Community: Forum: Health & Healing

Vegan Health & Nutrition Discussion Forum

Hi, I'm a new vegan (one month old) and I work as a post lady, so need plenty of calories. I've been eating a lot of pulses and millet with oils to get enough calories as well as plenty of vegetables. (I easily lose weight if I don't eat enough). But I feel really sleepy soon after a main meal, and my joints have been aching a bit, and clicking. Any ideas of how I can adjust things to feel better? Thanks everyone.

Responses (4)

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 03/01/15 06:40:02

Any changes in diet can cause temporary discomforts. Drowsiness after eating has more to do with eating large amounts than what you eat.

Don't overuse the oils...even good fats can easily be a problem in excess.

For answers to any diet/health questions, I always suggest the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine at pcrm.org. They are a rather large vegan/animal rights organization that has thousands of health professionals in its membership.

• Report Abuse

Posted by anahidscv at 06/05/15 16:01:14

I start my day with a plant based protein shake that's also a meal complete with vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, fruits and vegetables. This helps me a lot. I love almond milk, so I add it scoops of the powder to my almond milk in a blender bottle, and there I go with my day.

• Report Abuse

Posted by Alyssasmithsweet at 07/12/15 03:03:15

You may want to incorporate some fresh fruit juices and eating some fruit to get that energy boost that you need. Add some greens to a fruit smoothie and that should help. Especially, if you drink it in the morning. Good luck to you!

• Report Abuse

Posted by VeganIsMyMiddlename at 07/13/15 11:40:58