Community: Forum: Health & Healing

Vegan Health & Nutrition Discussion Forum

Author Avatar
I will be vegan for a month on Friday and for the most part I feel great. However during my last period and during the time of ovulation I got really weak dizzy and light headed. I also got a migraine and I never get those. I am wondering if it was low iron and if so what is a good source of vegan iron.

Responses (8)

• Report Abuse

Posted by ishansharma at 08/06/13 22:30:29

I'm not a medical professional in any way, but here are some good sources of vegan iron: www.vrg.org/nutrition/iron.php

Additionally, maybe this may help: blogs.howstuffworks.com/2011/08/10/do-vegetarian-and-vegan-diets-affect-menstrual-cycles/

• Report Abuse

Posted by elfmaiden713 at 08/15/13 18:24:41

Beans, tofu, and pumpkin seeds are all good sources of iron, as are leafy greens. Some cereals, noodles, and other dry foods can be enriched with iron, so I would look for those at your local grocery store, too.

• Report Abuse

Posted by it_be_asin at 12/01/13 00:32:01

If you are having menstruation problems that you believe may or may not be related to your diet, you should consider seeing a sympathetic doctor and/or a nutritionist. Iron intake may not be the problem, or only be part of the problem.

• Report Abuse

Posted by GarrettHnatiuk at 06/15/14 21:47:50

The only way your diet may affect your menstruation is if you are not consuming enough food; it has absolutely nothing to do with you becoming vegetarian. Plain and simple, menstruation fits with body fat. Be sure that you're eating enough calories!

• Report Abuse

Posted by DunkiesandDimeys at 06/18/14 12:08:53

You should definitely try to get as much iron as possible. Cereal is an easy way to get iron, since it usually contains 25-40% of the daily value for iron. I partly agree with Garrett; not consuming enough food can cause those symptoms. During your period, your body burns more calories.