Posted on 07 / 06 / 2009
I love Indian food. I love Indian culture. I wanted very badly to love this restaurant, but it is not vegan-friendly.
Is the food delicious? Yes, and all the food is technically vegetarian because Veg Harvest serves no meat. Are the staff friendly? Yes, they are exceedingly friendly (though slow), but the term "vegan-friendly" connotes an understanding and eagerness to accommodate us pestering, burdensome vegans who are either unwilling or unable to consume animal by-products of any kind.
The wait staff seemed willing to satisfy our requests; however, they proved unable to comprehend what we meant when we said that we didn't eat any dairy products. Or, maybe they just didn't take us seriously.
The staff continued bringing dairy products to our table (e.g., mint yogurt chutney), even though we had told them that we do not eat milk products of any kind, including cheese and butter. They mixed paneer (Indian cheese) into our food. I am not 100% certain whether any of the food contained ghee (clarified Indian butter); however, it seems likely. The fried food gave us terrible gas for many hours later.
This really made me sad, because Veg Harvest is one of the only outright vegetarian eateries in Naperville (and it's right around the corner from our home). Vegetarianism is not veganism, and Veg Harvest is definitely not vegan-friendly. Sorry.
tasty food, friendly staff, clean environment