Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Hi guys,
I am new to this site. Just wanted to chat with some like-minded individuals and learn more about alternative diets which dont involve cruelty to animals.
Just wondering though: I am new to vegetarianism. Only started this year. Does it get easier to deal with the suffering you know you have inflicted on animals in the past? Right now, I am so cut up about what goes on in factory farming.
I feel like I cant just be a vego and not try and convince others to do the same. But I have found that people tend to get very rude or angry when you mention the 'elephant' in the room.
I don't really know what my point is. I guess i just want to know if there is a way of approaching the topic which will promote discussion and perhaps even change?

Responses (2)

• Report Abuse

Posted by shearwater at 12/26/09 21:28:12

Welcome to the Cows! But most importantly, welcome to Vegetarianism!

I don't believe any of us should feel guilty about animal suffering in our past. What counts is we overcame years of indoctrination by parents and society instilling/inflicting on us agri-business propaganda. Animal suffering is their fault. We're the ones who grew beyond and are working towards making the world cruelty-free.

As you mentioned, many people get rude or angry when the "elephant" in the room is mentioned. I believe deep down most thinking people feel a bit guilty killing animals. So they rationalize that it's a necessary evil. That's why we hear comments like "I don't want to know, you'll ruin my dinner." Of course some people genuinely do enjoy inflicting pain (Jeffrey Dahmer, Ted Bundy, Ted Nugent.....).