Community: Forum: Health & Healing

Vegan Health & Nutrition Discussion Forum

Hi everyone, I am a newbie to the vegan lifestyle. I am borderline diabetic, and I was wondering if the increase of fruit in my diet since transitioning to the vegan lifestyle will have a negative impact on my diabetes, due to the fact that fruit has natural sugars versus processed sugars. Any help with this is always appreciated and thanks in advance for replies.

Responses (8)

• Report Abuse

Posted by RJS at 06/24/15 22:53:12

Definitely worth discussing with your dietician!
    Some fruits are high in sugar and low in nutritional value like grapes and melon but most berries are very nutritious and relatively low in sugar.
    I think in borderline diabetes the priority is controlling calories not sugar though.

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 06/25/15 05:37:16

RJS-
    Just like with doctors, lawyers and mechanics, there are "good" dieticians and some not so good.

A great source for info on diet and health (including diabetes) is the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (pcrm.org).

• Report Abuse

Posted by wholefoodsimply at 07/01/15 03:14:27

Paleo Diet would be the best option for you. However, you should consult expert dietician that will help you to know what stuff should you add in your paleo diet.

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 07/01/15 05:36:23

wholefoodsimply-

There are very cogent and logical arguments against the "Paleo Diet". A google search under "Problems with Paleo Diet" will reveal some good discussions.

• Report Abuse

Posted by iwanderafar at 07/08/15 06:18:03