Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

I am brand new to veganism, i use to be a vegetarian for two years. I am interested to know wether it be wise to feed my dog a vegan diet?

Responses (3)

• Report Abuse

Posted by RawRachel at 08/11/17 01:29:42

Hi, that is a debated issue. I had three doggies and the first one I tried making him vegan for a year. He did not do well on a mostly raw vegan diet supplemented with brown rice, raw egg yolks. I finally gave him some raw meat (yes, i had to do what was best for him, not me) and he thrived on it and that was that. He also loved eating raw chicken and beef bones. There are people who have raw or cooked food vegan dogs and some seem to be healthy.
    I have found that dogs (and cats) are not good with soy and they should not have a lot of grains in their diet. Their "natural" diet as dogs is to consume prey that eats grasses and plants, but now dogs are domesticated. The issue then becomes what do you feed them?. In the past there was a dog food in cans and dry that was vegan. I believe it relied on grains and soy in its' ingredients. You can certainly TRY a vegan diet in different forms and see how it goes.
    I loved my dogs and did the best i could for them. I believe in giving them lots of raw vegetables like carrots, sweet potato's, broccoli, greens, and an occasional apple or pear. I think it is good to give them (2-3x weekly) healthy powdered kelp from iceland (clean water area) for their thyroid. I would not be able to have a dog again if i had to feed it raw meat, As a vegan it was a difficult thing for me to do every day.
    namaste', rachel

• Report Abuse

Posted by ILuvMyPetz at 08/30/17 14:47:13

I say nay, dogs are not meant to be vegetarian or vegan, this is why they have canine teeth, they are meat eaters.

• Report Abuse

Posted by happah10 at 09/05/17 00:11:43

My dogs wanted to go vegan.