Hermans Vegetariska...

Overall rating: 4.5 stars 63 Reviews
Stockholm vegetarian restaurant with harbor view. Features a sixteen-course buffet with changing themes for each weekend. Fresh juices include carrot, beet, apple, spirulina and ginger. Previously named Hermans Hojdare. Price: Moderate more-less
Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Buffet, Western, International, Juice bar
Fjallgatan 23 B (Tube: Slussen)
Stockholm, Sweden 11628
08-6439480

Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm

more-less
  • Outdoor seating
  • Accepts credit cards
reviews

Reviews

First Review by Poundie
+++VeGaNiSaToR+++
+++VeGaNiSaToR+++
  • vegan
Contributions
+505

Very good and EXPENSIVE buffet

4 Posted on 09 / 03 / 2014

240 sek for the buffet !!!!!!!! -> 26€. And desserts are at 52sek.
Tea and coffe free. Excellent bread you cut yourself, good houmous.
Crowded.


VeganDakini
VeganDakini
  • vegan
Contributions
+46

Great restaurant with even better views!

5 Posted on 08 / 29 / 2014

Hermans is a fabulous place with buffet style veg*an food with lots of clearly marked vegan options. The location is fantastic with outdoor seating on a terrace overlooking the harbour. Their vegan cakes are particularly divine!

Pros: Great location, Great Atmosphere
Marga Delila
Marga Delila
  • vegan
Contributions
+36

Good value for money

5 Posted on 08 / 27 / 2014

Excellent views, good food. All you can eat buffet. Varied and nice.

Pros: Varied, Excellent view, terrace

Elceha
Elceha
  • vegan
Contributions
+24

Nice to sit outside in the summer

3 Posted on 08 / 20 / 2014

The buffet (179 SEK) included many cold dishes, a few warm ones, water, tea, and coffee. Almost all dishes were vegan, but you have to ask the staff which ones aren't (why not simply mark them?). There is no a la carte menu, just the buffet and separate desserts.

There was a very long queue at the counter just to pay for the food, so I think the place is a bit understaffed. The buffet is self service and the cold dishes were good, felt fresh, and were all vegan.

One of the warm dishes had an odd taste according to all three of us, but the other one was good. There was no dessert included in the buffet apart from some water melon, which was quite disappointing considering the price. All in all, the buffet is ok but not great value for money in my opinion.

The outside sitting area is lovely in the summer with a nice view over the water, so come here if you're looking for a nice place to sit down and enjoy beautiful Stockholm while eating veg*n. I'll probably come back to try their cakes since vegan cakes are still not so common in Stockholm.

Pros: Lovely outdoor sitting area, Good variety of cold dishes, Spacious
Cons: The buffet is a bit expensive, Very long queue to pay
Ekosmurf
Ekosmurf
  • vegan
Contributions
+24

I love this place

5 Posted on 08 / 11 / 2014

The buffé is allways amazing, and the view stunning. It is a little bit prizy, though they usually have an offer for students at mondays.

Pros: good variety, the view over Djurgården, nice atmosphere
Cons: a little bit expansive
Chrispanna
Chrispanna
  • vegan
Contributions
+20

En av Stockholms sämsta restauranger

2 Posted on 08 / 05 / 2014

Hermans lever på sin fantastiska utsikt över Stockholm. Slitna tallrikar o plastglas värre än en skolbespisning. Ett gammalt koncept som inte uppdaterats på många år. Dålig reklam för Stockholm o Sverige med tanke på alla turister som hamnar här. Publiken var inte backpackers. Idag ställs högre krav även på en vegetarisk eller vegan resturang i en storstad. Smutsiggt, slabbigt och ingen god mat. Allt saknar ett modern service tänkande. RYCK UPP ER och anpassa er till dagens verklighet


Laxsill
Laxsill
  • vegan
Contributions
+64

Expensive but fantastic buffet

5 Posted on 07 / 18 / 2014

The buffet is always really good and gets you really well fed. It's not just potatoes and salad. It really gets you full. Once you're full, you can enjoy one of Stockholms best views. It's a bit expensive, but their student discount is really big (but you have to be two students to use it).


Captain Chaos
Captain Chaos
  • vegan
Contributions
+18

Just amazing!

5 Posted on 06 / 25 / 2014

We had the all-you-can-eat buffet for dinner and wished we had a second stomach! It was so delicious and there was a great choice; it was always fresh and nicely decorated. It was a bit pricey but for Stockholm conditions absolutely ok and it is really worth it. I have also read that they have special student and lunchtime offers.
The view over the harbor is also very nice; we've spent hours in this restaurant. It is a bit crowded though, so if you are more than 2 persons and want to make sure you get a table with harbor view, I'd recommend to book a table before.


Bumblebee
Bumblebee
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+15

Amazing buffet with amazing view

5 Posted on 06 / 02 / 2014

I went there twice while I stayed in Stockholm. The food was very fresh and tasted amazing. Great view over the city from lovely garden tables. Reservation is a must...


sbszine
sbszine
  • vegan
Contributions
+146

Buffet with a view

3 Posted on 04 / 27 / 2014

Hermans is a mostly vegan buffet (except on all vegan night - Wednesday?) with a great view out over the water. You'll need to book ahead as it's very popular, but it's no problem as the staff all speak English. Dessert and drinks are sold at the register, but the rest is an all you can eat self service buffet, which includes tea and coffee (Swedish coffee, not espresso). The self service aspect includes a scullery where you are expected to scrape and stack your dishes, empty your glasses etc so that the staff can wash them.

The buffet food is pretty good but the desserts are pretty bad, very much in the undercooked or raw food vein. Even the cooked ones were basically warm dough. Overall I enjoyed Hermans and would happily eat there again.

Pros: Mostly vegan, GF options, Booze (but only up to 3.5% ABV)
Cons: Poor desserts, Limited selection, No waitstaff or a la carte
Mimmi_t
Mimmi_t
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+15

Perfect in summer

4 Posted on 04 / 06 / 2014

Best view in Stockholm! Good and a lot of food, but not a very chic restaurant.
PERFECT in a warm summer day with good friends, big garden with sun. Very good!

Nice studentprice!

Pros: View, Lot of food
borovnica
borovnica
  • vegan
Contributions
+26

Love it

5 Posted on 03 / 30 / 2014

Possibly my favorite veg restaurant of all time! I've been there soo many times, I always visit when I'm in Stockholm.
The food is always delicious- though can be a bit spicy, which I'm not a big fan of.
It's buffet style which I really like, coffee, tea and water are included in the price. All of the desserts are vegan- my all time favorites are the raspberry and blueberry pies (hallon and blåbärspaj), just be sure to say you want vegan vanilla sauce, since they offer non vegan one as well.
And the view is beautiful! It's sooo nice to sit in the garden during the warmer part of the year.
Updated from previous review on Sunday March 30, 2014

Pros: Buffet style, Friendly staff, All vegan desserts
Cons: Food can be a bit spicy, Not all- vegan
JVSP97
JVSP97
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+11

Herman's

4 Posted on 03 / 09 / 2014

I Ate there before I Began being veg., so it wa i while ago, but as from what I remember I loved the food but my friends didn't seem to want to eat since it was vegetarian. Prejudicent bastards. The restaurant/café had a really nice view over the water and so on however.


Lauer
Lauer
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+29

Best place in Stockholm

5 Posted on 02 / 10 / 2014

Last June I was in Stockholm, and Hermans is the best place for Vegetarian/Vegan people. It has a wonderful view over the Harbor.
The food is tasty and they have a wonderful buffet.

Updated from previous review on Monday February 10, 2014


jvespi
jvespi
  • vegan
Contributions
+29

Enjoy the taste and view

5 Posted on 12 / 29 / 2013

One of the the best vegetarian I've ever been. You can find several dishes for your choice, but with higher quality that is usual in a buffet. But mainly the best attraction are their views over Stockholm, specially in summer if you sit outside in the terrace.

Pros: View over Stockholm, Good quality buffet, Fair price
Cons: Overcrowded
Jonatand
Jonatand
  • vegan
Contributions
+44

best place in stockholm!

5 Posted on 12 / 17 / 2013

Just as the title says, without a doubt the best veg-restaurant in Stockholm. A must visit!


si-moon
si-moon
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+21

Everybody's favourite?

5 Posted on 11 / 23 / 2013

Probably the best place in Stockholm.
Nice and cosy. Great location (the view is magnificent).
Too bad it doesn't have a sneeze protective grass over the buffé.
It is however the best place I've ever been to so far in Stockholm.

Pros: The variety of foods, The view
Cons: No sneeze protective glass over food
saramarshall
saramarshall
  • vegan
Contributions
+134

My favourite cafe in the world!

5 Posted on 11 / 06 / 2013

This cafe can do no wrong. Lovely food, great views, pleasant atmosphere, imaginative buffet style, themed days including vegan, middle eastern, indian. I could eat here every day and always do when I visit Stockholm.

Pros: Delicious food, Variety, Views/location
Cons: Can be busy, That I can't visit every day
MoneVPaesi
MoneVPaesi
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+17

My absolute favorite in Stockholm!

5 Posted on 08 / 23 / 2013

Great variety of food, nice location and atmosphere - it is absolutely recommendable to go here, if you are looking for vegan / vegetarian food in this city!
Price is ok for the buffet and drinks.
My advise: make a reservation :)

Pros: great food, nice view and location
Cons: reservation makes sense!
Georgina
Georgina
  • vegan
Contributions
+84

Fantastic food, location, setting...!

5 Posted on 08 / 07 / 2013

Update from August 7, 2013:
This went straight on the itinerary when I went back to Stockholm! Enjoyed it just as much this time, still more salads than hot food, but also tried desserts this time - cake, brownies, raw ice cream, all amazing and all vegan. The fact that the only non-vegan item was veggie lasagne does make me wonder why this isn't a fully vegan restaurant. but it's good to see it's getting there.

Original review on Thursday June 25, 2009:
Fantastic! A nice walk there and a lovely atmosphere in a big old building, quite rustic. Terrace seating with views on the harbour is still sheltered, but cosy back room as well where the buffet is. Great selection of food although more salad bowls than the (four?) hot dishes. All good quality food and water and tea/coffee available to help yourself to as well. Options for buffet menus (e.g. with/without dessert and extra drinks). Would definitely recommend.

Pros: Excellent food, Great choice well labelled, Lovely atmosphere
Cons: Expensive (but not for Sweden), Has the odd non-vegan dish
pcarlson
pcarlson
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+31

Go for the view and stay for the food

5 Posted on 07 / 31 / 2013

We enjoyed ourselves so much we ate lunch here two days in a row. There is a good variety of food, the bread is fresh and the desserts are hard to pass up. For Stockholm, we felt that the price was reasonable. We especially liked the setting high above the water overlooking the skyline of Stockholm. We spent an hour or so after eating, drinking coffee and lounging in the hammocks. We brought our little one year old and he had plenty to eat and space to crawl around. One drawback was the lack of fruit at the buffet, but we got our fruit via the dessert bar.

Pros: View, Hammocks, Bottomless coffee and tea
Cons: Minimal fruit available, Can be crowded
purpledonuts
purpledonuts
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+11

So many delicious times in my mouth and belly mmmm

5 Posted on 07 / 24 / 2013

Today, we went to herman's and ate buffet for over 2 hours! It was nothing less than wonderful!! Inside, they have many different dishes, all delicious. Outside they have BBQ tofu, corns, pepper, sweet potat and mushrooms! So good! Ate so much then waited, then ate so much more!! We came from far away across big ocean and some land to eat here and wow it was so yum!!

Pros: YUM, Many foods, Mmmmmmmmmmm
Cons: Buffet ends at one point
Hildatilda
Hildatilda
  • mostly-vegetarian
Contributions
+26

Fantastic food and location but a bit expensive

4 Posted on 06 / 19 / 2013

Fantastic location on Söder in Stockholm. Food is plenty and great but a bit pricy. It is a Classic in Stockholm among veggie restaurants.

Pros: Location, Food is great
Cons: A bit expensive
kuni
kuni
  • vegan
Contributions
+83

good but expensive

4 Posted on 06 / 08 / 2013

Like most of the other reviewers say; the location is simply fantastic and if that matters a lot to you, go here! The place is very popular and so pretty crowded. The buffet never really seemed to be too busy though, and you won't stand in line probably.

That said, the price was a bit too high for the type of food (paid 175kr, student rate). Something like 120-140 would've been more reasonable. The food was pretty typically vegan/vegetarian: tabouleh, salad, humus, aubergine+tomatoes etc. All very very tasty though!

Pros: really good food, great location
Cons: expensive, no surprises regarding food
sigurdas
sigurdas
  • vegan
Contributions
+83

The best thing about the place is the view from it

3 Posted on 04 / 12 / 2013

This is one of the most known vegetarian places in Stockholm. Maybe because of that, and because it lies in a good location, in the center and with a great view, it has become the place that attracts more upper-class folks. Therefore it is quite pricy there now. The food is relatively good, but vegan options are not marked, you have to ask every time.

Pros: great view onto the city, great variety of foods
Cons: pricy, vegan options unmarked
clary
clary
  • vegan
Contributions
+41

extraordinary!!!

5 Posted on 01 / 18 / 2013

excellent view over stockholm and a very very special and the most cosy atmosphere i've ever experienced in a restaurant. the stuff is loveley, the buffett great, i love that you get organic tea, coffee... as much as you want (like nearly everywhere in sweden). the whole house is designed with some much love, many pictures and quotations... i had a great evening there and recommend it to anybody visting stockholm! it's not very inexpensive but it's really worth it... they have special prices for students some days.
i also love the sentence on the staff's shirts: "give peas a chance"


Yamuna
Yamuna
  • vegan
Contributions
+44

Most delicious great choice

5 Posted on 12 / 04 / 2012

As an early bird in the afternoon I only paid 175 Swedish Crowns for the buffet. I wanted to taste everything and only took a tiny bit of all preparations with the result that I ate 2 big plates :-) which was far too much, but I could not resist and wanted to try everything. Only too preps were non-vegan (with cheese or cream). As dessert, I had a incredibly delicious raw mango cake (with banana, coconut cream and avocado!!!)... and I don't know how the other cakes tasted (they offered three more cakes that all looked extremely yummy). Probably, this was the best cake I had ever eaten in my life!! I also took some other desserts with me as take away. What I liked was that one could take as much as he liked. Also tea and coffee were included in the buffet price. For the dessert you had to pay extra. The view on the harbour was fascinating and the atmosphere of the interior was cozy and enjoyable. Thanks a lot for this evening! I was so glad to get to know this restaurant. Highly recommandable!
Updated from previous review on Tuesday December 04, 2012

Pros: a lot of choice, Extremely yummy, best raw cake ever eaten
Cons: desserts expensive, no "v" for vegan, -
LucidDreams
LucidDreams
  • vegan
Contributions
+69

Too expensive for what you get

3 Posted on 08 / 04 / 2012

Considering how cheep most of the food would be for them to make the price is too high in my oppinion. The restarant has different themes different days but the food pretty much tastes the same regardless of the theme. They never write down which of the dishes are vegan so you have to ask every time. It wouldn't be that hard to fix but they don't. Food is ok deserts are very good. Nice view over stockholm. Also nice in winter when they have blankets and heating.
Updated from previous review on Saturday August 04, 2012

Pros: Good deserts, Ok food, Nice view
Cons: Expensive, No indications of what is vegan, Little variation
DontPanic
DontPanic
  • vegan
Contributions
+16

Great bbq-buffet

4 Posted on 07 / 31 / 2012

The view from Hermans is one of the nicer ones in Stockholm. If you go here dureing the summer they have a bbq-buffet. The items off the bbq was delicious! The negative about Hermans is that it is quite expencive (if you, like me are a student) but it is the best buffet I have been to when it comes to vegan food. That said it was hard to know what was vegan if you didn't ask, but the staff was polite and that solved the problem. They have student discounts during the weekdays taht allowes you to eat two for one if you buy drinks. This makes it more affordable. All in all a good place to eat great tasting vegan food.
Updated from previous review on Tuesday July 31, 2012

Pros: lot of differnt foods, suitable for vegetarians and vegans, student discounts
Cons: Expensive
malinolsson
malinolsson
  • vegan
Contributions
+51

Great food and great view over Stockholm

5 Posted on 07 / 24 / 2012

Hermans has a very good reputation in the vegetarian/vegan society in Sweden, and they deserve it!! The food is always fresh and there are a lot of different dishes to choose from. The restaurant has a good location and if you sit outside/on the terrace, there is a fantastic view! The place is often crowded at lunch/dinner. I think that it's a bit too expensive (I'm a student=poor), but I guess that the prices are normal compared to other restaurants in Stockholm.

Pros: Delicious, A lot of different dishes, Great view
Cons: Often crowded, A bit too expensive
thesafetyqueen
thesafetyqueen
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+25

A Vegetarian Gem

4 Posted on 05 / 04 / 2012

I'm glad a Swedish friend brought me here, otherwise I don't think I would have found this place! I would brave the winter chill for the delicious buffet and the great location.

Pros: great variety, scenic location, good value
Jonathan Ahlbring
Jonathan Ahlbring
  • mostly-vegetarian
Contributions
+28

Classic in Stockholm

5 Posted on 04 / 26 / 2012

Go here and eat their bufe at least once. They were a bit better a couple of years ago, but still have the edge. Very popular. They are one of the reasons that convinced it's possible to go veggie full-on and not miss a single thing in food-experience!


bigbunny
bigbunny
  • vegan
Contributions
+63

Simply wonderful!

5 Posted on 02 / 02 / 2012

Just off from Gamla Stan after a lovely walk along the waterway, Herman's is a divine find. Friendly & warm. Probably the best place to eat vegan/veg in Stockholm. Nothing but happy memories for me. I eat there every single time I'm in Stockholm.

Pros: Yummy, Scenic, Friendly
Cons: Downhill stairs entryway, May not be handicapped-accessible (?)
wuthering
wuthering
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+39

Good food, not central...

4 Posted on 11 / 08 / 2011

I agree with all the reviewers that this buffet is very tasty, and when we were there it was packed, but there was always plenty of every dish. My issue was that it is hard to find, and is at least a 30 minute walk from the south part of the city. We had a hard time finding any bus or tram that went that way and the maps are useless. It's also expensive, and in Stockholm that means crazy expensive. But if you know these issues going in, you'll be fine.
The tea and coffee are included in the buffet price, but not other drinks or dessert. You can reserve a table, and I'd recommend that if you are going for dinner. Then, you can ask for specific directions, too!

Pros: Good, hot food, Tea/coffee included
Cons: Expensive, Expensive, Expensive
Astrid_Maine
Astrid_Maine
  • vegan
Contributions
+29

a veggie bounty

5 Posted on 10 / 14 / 2011

This excellent buffet-style vegetarian restaurant is a delight. We went there twice (out of 4 days in Stockholm). It has a great cook, and a large selection of salads (mostly vegan), cooked dishes (mostly vegan) and yummy, ALWAYS vegan cakes. Great views off the enclosed porch but need reservations for that. Would recommend very highly.

Pros: excellent food, healthy cuisine, all you can eat
Daria Ignatova
Daria Ignatova
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+20

The best vegetarian in Stockholm!

5 Posted on 07 / 21 / 2011

Great place for vegetarians - amazing buffet that has great choice of very interesting dishes, not just boring salads, but the food that is cooked with knowledge of vegetarian options.
Great to come in summer as outside they grill pepper, mushroom, corn and different other veggies.
I would recomend to book as it can be busy,
In summer lunch or dinner seating outside is amazing - such a nice view!

Pros: Great choice, Nice location, Friendly staff
Cons: Busy, Walk from metro, A bit expensive
sglcklch
sglcklch
  • vegan
Contributions
+770

Lived up to the hype

5 Posted on 07 / 09 / 2011

Finally tried this place with my partner and it didn't disappoint. We came on a Wednesday and everything happened to be vegan. Food was tasty, selections were promptly refilled, they even got a grill fired up. But above all it was the SETTING, excellent view from up there. This and the food together already made the money worth it.

That said, now that I'm thinking back, the selections in the buffet tended to be pretty stodgy. There were around 15 warm/chilled dishes there, and the majority were all high-carb: pasta, potatoes, grains, and beans. Would be nice to have more variety in this regard.

I did reserve a table online because it seemed to be a very popular restaurant. When I got there I found out it wasn't necessary at all. Place was huge, lots of seating, plus they put all the reservations in the indoor area and you will have to move outside anyway. Just arrive early to beat the crowd to avoid the long waiting line.

Pros: setting, good value, quick in refilling
Cons: stodgy food
naniinan
naniinan
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+17

Love it

5 Posted on 07 / 01 / 2011

Delicious, fresh made food for a fair price (tea, water and coffee includet. Cosy atmosphere especially by sunny weather outside on the terrace.


iamlight
iamlight
  • vegan
Contributions
+14

Disappointing

2 Posted on 06 / 15 / 2011

What a disappointment !
I went there because of the great reviews from this website.
It was awful.

I agree that the setting is nice, but the food is really terrible !
Firstly, they grossly overuse GARLIC and ONIONS. I have never eaten anything so full of garlic in my entire life and I am still detoxifying from it two days later. It seems like there is garlic everywhere and I didn't taste much of anything else in my entire meal. The "indian" dahl was the worst I ever tried. The spices were just burning the mouth without any flavor. There was no flavor anywhere to be found, only the bad taste and smell of garlic.

Secondly, the choice was very poor : 2/3 hot dishes (all of them gross), fried potatoes, fried rice, bread, and then the "salad bar". The salads are vegetables swimming in some thick cream-like sauce to the point where it is impossible to know what kind of vegetable it is. Be prepared to find garlic and onions there as well, even in the grated carrots.
It is very funny to find people who believe that such food is "healthy" because it is vegetarian. This food was so gross I still cannot believe it. I feel nauseous thinking about it again.

Oh and then the restaurant was just over-crowded. People had to stand in the line with their plate in the hands for like 15 minutes before reaching the buffet. It felt like a cheap school cantine.

This is my first restaurant in Stockholm, so maybe the swedish just have very gross taste and this is all normal, but you won't find me in another restaurant there !

Pros: Setting
Cons: Tastes only garlic, Gross and heavy food, Poor choice
olia_m
olia_m
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+31

Great food, nice location

5 Posted on 02 / 12 / 2011

I loved the place very much. It's cosy, the staff is friendly. The food is delicious and healthy. I am very content with the cold and the hot buffet. Tsatsiki and hummus are my favourites. The prices are a bit too high, but it's Stockholm, everything is expensive here:)

Pros: excellent food, healthy cuisine, friendly staff
Cons: not cheap
shapesh1ft
shapesh1ft
  • vegan
Contributions
+70

Buffet and deserts with a view

5 Posted on 10 / 29 / 2010

Varied buffet with many vegan options. Deserts are to die for: try carrot cake! Not cheap, so consider buffet + desert package to get the price/value right. The view to old town from above is excellent. A must visit place while in Stockholm. Good service.

Pros: Variety, Deserts, View
adamrowland
adamrowland
  • vegan
Contributions
+66

Just amazing

5 Posted on 10 / 04 / 2010

This is a gem of a place!

An all-you-can-eat buffet for about 150 SEK. You can either sit overlooking the beautiful Stockholm harbour or in the back where the buffet is kept. You pay when you get there and pick up a plate (be careful the cakes are all by the cash register just to tempt you!!)

The buffet is just phenomenal! Delicious quinoa salad, houmous, sweet and sour veg, indian dahl, homecooked potato wedges and much, much more! Help yourself to fresh baked bread and smother it with herb infused vegan butter.

We made the biggest error of not leaving room for cake! We came back the next day for afternoon tea and sat overlooking the delights of Stockholm and tucking into vegan caramel & hazelnut flan and vegan Belgian Choc tort (all the cakes on that occasion were vegan). A (generous) slice of cake cost about 45 SEK.

The restaurant was popular both times we went and there's a yoga centre above. For me, this was my favourite veggie place in Stockholm - the atmosphere, food and very friendly staff made this a fantastic experience.

Pros: Huge vegan selection, Good value, Great atmosphere
Cons: My stomach wasn't big enough, I don't live in Stockholm
Cara Cara
Cara Cara
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+43

Terrific

5 Posted on 09 / 24 / 2010

I really enjoyed the food, atmosphere and views. I disagree that the food is boring, it was the best buffet I had in Sweden. The best vegan pizza I've ever had. I thought things were very tasty. I did get the student discount - which was great - but despite other reviews I think the normal price is still good for what you get in Stockholm.

Pros: great food, great location, laidback
eye of judgement
eye of judgement
  • vegan
Contributions
+76

great place!

5 Posted on 09 / 03 / 2010

We happened to visit this restaurant on Vegan wednesday, and it was absolutely great! All dishes were vegan, freshly made and tasted amazing. There was a grill outside where you could get grilled veggies. The food was in fact so good that no-one would have noticed if it was suddenly vegan wednesday every day. The pies were also great, and since I am a sucker for pie, this was definitely a winner.

Highly recommended

Pros: vegan wednesday, all you can eat, pie
Cons: very busy, rather expensive
matrosin
matrosin
  • vegan
Contributions
+74

really expensive

3 Posted on 07 / 24 / 2010

nice feeling, great view, good food (selfmade bread) nice vegetarian restaurant +vegan wednesday&bqq. BUT buffet ist not worth to pay 200 kroner, that is 22 euros! you can eat as much as you want, but this is really to much! cakes cost 5 euros.

Pros: nice, good
Cons: expensiv
iddewes
iddewes
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+17

Great place, lovely views

4 Posted on 06 / 30 / 2010

Really liked this place apart from the crowds, there was a queue all the way up the stairs and this was a Monday! Great food, plenty of stuff in the buffet, staff a bit mixed, some nice, some surly, but they were probably stressed out! Lovely terraces with views over the water, great place to be in the summer.

Pros: great food, good portions, lovely views
Cons: TOO crowded, staff a bit mixed
33rpm
33rpm
  • vegan
Contributions
+53

Expensive, but nice.

3 Posted on 06 / 13 / 2010

Actually this was my first vegetarian restaurant i've been too during my vacation in Stockholm.

I was a bit shocked by the price, cause it's quite expensive compared to Austrian average. But someone told me, on mondays there's cheaper prices for students, reservations needed though!

The food itself was okay, there were also enough things to eat for a vegan. The taste was good, but nothing special.

While inside the athmosphere is not too comfortable, the outside-area is fantastic. Very beautiful with a lot of space and a stunning view over Stockholm.

I also tried some vegan cakes and they were awesome in taste, but again too expensive.

Staff is very friendly.

All together it is a nice place to spent some good time in summers but nothing i would go to regularly, cause of the prices.

Pros: Fantastic view from outside-area, Good desserts, Friendly staff
Cons: Very expensive, Too little space in winter, Food could be more tasty
Veganismus
Veganismus
  • vegan
Contributions
+19

Overrated

3 Posted on 06 / 12 / 2010

Some decades back "Hermans Höjdare" was my choice and I ate there frequently. Now a days the food is ok but much less value for the money. These days a better choice is restaurants like Hermitage and Seyhmus. At Hermitage you can find the best vegan food in Stockholm!


Lalla
Lalla
  • mostly-vegetarian
Contributions
+19

Can't miss it!

4 Posted on 04 / 11 / 2010

We went there last July. Our B&B host suggested the place, and we really loved it! They serve a vegetarian buffet with a big choice, food is good and the location is superb! If you can sit outside and enjoy the view over Stockholm. I would definitely go there again.

Pros: choice, view, not expensive
Cons: none
Betty Chaudhry
Betty Chaudhry
  • vegan
Contributions
+24

Great Food and A Good Deal

5 Posted on 02 / 26 / 2010

The food was excellent; most of it seemed really healthy as well as tasting good. The night we were there, nearly every dish on the main buffet table was vegan. It's simple and informal and has a young student/backpacker/crunchy kind of atmosphere. Since it's an all-you-can-eat buffet, it's a good deal, especially by Stockholm standards.

Pros: Great Food, Healthy, Good deal for the money
Cons:
Jirko
Jirko
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+67

great food, not cheap

4 Posted on 12 / 02 / 2009

i went there for the christmas buffet. the food is great, but compared to other veggie restuarants it's rather expensive. it's a busy place so you should consider making reservations on beforehand, especially if you want to enjoy the view.

Pros: food, view
Cons: expensive
X-tul23
X-tul23
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+37

Great location

3 Posted on 08 / 20 / 2009

The location of the restaurant is already worth a visit: up on the hill you get a complete view of the harbour and the city. And you can hang out in a garden. The food is a buffet with many, many mediterranean-like dishes: olives, beans, many sauces, etc. Not exactly my personal favourite food and nothing very special either. The place is very busy and it is quite expensive. You feel that it is a very professionaly run restaurant and that it is a vegetarian business.

Pros: Location, Large buffet
Lise
Lise
  • mostly-vegetarian
Contributions
+11

View nice but food bad

2 Posted on 07 / 30 / 2009

Very nice view but the food wasn't too good. Very oily and a bit boring. Mostly beans and rice.


glam1
glam1
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+22

the perfect place for warm summer evenings

4 Posted on 07 / 18 / 2009

At several occasions, I have been able to get 2 meals and pay for 1 thru a flyer that has been handed out at local events over the years. Well, they don't hand them out any more, but I don't mind paying the full price nowadays. The buffet has shaped up considerably the last 2 years, I found it to be constantly fresh and very tasty. The hommous is absolutely fantastic, and on itself a good reason to come here. It's also a great hang-out on a warm summer evening, my kid loves to pick out exactly what he wants to eat, and to use the hammock after the meal. Eventhough the buffet is very filling, I must recommend the cakes, one is enough for the whole family! A belgian chocolate cake and the sundown over Gamla Stan- lovely!


azna
azna
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+26

Lovely location!

4 Posted on 07 / 17 / 2009

This is a buffet style restaurant at a beautiful location in Stockholm with a great view. The interior is really nice aswell as the staff. When it comes to the food, its really good. The lasagne especially :) Perhaps a bit dull though, but still the best vegetarian buffet i've tried in Stockholm. However, it's really expensive (according to me, but students get discount, so that's good). They have good desserts too!


astalia
astalia
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+17

You're paying for the view

4 Posted on 12 / 12 / 2008

Herrmans is very pretty - even in winter, with the balcony having little firetubes to keep you warm. They had a huge range of salad, which didn't intrest me, and even the mains were a bit too complicated for my liking. My partner however thought it was the shit and would totally go again in a heartbeat. I have to say - that the satay daal was awesome.

Pros: buffet, huge variety, good food
Cons: expensive, nothing simple
guest101
guest101
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+23

summer bbq

4 Posted on 09 / 18 / 2008

Perhaps a little bit expensive (although everything in Stockholm is!) this place has it all for vegan/vegetarian.
During summer, on days with good weather they have a barbecue outdoors on which they do up tofu and mushrooms (the best ever!) amongst other things to complement the buffet. And when it's raining then it's pizzas instead! I make sure I go here at least once a month. Oh, and the view is an added bonus.

Pros: Healthy, Easy to find, variety
Cons: Expensive, buffet (food gets old)
carys
carys
  • vegan
Contributions
+24

vegan wednesdays

5 Posted on 01 / 14 / 2008

We found out that on weds EVERYTHING is vegan, this is a hot and cold buffet of about 40 different things!


marybheine
marybheine
  • vegan
Contributions
+55

Be prepared to share your table

4 Posted on 11 / 24 / 2007

I went to this restaurant tonight after not being there in over 10 years. Always happy to see a good vegetarian restaurant after all these years. Cold, wintery evening, I was there at 6 pm, waiting for my hunger to happen. This place is unique in that it stays open from lunch into dinner, so you're not starving by the time you get to eat at 7 pm. Because it was a Saturday evening, 6 pm meant that I had to find the less likely to start making-out couple to join their table. They didn't speak English, I didn't speak Swedish, so we got along fine. Very few solo diners, mostly young couples. Good food, I got the cheapest choice, buffet only, smuggling in my bottled water in my coat pocket. I have also been here in the summer, and the view and eating outside makes this place very desirable in the summer. I was a bit squeamish about the communal serving spoon in each dish. I wonder how many cold and flu germs I picked up? Not a low-fat meal. But very good hummus, and lentil dishes.

Pros: good food, great views in summer season, still open
Cons: had to share a table, communal serving utensils, too crowded around smorgasbord table,
Kristoffer
Kristoffer
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+17

Nice but too expensive

3 Posted on 10 / 22 / 2007

Nice food but too expensive. Was here in the winter so I could not experience the wonderful view, and the inside areas was very cramped with people. The buffet table was not very well looked after as some of the dishes were left empty and spilled out food remained for too long.

Pros: Good dishes, Nice location and environment
Cons: Price
Adnan
Adnan
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+50

Way to go

4 Posted on 10 / 29 / 2006

Veg. buffet. Draws a lot of locals. Young crowd largely. Great view of the city. Cheap for Swedish standards.

Pros: atmosphere, location
Poundie
Poundie
  • vegetarian
Contributions
+289

Good food

4 Posted on 10 / 06 / 2006

This is a self-serve, self bus place with a nice relaxed atmosphere and great views of Stockholm. The price is great, and since it is buffet you can stuff yourself to the gills. I enjoyed the food a great deal, though it is not as health-oriented compared to many other vegetarian places.

Pros: Filling, great views, good food
Cons: not over-healthy oriented

 

This business supports the service that HappyCow provides :o)

 

If you are the Owner of a listing on this site, we invite you to join our highly successful Priority Friend program today. click for details >>

 

Close

Dear Owner and Manager of Hermans Vegetariska Tradgardcafe:


While your business is currently a free listing on HappyCow, there is so much more we can do to further promote your business to the millions who visit this site every year.

Enjoy more...

Here's how you can take advantage of HappyCow's Internet popularity:

Your sponsorship will keep the HappyCow service strong on the Internet. Thank you.

Close

 

Last updated: 2014/04/16

 

Added: 2007/08/01

 

Added by: Guest

 

Close