I have realized since being in Florence that quite a few places have "dairy free" dark chocolate "gelato" (which is really sorbetto because it's water based, but who cares it's awesome :D). This place, "Perche No!" is DEFINITELY my favorite so far!! They supposedly make it all homemade DAILY, so it makes sense why it tastes so fresh and yummy :)
Just to be clear, I am saying I love the dark chocolate dairy free gelato. I tried the soy vanilla and did not care for it. I even put it with banana and it was.. ok. Wouldn't eat it again. I really don't like soy anyway, especially non-organic soy, but I figured I'd try it.
BUT!!! Soy aside, I was psyched to have me an awesome little gelato shop for my chocolate fixes.. however...I recently learned that sugar is not "vegan" (because they use charred animals bones to process it). SO!! This is now a problem because I believe everyone uses sugar in their gelato and so far, the places I've asked, do not use organic sugar (which would put us vegans in the clear). -Grom said they use brown sugar, which still may or may not be vegan, according to my research.
I asked Perche No! last night and they said they use regular sugar. Now, I don't know what that means exactly because I barely speak Italian yet, nor do I understand it very well, but I'm guessing she meant they use regular old white sugar (not vegan). I would really love to know for sure, because oh man!! I will be here for another month and I want gelato!!!
But, unless I find a gelato shop that uses organic sugar or no sugar, I guess the answer to "perche no?" is "because it's not totally vegan" :'(
Cons: some/all vegan flavors may NOT be vegan