I came to this restaurant excited at the prospect of being able to enjoy miso soup, and noodle soup with vegetables and tofu. Unfortunately, finding vegan food was much harder than I anticipated.
The miso soup contained fish sauce, and they said they were unable to make it without. The stock for the noodle soup contained fish sauce too, and the vegetable noodle soup contained eggs. Again they said there unable to make without. The Agedaishi and seaweeed appetizers were made with beef/fish stock and they also said they were unable to make without.
We ended up eating vegetable/tofu cutlets (they said they did not contain eggs, but had a very egg like texture), edamame (which they said did not contain fish sauce) and vegetable sushi.
Overall all the food we had was delicious, but it was disappointing going in thinking that we were going to be able to enjoy lots of vegan dishes, only to find out everything we originally wanted to order was not vegan friendly and difficult to make it so.
Cons: Hard to communicate with staff, Unclear what dishes are vegan friendly