Vegan
American
Organic
Juice bar
Take-out
Fusion

Vegan health food cafe serving savory bowls, made-to-order juices and smoothies, acai bowls, toast with toppings, and salads. Example of dishes include the tofu scramble toast, curry bowl, kale salad, caesar salad, naked summer roll, and bagel sandwich. There's also a fridge stocked with ready-made drinks and a few grab-and-go items. Est. 2017 in the Napili Plaza shopping center near Napili Market. Due to the fire in Aug 2023 many Lahaina businesses are closed or have moved. Please help HappyCow by sending in an update as needed. Open Mon-Tue 8:00am-3:30pm, Thu-Sat 8:00am-3:30pm, Fri 6:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 9:00am-1:00pm. Closed Wed.


Venue map for a'a Roots Health Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

98 Reviews

First Review by geoffmatters

PatriciaPeinado

Points +45

Vegan
02 Mar 2024

Heavenly

We ate here when we were in Maui 4 years ago. My husband is not vegan and going back to this restaurant this year 2024 was his idea. I have been a vegan 32 years. I recommend ordering the daily specials. I had the tomato soup and also avocado toast with chimichurri. My husband had a salad. We also bought a blueberry muffin. The server was very helpful in guiding our choices. He was happy and friendly. The service was quick. The food was DELICIOUS and FRESH. They have toys available to keep the little ones occupied.
Not sure why but the water tasted strange to me today. I should have mentioned this to the staff.

Pros: Freshness of ingredients , Friendly fast service , All vegan and delicious

Cons: Water had a strange taste to me today

Advertisement

leopardsl

Points +281

Vegan
06 Feb 2024

Tasty vegan cafe

Enjoyed the tofu burrito and smoothie. The place was not fancy but was cute and conveniently located in a plaza with parking and other businesses

Pros: Tasty food , Nice burrito and smoothie

WestSeattleLuke

Points +142

Herbivore
02 Feb 2024

Love this place!!

We visit every time we come to Maui. A’A Roots is vegan paradise.

Pros: Delicious food, Comfortable/ pleasant environment

Yo5h

Points +271

Vegetarian
07 Jan 2024

Wonderful healthy food

Cute cafe with smoothies, bowls, salads, sandwiches. Some prepared to go stuff. Has the Tofu scramble and it was a good sized bowl with 1/3 salad, 1/3 scramble, 1/3 brown rice. Was very tasty!

They're open past 1pm the sign says until "?" I'm so glad I walked across the parking lot even tho it was 1:05! They charge an extra $2 for to go orders.

Pros: Lots of vegan and gluten free options, Cute seating areas indoors and more outside, Friendly staff

Cons: App might say they're closed when they're not!

NeelDalal

Points +101

Vegan
31 Dec 2023

Great place for vegan food

We visited during an evening popup so there was a special menu. All items were tasty, portion size was good and the desserts were awesome! Great vibe as well! #Veganuary

Pros: Taste, Portion Size, Ambience

Cons: Usually not open for dinner

CarolineWilmovsky

Points +204

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

WOW WOW WOW

I have been wanting to eat here for years and I'm so upset with myself that it took me this long to try it! This place is seriously amazing and one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. The staff is incredibly nice...I've never had customer service so notable. The owner of the store was showing food to us coming from the kitchen proudly showing off her daughter's (the chef) hard work and skills. It may not be the fastest service ever, but all the food is so beautiful and you can tell they put their heart into it. Food was absolutely delectable and I can't wait to try more! Make sure you check their Instagram for the Daily Specials, Friday Dinner Menu, and Sunday Brunch Menu. I went twice in one day because I was so blown away. The only thing that caught me off guard was how expensive the cookie dough is ($20 for a tub), but it's pretty good stuff so it's a splurge item. By the way, the cookie dough can be baked or eaten raw😉

Pros: Most amazing staff ever, Beautiful food

Cons: Not a place to eat at if you're in a hurry

BonniePeterson

Points +68

Vegetarian
03 Jul 2023

Delicious vegan food

We were looking for a place to get a healthy drink while we waited for our condo to be ready and happened upon a most delightful place. We ordered lunch and went back today for Sunday brunch. It turns out that a “pop up” business makes the Friday night dinners and Sunday brunch.

Pros: Quality of the food, Friendliness of the staff , Reasonably priced

Cons: It wasn’t clearly stated the a different business , The quality and flavors of brunch didn’t match the

JodieAnttila

Points +98

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Best vegan food I've ever had

We drove an hour from Kihei multiple times just to eat here. The bagel with cream cheese is to die for.

Pros: Unreal flavors, Variety

Cons: None, seriously

Irondan22

Points +20

Vegan
29 Jun 2023

Fully Vegan Restaurant

Went here 5 times on my trip! It had tons of variety and the food was great!

JillOlson

Points +34

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

Delicious vegan cafe

Update: went back and was equally impressed. Soba bowl and breakfast burritos are delicious. Also don’t miss the s’mores cookie- life changing!! Owner is lovely and thrilled to meet other vegans. Also her son, a staunch vegan, gives surf lessons if you want to support. Lahainasurfadventures.com. Wish we had known before we went to a different place.

Discovered this vegan spot walking distance to our condo and highly recommend. Enjoyed a iced coffee with oat, maple, espresso whip and yummy blueberry muffin. Will be back to try the breakfast burrito and granola/fruit bowls. Super friendly service too!

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-20

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly service , All vegan menu

MFDOOM

Points +32

Vegan
21 Jun 2023

Still Dreaming of A’A Roots

We ate here 2 or 3 times while in Maui. It was so great that if it was in my hometown I’d eat here multiple days a week. We tried to go again on our last day. They were closed for Father’s Day, which we totally respected, but I’m still dreaming of my next meal there.

villain

Points +6967

Vegan
16 Jun 2023

Best on Maui

A'a Roots Health Cafe is the best place I've tried on Maui. The service is spectacular, super attentive, and welcoming. The food is beautifully made and thoughtfully decorated with edible flowers. Every ingredient in every dish tastes so fresh, high quality, and nutrient-dense!

There's even a big selection of to-go foods, like noodles and pasta, raw cakes, cookies, juices, breads, guacamole, quinoa, energy bites and bars, chia pudding, and so much more. They even sell cute t-shirts.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-16

craigmc

16 Jun 2023

JohnWaldum

Points +396

Vegan
07 May 2023

Always an incredible experience

Every time we visit the island we have to go to A'a roots. The food is incredible. Our first visit this time I ate the food too quickly and couldn't take a photo. We stopped again for brunch on Sunday and the chef outdid herself. I had a conna roll and avocado toast which was devine. And my partner had the plant based omelette which was delicious. If you are looking for great food and a homie feeling this is your place.

Pros: Taste, Environment , Options

Cons: None

amyklaw

Points +132

Vegan
02 May 2023

Lunch options

They had a variety of items in their menu. The juices were great. I also tried the sassie burger which was something different.

Ajustinbryant

Points +34

Vegan
29 Apr 2023

Such good vegan fare

We stopped by here on the way back from a long morning of tremendous waves and cute turtles at DT Fleming Beach. The restaurant was a refreshing, cool, and healthy stop on our way back to Lahaina.

We got an amazing Soba Buddha bowl with tempeh, the Dragon pitaya bowl and the special mango acai bowl. Our three kids loved everything, especially the fruit bowls. The restaurant's atmosphere gave out good, positive vegan vibes. Don't be deceived by the mall-like appearance from the outside - the inside is very pleasant.

Highly recommended by this vegan/vegetarian family from Seattle.

Pros: Great food, Healthy food, Nice employees

Kedugan

Points +148

Vegan
03 Apr 2023

Fresh & Delicious

Elated to find substantial vegan food in Maui. Love that A’a Roots offers more than just acai bowls & smoothies. We loved it so much at breakfast we came back for the special bowl for takeaway (lunch)!

Pros: Great options, Cool vibes inside

Cons: Not cheap, but not much is here :)

PaulShapiro

Points +230

Vegan
03 Feb 2023

Good food. The tempeh is particularly tasty.

Really recommend adding the Maui tempeh, which was great.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-03

Pros: All vegan. , Fast service.

Cons: Price is high.

Belinda129

Points +148

Vegan
27 Nov 2022

Must go to!

Loved this place!! Went twice. Love the zero waste they do - reusable containers you return in exchange for a $ deposit and leaf wraps for $1. I wish all places did this. Loved their signature taro burger (it’s smushed in my pic, not their fault). Great interior and energy inside and outside. Only con would be to pass on the Thai tea - flavor and sweetness was too light.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-27

Pros: Zero waste, Food

martinsarabia

Points +24

Vegan
08 Nov 2022

Great Vegan Food in Maui

The food was amazing and very flavorful. The vegan cinnamon roll and pastries were awesome. I highly recommend eating here while in Maui. We ate here everyday. The owner and staff were very friendly and amazing.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Vegan pastries were awesome , All the staff were friendly

Pandawan

Points +550

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Quality vegan spot

Good food, descent service, and good beer.

Pros: Loads of choice, Fairly unique offerings

Cons: In an outlet village around a car park. Move!, Please move to Main Street it would pay off!, Wasn’t amazed by my choice. Probably just me

cvs578

Points +46

Vegan
30 Sep 2022

Noms

Breakfast burrito was spot on. Colorful, filling. Coffee smoothie was noms too.

Pros: Friendly staff, Legit vegan, Not too busy in the morning

KPPAlex

Points +13

Vegetarian
26 Sep 2022

Yum!

Lovely little vegan spot with an awesome Sunday brunch!

Pros: Great food, great staff and vibe!

Cons: All good, no cons for me!

CoryB

Points +52

Vegan
25 Sep 2022

Great food and smoothies

Delicious vegan food and smoothies with lots of options. I had a hard time deciding what to order with so many great options. Went with the special of egg plant blt and a smoothie for lunch. Food was so good we thought about going back for dinner!

Pros: So many vegan option options

b12deficiency

Points +75

Vegan
17 Sep 2022

Awesome

This place slapped! I got a cold udon bowl with tempeh and an acai bowl with cacao nibs and spirulina. I loved everything I got, if I hadn't already been kinda full this place would have been even better. My partner got the poke bowl and was a little underwhelmed by it actually (also they forgot the poke sauce on it when they brought it to the table) but I loved my food. The edible flowers are a nice touch too. They also sell merch, I bought a hat. Not my preferred cuisine or vibe but everything was great.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-17

baruchadam

Points +398

Vegetarian
06 Sep 2022

Winner

Varied, interesting and tasty menu. highly recommended.

AshleyHartmeier-Prigg

Points +40

Vegan
01 Sep 2022

Yummy healthy food

Got a yummy tofu scramble and added Maui tempeh to get a taste of both.

Pros: Vegan banana bread

Cons: Cash or Venmo only

AGOK

Points +45

Vegan
13 Jul 2022

Local Plant Based Treasure!

Great plant based menu with multiple options and daily specials. Beautiful açaí bowls & super friendly staff. Mellow atmosphere with a few tables inside & out. So glad we found them during our trip!

Pros: All plant based menu, Multiple options, Cozy eat in space

Cons: Some items are $15 and above but worth every bit!




This page has been viewed 18825 times.