• Abay Blue Nile Taste of Ethopia

  • (12)
    22
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
International
Take-out
Gluten-free
African, Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Authentic Ethiopian cuisine. Offers vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free options. Includes Ethiopian pancakes. Open Tue-Sun 13:00-22:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Abay Blue Nile Taste of Ethopia
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by Janna112358

TheGreenCarrot

Points +75

Vegan
11 Aug 2023

Cute, vegan option small Ethiopian restaurant/take away.

I drove by their place for fourteen years, but never stopped to have a proper look. Today I gave it a try and damn.. I feel so stupid for not eating/ordering there before. I had a vegan wrap and a vegan dinner for take away. It was absolutely delicious! The owners are very friendly and explained me all the ingredients. I will be back many times to make up the loss for the past fourteen years. 😉

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-09

Advertisement

PrzemekNL88

Points +202

Vegan
12 Dec 2022

Very nice people and good food!

It’s quick and good. Ethiopian food is great vegan food!

DownWithTheGreens

Points +65

Vegan
05 Apr 2022

Hidden Gem with Phenomenal Food

This hole in the wall Ethiopian restaurant is run by a lovely couple and the food was so delicious. We are staying in Haarlem for a month and we plan to frequent this place. Definitely a must try.

JerryWeidema

Points +519

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Most unique

For €4.5 you get a vegan wrap filled with the most delicious potato and lentil filling. The place looks like if you walked into the living room of the cute couple that is preparing the dishes in a small kitchen right in front of you. The most authentic place in Haarlem with one of the best meals you can get. Worth 5 stars.

Pros: Cheap, amazing vegan wrap, And very authentic

Cons: No Pin

PatrickvanderLinde

Points +575

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Gezellig en heel erg lekker

De twee eigenaren hebben een ontzettend gezellig restaurant met 3 tafels waar je ook goed kan afhalen. Ze koken heerlijk eten en dat ruik je direct als je binnenkomt. Ze hebben genoeg vegan opties en het eten is echt verrukkelijk. Vooral de erwtenpasta en de linzen in combinatie met de injera (ethiopisch pannenkoekachtig brood) is geweldig. Daarnaast zijn de prijzen ook nog eens heel vriendelijk. Wij komen nog een keer!

Pros: Genoeg vegan opties, Gezellige huiskamer sfeer, Vriendelijke eigenaren

Cons: Nog wel 4 vleesopties

Gerardine3

Points +27

Vegetarian
05 Nov 2021

Heerlijk en gezond eten!

Klein eethuisje, vriendelijke mensen, leuk om met je handen te mogen eten:)

Pros: Heerlijk! , Vegetarische opties , Lekker met je handen eten

Cons: Klein (maar fijn)

ontbijtjezondereitje

Points +837

Vegan
07 Jul 2021

Amazing cozy hidden pearl

A very kind couple welcomes you in a restaurant with only two tables. Very good vegan choices. Can only pay by cash. Would recommend!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-07

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Very kind owners, Very cozy

Cons: Only cash, Not much space

Beanna

Points +274

Vegan
02 Oct 2020

Consistently delicious!

We eat here every time we return to Haarlem and our memories of the delicious food never disappoint us. Really tasty and filling food. Great service. If you like spicy, the owner will give you some of his spice mix if you ask, which is also amazing. We will continue to return.

Pros: Delicious, hearty food.

Cons: Great value, great service

xiendao

Points +24

Vegan
09 Sep 2020

Everything tasted so good ♡

Delicious food 👌 everything was so tasteful! There was not one thing we didn't like. My friend ordered the dish with chicken and I had the vega(n) mix. Lovely and kind owners, very warm and welcoming. This was our first introduction to Ethiopian food and would definitely go here again when we're in Haarlem.

Pros: Good portions , Great for a small budget, Lovely owners & great cook!

elwira

Points +32

Vegan
12 Jul 2020

Heerlijk verrassend voor weinig.

Super lieve mensen. Heerlijk gezond eten. Een echte belevenis.

Pros: Verrassend, Goedkoop

stella1986

Points +95

Vegan
29 Feb 2020

Great experience

Good food for a good price. The environment is like a living room. Really small with just two tables. Most people do take away but the staff is really friendly and brought us some more injera when we finished it. It's a cash only restaurant!

Pros: Very reasonable prices, friendly staff

Cons: Cash only

Janna112358

Points +30

Vegan
22 Dec 2019

Good Ethiopian food in small restaurant

Small but welcoming restaurant with friendly service. Half the menu is vegetarian with most options also vegan. We ordered three vegan mains which came with injera - perfect for sharing. The food is not the very best Ethiopian I've had, but still very tasty and good value.

Pros: Easy to find/ask about vegan options, Good value




This page has been viewed 3791 times.