HappyCow relies on advertising in order to keep bringing you the best FREE online vegan restaurant guide. If you are seeing this message, you probably have an ad blocker turned on. Please consider disabling it to see content from our partners and support the work HappyCow does.
Posted by sputnik1957 at 08/26/18 13:42:06Beware! Many regular Thai restaurants have fish sauce hidden in pre-made sauces used in their dishes. Therefore, coconut milk based curry sauces, such as green, red, or massaman, usually are not 100% vegan or even vegetarian, because of the fish sauce added to them. You may order tofu and veggie red curry and think you're getting a vegan dish, but it's not. Since these sauces are pre-made, the cook can't take fish sauce out.
Your best bet is to get some kind of a veggie/tofu stir-fry and ask them not use fish sauce in the preparation of the dish.