Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Hey! I just became vegan couldn't believe there can be bone marrow in sugar!!!! Who would have thought. This article has more things vegan should/shouldnt eat

www.fourgreensteps.com/infozone/featured-zone/what-vegans-eat-article

Responses (14)

• Report Abuse

Posted by Elizabeth Webb at 10/01/10 22:21:08

What about sugar substitutes like splenda?

Report Abuse

Posted by jive at 10/03/10 02:48:22

I hear splenda has been tested on animals. Its estimated 12,800 animals died in the process of testing the artificial sweetener splenda. I imagine the same is true for most sugar substitutes.

Pure cane sugar is vegan though. And if your looking for a sweetener with low glycemic index, you might try agave nectar. It too is free of animal ingredients and testing. :)

• Report Abuse

Posted by rmark25 at 09/25/10 09:39:39

but I loves me some sugar! besides, i'm a pastry chef, make some great vegan desserts...all joking aside, and to be honest I'm commenting on your post without reading that article you gave a link for. I read that not all sugar is bone-charred and there is no way to know which sugar is and is not, so you can either NOT eat ANY white sugar or just take that risk?
    I mean, damn we gotta enjoy some things..it's like thinking that vegan Burger at Johnny Rockets, although they say it is cooked on a separate grill assigned for the vegan burger may or may have not touched a meat surface. Should we eat that burger or not? I say eat it and keep ordering and tell the industries out there that there is a demand for vegan items!
    ok, I'm babbling. thanks for posting

• Report Abuse

Posted by AndyT at 09/27/10 08:54:14

Stay with un-refined sugar (e.g. sucanat), it is more healthy (well ... gradually more healthy) and does not use the bone char filtering.

Best regards,
    Andy

Report Abuse

Posted by VeggieHeathie! at 10/19/10 18:26:59