us use half the table for four with an extra chair on the end in case more customers came in (which didn’t happen), so half the table was empty and one person was crammed into the isle. They are known for their meat sauce so I had to go with a carnivore friend. They only had one vegetarian pasta - Tortellini with white sauce, Avacado slices and pomegranate. The flavours didn’t work and it was too heavily salted for my taste and I like salt. It wasn't good; I don't need to return.

hokusai77

Points +13612

Vegan
25 Apr 2019

Limited vegan offer

We went here just because it is centrally located and were on a hurry, but vegan options are quite limited. We ordered some pici (a kind of Tuscan pasta) with tomato and basil, well cooked but really nothing special.

Pros: centrally located

Cons: limited vegan options

Lucydu

Points +68

Vegan
24 Apr 2017

Not good for vegan

Really not good for vegan options
The salads when we came have cheese

Unaban

Points +44

Vegan
19 Aug 2013

Super place and lovely owners

In May we stayed in an apartment a few yards from the very lively and popular Acqua al 2, and although we only visited twice, I heartily recommend it to vegatarians and vegans. The owner Valentino understands veganism and is very accommodating. He and his business partner also own "The Diner", a haunt for students just round the corner that serves a vegan burger and will set up a vegan breakfast to order. We also enjoyed having them as neighbours.
Updated from previous review on Monday August 19, 2013

Pros: Lovely people, Excellent vegan food, Good atmosphere

Cons: Limited choice of vegan food

AlyssaMiller

Points +48

Vegan
29 Jun 2012

Good Food

I wandered in without a reservation and it was fine, but maybe I was lucky.

None of my roommates are vegan or even vegetarians, so this was a compromise. It is a good place because they have meat options. They don't have a vegan menu, but they know what vegan is, and speak enough English to understand and customize a meal. I got some kind of corn salad that was really good and for dinner I have pasta with artichokes and olive oil. It was simple and good. It was a nice shift from pasta and tomato sauce. Any vegan meal will consist of pasta or rice with veggies.

I don't think I would eat there on my own, but if you need to make sure the place you go has good options, I would definitely recommend Acqua al 2. My roommates loved it and I was happy with my meal. It worked out very well.

Pros: vegan options

Cons: no real "vegan menu"




This page has been viewed 6657 times.