• 999 Shan Noodle Shop

  • (20)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Myanmar
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Typical Shan noodle shop. The noodle dishes can be made vegan and staff speaks English. Also offer fresh juices. An opportunity for veg*ns to try these typical dishes. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-7:00pm.


Venue map for 999 Shan Noodle Shop
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by Plantpower

lime.skyblue

Points +536

Vegan
01 Mar 2024

Local, "Mom & Pop Shop" Feel. Friendly Staff. Delicious noodles.

I visited this noodle shop in April 2019, so my memory has faded a bit.

But this place gave me the impression of being a must-go / tourist friendly spot, which I saw as a great thing: it was a nice introduction to local & vegan food in Yangon.

The staff accommodated my vegan dietary preferences & were friendly. Of course, the noodles are "cheap" by western standards: the prices cater to the locals. "Cheap" has a negative connotation, so I'd rather not describe any food, especially while traveling, that way.

I'm uncertain how the scene is in Yangon especially with recent events, but if you find yourself there: this noodle shop is worth your time

Updated from previous review on 2024-03-01

Advertisement

Tweeprise

Points +303

Vegetarian
11 Nov 2021

Large menu

Shan noodles were awesome! I ate there twice

Neb

Points +27

Vegetarian
31 Jan 2020

Soups cooked with chicken broth

Tasty and inexpensive noodle dishes. The „vegetarian“ soups however are made with chicken broth according to the staff.

MiandJa

Points +188

Vegan
24 Dec 2019

Neither worth the money nor the hunger! - sad experience

Dont go for typical Shan dishes - better go to Shan Kitchen. Its definitely worth go there as prices are comparable but 999 Shan is really not worth the money (instant soup, sold us shan noodles but quite sure they were normal rice noodles). 999 Shan noodles were also no good service, waiters were stressed and the location is not really pleasant.

gary1992

Points +20

Vegan
23 Dec 2019

Good food but careful with bill

Good noodles and service. Be careful and check bill as I went twice and both times they tried to add extras I hadnt ordered onto the bill. Be careful!

thechickpeas

Points +925

Vegan
06 Nov 2019

Expected more...

This noodle shop was deemed the place to be for Shan noodles. I was quite disappointed after having the tofu noodles... it was overly sweet. The avocado shake was very good though!

Dsar222

Points +372

Vegan
03 Nov 2019

Great noodles, super cheap

Really enjoyed trying delicious Burmese noodle dishes. Waiters had good English and knew which vegan was. Sticky noodles with tomato sauce were unreal. Relatively small dish but each comes with soup, pickles and free tea for 2000kyat - £1!!!!

Updated from previous review on 2019-11-03

Pros: Tasty, Cheap

Hilmoon

Points +1076

Vegan
27 Feb 2019

Great food, fast service

This place was super busy when we arrived but they sat us right away and the food came out quick! Vegan order: firm tofu salad and Shan noodle soup. Delicious! Tell the server you want to food “thathalo” to confirm it will be veggie.

Pros: Fast service, Polite staff, Good food

Cons: Low ceiling upstairs

Lucie&Jack

Points +278

Vegan
12 Feb 2019

We come here often

We've been to Myanmar twice now, and every time we are in Yangon, we always cone here for lunch.. and order the same thing! Vegetarian sticky noodles in tomato sauce! So delicious! And you get free pickle, soup and tea! The staff are super friendly and service is very quick! Always packed full of locals and tourists. Great location near to Sule Pagoda and buses.

Pros: Quick service, Friendly staff, Delicious veggie noodles

Cons: Only a few vegan options

minhnguyen

Points +1540

Vegan
25 Jan 2019

Rather good

Been here twice during my trip to Myanmar. It's rather clean compared to Myanmar standard. Food is lovely with a variety of vegetarian food. Staff speak English pretty well. Price is reasonable.

GrietTheuwissen

Points +188

Vegan
14 Jan 2019

Delicious soups!

My boyfriend and I both ordered soup (traditional Shan noodle soup sticky Shan noodle soup). We both really liked the flavours & soups can easily be veganized. Just say you want something "thathalo" & the staff will help you. Good value for money!

Pros: Dishes can easily be veganized, Cheap, Quick fix

JonJon

Points +20183

Vegan
26 Aug 2018

Very limited vegan menu but good noodle soup

The place is relatively famous and provides Shan noodle dishes. Only two items of a long list are vegetarian/vegan (the waiters know which ones): the fried tofu and one sticky noodle soup. The soup is served with a broth that appeared vegan too. It is inexpensive (1,900 kyats) but portions are not huge. The food is good but has nothing exceptional. The staff is efficient and relatively friendly but is a bit in a hurry for everything, which makes the experience a bit stressful. On the whole, I don't think the place worth the try, except for extreme curiosity about Shan noodles.

Pros: inexpensive, good noodles

Cons: very limited vegan menu, not 100% vegan, vegan options not labeled, crowded

SabGh

Points +51

Vegan
29 Mar 2018

Delicious cheap food!

I had a noodle salad and it was so tasty (and only 1900 kyat for a pretty filling portion)! It came with a couple of other bits and and bobs (small bowl of vegetarian soup and a spoonful of pickled vegetables), which is always a nice touch. They also offer tea free of charge. Staff are friendly and attentive. My favourite place to eat in Yangon so far.

CamilaSilvaL

Points +5883

Vegan
22 Feb 2018

delicious Burmese food

You can get a main for 1900 kyats. I tried the noodle “salad” (with sticky noodles and veggies) because I wasn’t so sure about the broth of the other dishes and it was seriously good. The staff is super friendly and they know exactly what’s vegan or not. You get free tea.
I’ll come again!

thomase

Points +45

Mostly Veg
06 Nov 2017

Delicious and inexpensive!

This was the first place we visited for food after arriving in Yangon - we located it easily (there are two on the same street? I believe they’re the same business. We went to the smaller of the two) Our hostel had been kind enough to write us some text explaining our diets and they understood (though did make a few jokes about it being chicken...) I had the noodles and my partner had the Shan tofu soup! Both delicious. We spent 6000K - basically $6.00AU - on an entree, two mains and two cokes! We got free tea and soup too! Definitely worth a visit.

Pros: friendly staff, lots of options for vegetarians (and vegans I’d im

LisaLöwenherz

Points +572

Vegan
31 Jan 2017

Poor Food

we came here because of tripadvisor but the food wasnt good at all. the fried tofu was only Oil - i couldnt find the Tofu. the soup wasnt special. there are only Tourists no Local People and there is a fee you have to Pay for which is not noted on the Card. you get fast food there and Please leave soon because they Need your table for the Next ones.

Emmaa

Points +261

Vegetarian
18 May 2016

nah

staff (a juvenile boy) didn't understand when I asked for a vegan version, he said the dish was vegan but asked me if I wanted pork or chicken afterwards... the dressing tasted a lot like honey and after reading the other reviews on here the noodles probably weren't vegan too. meals look pretty small but are filling if you're not that hungry. meals are pretty cheap but notice that they charge you 165 kyad as a service fee and that you basically loose 95 kyad every time because they don't have notes smaller than 100.
will not go here again.

Pros: kinda tasty (except for the free soup)

Cons: staff didn't understand what vegan means - food no, cross contamination , service fee

dgravity

13 May 2017

Agree with the cross contamination, and the waiter did serve me a complimentary chicken soup despite me saying that I was vegan.

The service fee is actually a government fee so it's not something they can do much about. Also, I think most foreigners can do without the 0.07$ (95K) they don't give back :)

Eric_

Points +729

Vegetarian
02 Mar 2016

All right

Simple shop. Tasty food, nice to be able to try veggie versions. English speaking staff. Not extraordinary, but definately a good enough option.

Ellie143

Points +255

Vegan
19 Apr 2015

Should be 5 stars!

Absolutely delicious soups and salads! Great place to try a different kind of cuisine safe in the knowledge that it is vegan friendly. Whilst I was there all the staff spoke great English and understood vegan straight away. Unfortunately they didn't have vegetarian wontons but the Shan noodle soup and salad I had more than made up for it! Had great flavour and very filling, priced at 1200 kyat. Cute little restaurant with well appreciated aircon!

Pros: vegan adaptable dishes (delicious), well spoken English , aircon!!

Cons: no wontons

Plantpower

Points +1330

Vegan
23 Mar 2015

Easy to order vegan, yummy too

The lady at the register understood right away that I was after vegan food and told me all the options I had (different noodle types for the soups). The soup was good. Unfortunately I didn't try any of the vegan extras.

Pros: easy

Cons: mainly serves meat




This page has been viewed 6393 times.