Khun Churn Healthy...

Overall rating: 4.5 stars 31 Reviews
Garden setting and ambiance. With 3 vegetarian buffet with soups, main dishes, salad bar, dessert, and drinks for around 139 Baht for morning and evening buffet and 169 Baht for a normal one. Dishes change daily. A la carte menu at night. Closed on 16th of each month. Free wifi. Previously located on Nimmanhemin Soi. Price: Moderate more-less
Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Thai, Buffet, Salad bar
Old Chiang Mai Cultural Centre
Chiang Mai, Thailand 50200
081-881-3032

Open Mon-Sun 9:30am-2:20pm, 5-8pm.

more-less
  • Accepts credit cards
reviews

Reviews

First Review by gratefulluke
Melissaaaa
Melissaaaa
5

reviews

  • vegan

LOVE the salad bar!

5 Posted on 06 / 29 / 2014

Been here twice for lunch. The salad bar is where it is at!! I love the spiralized pumpkin, beets and carrots! They refill the salad items faster than I have ever seen! They seem to be never out! There are a couple vegan dressings but they are pretty high in fat. The vegan peanut dressing is amazing nonetheless.

The cooked food is okay. Not much for me compared to the amazing salad bar. They have organic brown rice, curries, steamed veg, noodle dishes and a make your own soup station. It's not a full vegan buffet so make sure to check if there are eggs in any of the dishes.

The staff is extremely nice and attentive.


reissausta ja ruokaa
reissausta ja ruokaa
27

reviews

  • vegan

Great salad bar

5 Posted on 06 / 23 / 2014

I visited Khun Churn in April 2014 and were delighted for the evening salad buffet. Other vegetarian buffets in Chiang Mai seem to have only cooked foods like curries so it was lovely to get to eat lots of salad.

The service was good which means that it was a little bit too formal for my taste (I like only relaxed atmosphere).

For tourists staying in the old city it is a good idea first visit this restaurant and then continue to Saturday night market, because Khun Churn is only a short walk from the southern end of the Saturday market street.

Pros: a big salad buffet, lots of variety
Cons: a bit formal service, more protein dishes would be nice
Kris Moonpie
Kris Moonpie
3

reviews

  • vegetarian

Food and service are fantastic!

5 Posted on 04 / 01 / 2014

I love this place. I've been to the old location several times and last week went to their new location twice. I just can't say enough good things about this place. The food is amazing, the price is very inexpensive and the service is outstanding. It's obvious that the staff are very happy to work there. The buffet is very diverse with soups, curries, stir fry, salads, fruits, desserts, a noodle station and a tea/coffee bar. Mostly vegan but some things have egg and milk is available. The new location is indoors in a beautiful artistic wooden building connected to the 'Old Chiang Mai Cultural Center'. The old location was very in a very nice outdoor garden but I actually prefer the new space. I hope this place is open forever!!! Seven thumbs up :)

Pros: Amazing veg Thai food, Attentive, friendly service, Extremely reasonably priced
Cons: Are you kidding? This place is perfect!
Karuna140
Karuna140
1

reviews

  • vegetarian

Same Wonderful Food Even Better in New Location

5 Posted on 02 / 28 / 2014

High quality, vegan food. We particularly like the lunch buffet with many Thai dishes, soups, real fruit drinks, grilled veggies, salad, and more all included in one price of !69 Baht. Or one can order off a menu. The setting is just lovely. Staff are wonderfully helpful. We have eaten at Khun Churn for 6 years, and now have followed this restaurant to its new location though not as convenient as before, but well worth the ride for their offerings.

Pros: Delicious Thai food, lovely atmosphere, kind staff
Humminglion
Humminglion
8

reviews

  • mostly-vegetarian

Great modern Thai vegetarian food!

4 Posted on 11 / 03 / 2013

Lunch buffet is an amazing deal for 129 thb. You get a full salad bar as well as many choices such as khal soi, deep fried mushrooms, assorted curries, Vegetables, and dessert.

The ala carte menu has a huge variety of delicious things! I really like the garlic fries and the pomelo dish.


Advertisements



mikemikemikemike
mikemikemikemike
7

reviews

  • vegan

Awesome Buffet, Unbeatable Price

5 Posted on 09 / 22 / 2013

No question, this is one of the best veg buffets in the universe. Fresh salad bar with not only leaves and other veg, but also goodies like corn, beans, and sweet potato chips. Fresh fruit, four juices, two fried snacks, five or more entrees, five or more soups, and dessert, all changed daily.

Fresh, beautiful, clean, tasty food - all you can eat for less than the price of a bottle of imported beer!

Suspended bike racks at the entrance for the cyclists out there.

Also worth mentioning that the whole Khun Churn empire (four restaurants so far) is family run. The father, an English teacher, had four kids and nicknamed them A, Bee, Cee, and Dee. D runs the Chiang Mai branch, his siblings run the other ones. Try them all!

Pros: Everything is fantastic, Family-owned chain, Amazing fried banana flowers
Cons: A little bit outside the old city
AndrewWood
AndrewWood
3

reviews

  • vegetarian

well worth tracking down

5 Posted on 09 / 08 / 2013

Been here 4 years ago and now today. The lunchtime buffet is extraordinary. A wide variety of interesting healthy and tasty soups, salads. Evening time it is chilled out and the menu is outstanding. Very popular with locals, which is a good indication. Staff are gracious and helpful. Setting is tranquil. It's an effort to get out of town to find the place. Ranks as one of the best, for sure.
Updated from previous review on Tuesday September 03, 2013

Pros: quality, taste, price
anamana
anamana
4

reviews

  • raw

Delicious!

4 Posted on 05 / 12 / 2013

This restaurant is a beautiful place to relax and have some food. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The lunch buffet is pretty cool, but I think I prefer ordering off the regular menu. They have some lovely mushroom dishes, and you have got to try the betel leaf appetizer. It's so yummy and visually appealing too! I like that they have ginger brown rice. I would recommend everything I have ordered here. Great for vegans.

Pros: Yummy food, Beautiful setting, Friendly staff
AmericanPhil
AmericanPhil
29

reviews

  • vegan

perfect. A MUST!

5 Posted on 02 / 01 / 2013

Best buffet in Thailand by far! Vegan or meat eater, you will not be disappointed. Go before 2:30 for the buffet for sure! Must go if you're veg or vegan

Pros: BUFFET!, good wait staff!!!, made with care :)
Cons: none
RawVeganFruitarian
RawVeganFruitarian
7

reviews

  • fruititarian

Great lunch buffet

3 Posted on 12 / 15 / 2012

The lunch buffet is more expensive than other vegetarian buffets in the area at 129bht. The have a decent salad bar, steamed veggies, vegetarian and vegan cooked dishes and soups, as well as tapioca and coconut syrup for dessert.
Updated from previous review on Saturday December 15, 2012

Pros: Good food, Beautiful setting, Variety
Cons: Egg is some dishes, Some dishes extremely spicey
danielReich
danielReich
21

reviews

  • vegetarian

Delicious buffet

5 Posted on 12 / 08 / 2012

I tried almost every dish and soup and there wasn't a single one that I did not enjoy. It's also a nice outdoors setting.


MeowMm
MeowMm
5

reviews

  • vegan

Buffet

4 Posted on 10 / 06 / 2012

The quality is good but cold dish.don't wears shorts coz mosquito attack.

Pros: Quality, Service, Nice decoration
Cons: No label for vegan, Taste, Mosquito
msvegan
msvegan
51

reviews

  • vegan

Best Lunch Buffet in Chang Mai

5 Posted on 07 / 30 / 2012

Wide and varied lunch buffet that changes daily. Salad bar (often the lettuce mix is organic), steamed veggies section, many different sauces and dressing, stir-fried dishes, noodles section, dessert and non-sugared iced teas (add your own cane syrup).

All the stir cooked veg dishes have sign tags in english so you know if theyve put egg in them. The only exception would be on the noodle bar where the yellow noodles are made with egg.

Pleasant courtyard setting and friendly staff.

***Directions***
A red truck should only cost 20 baht from anywhere in Chang Mai. If they quote a price or ask for more get another red truck until you find an honest one as everyone knows the price they are telling you a price in the begining because they are over charging you. Tell the driver "NEIMAN-HYMAN SOY 17" or make the 1 then 7 gesture with your hands if they dont speak english...

Updated from previous review on Monday November 28, 2011
Updated from previous review on Monday November 28, 2011

Pros: Delicious, Vast selection, good quality
Cons: egg in some dishes, egg noodles on buffet
ursulargh
ursulargh
3

reviews

  • vegan

Nice salad bar

3 Posted on 02 / 11 / 2012

I was impressed by the many options at the salad bar and the helpful chef who pointed out anything with egg in it (some things weren't labelled to have egg in it so best to ask).

I tried a few of the cooked food dishes and it was way too spicy for me (I am a wimp though with spices)


John Richard
John Richard
5

reviews

  • vegetarian

Great Place

5 Posted on 11 / 14 / 2011

We've been going to Khun Churn for four years watching as it progressively moved from one location to another trying to grapple with its well deserved popularity. It has now settled in a great location in the middle of the art/entertainment section of Chiang Mai.

The lunch buffet is legendary for its quality and extremely reasonable price (note price is 129 baht as of September 2011). The ambiance is great and you'll find that the Thai diners far out number the farangs which is further testament to how good the food is.

What is often overlooked is an amazing menu selection that is provided for dinner or for those not wanting to stuff themselves at the buffet. Everything is made from top quality ingredients and off the menu can be spiced to taste. The buffet items are mildly spiced but Thais and the more seasoned diners can augment with as much chili as they can handle.

The staff is extremely efficient and need to mention something that happens to us that never found at any other restaurant. One of the chefs comes to us to let us know what special items is working on that day and let us know when he is bringing them to the buffet. He is deservedly proud of his food and wants to make sure it is enjoyed.

One final note on the buffet. It is constantly changing and you'll never see them serving the same dishes over and over again. It is always different and that keeps us coming back.

Updated from previous review on Sunday August 14, 2011

Pros: Food Quality, Variety, Staff
Cons: You Eat Too Much
wynz
wynz
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

My #1 in Chiang Mai

5 Posted on 10 / 04 / 2011

Been going to the lunch buffet routinely for over a year now. I like how another reviewer put it: "legendary". The chef who does the buffet is so friendly and really makes it a great experience. You can tell there's a lot of love in the food there. Don't know what I would do without Khun Churn.

Pros: incredible lunch buffet, great value, friendly staff
eatyourveggies
eatyourveggies
16

reviews

  • vegan

The best in Thailand

5 Posted on 05 / 03 / 2011

I've eaten vegan food all over Thailand and the lunch buffet at Khun Churn is hands-down the best food in all of Thailand. It might just be my fave restaurant in the whole world. The buffet is HUGE and for under $4?!?! Can't beat it! Food is fresh, perfectly cooked, not overly spicy, awesome. Not everything is vegan though so be sure to check. The garden patio and atmosphere is nice too and pleasant to be away from the busy city center. Take one of the red trucks to get there, it should only be 30 baht so don't pay more!

Pros: Delicious food, Many choices, Cheap
Cons: Mosquitos
pradipd
pradipd
78

reviews

  • vegetarian

Go For It

4 Posted on 03 / 28 / 2011

I love Thai food and am always scared since they always use shrimp paste or fish sauce. A place like Khun Churn is paradise. One can eat to one's heart's content all the Thai dishes. The lunch buffetis just amazing. Not only is it great value, the choices are bewildering. There were 5 soups alone, and 6 kinds of drinks. All included in the buffet price. The quality and the setting were excellent too. Did not get a chance to go for the evening a la carte meal, but the menu looked very promising.

Pros: Quality, Choice, Value
Cherry Zombie
Cherry Zombie
7

reviews

  • vegan

Very good place in Chiang Mai

4 Posted on 02 / 19 / 2011

Very good place with very good food (and Cheap 98 baht the all-you-can-eat lunch buffet), healthy food (not too fat like so many place), nice staff, close to Aden healthy store (where you can find a very good Vegan Alfalfa sandwich at 20 baht!) nice garden and no smoking restaurant.

Un tres bon restaurant végétarien (Tres vegan friendly!) ou vous pouvez manger a volonté (et tres varié) pour 98 baht (environ 2,5€). La nourriture y est tres saine et sans trop d'huile comme beaucoup d'endroit en Thailande. Les serveurs sont sympa, surtout le cuisinier. Le restau se trouve tres pret d'un magasin bio "Aden" avec un tres bon sandwich a emporter Alfalfa a 20 baht, et des simili, des barres de céréales, du savon...

Pros: Vegan Friendly, Lunch buffet is great value , Nice garden
Cons: Not wrote when vegan (have to ask)
nomad127
nomad127
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

Tasty Stuff

4 Posted on 01 / 31 / 2011

Ate here recently as it's close to my house. Tucked away on Soi 17, with outdoor seating, meaning a few mosquito's at night. Overall, the menu is extensive and the food quality was very good with prices approx 50-60 Baht per dish. I will certainly be eating here more often.

Pros: Extensive Menu, Food Quality, Price
earthville
earthville
220

reviews

  • vegan

Possibly the champ of Chiang Mai for flavor...

4 Posted on 01 / 03 / 2011

Khun Churn is a major vegetarian institution in Chiang Mai, so it's bound to attract both praise and criticism.

For my tastes, it's probably the best place in town, at least as far as flavor and (for the lunch buffet) value are concerned (though May Kaidee gives it stiff competition for flavor and Giva wins the prize for health and good chi). It's true that some of the curries and sauces are sweet, but i didn't find them overly sweet - in fact i find them rather irresistible. The peanut sauce (among the salad dressings) in particular is tops. I also appreciate that the som tam (papaya salad) has just a tiny bit of chili for authentic flavor, but it isn't excessively spicy, for which my digestive tract thanks them.

At 98 Baht, the all-you-can-eat lunch buffet is a stomach-bursting good value. (Public service message: try not to eat yourself into a food coma, and don't overdo it on the oily dishes...)

The covered garden setting is quite pleasant, even when it's busy.

To reach Khun Churn on the cheap, you can take a songthaew to Nimmana Haeminda (Nimmanahemin) Rd and jump off at Soi 17 (just south of the Baiyoke Chiang Mai Hotel), then walk east on the soi for half a block. A songthaew to/from the Tha Pae gate area should cost no more than 30 Baht (as of Jan 2011).

Two corrections to the main listing (which might be updated by the time you read this):
- The lunch buffet price is now 98 Baht, not 80.
- They do accept credit cards.

Pros: Supreme flavor, Lunch buffet is great value, Nice setting
Cons: Buffet food can be oily & less fresh, Non centrally located
broadreach
broadreach
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

bugs in the rice

2 Posted on 08 / 18 / 2010

Huge disappointment after the glaring reviews here.
Received a bowl of white rice that was clearly infested with little rice bugs. I would expect a restaurant of this caliber to check their rice supply and at least wash it before serving it to a diner's table


RfromYoko
RfromYoko
5

reviews

  • vegetarian

Awesome lunch buffet!

5 Posted on 10 / 02 / 2009

The lunch buffet here is hard to beat. My favorite place for lunch in Chiang Mai. Such a huge variety of dishes, including many Northern-style items. I only wish I had a bigger stomach so I could eat more.

Pros: Large selection, Great taste, Good Value
nong
nong
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

Foods are too sweet, Service no good

3 Posted on 12 / 05 / 2008

Me and my 2 friends went to Khun Churn 2 days ago. All of us did not enjoy their foods at all as TOO SWEET. We had Soup, Papaya salad and Kow Soy, we wouldn't eat. My friends couldn't beleive how SWEET??? Also the service wasn't good either. The waiter and waitress keep talking, we have to call them for service. We don't think we will go back there anymore.


nan
nan
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

Not Good as expected

2 Posted on 12 / 05 / 2008

I went to Khun Churn for lunch, i had 3 dishes of the food; Papaya Salad, Tom Yum and Thai Noodle,they were so sweet. Service wasn't good at all. We finished out foods,but no one take out the empty plates from the table. No tissue on the table and we have to ask.... I don't think i will go back there a again as i know there are a lots of Vegetarian restaurant in Chiang Mai and some is very good, tasty and cheap as well...


veggievixen
veggievixen
5

reviews

  • vegan

one of the best in Chiang Mai

5 Posted on 11 / 14 / 2008

first of it's a very decent restaurant. it's much more spacious than other vegetarian restaurants in town. the staffs are friendly but don't speak and understand english much. we really had a difficult time trying to tell them not to put red chilli into our dishes. the menu is extensive and it really encourages customers to return to the restaurant as there're just so many dishes to try and taste. it's really one of the best in the city.

Pros: excellent food, nice environment, extensive menu
Cons: no english speaking staff
Agenda
Agenda
32

reviews

  • vegetarian

You must visit it!

5 Posted on 10 / 22 / 2008

The buffet is great, delicious, big variety of dishes. They have fresh cut vegetables, steamed vegetables, 3 dressing for them; 5 soups, brown rice, different noodles with 2 curries for them, dessert and choice of herbal drinks, plus ice and water. It as great as it takes! The place is very neat, clean and modern. Khun Churn shouldn’t be missed!

Pros: buffet variety, lots of good drinks, beautiful surroundings
Cons: very popular!!!
Jean-Paul
Jean-Paul
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

Chiang Mai's best

5 Posted on 09 / 03 / 2008

One of the best Northern Thai Veg. restaurants in Thailand. It has both an open garden section with large fans and an indoor aircon section. Although it has a few too many Uni students for my liking it all ads to the atmosphere. Some of the dishes will be a little strange to those unfamiliar with northern food but are well worth trying. Reasonably expensive by Thai standards but cheap by western and, well, you have to pay for quality. Try the Khao soi, a masterpiece of northern style.

Pros: friendly service, excellent food, English spoken
Cons: can get very busy
eishsdhana
eishsdhana
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

The best food i've had in Thailand!

5 Posted on 08 / 30 / 2008

I love the buffet they have at noon. They have a large variety of vegetables that you can use make a salad. Delicious penut sauce and dressings. A variety of steamed vegetables that changes daily. Brown rice. Several other tasty dishes that include a variety of local ingredients. 5 or more different kinds of soup. Noodles. Dessert. And several varieties of juice. And if this doesn't please you there's always the menu...

i love this place!

Pros: excellent food, great atmosphere, friendly staff
goldie
goldie
17

reviews

  • vegetarian

Excellent

5 Posted on 08 / 02 / 2008

This place is open 10 to 10, 7 days, info current at August '08 confirmed by the staff.

This place is a bit of a hike from where most visitors are likely to be staying in Chiang Mai. It's a 40 minute walk from the old centre so best to take a tuk tuk, taxi etc. Tuk tuk was charging me 80 to 100 baht from old town & red taxi bus was 40 baht.

Khun Churn has a very nice ambience, it is set in a courtyard with a lot of grass & trees. There is an extensive menu, mostly Thai but with a few western dishes. Food was a bit mod, not like most Thai food places.

There is also a very good juice & smoothie bar attached, not sure if it's different owners but it seems to be separate but order off the same menu, if that makes sense.

I've sampled quite a few dishes & all were good. One criticism is that a lot of dishes contain egg & I'm a non egg eatig vegetarian. I was able to get them to prepare one dish without egg but personally I would prefer to see less of this.


gratefulluke
gratefulluke
4

reviews

  • vegetarian

My best vegetarian food experience in Chiang Mai.

5 Posted on 01 / 19 / 2008

This place was great. The staff was very friendly and there was a huge selection of food. The outdoor terrace where the food was served was great too. I would definitely eat here often if I lived in Chiang Mai.

Pros: Large Selection, Atmosphere

 

This business supports the service that HappyCow provides :o)

 

If you are the Owner of a listing on this site, we invite you to join our highly successful Priority Friend program today. click for details >>

 

Close

Dear Owner and Manager of Khun Churn Healthy Vegetarian Cuisine:


While your business is currently a free listing on HappyCow, there is so much more we can do to further promote your business to the millions who visit this site every year.

Enjoy more...

Here's how you can take advantage of HappyCow's Internet popularity:

Your sponsorship will keep the HappyCow service strong on the Internet. Thank you.

Close

 

Last updated: 2014/02/14

 

Added: 2007/08/01

 

Added by: Guest

 

Close