Voner der Vegetarische Doner

Overall rating: 4.0 stars 38 Reviews
Name in German is Vöner der Vegetarische Döner. Casual fast food such as seitan slices cut from a rotating kebab spit, wagenburgers, vöner kebabs, fries, bio burgers, and various sauces. Reported all vegan as of July 2012. Price: Inexpensive more-less
Vegan, Fast food, German, American, Beer/Wine, Take-out
Boxhagenerstr. 56, Friedrichshain (Krossener Strasse)
Berlin, Germany 10245
030-99265423

Open Mon-Fri 11.30-23.00, Sat-Sun 13.30-23.00.

more-less
  • Cash only
reviews

Reviews

First Review by hack_man
EmilyBennett3050
EmilyBennett3050
18

reviews

  • vegan

Vegan doner kebabs!

5 Posted on 08 / 15 / 2014

For what it is, I'd easily give this place 5 cows. The vegan kebab "meat" slowly spins on a vertical spit in the way that animal meat does at traditional kebab shops. For a veggie or a vegan, just this sight alone is a real novelty! For 5 euros you can get a kebab wrap filled with voner meat, salad and a sauce of your choice (for those who prefer things mild, go with the herb dressing). Very filling and tasty, a single kebab wrap is probably all that is needed. Nice atmosphere with friendly staff and space for sitting in or outside. A little tricky to find, but definitely worth the visit considering how unique the concept is.

Pros: Great tasting vegan kebabs, friendly staff
Veganissimo
Veganissimo
8

reviews

  • vegan

Vegan fast food 101

5 Posted on 07 / 27 / 2014

A small and cozy grill-like restaurant which is not hard to find if you know where to go. A handful of tables to sit. May get crowded easily but the atmosphere is still peaceful.

Menu is quite small, so there shouldn't be much trouble to choose. Portions are quite large and filling. Prices are low and you get your moneys worth of food.

Big chunk of vöner is slowly spinning on the grill and it's being marinated whenever it gets dry. But vöner is not soaked in oil which is also nice. Slices are thick so no sparing on the main thing. Sauces were tasty and crowned portions!

For gluten-free eaters only one possible portion.

Definitely a place to visit again!

Pros: All-vegan, Tasty portions, Atmosphere
Cons: Only one gluten-free option
lusciouslex
lusciouslex
3

reviews

  • vegan

Great fast food

4 Posted on 07 / 22 / 2014

You get a lot of food for your money here, and the food itself is really good. The selection is simple, just vegan döner in different shapes, but really tasty. The tomato-chili sauce was especially good.


angloitalian
angloitalian
2

reviews

  • vegan

Unforgettable

5 Posted on 06 / 30 / 2014

Away from the center but very much in a hip area, this small 4 table eatery has enough space and options on the menu for a whole party of people to stop and eat.

The decor is typical Berlin, cool and interesting; you'll find yourself very relaxed.

The menu is brief, but anything more would be too much. What they do they do well and it's far from expensive.

The food is freshly made whilst you wait, the taste is heavenly and you're bound to be left wanting more - not because it's not filling, but because the taste is so good.

Pros: Unforgettable taste, Good selection of options, All made fresh
Cons: None
Nikki1801
Nikki1801
91

reviews

  • vegan

Ok...

3 Posted on 04 / 21 / 2014

I had high hopes for this place and we made a special trip to come try it, but I left disappointed. I picked a kebab and it was huge- the women seemed friendly enough but they had soaked our food in so much sauce that it overpowered it and made it sickly. It then ruined the bread and ended up all over our hands, so I gave up and left half of it. It's a shame as I think I'd have enjoyed it with less sauce and a slightly smaller portion. Would I bother going back? Meh.


Advertisements



Broccoli7
Broccoli7
2

reviews

  • vegan

Yum!

5 Posted on 01 / 07 / 2014

I love Voner. The place is small and cosy and the food is prepared right in front of you. Very clean and fresh. I had the vagenburger with cheese and fries, which are homemade. All the produce was fresh and the tastes are amazing. It wasn't my first time there and as I am a fan, I'll return again for sure.

Pros: great food, cosy atmosphere, clean
Cons: small - hard to get a table
Jirko
Jirko
23

reviews

  • vegetarian

good fast food

4 Posted on 12 / 20 / 2013

we had vegan kebab and a salat here. the voner is tasty and a good size portion which fills you up for a while. it's fast food, but it's tasty.

it's a small place with only 2-3 tables

Pros: good food
TataVislevskaya
TataVislevskaya
19

reviews

  • vegan

Tasty kebabs, strange staff!

3 Posted on 12 / 08 / 2013

Huge kebabs with different vegan sauces. Cheap and not greasy fast food for afterparty dining. I don't recommend burgers, but kebabs were really great! But the one question about stuff: or they don't like foreigners, or they don't understand English. Anyway, it's not my problem!

Pros: Huge portions, All is vegan, fast service
Cons: strange staff, a bit pricey (4,5€)
roxette521
roxette521
24

reviews

  • vegan

Good, not great

3 Posted on 11 / 22 / 2013

I got a Voner to go, and ate it at home. They made it very fast. The bread was very rubbery, but the filling was pretty good. I would rate this somewhere in the middle, as I finished my food, but I threw out half the bread. I would eat here again after a night of drinking, but not if I had some other options.

Pros: Decent filling, Fast
Cons: Tough bread
  • losthighway losthighway

    I think the problem might have come from taking your meal home in the cold weather. The bread often becomes a weird texture. Of course it doesn't help that they put a lot of sauce on too.

    more-less
losthighway
losthighway
18

reviews

  • vegan

Classic

5 Posted on 11 / 17 / 2013

Love this place.

Fast-food but super fresh.
Everything on the menu is good. Especially the pommes spezial.

The place is a bit small and can get crowded.

Pros: Great food
Cons: Small place
jays
jays
4

reviews

  • vegan

nice Döner

3 Posted on 09 / 25 / 2013

the staff wasn't that friendly. we got there just when they opened and the woman seemed already a bit stressed.
we got our food fast anyway and it was good, even though the filling of the Döner was a bit dry.


veganmiam
veganmiam
11

reviews

  • vegan

Good Cheap Foods :)

5 Posted on 09 / 13 / 2013

It was not very difficult finding the resturant. We were the first customers as it opened at a little past noon. The guy there was really friendly and helpful; he indicated which are vegan or not, which was very considerate of him. In addition, we ordered kebab with hot sauce and wagenburger (vegan) in these interesting panini-like wraps. These wraps were huge, grilled, and unique--never had anything like this before. We also ordered one dish of pomme (fries in German), and we filled the dish with vegan mayo and ketchup. It was the incredible french fries ever. Love the red seasoning on these big ass fries, plus the vegan mayo/ketchup make good companies to them. The kebab wrap with hot sauce was raw, so everything is not cooked there (too much raw onions, we would have asked for no onions instead of ending up with our hands smelling like onion). It was okay, but the wagenburger was well liked by us since the burger patty was prepared and cooked (plus with lots of pickles). Everything costs about 8 euros, I think. It was still cheap, and well worth it. We would definitely go back there again. Feel free to view our snapped photos of these meals! :) Enjoy!
Updated from previous review on Tuesday August 18, 2009

Pros: Cheap, Good portions, GREAT FRIES
pronk420
pronk420
3

reviews

  • vegetarian

Great Food!

5 Posted on 08 / 11 / 2013

It took a while for the food to come but it was worth the wait. Really delicious burgers at an awesome price.


kenvegan
kenvegan
76

reviews

  • vegan

Fantastic Vegan Doner!

5 Posted on 06 / 12 / 2013

i cannot say I have ever tried a meat-based doner kebab, but I can say that the sandwiches at this place are incredible. The vegan meat is cut from a traditional doner kebab vertical spit. The flavors are just perfect, and if you decide to go with the garlic sauce on your sandwich, you will have a delightful meal.

I spoke with two women at this restaurant and asked if they were vegan. They said that they were not vegan or vegetarian. When I mentioned that the donar kebab here was vegan, they didn't believe me at first. They thought they were at a regular meat-based doner kebab restaurant.

Voner der Vegetarische Doner is one of my favorite restaurants in Berlin! I wish we had such a place in Los Angeles!

Pros: food, value, service
Cons: None
jssmith
jssmith
9

reviews

  • vegan

Vegan classic

5 Posted on 06 / 05 / 2013

The Voeners are amazingly delicious and so are their fries. I went here twice on my visit to Berlin, and will go again next time I'm around. I wish they would open restaurants in other areas of Germany nearer to me. The food, price, and atmosphere, service... all great!

Pros: Excellent food, Atmosphere, Service & location
Placek
Placek
12

reviews

  • vegan

Stunning Vöner platter

5 Posted on 05 / 13 / 2013

Great place in Friedricksheim, easy to find it too. Small place with a couple of seats in- and outside. I tried the Vöner platter with French fries and salad. I was astonished that the fake meat (seitan) was cut from the kebab pole just like the meat ones. The place was full of with either local punks or people belonging to the same underground subculture. First time there was a French crust punk couple sitting next to me with a doggy of course. :p I felt like home. :))
The next day I went for the Berliner specialty: curry wurst (French fries+salad). Again, brilliant. Vegan mayo is just amazing, I could not get enough of it, though there could have been a bit more salad for the dishes. All in all both of them were great with a price of at around 4-5 euros each.
Staff spoke English and happily explained me what is vegan what is not. Definitely going visit them again when I am in Berlin.

If you are a snooty health-oriented vegan, who does not like strong flavours, then this might not be the best place for you.
Updated from previous review on Friday August 12, 2011

Pros: good atmosphere, tasty, vegan food, good price
NIlsI
NIlsI
59

reviews

  • vegan

best vegan kebab

4 Posted on 04 / 21 / 2013

It is the best kebab I know. I really like the kebab skewer - why aren´t there more Vöner somewhere?

It´s a great place for some fast food, staff is super nice, good prices.

I really like it.

Pros: kebab skewer, food, price, staff
hanswurst
hanswurst
4

reviews

  • vegan

The only Doner that matters

3 Posted on 03 / 23 / 2013

Voner is awesome! Good food, great prices, friendly staff, and really stands out!

Voner is something special, something you dont find everywhere like falafel.
It is a place where you can sit comfortably outside, they have a fast service, and the food tastes great (if you like/want a fast food-ish lunch/dinner)
Also, very good fries with spices on it.

Pros: All vegan , Fast
Cons: not that much seats outside
Heurtebise
Heurtebise
5

reviews

  • vegan

Best of a Kind

5 Posted on 02 / 06 / 2013

The best Fish'n'Chips I've ever had I had there. The taste freakishly resembled real sea creatures, so I was surprised for first little while, but quickly realised that I was totally into it. Minimalist design matches minimalist prices, and the food is simple, but soo comforting. When I'm in Berlin again, will be back to this place again and again.

Pros: Great portions, Good value
Cons: none
goamiez
goamiez
13

reviews

  • vegan

leckerer döner

5 Posted on 01 / 29 / 2013

der döner schmeckt richtig gut. auch die currywurst ist hammer und ich liebe die pommes. preise sind auch ok.


Eric_
Eric_
81

reviews

  • vegetarian

Give me.

5 Posted on 01 / 07 / 2013

I have had reoccuring semi-pornographic dreams about this place during the two years that has passed since I left. This place is/was a gift from above.

Pros: Vöner, Spicy sauce, Price
greenhexi
greenhexi
42

reviews

  • vegan

No longer impressed...

3 Posted on 12 / 24 / 2012

I came here when I was a young-vegan and was happy. I came again, several times as a more mature vegan and must say I do no longer like the meaty part, taste and texture. The bread and stuffing was OK (though you should use a plate, otherwise your arms are full of sauce as the gread is open). Also, the waitree used the same (unwashed hand) for money, scratching and aranging tomato, cucumber etc... Might avoid this place in future as there are meanwhile other places that do doeners...

Pros: Existence
Cons: Hygiene, taste
J-Veg
J-Veg
83

reviews

  • vegan

Great vegan döner!

4 Posted on 10 / 30 / 2012

This is a small takeaway whose main attraction is the vöner (vegan döner kebab, pronounced fur-ner). You can have it on a plate or in a wrap/flat-bread and it comes with fresh salad. You can also choose from a few sauces (e.g. hot sauce, mayo). The kebab itself is made from a mix of tofu, seitan, vegetables and spices from what I gather and it is absolutely delicious! Warning - it does resemble the donner kebab so if you don't like that, you might not like this.

They also do chips/fries (quite good) as well as a couple of burgers, which I personally didn't think were particularly outstanding.

The take-away has limited seating inside and a few tables outside so it can be a little full at times.

It is also located quite near to Boxhagener Platz, often the site of an interesting food market or, on Sundays, an amazing flea market. Simon-Dach-Straße - popular for it's night-life scene - also isn't too far away. Although it's located quite close to Ostkreuz station, I'd recommend having a walk round the area before/after eating, perhaps heading towards Warschauer Straße station or towards Frankfurter Tor station to check out the neo-classical architecture.

Pros: Delicious vegan döner, Cool area
Cons: Often full/busy (is this really a con?)
vegancharlie
vegancharlie
15

reviews

  • vegan

crazy & amazing vegan experience

5 Posted on 10 / 17 / 2012

vöner! what an amazing idea!

it was delicious with a fresh salad &
the vegan tzatziki & chilli sauce :) the voner 'meat' is quite rich though so i would recomment sharing with someone.

burger was really yum too! & we also looooved the fries with onions & cheese sauce!

a really delicious & exciting food experience in the wonderful berlin.

staff who worked there are really friendly too :)


borkdude
borkdude
11

reviews

  • vegan

Nice vegan fastfood

4 Posted on 07 / 27 / 2012

My wife and I were guests at the A&O hotel and having just arrived there, after having a tiresome day training from Krakow, we were looking for some quick inexpensive vegan food. It turned out we only had to walk out of the door to have our eyes caught on Vöner. It wasn't entirely clear to me that I could order a vöner pita there, because I only looked at the board which started with "vöner teller" (vöner, some salad en deep fried spicy potatoes)... so I ordered that. It was certainly tasty and a nice welcome to Berlin for us. Next time I'll try the pita though, since I'm trying to hold on to a low(er) fat vegan diet, so omitting the fries and having some more salad would be a better option for me.


DimSumMetal
DimSumMetal
13

reviews

  • vegan

I'm just not sure what to think

3 Posted on 09 / 06 / 2011

Don't get me wrong! the food was delicious! even my non vegetarian father liked it.
the fries were better than those i ate at meat serving places (back then when i was a cannibal) and the voner was tasty and spicy just the way i like it.
But still, the forks and knifes were stained (probably because they weren't dried after washing) and the place was noisy.
Next time I'm at Germany I'll probably come back to this place but I'll order it iside that bread/pita thing (so I won't need a fork) and I'll sit outside.

Pros: excellent food, not too expensive
Cons: noisy, stained cutlery
Repeater
Repeater
5

reviews

  • vegan

Best Vegan Kebab I've had

5 Posted on 06 / 12 / 2011

While I was in Berlin a friend recommended me this place, and it did not disappoint. Small shopfront tucked away in Friedrichshain, but a nice place to sit in. The Voener's were always excellent, big and juicy with nice bread and salad. The Wagenburgers also went down a treat, as did the fries. Cheap drinks too. Staff were always really friendly, and I never had to wait long for an order. No frills but none necessary. Would recommend to any Vegan food lover passing through Berlin keen for a cheap, delicious meal. A place I'd love to revisit

Pros: Food, Service, Location
ieatpunk
ieatpunk
4

reviews

  • vegan

Tasty

5 Posted on 12 / 20 / 2010

The location is about a 5 minute walk from the Ostkreuz S-Bahn station. The inside is nice and clean. I ordered the Doner with Tahine Garlic sauce and some of their french fries. The serving was quite large because they pack the kebab pretty well with the faux-meat and lettuce/tomatoes. Everything was delicious. The staff doesn't seem to speak English but language is quite unnecessary in this situation.

Pros: Inexpensive, Tasty, Vegan
veggiegoth
veggiegoth
52

reviews

  • vegetarian

ok vegan fast food

2 Posted on 02 / 17 / 2010

i came here twice and the first time my sandwich was decent. the second time i had some of the rotating kebab which i didn't enjoy.


Lauria
Lauria
5

reviews

  • vegetarian

good fast food

4 Posted on 11 / 26 / 2009

I liked the voner. I liked the fact that they where so animal friendly. I liked the handmade fries. And the burger I had. The fake mayonaise was a bit tasteless but they had ketchup also. We had big portions. So you don't have to worry about leaving hungry.

Pros: vegetarian fastfood, big portions, good value!
wildfang
wildfang
210

reviews

  • vegan

Very tasty, cheap price!

4 Posted on 10 / 26 / 2009

If you like fake meat things, Vöner is a really delicious meal every once in a while. The prices are a bit higher now than they used to be - for a vegan Vöner you will pay 3,4€ which is still a good price. The chips are very, very tasty and together with the vegan mayonnaise are nearly better than the Vöner.
I never liked the Wagenburger too much because I find it a but limp but that's a personal thing I guess.
The is also a "Bio Burger" I have never tried.
For drinks there is organic beer and lemonades - all 1,50 per bottle.
The staff is always very friendly, the music a bit annoying sometimes.

Pros: cheap, friendly staff
Cons: noisy, no fresh food or drinks
je
je
5

reviews

  • vegan

tasty

4 Posted on 10 / 15 / 2009

when it opened i could not get enough of the vöner, but i switched to be a wagenburger-fan, cause it is a little more crispy. :)
the quality of their fries is not always the same, but when they are good, they are GREAT. and i love the fact that they serve as much vegan mayonaise as you want! :)
they recently raised their prices, but still very moderate.
i like this place, too bad it's not all vegan.


Iines
Iines
15

reviews

  • vegetarian

Voner is not my thing

2 Posted on 08 / 25 / 2009

I didn't like the taste of the voner. The spices just didn't do it for me.


piffelina
piffelina
77

reviews

  • vegan

good!

4 Posted on 07 / 21 / 2009

we had a hard time finding it, but i believe it is close to ostkreuz if i don't remember wrong.

good döner, but absolutely fantastic fries (according to me, not the biggest fan of fries AND my boyfriend, who IS the biggest fries-fan, which must be a good grade!)


fuzzyvegan
fuzzyvegan
6

reviews

  • vegan

Great and incredibly cheap!

5 Posted on 03 / 30 / 2009

such a good little place. I've been there a couple times. Eating fries and Burgers is not the best way to keep a vegan diet but when you just need a little extra fat in your system, this is definitly the way to go. They have great sauces and great burgers. 2 can leave there stuffed for about 7 euros.

Pros: CHEAP!!!!, all vegan except for one sauce, friendly staff
Cons: Greasy
Reuclai
Reuclai
4

reviews

  • vegetarian

kebab!!!!

5 Posted on 03 / 11 / 2009

it's such a funny way to eat, and I missed that, nice little place, very good seitan and a friendly staff, the fries were veeeeeery good!

Pros: funny food, good value, friendlystaff
Merciless666
Merciless666
43

reviews

  • vegetarian

better then burger, but...

3 Posted on 09 / 02 / 2008

still riding the fast food wave, that seems to cover all of the Friedrichshain and Kreuzberg. I like it once in a while, but i never really liked eating meatless Döner either. Maybe i'm a little preoccupied, since meatless Döner was the only fast food you could get some 10-12 years ago, as a vegan kid living close to Berlin. But now the seitan doesn't make much of a difference to me. they seem to make a good business there anyways.

Pros: good value, open late, friendly staff
Cons: fast food, strange place
hack_man
hack_man
335

reviews

  • vegetarian

Succulent Seitan Delights

5 Posted on 08 / 28 / 2008

Located in a pretty cool part of Berlin. We had the delicious 'Voener', in other words a vegetarian doner kebab. This is fast food at it's best. Some people may think why try to emulate the doner kebab? Well, with the voener no animals have come to harm and it's a damn sight healthier. It's also very very tasty, I wish I got a bigger sandwich. As far as fast food goes, this place is superb. You can also get a beer and take a seat outside if it takes your fancy.

Pros: taste, value, concept

 

This business supports the service that HappyCow provides :o)

 

If you are the Owner of a listing on this site, we invite you to join our highly successful Priority Friend program today. click for details >>

 

Close

Dear Owner and Manager of Voner der Vegetarische Doner:


While your business is currently a free listing on HappyCow, there is so much more we can do to further promote your business to the millions who visit this site every year.

Enjoy more...

Here's how you can take advantage of HappyCow's Internet popularity:

Your sponsorship will keep the HappyCow service strong on the Internet. Thank you.

Close

 

Last updated: 2013/06/12

 

Added: 2008/08/25

 

Added by: hack_man

 

Close