Gentle Gourmet Cafe

Overall rating: 4.0 stars 96 Reviews
Vegan restaurant, cafe, and deli serving a variety of French and Mediterranean dishes both classics and contemporary, beginning with breakfast then lunch, tea-time, and dinner. Many raw and non-gluten options. Offers brunch on Sunday til 1:30pm. The classy bistro atmosphere lends itself to casual as well as special dining. Entree prices range 7-13 euros, main course 12-22 euros, and dessert prices 5-9 euros. Reservations suggested. Price: Moderate more-less
Vegan, Organic, French, Mediterranean, Raw, Juice bar, BYOB, Take-out
24 Boulevard de La Bastille (Place de La Bastille)
Paris, France 75012
33-0143434849

Open Mon-Sat 9am-11pm, Sun 9am-1:30pm, 2-11pm.

more-less
  • Outdoor seating
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Accepts credit cards
reviews

Reviews

First Review by christiaan
LauraE.MercerTraavik
LauraE.MercerTraavik
1

reviews

  • vegan

outstanding

5 Posted on 04 / 16 / 2014

Menu options were varied from raw lasagna to risotto and the dessert options were great. Our family had the burger and the seitan kebab. Each component contained subtle and delicious tastes. We tried three desserts and each was scrumptious. Truly a gourmet vegan experience. And lovely service! Thank you!

Pros: selection, flavours, experience
HappyElo
HappyElo
17

reviews

  • vegan

Excellent dinner

5 Posted on 04 / 04 / 2014

We had a starter, a main course and the dessert with a hot chocolare. All vegan and very very good. Great atmosphere and staff very kind.
Updated from previous review on Monday June 24, 2013

This time we would have breakfast but until 16 april it has xifdifferent open time and it open only at 11.30. No vegan croissant sigh sigh

Pros: All vegan, Tasty, Great choice
Tobias2nd
Tobias2nd
3

reviews

  • vegetarian

Expensive but worth it

3 Posted on 03 / 23 / 2014

We went there on the first evening of our Paris holiday.
The price is not cheap, as usual in Paris, some might find the portions a bit small for the price but I think it is just normal for Paris. The price-ratio in this city is offhinged. Maybe it is a German problem - with the -sick - cheap food, that ruins my view for the worth of food.
The cuisine is really good, they have some burgers and classic stuff but I would take the seasonal dishes all the time, nice composing and modern recepts.
You have to bring some time with you, cause it takes a while.

If you are in Paris, take a look at it, cause there are not that many vegan/vegetarian restaurants around! ^^

Pros: Nice seasonal food, Interesting dishes
Cons: Maybe a bit small portions
asham
asham
3

reviews

  • vegan

Bon mais incroyablement cher

2 Posted on 03 / 09 / 2014

J'ai été à ce restaurant lors d'une rencontre pour laquelle le personnel avait promis un menu à 25€ par personne. Une fois arrivés sur place pas de menu mais demande à la carte.
On commence à regarder les prix et on se rend vite compte que entrée + plat ou plat + dessert = 25€ sinon plus...

La décoration se veut élégante mais elle est médiocre et insipide, le personnel était gentil et arrangeant (après avoir commis quelques erreurs et créé des situations embarrassantes!) mais le service laissait à désirer, surtout quand on sait qu'ils avaient été prévenus bien à l'avance qu'un grand groupe venait manger. J'ai mangé après tout le monde car le personnel ou le cuisinier avaient fait une erreur. Même si pour cela j'ai eu une petite remise sur le prix du plat, j'aurais préféré manger avec tout le monde.

Autrement la nourriture était bonne mais pas non plus incroyable, j'ai déjà mangé des choses plus étonnantes, beaucoup mieux servies et mieux présentées, à un prix bien moindre.

Bref, c'est bien de vouloir créer des lieux vegans élégants avec les prix qui vont avec, mais il ne faut pas non plus oublier que cette nourriture là coûte bien moins cher que du foigras ou des filets de poisson... Etre vegan et payer des filets de tofu aux herbes avec une purée 17€ me paraît complètement déplacé.

Pros: bon
Cons: non respectueux de leurs engagements, pas professionnel , très cher
  • gentlegourmetcafe gentlegourmetcafe

    C'est bien triste de lire ce commentaire L'organisateur du rencontre dont Asham a été convié avait reçu un offre de 25€ si, et seulement si il y avait 20 personnes. Ils sont arrivés à 11 et parmi les onze deux ont voulu partagé un diner donc au lieu d'être les 20 requis , ils étaient la moitié . Si nos serveurs ont été embarrassés cela me parait normal en vu du fait que nous leur avons réservé toute la salle et finalement que la moitié sont venus.
    Quant au décor - le décor se veut extrêmement sobre pour mettre en valeur ce qui est pour nous le plus important - nos invités et notre cuisine. Ou est-ce marqué que nous voulions un décor élégant?
    C'est de même avec les commentaire sur les plats - tant de proos si approximatifs est injuste. Notre plat de tofu est marinés, la purée aux herbes fraiches est bien sur fait main tous les jours et notre sauce est fait avec un crème que nous fabriquons nous-mêmes. Les légumes sautés ajoutent une note de couleurs et le tout vaut largement les 17 euros.

    more-less
ChristianaHasldorf
ChristianaHasldorf
23

reviews

  • vegan

Really Gourmet!

5 Posted on 02 / 17 / 2014

The menu card is not large here but what you get is really gourmet! My dauther says the Portobello Burger was awesome, and also large, and I recommend a dessert - the chocolate peppermint mousse. I can't remember the name exactly. We will definitively get back to this place!

Pros: Delicious, Good atmosphere, Very friendly staff
Cons: Quite expensive
thesoulution
thesoulution
3

reviews

  • vegan

Vegans In Paris

4 Posted on 01 / 16 / 2014

One thing that's hard about traveling abroad is not being able to see the menu before coming to the restaurant due to the difference in language or the lack of information online. With that being said the only information I knew about this restaurant was that it was vegan. It was a very easy commute there & such a beautiful neighborhood. It's right next to a water channel. The waitress spoke great English & was very helpful. We had just missed breakfast & we were a little disappointed because we so desperately wanted to try their vegan croissants they serve for breakfast. She spoke with the kitchen & arrive at our table with great news. The chef was able to heat up some croissants left over from the morning service. They were sooo divine. Flaky on the outside but soft & moist on the inside. They were delicious. For an appetizer we ordered the mushroom crepe which was delicious as well. For our mains we ordered the portobello burger which was delicious. The marinade on the portobello mushroom was soooo good. I wasn't expecting that. We didn't care for the fries that are served with it, they weren't seasoned at all. The other main we ordered was the tempeh pasta which was just okay. The tempeh had a different texture than I'm used to & there wasn't much flavor in the dish. Overall it was an incredible experience. The restaurant is beautiful, service is great, & food is definitely worth it. My favorite meal I had in Paris.

Pros: Great service, Great Food, Great Location
Kittybiscuit
Kittybiscuit
17

reviews

  • vegetarian

Nicely flavoured food

4 Posted on 12 / 24 / 2013

I went at 9am to try their vegan pastries but they had winter hours and didn't open until 11.30. So by the time I got back there they had finished breakfast and I'd missed out which was disappointing. However I did get a take away pizza which I did enjoy and it seemed reasonably priced. The staff were very kind as well.


Grieselpfrue
Grieselpfrue
6

reviews

  • vegan

strange atmosphere, rude staff, tasty food

2 Posted on 12 / 12 / 2013

I went to the gentle gourmet cafe for dinner in october 2013. As a main dish I ate some pasta, as a dessert I tried the crème brulée. The food was absolutely satisfying. I didn't enjoy may stay that much though, as the atmosphere did not match my preferences (it seemed modern but sterile) and the staff acted a bit rude, maybe because my apparel (my clothing was a bit eco-alternative)did not match their expectations. All in all I felt a bit out of place and it seemed the staff wanted to get rid of me as soon as possible. It doesn't mean the gentle gourmet café is a bad place, it simply means it was not the right place for me.

Pros: tasty food
Cons: strange atmosphere, rude staff
ichmagfood
ichmagfood
2

reviews

  • vegan

i love this place

5 Posted on 12 / 12 / 2013

We were there in spring this year. Service was excellent, price was ok. We had breakfast there for 3 times and enjoyed almond croissonts, fruit salad and pain au chocolat. At first this small restaurant seemed too chic for us, but we wanted to try those nice-sounding meals. so we went in. They were very friendly and we could order in english.
I don't think you need complaining about the prices. Paris everywhere is very expensive and in comparison to the other restaurants we did not pay more. Especially for very tasty food and nice ambiente.

Pros: excellent breakfast, friendly staff, lovely almond croissonts
vikavegan
vikavegan
7

reviews

  • vegan

Good ideas, but needs LOTS of improvement!

2 Posted on 11 / 21 / 2013

I've been to this resto many times since they are open. And every time it's different feelings - sometimes very good, sometimes quite disappointing.

The food. During the years they are open, I bought raw lasagna 3 times, and it seemed to me the quality was decreasing with my each visit. Or was it just bad luck that last time tomatoes seemed a bit spoiled (not fresh) in it? It was my engagement evening, and I regret it was not at other place. One of other times I remeber byuing a desert which was absolutely... how to say, I rather had some bread instead. I also remeber times when I had exellent deserts, although too sweet for my taste. All the salads I bought were quite good, I don't complain here, I only wish portions were bigger for this price.

The Sunday brunches. I had positive feelings about them, although, there are quite a lot of potatoes and fake meat which makes food quite heavy.

Staff. Are nice and friendly. At least, I never had problems, but... so slow! Once we were waiting for coffee 45 minutes. I think it's a serious issue and it's important to do some work on improvement and solve this problem.

Prices. It's quite expensive for the service they provide. While I'm ready to pay so much, I expect the quality to be much better and more consistent in time. Otherwise it feels like the visit is not assured to leave you in a good mood. I prefer not to have such incertanty for very important events. I would go to this resto only after I would discover all the others. I would not bring my friends there, I would opt for my quality-reliable place, even if it was veggie.

While I can see this place has very right atmospere and great ideas, there are holes in organizational parts and so far I didn't feel they are solving. I give two stars out of 5 to this place because they really need lots of work. There is always a potential for five.

P.S. one more note - couple of times I saw there was a dog in the resto, and it seemed to belong to someone from staff. While I don't have any issues with it, my friend said he would prefer not to eat there because of this fact.

Pros: vegan, great idea, nice atmosphere
Cons: price doesn always correspond to quality, unreliable service
pixi42
pixi42
11

reviews

  • vegetarian

Good Vegan But Too Tiny Portions

2 Posted on 11 / 03 / 2013

Nice vegan restaurant.
Probably the most tasty in paris.
However, very poor service and served portions are too tiny.
Needs improvement

Pros: Tasty, Nice Room
Cons: Tiny Portions, Service
JonJon
JonJon
97

reviews

  • vegan

Vegan yes, but too much expensive, for sure...

2 Posted on 10 / 20 / 2013

We tested this restaurant five times since it opened until now.

Even if the place is very nice and the food is totally vegan (which is already great), the first time we went there (in May 2012) was quite disappointing. Good point: we arrived 10 minutes before the time of our reservation and we were able to sit at our table, even if it was not ready so far. Bad point however: we then waited for more than 25 minutes until a waiter, bringing a dish to the next table, takes care of us, although the room was not very crowded. We were finally able to order but our dishes have been served very late. Good point: the food was good in taste but – bad point – the steak of our burger disappeared in several pieces at the first bite. Another bad point: between courses, we missed successively bread, cutlery and glasses. But good point: the waiter offered us a glass of lemonade to apologize for the wait and the missing elements. The staff was disorganized but friendly and the dinner was good despite the fact that the service offered by the restaurant was not at the level of the paid price.

The second time was much more successful. We tested the Sunday brunch (in June 2012) and it has, on the whole, met our expectations. For 30 euros, every food and all drinks (such as the vegan cappuccino) were available ad libitum and served at our table. We stayed from 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm, which was great. One regret though: the restaurant uses a little bit too much ready-made vegan meat and its cuisine would gain in refinement if it would do it itself.

The third time, we ordered vegan pizzas to take away (in December 2012) which disappointed us a lot. The dough was a vulgar puff pastry with only a few mushrooms, vegan cheese, smoked tofu and tomato sauce on it. It was not really fair for a 20-euro-normal-size pizza! We have not repeated the experience.

The fourth time was in April 2013. My girlfriend went there to celebrate the birthday of a friend, like other twelve people. If the food was good, portions were very small in comparison to the paid price (for example, 8 euros for a simple and small salad). In addition, they had prepared a chocolate cake for birthday, but they charged 8 euros per person and per slice! Which makes the price of the cake completely amazing (13 people eating a 8-euro slice leads to pay for more than 100 euros for a chocolate cake! Moreover, vanilla ice cream was available only with a supplement of price).

End of the review in the response below.

Pros: vegan food and pastries, good location, interesting brunch
Cons: poor service, small portions and very expensive, no wine
  • JonJon JonJon

    End of my review:

    The fifth and last time was in October 2013 at the Paris Vegan Day. The restaurant ensured the full supply of food for the festival with sandwiches, cakes and pastries. The sandwiches were excellent (even if they were a little bit expensive), like croissants.
    In summary, we have a very mixed opinion about this restaurant. Food is generally very tasty but poor service, repeated use of ready-made vegan meat and small portions do not justify the very high prices. Moreover, it could be nice if the restaurant serves good French wines.

    more-less
ira
ira
14

reviews

  • vegan

Good as a hangout!

4 Posted on 10 / 10 / 2013

When we visited Paris the weather was ... mixed. Pretty much every other restaurant shuts down between 2 and 6pm. Since Gentle Gourmet doesn't, we were really happy to find shelter there, to do some work on the computers (they have WLAN) and enjoy coffee and vegan treats. The drinks were good, the Sunday brunch was not really our taste, and we weren't really full, but it was good to try something different!

Pros: central location, wlan, open all day
Cons: small portions
mina.aphrodosia
mina.aphrodosia
8

reviews

  • vegan

probably best vegan food in Paris

4 Posted on 10 / 08 / 2013

We've been to the Gourmet Cafe twice when we stayed in Paris this summer. The first time was absolutely wonderful. The staff spoke very good English and even offered help in translating the menue. I tried polenta (very good) with fricasse (very good too) and a green sauce (nil). My husband had the Portobello Burger, which was excellent. For dessert we had tarte tantin (absolutely fantastic! Best thing I ate in Paris!) with raspberry ice cream and chocolate mousse, which was very good too. There were no alcoholic beverages on the menue (always a bummer for me. no wine in Paris? Really?). We reserved a table for the following weekend and talked a while with the waiter about how much we liked the food and left the place very happy.
When we came back for our weendend reservation, it was a different story though. The same waiter tried to seat us at a shitty table instead of the one we reserved (the place was completely empty by the time we arrived, and we had asked fot this table specifically) and didn't remember us at all, even though we had talked for some time and left a very generous tip. The food was good again, but not overwhelming like the time before. Summing up, I still think it's the best food we had on our trip to Paris. The portions are VERY small though. It's a little pricey, too. Not too expensive considering you're in Paris, but again, you don't get much and it feels a little like you pay for the "gourmet" in the name.

Pros: the food tastes just amazing, staff
Cons: VERY small portions, pricey, staff again
Alyson
Alyson
34

reviews

  • vegan

Mixed feelings

3 Posted on 10 / 06 / 2013

Whilst it's great to eat in a fully vegan place, particularly in continental Europe, I can't give exceedingly high praise for this place. It is 'gourmet' in that it's expensive prices for medium to small portions. Went with 3 friends and family in early September and it was busy.

I liked the raw 'lasagne' I had, as I've always fancied trying it, and the desserts were ok, but one person was disappointed with theirs.

The resident Paris friend had reserved, but they'd lost the booking. Luckily they still had room. She has also had various problems with them in terms of hours open, service level, helpfulness etc.

I would recommend going if you've tried all the other vegetarian places but it's not outstanding food and it's not outstanding service, yet it is pretty expensive

Pros: vegan
Cons: expensive
eirwin
eirwin
3

reviews

  • vegan

Really yum

5 Posted on 10 / 05 / 2013

A great find in Paris with yummy food and helpful staff. A great experience.

Pros: yummy, attentive service, not too far from the metro
Cons: a little expensive
MarieV23
MarieV23
6

reviews

  • vegetarian

Gastronomie vegan

4 Posted on 09 / 27 / 2013

Premier repas 100% vegan depuis mon arrivée à Paris..et 100% merveilleux. Mon amie et moi avions mal lu les heures d'ouverture sur le site et sommes arrivées trop tôt. Le serveur sur place a été assez gentil pour nous laisser nous asseoir et a discuté avec nous. lls ont une super formule le midi à 19 euros (cela peut être un peu cher sur le coup, mais la qualité des plats en vaut largement la peine) soit une entrée+plat du jour ou plat du jour+dessert. Je n'ai pas pu essayer car ce jour là le plat était un burger portobello et je suis allergique aux champignons, mais je compte clairement y retourner pour essayer leurs desserts! Mon streak de tofu était délicieux, parfaitement assaisonné, car trop souvent les restos végé de Paris proposent des plats fades. Bref, je compte bien y retourner avant la fin de mon séjour et vous le recommande fortement!


pupa
pupa
22

reviews

  • vegan

Vegan foie gras!

5 Posted on 09 / 27 / 2013

I had to try it! I've never ah foie in my life, so being in Paris I thought it would be good idea to try it.
No regrets at all. The place is nice and clean and the staff is very friendly. It is true that we waited for a while for our food, I believe it was 2 hours for three courses! That's kinda long, so expect to wait but if you have a nice company the place is very pleasant!
Everything we had was delicious. The presentation was great! The foie gras appetizer was with morels also, so really great settled favors!
I had the raw lasagna, which was also nice.
I had a dark chocolate Bavarian for desert and that was great as well. Creamy and not overly sweet, pure chocolate flavor with great texture.

It's not cheap, but they deliver, minus the waiting time!!
Would definitely return!

Pros: Food, Atmosphere, Location
Cons: Waiting time
Tiggy
Tiggy
56

reviews

  • vegan

Not that great really - and not that friendly

2 Posted on 09 / 25 / 2013

*Update from the original review below*: I had chosen to be generous in my first review However, we returned today for lunch or brunch around 11:40. The opening hours on th Internet and in the door said opening time 11:30 but the waiter - whom I had generously called friendly in my previous review (and generously tipped) - barked to us unapologetically that they were closed. I asked when they were opening and he said probably around 12pm. We have no intentions to return and I have downgraded my rating.

*Original review 21/9/13.* We chose this place for our first dinner in Paris last night, partly because we were really hungry and it opened for dinner at 6pm and others not till 7pm. Unfortunately when I rang up to book I was informed there was a function on and I couldn't make a booking until 7:30pm. I accepted this anyway because the menu looked good. When we arrived we were attended to by a friendly waiter (albeit tired out from the function that day). I ordered the cannelloni, my partner orderedk the risotto and we ordered the Caesar-like salad to share. I also ordered what was listed on the menu as a "Smoothie Exotique" and was shocked/disappointed when I was brought out a commercial bottled coconut and mango smoothie. The salad was delicious and was well presented with shaved vegan parmesan. We also decided to share the mains, so I got to try both: the cannelloni was well presented, but, while not terrible, it was not exceptional either, with the tofu-based filling not particularly tasty. The risotto was heavy, gluggy and not moist enough and its flavour was a bit monotonous. I actually struggled to finish it. We intended to order dessert, but on the evening we were there there had been an issue with the ice cream and there was none available so we left it. This place has an interesting menu and nice ambience. I might try it again, but I have been a little put off by the quality.
Updated from previous review on Saturday September 21, 2013

Pros: Pleasant atmosphere and location, Interesting touches to the menu
Cons: Mains not particularly tasty, Prices a little high for the quality, Unreliable opening hours and rude staff
VerenaBadofszky
VerenaBadofszky
2

reviews

  • vegan

Good

3 Posted on 09 / 23 / 2013

The food here is really good and well presented, but prices are a little to high for what they offer. Staff can be a little lost sometimes. They run out of dishes often too. It's a shame that they don't publicise the fact that it's vegan and organic. The tofu-meat dish is really good and the burger too.. Deserts are super tasty, specially the cherry ice cream and the chocolate bavarian! The hot chocolate is not the "real deal", it's more like "nesquik" and you can taste a lot the "milk", which is unpleasant. I wish it had a little more personality, but overall still worth going to and I'd definitely go back.

Pros: Taste, Presentation, Deserts
Cons: Price, No personality
veganrobot
veganrobot
8

reviews

  • vegan

No More Croissants!!

3 Posted on 09 / 21 / 2013

I heard about this restaurant from a girl in America who said this was the most amazing restaurant in Paris. They had chocolate vegan croissants and the woman who owned it was from America and super nice.

Hmm. However, I had a completely different experience here.

I rushed over to the restaurant knowing they have very odd French hours. Breakfast ends at 11 and lunch starts at noon. I wanted breakfast with loads of croissants, so I arrived late, but on time at 10:50. I ask them if they have the croissants and they said they got rid of anything not organic including all pastries! Very sad indeed. We were not able to order lunch (which is a better menu) so we looked through breakfast. The waiter took 20 minutes to come back (at 11:10) and took our order for breakfast. He came back short after to tell us that the chef denied our request to eat (in an empty restaurant!) and we could no longer order anything at all until 12! He then simply walked away without caring that he had something to do with this...

We waited another hour and ordered lunch, because there was no point in finding some other restaurant now, and finally ordered our food. I got the portobello sandwich and my boyfriend got the seitan dish. The portobello was just average and the seitan was fairly good. But nothing to write more about.

It was $60 euros for two meals and coffee. Kind of crazy prices and no empathy from any waiters on our starving-ness. I wouldn't go back here, but the food was ok. There are not too many vegan only spots in Paris that are real restaurants, so that's why it still gets a 3 star. Also, it is common service in France, so it wasn't too out of the ordinary.

Pros: All vegan, Seitan was good
Cons: Bad customer service, Expensive, Horrible hours
Sphynxdani
Sphynxdani
6

reviews

  • vegan

Fancy Vegan Food

5 Posted on 09 / 06 / 2013

I adore this place and the staff. In a lot of vegan restaurants in Paris, the people who work there aren't even vegan and I hate this. The fact that they cook compassionately yet go and fund the exploitation and abuse of animals. All the staff at the Gentle Gourmet are vegan (Last time I checked) The food is phenomenal. Whenever I go there with someone (always meat eaters) they look at the food expecting to be hungry five minutes later. But we often leave feeling full to capacity and satisfied. This place makes the most delicious vegan food and it's typical meat dishes turned into the vegan version and they're ALWAYS better. I don't have a favorite because they're all so good. The only thing that I don't like it the fact that they don't serve any alcohol, not even vegan versions. You also have to book in advance if you want to go on the weekends as it tends to be full most of the time. All in All, I highly recommend this place and the beautiful deco. If you're a regular you get a loyalty card.

Pros: Food, Staff, Deco
Cons: Expensive Desserts, No alcohol, Have to book in advance
libellule
libellule
3

reviews

  • vegan

not so gentle...

3 Posted on 08 / 25 / 2013

was the reception. I love to travel on my own and so far never had the feeling of being downgraded by a waiter. Although the place was more or less empty at ca. 6 pm I was directed to a seat next to an open door on a cold and rainy day! He asked me whether he should close the door... 10 minutes later he offered me a different table due to a 'cancellation'. I had 'makis de faux gras' 11€ and I found the filling too liquid and 'lasagne crues' for 16 € which was nice.

Pros: pure vegan, location
Cons: expensive
Steffi Giraffe
Steffi Giraffe
9

reviews

  • vegan

A refreshing alternative to the rest of France

4 Posted on 08 / 21 / 2013

I had been looking forward to going to Gentle Gourmet for a long time and, as often happens when you have high expectations and are looking forward to something, it was slightly underwhelming. I only say this though because it was heavily talked up and I live in London with the likes of Manna, etc.

The service was lovely, helpful and welcoming. There were loads of naughty treats to choose from and feel as though you aren't vegan! It felt good to be served a hot chocolate with a huge dollop of 'cream' on top.

It was a shame that they had no croissants/pain au chocolats when we went but it seemed that it was out of their control (though I had expected they would have made croissants themselves). We had been especially looking forward to that. They were also out of lemonade which seemed strange. They were also out of some other items.

I would have liked to have been able to try some other options but we were only in Paris for one day. I had a ricotta-based starter and main and knew it would be samey but I didn't realise how samey (the ricotta fillings both had the same flavours and olives/vegetables in them, and the dishes were served with the same pesto accompaniment). I don't know if they made their own ricotta but I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised that they used Vegusto on top of the cannelloni just because Manna make all their own cheese. I wasn't that enthralled with the cannelloni as it wasn't as saucy and tasty as what I have already made at home but my boyfriend's meal (seitan in fig sauce with polenta) was superb.

I think I am more critical than I would have been because there are now so many vegan restaurants and puddings out there that I am once again used to having food I can rave about. The dessert (chocolate bavarois) was good but unfortunately not as special as it could have been.

I feel bad to be so negatively comparing this lovely restaurant. I imagine it is a godsend for a vegan living in France. I enjoyed the food and would definitely go back.

Pros: All vegan, Great alternatives
Cons: Expensive, Not everything made by restaurant, Some menu items not available
wushu
wushu
7

reviews

  • vegan

Perfect Brunch !

5 Posted on 07 / 29 / 2013

I went there for the Sunday brunch. Everything was perfect !
I enjoyed the quality of the food. I liked the smoothy of the day made with strawberries and melon.
they were out of vegan pastries (shame :( ) so I got a smoothy instead of the ordinary juice usually included in the brunch.

I really liked the fresh bread, the fried tofu with potatoes and the hot chocolate made with oat milk. I'm not a big fan of their pain perdu but it came last and I was already full anyway :P

This is nice location near the river. The decoration is modern and minimalist, I like it.

They don't have as many customers in the summer so the place was quiet in the morning, some more people arrived at lunch time.

I wish I could go there every Sundays.

Pros: Food, Location, friendly stuff
Alejandro G
Alejandro G
7

reviews

  • vegan

Great brunch!

5 Posted on 07 / 28 / 2013

I have been at GGC 4 or 5 times, twice for the brunch and have been the best of all. I brought some non vegan friends for the brunch and they loved it.
The other meals have been ok but not remarkable...the thing I do love about it is the fact that I can order and be 100% sure is vegan, no matter what I ask for. This is something that in "non vegan friendly Paris" comes to a big deal.

Pros: Friendly people, Nice ambient, Good Location
ericoloso
ericoloso
12

reviews

  • vegetarian

Disappointing

3 Posted on 07 / 10 / 2013

I was disappointed with the portion I got in my plate for this price.
I won't go again.

Pros: Location, Friendly staff
Cons: Expensive, Small portions
DanielAmaral
DanielAmaral
58

reviews

  • vegan

Delicious

5 Posted on 07 / 08 / 2013

This place rocks. I went there 3 times during my stay in Paris.
My favorite dish was the "bastille", their classic sandwich with vegan cheese, ham and an outstanding garlic sauce and bread. And I had the chance to eat a very good dish with a lot of mushrooms, also delicious.

And please, PLEASE, order the vegan cheese balls and the french deserts. AMAZING!

Pros: delicious, good staff, moderate price
Anettvegi48
Anettvegi48
4

reviews

  • vegetarian

Modern and good

4 Posted on 07 / 07 / 2013

we went there for dinner, and enjoyed the bright, kind of minimalistic Interieur, as well as the delicious food. a bit expensive (two plates,one starter, one Dessert for 50€), but good portions and friendly staff.

Pros: delicious food, friendly staff
Cons: not easy to find, a bit expensive
AcEastend
AcEastend
13

reviews

  • vegan

disappointing

2 Posted on 07 / 05 / 2013

First I had a very good sandwich there.
But when we returned the next day for dinner, it was really disappointing. It was very expensive for unexeptional fanciless food and small portions. We the ravioli as a starter and got 3 small ones for € 8,50. The food was o.k. but not extraordinary. We also missed a wine with it. I would not go there again.

Pros: friendly staff, nice facility
Cons: small portions
IsabelleTamm
IsabelleTamm
9

reviews

  • vegan

Nice, but...

3 Posted on 07 / 04 / 2013

I kind of have a love hat relationship with this restaurant, I was really excited to have finally found it after being kind of lost. My first disappointment was to find out that 1/4 of the menu wasn't available with the waitress telling me the things I couldn't order. They do however know their menu well and can describe the dishes to you in detail. The thing about this restaurant is that the menu is like a non vegan/vegetarian restaurant but with vegetal/soy replacements for the dairy and meat. I'm sure some people love this kind of thing, being able to eat the same dishes they ate before they were vegan. But I prefer to eat tasty meals made with fresh vegetables close to their natural state with minimum soy products. I ordered some sort of cannelloni with a vegan ricotta & vegetable filling and it was pretty tasty. I wanted dessert so after a a while of narrowing it down to a couple of choices she then told me that 3 of the desserts weren't available. I ended up ordering a poached peach (which came with ice-cream) and a hot chocolate. the dessert tasted amazing but the hot chocolate was pretty awful. It had all these lumpy bits, was bitter and just had a teaspoon of cinnamon chucked on top. Although most of the food tasted good or even delicious it's not cheap and shortly after leaving I started to feel unwell. Probably from the all the soy and the coconut based ice-cream for which I have slight in-tolerances for but not something I want to pay that much for. It's mostly how instead of using vegetables as the highlight of the dish they change them into something unrecognisable, I wouldn't even know half of what was in the food I ate. Nice if you want to reminisce about your pre-vegan days but not for me.


OneNightStanzas
OneNightStanzas
26

reviews

  • vegan

Love love love love love!

5 Posted on 07 / 02 / 2013

This is *the* place to go for a fancy, upmarket vegan dinner in Paris.

My bloke and I arrived at about 7.50pm, technically ten minutes before their doors were due to open for dinner. We'd been advised to arrive early and we were right! They kindly let us in and seated us early, and within twenty minutes the place was basically full. Get there early or make a reservation, especially on the weekend -- it's popular!

The first thing we noted is that the place is super chic -- lovely clean decor and a great layout. We were seated by a LOVELY friendly, smiley waitress who spoke English really well and asked immediately if we'd prefer the English or French menu. As soon as we were seated we were brought a basket of delicious crusty bread and a jug of chilled water -- both were replenished when we finished them!

For starters we both had salads -- I had the chickpea salad which was very simple, leafy and delicate. Definitely the healthy option I think! It had cranberries in it which I was intrigued by, but it was really delicious. My bloke had the potato salad which looked heavier but also delicious.

For main course we both had the veggie burger -- and so did LITERALLY EVERYONE ELSE in the restaurant! It is obviously quite famous and rightly so -- is is great! The burger is quite soft and squishy but very flavoursome. It is dressed with vegan mayo which I am normally sceptical about, but this stuff was good. Also has vegan cheese on it, plus lots of veggies and salad. It's a HUGE handful and we took great delight in watching how everyone tackled eating it! It comes with yummy moreish fries and a side salad.

By the time we were done we were WAY too full for dessert, in fact we could barely walk back to the Metro station. The place is a little more expensive than your average vegan eatery, BUT I think it's good value for the quality and big portion sizes -- plus the very attentive, lovely service and the little extras like bottomless free sides of bread.

Final note: the toilets are down a tiny, slippery spiral staircase which was a bit hair-raising for me and would be a nightmare for anyone who was in any way infirm, I'm guessing. But they were clean and of a good standard :)

Pros: GREAT food, GREAT service, Everything was awesome
Cons: Difficult-to-access loos (minor detail)
  • OneNightStanzas OneNightStanzas

    ...or did you reply to my review because you're trying to suggest I'm lying?!

    more-less
  • OneNightStanzas OneNightStanzas

    You should probably write your own review rather than responding to other people's. I definitely loved this restaurant.

    more-less
  • Wine Lover Wine Lover

    There was no English menu when I was there which was disappointing (it changes each month but i was there 10 days in to the month).

    Both times I visited this week I saw a huge variety of dishes being brought out ad very few burgers in fact. The dish I saw most was actually the seitan bourguignon served in a baked pumpkin!

    I was also given no bread on either visit.

    more-less
CLRtraveller
CLRtraveller
112

reviews

  • vegan

French cuisine vegan-style

4 Posted on 06 / 18 / 2013

On the menu: warm Vichyssoise €8, filo rolls with “faux gras” and wild mushrooms on salad greens, marinated Portobello burger, Lyonnaise Salad (small €9, large €13), sides of fries or salad for €5.
I had La Blanquette, traditional French stew with whole braised mushrooms, finely sliced carrots and leeks, roasted pearl onions, fine cream sauce with fresh herbs with brown rice from Camargue region of France, €15. A basket of seedy baguette accompanies the meal.
No alcohol, but you can bring your own bottle.
Tues.-Sat. 8:00 am-11:00 pm. Service compris (gratuity is included in the bill).

Pros: imaginative dishes, enclosed patio
wuthering
wuthering
10

reviews

  • vegetarian

Delicious

5 Posted on 06 / 10 / 2013

There's not a lot more to say. The food was excellent and innovative. It looks very 'trendy' inside, which is really good for a vegan place - modern, minimalist, but not cold. They have about 6 tables in their windowed front, and these were full by 6:30, so do reserve a table, and then there are lots of tables inside the restaurant proper.
The menu is only in French, and the waitress may not be able to help you too much. So, make sure your smartphone translator app is on because you don't want to miss a thing. If it's still there when you go, get the Cajun dish. Yummy, and so full of flavour. It's really smart food there. Innovative.

Pros: Delicious food, Good prices, Central location
cookiemonster
cookiemonster
47

reviews

  • vegan

We Tried...

2 Posted on 06 / 07 / 2013

We tried to eat here but left and went elsewhere. The service was horrible, which I normally don't care so much about, but the prices are high. It feels weird to be fixing to drop 30€ for the privilege of being ignored. We could have dealt with that except for the fact that they didn't have any food! The menu is tiny, 4 main dishes + a special. The thing is, half of those are made of portobello mushrooms, which they were out of. Effectively there were two things we could order : seitan or raw lasagna. If the inexperienced waiter had told us that when we arrived, it would have been ok, but it was 45 minutes after we arrived and over 10 minutes after we had ordered other dishes before he did. It's ok to run out of food but we were the first dinner customers and they were out of half the menu. You'd think the wait staff would be aware of that.


Cons:
Georgina
Georgina
26

reviews

  • vegan

Excellent food and experience

5 Posted on 06 / 07 / 2013

Like a previous reviewer, I went having read the website information and expected to be able to have a snack - coffee and croissant, probably - and arranged to meet friends there. However, on arrival we were told it was the full 28euro brunch only (it was a Sunday). We were squeezed in though despite not having made a reservation - our mistake, I didn't realise it would be so popular.

Whilst disappointed that the information hadn't been clear, we ended up happy with our error as the food was amazing! All six courses were divine, especially the cheesecake, and having my first ever vegan croissant was a treat. My non-vegan friends loved it too.

Pros: Truly excellent food, Great atmosphere, not rushed, Good location
runnerdave
runnerdave
3

reviews

  • vegan

Very tasty, classy and well priced

5 Posted on 06 / 04 / 2013

This is a gem of a vegan restaurant. The interior is modern and contemporary. On the menu a well balanced selection of dishes marrying classic burgers with a little more adventurous tastes, all prepared with care.
I would particularly recommend the delicious huge sandwiches available at lunch time. On the menu, the Portobello burger is also succulent. Add to that one of the home made dessert and you won't regret the visit. The orange tart on a frangipane basis was to die for.

Pros: Original and well executed menu, Cosy and modern atmosphere, Great choice of sandwiches and take away
Cons: A bit noisy in the outer section, No alcohol served
carolinedenonlambert
carolinedenonlambert
2

reviews

  • vegan

NIce food.

3 Posted on 06 / 03 / 2013

Food: It is always great to go to a place that has a fully vegan menu; so a totally vegan restaurant is always going to score reasonably high for me. The menu here was quite good. The food was reasonably priced for Paris - expensive for anywhere else. The food was reasonably creative, but a little bit on the plain side. There were meals with cheese and cream substitutes which looked interesting, but I didn't actually try them. I think that they also sold these dairy alternatives in the restaurant.

For starters I had an artichoke dish, which was nice. My friend had a lentil and quinoa salad, which was a bit bland and lacking in vegetables. As she is the fussier eater we swapped because she didn't like hers. For the main course I had a mushroom burger - which turned out to be a big mushroom in a bun and a little bit disappointing. My friend had a tofu and potato masala and although it tasted good it was slightly under seasoned.

The puddings looked great, but I can never manage three courses.

I also had a lovely vegan hot chocolate. My friend ordered a spiced one, but could't taste the spices.

Ambiance and location:
This is an elegant and smart restaurant. We sat in the conservatory overlooking the canal, which was really nice. I liked the location by the canal. It was worth going a little outside of the very central Paris area - and it is only walking distance from the Marais area and a few minutes from the Bastille metro station

Service:
The service was poor. We wondered if it was because we aren't French or were dressed too casually, even though I speak French very well. When we arrived the waiter immediately said that we couldn't stay long because there was a party in two hours time! He limited our choices of where to sit, although I did like the conservatory where we were eventually placed. He then took ages to serve us. We weren't asked about drinks, as usually happens in England. We did order hot chocolates though - but had to remind them about them and they came between the main course and starter. They excused this rather curtly by saying they had been preparing them and when they did come they were warm rather than hot. The main meal, like the starter and drinks, took ages to come. The salad was missing from my meal. We were not offered carafes of water like other tables with French diners, I had to ask for them. It took ages again to grab their attention for the bill and to get their attention so that we could pay.

Pros: All vegan menu., Smart modern decor., location by the canal.
Cons: Slow service
comahony
comahony
9

reviews

  • vegan

Wonderful service and great menu

5 Posted on 05 / 30 / 2013

My husband (non-vegan) and I (vegan) stopped by at about 3pm. We weren't yet hungry for dinner so opted for dessert. I'm so sorry we didn't make it back for dinner! The desserts were so wonderful, esp. the chocolate/vanilla cake. The owner and chef were there and so nice and helpful. Next trip to Paris will definitely include the Gentle Gourmet.

Pros: romantic, spacious, delicious
lachat
lachat
14

reviews

  • vegan

Yummy breakfast!

5 Posted on 05 / 21 / 2013

We had breakfast twice and dinner once at this great vegan restaurant. The food was perfect, the staff very friendly. We also took away sandwiches which were amazing (traditional "ham&cheese" baguette). It's a relaxing place, the service was slow but it was on a weekend where half of the staff was away and we were explained the waiting time beforehand, so very well organised.
Advise to book.

Pros: Vegan croissants&desserts, Amazing sandwiches, Friendly atmosphere
Cons: Slow service
slipandslide
slipandslide
3

reviews

  • vegan

yummy food

4 Posted on 05 / 19 / 2013

One of the few vegan spots I could find in Paris. Respect. Ended up going here twice. The raw lasagna is definitely worth checking out! I would return just for that. The juice selection was a bit weak (so hard to find a green juice in Paris!) BUT the pineapple juice was refreshing and certainly hit the spot and it ain't a juice bar, so I wouldn't judge them for that. The staff was friendly and helpful with translating the menu.

Pros: Vegan in Paris, Raw options , Friendly helpful staff
Cons: not many juice options
Dynamic Duo
Dynamic Duo
6

reviews

  • vegan

Delicious!

4 Posted on 05 / 03 / 2013

We really enjoyed Gentle Gourmet. We had the quinoa and lentil salad which was wonderful and a portobello dish that also had other vegetables and sweet potatoes. Even though we are not usually portobello fans we both loved it. We also had the beignets which are basically deep fried fake cheese balls. One of us (the husband) loved them because he loves cheesy things and the other (the wife) didn't - because she loves to keep things lowfat. So take it for what you will. The fake cheese they use is made of "oils" but no soy - so that was good for us because we have soy allergies - but not so good because it seemed processed (guess which of us is concerned with the processed part :)) Speaking of soy, we were a little limited on the menu because they do use a lot of soy, but there was plenty for us to eat and we were very satisfied. The atmosphere is ok but not great (could use a little lower lighting for the dinner crowd) and it is BYOB, but without a charge, so be sure to bring your own bottle of wine - or get one at the nearby grocery store if you want wine. We recommend you try Gentle Gourmet when in Paris!

Pros: delicious food
Cons: atmosphere not perfect
Mariannes
Mariannes
10

reviews

  • vegan

Awesome food and kind service

5 Posted on 05 / 01 / 2013

My boyfriend and I went there twice last summer and both times, the food was absolutely delish! Still crave their polenta dish yum!


herbivore07
herbivore07
4

reviews

  • vegan

Don't miss it while in Paris

5 Posted on 04 / 29 / 2013

We went here three times on a recent trip to Paris: once just for coffee and croissants (it was amazing to finally have a vegan version of cafe au lait, not to mention incredible croissants!), once for dinner, and once for lunch. For lunch the Paris-Bastille sandwich was so good I'm still craving it. And for dessert we had pain au chocolat fresh out of the oven. I was in heaven finally getting to partake in French food done vegan style! We also had lovely service. The atmosphere isn't as cozy as I'd love to see in a Paris bistro, but it's nice. But that's a small complaint with such delicious food. Definitely don't miss it!


alabidi
alabidi
1

reviews

  • vegetarian

Go

4 Posted on 04 / 28 / 2013

Vegetarian FRENCH cuisine. Subtle but complex flavors that requires you to pay attention to the food. Ask for the sampler, one hot and one cold soup, plus two small salads. BYOB. Supermarche' around the corner on Rue De Lyon
I'd go again. We also liked Ginger Cafe' and Le Pottagier de Marais though not as much and a bit more pricy.

Pros: French Vegetarian , Great service, reasonable price
Krolou
Krolou
9

reviews

  • vegan

Loved it !

4 Posted on 04 / 23 / 2013

I've been there only once - for my birthday - and I loved it !
It is not as fancy as a 3* restaurant (I would definitely love a 3* vegan-restaurant someday !) but it tastes really good and the place is nice.


ProudVegan
ProudVegan
1

reviews

  • vegan

The best!

5 Posted on 03 / 25 / 2013

I went to Gentle Gourmet Cafe on last saturday to have lunch, it was AMAZING!! Nice place, friendly staff, fresh food... And the Seitan Marengo: waouh! Beautiful & tasty.
I asked Caroline & Alexander Where I could eat on Sunday, there's a brunch in this vegan restaurant! So I went back the next day, the brunch was great! Fresh, and not expensive for a VEGAN brunch.
This vegan restaurant is the best place un Paris!

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly staff , Not expensive
runsten
runsten
35

reviews

  • vegan

great first impression but second time...

2 Posted on 03 / 22 / 2013

Great place with great food, but slow service sometimes even though very friendly staff. You must visit this vegan restaurant in Paris, probably one of the best and apparently they have breakfast in the mornings.
Updated from previous review on Thursday July 05, 2012

Pros: atmosphere - no? kind of boring, ?
Cons: service slow and unprofessional, tasteless boring food for a high price, no wine!!!
  • runsten runsten

    I came here again on my vacation in Paris last week. Great disappointment. Expansive and tasteless food. I will defintely remove it from my top 10 list! 32 euro for a starter and a main course? There are to my knowledge at least 5 other much cheaper restaurants which serves high quality food, which you would expect in this restaurant too.

    more-less
Notre-Dame
Notre-Dame
16

reviews

  • vegetarian

Disappointing

2 Posted on 03 / 21 / 2013

I was very disappointed with this restaurant. It is beautiful, clean, comfortable and the menu is very mouth-watering! But we must be very patient to be served, and everyone has not had his orders at the same time. It is not very professional. They do not serve wine, when we are supposed to be in a French restaurant.
There are dreams on paper, but the reality is not up to the expectations. I felt like eating industrial mockmeats, not homemade seitan. The desserts are too simple, too sweet, without creativity. It's pretty pretentious for a result without personality.This is not the level that can be expected, especially as the prices are a bit expensive.

Pros: Good Vive, Friendly Staff, Nice Portions
Cons: Bit expensive, Slow Service, Pretentious
Janet Doe
Janet Doe
6

reviews

  • vegan

Made my day

5 Posted on 03 / 17 / 2013

I've visited the "Gentle Gourmet" a few days ago.
The food was really tasty and the price according to this: ok.
The hosts were very nice and so was the location itself.
At my next journey to Paris I will definatly come again!
Thanks for the great meal :-)

Pros: Very tasty, Nice location, Friendly hosts
Cons: None
veganchocaddict
veganchocaddict
1

reviews

  • vegan

Brunch too expensive; website misleading

2 Posted on 03 / 03 / 2013

There is nothing I can see on the website to prepare you for the price of the Gentle Gourmet brunch. I went there hoping to try a vegan croissant or pain au chocolat (2 euros, according to the website, which is entirely reasonable). Brunch was a whopping, close to incredible, 28 euros, with no option to order from the menu. We didn't stay. Be warned.

Pros: Vegan croissants sound delicious
Cons: Expensive, Misleading website, Really expensive
  • veganchocaddict veganchocaddict

    I think you should at least put the price on the website.

    We walked around for quite some time after leaving and didn't see any brunches at more than 18 euros. Also, while you may not be able to offer a regular menu alongside a brunch, it should be possible to have a pastry and a drink (which takes very little preparation). Many vegan brunch places here in Berlin offer that. Brunches are priced at between 9 and 12 euros here, for comparison. Finally, 28 euros is a fairly extravagant dinner meal in my book. In any case, your response has not made me any more likely to visit gentle gourmet when I am next in Paris. There are plenty of other places which are vegan and do not charge such outrageous prices.

    more-less
  • gentlegourmetcafe gentlegourmetcafe

    Hello,
    On Sundays, and since we opened, we only do brunch on Sunday mornings although croissant and other take-out food is always possible according to availability. No restaurant can offer a relaxed, totally open brunch and regular menu at the same time for obvious logistical reasons. 28 euros for an all you can eat brunch in Paris is the normal price for brunch and if you add it up it is actually a deal unless you are just not hungry. Our food is prepared fresh every day , is all vegan, almost entirely organic, is seasonal and highly into fair trade - sounds like a deal to me!

    more-less
SamanthaCheryl
SamanthaCheryl
5

reviews

  • vegetarian

cute place

3 Posted on 02 / 14 / 2013

So, the decor is super cute, the place is nice and the waitress was friendly. I ordered le fume burger; it was a lot of bread and had a heavy mayo type sauce. The salad was just lettuce and the fries were frozen deep fried fries. Yes, it was vegetarian but I expected it to be a bit more healthy and impressive. The taste was decent.

Pros: atmosphere, location
  • gentlegourmetcafe gentlegourmetcafe

    Hi there, Thank you for visiting us. I thought it important to mention that our fries are fresh and not frozen, our buns are made by France's most awarded organic baker with a recipe he made exclusively for us. Even our creamy "mayo" is entirely home-made - just like almost everything found in the restaurant!

    more-less
DandyLi
DandyLi
1

reviews

  • vegan

Awesome

4 Posted on 02 / 06 / 2013

This place is soo cool! I had starter plate with sample of everything from starters and I loved the mushroom rolls and something with tempeh. Then I had seitan with mashed potatoes and it looked even better than it tasted(but it was delicious). And the best thing:dessert! I don't remember it's name, but it was first one in menu:chocolate and orange cream in between soft batter. And it was soo big. My friend had lemon tartlet and it was too sour for my taste, but still good.
I recommend the place and will go there again.

Pros: stylish place, visual appearance of food, taste
ksushone
ksushone
2

reviews

  • vegan

Paris is not vegan

3 Posted on 01 / 29 / 2013

It's really very difficult to find any vegetarian place in Paris. Especially when you are looking for vegan or even raw place.
Gentle Gourmet Cafe was quite good, vegan (!), but not gourmet.

Pros: friendly staff, vegan in non vegan Paris
Cons: a long wait, not gourmet
  • Zmeika Zmeika

    gentlegourmetcafe, do not mistake people!!!
    A Gourmet is a Connoisseur of fine food. That's it. Nothing to do with a gentle way of eating.

    Do you have a home made bread? Or smth really special apart from calling your food organic? I didn't taste anything organic and I payed a lot for a tasteless burger and raw lasagna.

    more-less
  • gentlegourmetcafe gentlegourmetcafe

    Hello! The word Gourmet in our gentle Gourmet name actually refers to the people who come to our cafe. A gourmet is a person who likes good food that is well prepared, whether it be simple or fancy and a gentle gourmet refers to all our guests who eat "gently" that is respectfully by refraining from food that comes from other beings. Hope your time in Paris was fun! Deborah owner of the Gentle Gourmet and president of the Paris Vegan Day festival

    more-less
Jneny ...
Jneny ...
3

reviews

  • vegan

ok

2 Posted on 01 / 18 / 2013

Ordering was somewhat confusing and we ended up wildly combining different parts of different menus and finally were served with different plates consecutively. But thus could taste a variety. Since I hitherto could just walk and pass by pining all the beautiful Crêpe stands in Paris, I was really looking forward to our first: Chocolate Crêpe. But what a disappointment! The dough was generally good, but completely filled with cream (Why on earth?!) Namely decorative but not tasty, on top sprinkled with cheap sugar chocolate sauce. The whole thing was served cold. No joy. Likewise cold was the coffee. And then the shock: French Toast! Initially did not even fit the basic ingredients: We had fresh wholemeal slides of baguette soaked with cream. But worst of all: it tasted 100% like whatever had been previously on the hotplate. And that was definitely something hearty. And nothing, its flavor should dominate my Pain perdu. Buhuu. The croissant (totally dried up) and the separately dished up rest of baguette with grains came along with various jams and were OK.


MorganPrive
MorganPrive
1

reviews

  • vegan

The BEST vegan spot in Paris !

5 Posted on 01 / 18 / 2013

If you are a vegan travelling in Paris, Gentle Gourmet Cafe is the restaurant you should visit first.
Lots of meals, very large choice, adorable team etc etc.

If you like bio, natural and ethical food, just try !

Pros: Friendly Staff, Excellent Food, Large choice
mononoke
mononoke
6

reviews

  • vegan

vegan paris

3 Posted on 01 / 05 / 2013

on our 3 day in paris we went to the gentle gourmet cafe. we ordered two different kind of burger menus and one starter, "faux fois gras with mushrooms", which we share.
the food was good but not gourmet. the starter was cold and more like a mushroom dumpling which is okay but we expected more.

we didnt like the furnishing but the staff was really nice but a little bit slow.

Pros: friendly staff
Cons: furnishing
gracep
gracep
21

reviews

  • vegan

So good

5 Posted on 12 / 07 / 2012

I wrote a huge review with details of just how great this restaurant is. Then the stupid site timed out and erased it all. It was over 2,000 characters long and had so much information about my experience with this great restaurant. Because of that, I'll just say this: this restaurant is the best of any vegan place I've been to in Paris. The food is fresh, innovative, artistic, and delicious. The staff can speak English and are helpful, accommodating, and friendly. I want to go back and so far it's the only Parisian vegan place I can say that about with certainty. Give it a try. You ti

Pros: Nice staff, BEST FOOD, Convenient location
Guest
Guest

Classy and delicious

5 Posted on 11 / 04 / 2012

A fresh outlook on vegan food. The breakfast was amazing, sandwich and burger pretty good. Should've tried something a bit more out of the box, because that's what they seem to excel at here.

Pros: Classy interior, English spoken well
Saddler
Saddler
20

reviews

  • vegetarian

Great....for Paris

4 Posted on 11 / 03 / 2012

My wife, who is vegan, and I had dinner there on a Saturday evening in November. Trade was brisk but the place was never quite full. Almost all those present were English speaking, which perhaps indicates, as ever in Paris, that most vegetarians are tourists. The cafe is smart and had a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were helpful, very friendly and they spoke English very well, when required. The menu had genuine choice without being too long to make one suspicious and, since we knew they did not serve alcohol, we took our own wine, which actually made the meal much cheaper than if we had had to buy a bottle there. I think our bill 62 euros, which for Paris is not bad for two, three-course meals.

So, there is a lot to be pleased about. On the down side, we did not feel that the food was "gourmet" as many of the other reviewers felt. In our book, burger and chips (french fries) are not gourmet; two of the choices on the menu were versions of that dish. Not that there is much better elsewhere in Paris and the food was by no means bad (the desserts were excellent) but it is just that the experience could be so much better with relatively little extra effort. They have a wonderful place; now let's have some real innovation in the cooking.

Overall then, the Gentle Gourmet is highly recommended if you are in Paris; you will not find anything better. And if the owners are reading - just push the menu a little harder.

Pros: Everything vegan, Atmosphere, Service
Cons: Food not so exciting
JDH
JDH
10

reviews

  • vegan

Yummy Yummy

5 Posted on 11 / 03 / 2012

Excellent gourmet style food.

Ate twice here on recent trip and they didn't disappoint either time. Wonderful salads and crepes.

Try the hot chocolate too.

Pros: Excellent food , Decent service, Hot chocolate
Cons: No booze
Phoegan12
Phoegan12
11

reviews

  • vegan

Perfect birthday

4 Posted on 10 / 17 / 2012

Went for borthday breakfast- had chpcolate & strawbery crepes with cream which was yum, then a beautiful fruit salad with figs, apples grapes, cranberrys, orange, & bought a vegan crossiant from their pattisserie - i was the first buyer, bit into it & tastebuds sang it had chocolate on the inside & melted in your mouth & i felt healthIer eating it without all the cholestrol, butter, eggs etc invading it-( the wash is usually done with egg white in non vegan but the cafe have them specially made with a sugar wash. Went back at 10:30pm thst night & had a subway type roll which was delicious & tucked into a chocolate tart which i enjoyed thoroughly. Really nice cafe, waiter & chef speaks english, friendly, but bit expensive although good value.

Pros: Wonderful food good quality, Nice interior, Friendly staff
Cons: Abit expensive
Veggiebrookie
Veggiebrookie
9

reviews

  • fruititarian

vegan gourmet at it's best!

5 Posted on 10 / 02 / 2012

This place is wonderful. Fantastic service. Fantastic food - could hardly even tell it was vegan! Not super healthy but not unhealthy at all. There was an English menu and the staff were extremely helpful. Dessert was beautiful too! moderately priced - big portions so its worth it. easy to find. Just go there if you're in Paris

Pros: Delicious food, Great service
Cons: bit noisy when very busy
Senkenberg
Senkenberg
19

reviews

  • vegan

Top Class

5 Posted on 09 / 26 / 2012

Went here in early September. This was the best meal, in the nicest locale, of our stay in Paris. The feel of the place is up-market - a good choice to impress your date or to go with colleagues. The food was absolutely excellent - in particular my starter which was a salad with some kind of Breton themed vegan cheese balls deep fried in a cider batter - amazing!. Main course was tasty and sophisticated; my sweet was pancakes with fruit and whipped cream - pancake texture could perhaps have been a fraction lighter, but still lovely - and all 100% vegan. It's also BYOB. There's a bistro section of the menu for lighter meals, including the mushroom burger, but my advice would be to try something more interesting than a burger when you have the chance. All in all well worthwhile and it will be the 1st place we go back to next time we are in Paris.

Pros: Ambience, Classy Food
Cons: None
RafaelCardoso
RafaelCardoso
3

reviews

  • vegan

Awesome!

5 Posted on 09 / 11 / 2012

I went there not expecting much from this restaurant, by what I had read in other reviews. But when I got there, it was amazing to me. I hadn`t made ​​a reservation (because I didn`t know that was necessary) and I arrived 10 minutes before the kitchen closing time.. and even then, they let me in. And with a very attentive and kind service!
About the food, it was delicious, divine. I ate a vegan burger with mushroons, a very varied salad and French fries.
I was in a hurry at the moment, so, to dessert I did not pay much attention to the rest of the menu, which was huge. Thus, I ended up just asking an ice cream. I said to the waiter "This one. Chocolate ice cream. One ball". And he brought to me an enormous and delicious ice cream with much more then one ball, and with raspberry sauce and cherries over it. It was fantastic! The best place I ever ate in Paris.
I strongly recommend it for everyone, to go to at least once.

Pros: Lovely food, kind service, good price for the place
Cons: really, nothing
ruzette
ruzette
8

reviews

  • vegan

excellent !

5 Posted on 09 / 05 / 2012

An excellent and fine vegan restaurant in Paris.
I had the three course menu and it was all delicious. The fake-cheese bouchées were very smooth and tasty. Very good texture ! I had then a polenta and grilled-veggies, and the desert was simply amazing : a creme brulée, with cherry purée and spices.
The waiter was very kind and the decoration of the restaurant is quite elegant.
A very good impression ! We'll go back surely !

Pros: excellent food, organic products, friendly staff
littleblackcat
littleblackcat
1

reviews

  • vegan

fantastic!

5 Posted on 09 / 04 / 2012

best vegan food I have had in paris, wonderful and attentive service, lovely atmosphere. our waiter was so apologetic for the 'long wait' for our main course that he offered us free drinks, however the wait was only 15 minutes at that! then the chef gave me extra for my meal which was very thoughtful (although unnecessary as portions are generous). very well priced considering the standard of the food and service. also, free tap water without asking for it is always appreciated.

I can't recommend this place enough. hoping to go back for the lunch menu in a few days.

Pros: lovely food, very good service, good portions
Cons: quite hot/no fans or AC
maweni
maweni
6

reviews

  • vegetarian

Outstanding Gourmet Experience!!!

5 Posted on 09 / 03 / 2012

The food and ambiance are excellent at this restaurant! There is a lot of variety to the menu and the quality of the food is superb! Best food experience in Paris! The slightly expensive pricing is well worth it!

Pros: Outstanding Food, Excellent Vegan Gourmet Cuisine, Great location
Mad Hatter
Mad Hatter
9

reviews

  • vegan

Really disappointing

2 Posted on 08 / 31 / 2012

After reading all these great reviews I was so excited to eat there, I imagined it to be a real gourmet restaurant but what we got wasn't even mediocre.
The atmosphere is really nice, the stuff is slow but friendly but we went there at a bad day and they told us, that only 4 (!) meals are available because they couldn't prepare the others. There was no meal I would consider to fit in a "gourmet" restaurant.
We chose 2 burgers, what isn't really gourmet food but I really hoped that it will be something special.
My moms burger was really a like a bad joke, just a bun with 2 portabellas and very little sauce and onions, some french fries and bit lettuce. The portabellas tasted strange, a bit bitter and the consistancy wasn't as usual. The french fries where not crunchy at all and the salad dressing was bitter, too. Please imagin that we payed 14€ for that!
I had the same salad and frenh fries, but my burger was better, not really tasty because they do not use that many spices, but okay. It was made with lentils, so the petty was soft just like mashed lentils with some onions, mushrooms (that tasted strange, too), homemade nut-cheese and a tomatoe. The cheese was really good and tasty, but over all it was disappointing and not worth the price.
We got free wather to our meal what is great in general, but it had a very strong chemical-plastic taste, so I couldn't drink it.
I really wanted to like that restaurant, but I can't, maybe our worst experiance in Paris.

Pros: ambience, completly vegan
Cons: food, prices, not gourmet at all
michel_vegetarian
michel_vegetarian
1

reviews

  • vegetarian

Good dinner

4 Posted on 08 / 26 / 2012

This restaurant is very class with very various and tasty meal. You can ask for suggestions or principle of each plate. I recommend it for those who want ti know new or different meal.

Pros: healthy cuisine, excellent food
CLOE VEG
CLOE VEG
1

reviews

  • vegan

THE PLACE TO BE

5 Posted on 08 / 26 / 2012

The Gentle Gourmet cafe is the place to be in Paris for all people who love sophistaced food and no matter if you are vegan or not cause every one should appreciate fresh vegatables and home made dishes.Their cook should tickle your taste buds for sure ! remember the adress and book a table the staff speaks english :-)


braddersfromtheblock
braddersfromtheblock
8

reviews

  • vegan

Great review, great food

4 Posted on 08 / 25 / 2012

We ate at the Gentle Gourmet while on holiday. It far exceeded our expectations. Very upmarket & tasteful decor, yet despite this service was very attentive and friendly and the prices reasonable. It's not super cheap - about mid price with most mains around €15. There's no wine list but you can BYOB and there is a great selection of organic soft drinks.

The food was fab. We both had the burger with chips and it was so good. The attention to detail and expertise of the chef was evident, as was the obvious high quality of the ingredients. Would definitely eat here again when next in Paris - highly recommended.

Pros: Excellent food, Good atmosphere & decor, Good service
Daffodilpie
Daffodilpie
1

reviews

  • vegan

Amazing experience

5 Posted on 08 / 16 / 2012

I am a GF Vegan, I do not speak French and was dining alone, I can not express how amazing the restaurant, service, food was. I highly recommend it to everyone. They went out of their way for me with my gluten intolerance and inability to speak French.

I absolutely loved it and will be going back

Pros: Brillant food, Very friendly staff, Great prices
Zmeika
Zmeika
31

reviews

  • vegan

Need Chef's Ramsays kick

2 Posted on 08 / 06 / 2012

Well, I even don' know from where to start. Food looks great on the pictures, but what takes to get it!
I went to this elegant place with my bf to celebrate smth personal. We chose this resto spontaneously. When we arrived there were only 3 tables occupied. But unfortunately for us, most of the tables were reserved. Then, the waiter brought us the menu....when we asked him (?!). After half an hour we received our meals. The bread arrived when we finished them. Then, we ordered 1 dessert....but after another 40 min of waiting we decided to leave. The waiter (a poor guy) seemed to be completely lost with the orders, new guest arrivals, etc..
There were orders waiting on his desk, he was picking them up after 10 min. For the price that we paid for an average burger and average tofu with soft drinks (40 euros) we were shoked. Bored we were watching the other tables, the guests seemed to be confused, a waiter was briging the orders without even checking if there are cutlery on the table!
Indeed there was noooooooo air conditioning, CRAZY! We spent like 2h in the sauna. Very disappointed.

Pros: Location
Cons: Service, Price, Limited menu
Tatifrydman
Tatifrydman
1

reviews

  • vegetarian

Excellent food and amazing experience!

5 Posted on 08 / 03 / 2012

I went to dinner in Gentle Gourmet with a non-vegan friend and we both loved it! It's restaurant that vegans and non-vegans can enjoy and appreciate! The staff was very friendly and we liked the ambiance (sofisticated, better than the most of the vegetarian/vegan restaurants).
As a entrée, we split a delicious lasagne cru (a raw lasagne)!!! To the main dish I ate the "ode au potager" and I loved the seitan w. the champignons sauce!!! Everything was rich and flavorful!!! My friend ate a lentil burger with champignons and caramelized onions, f. fries and salad au vinagrete. She said her food was delicious too!
For the dessert, we split a chocolate gateau and we loved it! My friend said: "WOW! How could they make it without egg and milk?!"!!!! hehehe
It was an amazing experience! We recommend!

Pros: excellent food, service, ambient
Triskel18
Triskel18
1

reviews

  • vegan

The Parisian Reference For Veg Food Lovers!

5 Posted on 07 / 30 / 2012

Living in Paris, I'm used to eat in all the veg* restaurants and I must admit.... That the Gentle Gourmet is a stand out compared with all the places!
Imagine a very pretty restaurant, "classe" but not showing off!
Imagine fresh food, from appetizers to desserts, perfectly seasoned, flavorful, delicate, very well presented and each of good size ;) I'm an organic veg, so I do appreciate also the fact that most ingredients are organic.
I came for several occasions with both vegans and non-vegans friends and they did enjoy what they ate, which is a very important thing according to me to promote veganism.
Cherry on the cake, the people running it are warm, very friendly, and it's always a great pleasure to exchange with them!
I'm quite surprise reading some reviews... Anyway, if you want to spend a real gourmet and friendly moment, this is the place to go!!!

Pros: excellent food, unique vegan choices, wonderful staff
Cons: reservation adviced for, WE diners and Brunch, because of its success
VeJo
VeJo
32

reviews

  • vegan

VEGAN CROISSANTS!!!

5 Posted on 07 / 23 / 2012

I can't make much sense of some of the other reviews of this restaurant, except to say that this place has only been open for 2 months, so might have had some teething troubles. My husband and I were so impressed with our dinner at Gentle Gourmet that we came back the next morning for breakfast (il y a 8 ans depuis je mange croissants!! a real treat). Had this been the first place we'd gone to in Paris, I would have said it was expensive, but it just is expensive to eat out in Paris, and Gentle Gourmet was comparatively good value for money in that context. We ordered the Tarte Tartin Tomate and a salad that had vegetale and nut cheeses. Both were absolutely lovely, and a very good size for entrées (perhaps the reviewer who thought the portions too small mistook "entrée" for "main", as they do in some parts of the world). For the main dish we ordered the lasagne and polenta. The polenta was a standout; the lasagne was a raw lasagne -- good, but I've had better. Unfortunately we were too full to order dessert.

The next morning for breakfast: croissants and bread with fruit and coffee ("noissette", with soy milk). I was in heaven. And did I mention that they serve vegan croissants?!!

The staff were very nice and helpful, and the atmosphere pleasant. It was a standout compared with all the other places we ate in Paris.

Pros: Lovely food, good ambiance, friendly staff
dgross
dgross
3

reviews

  • mostly-vegetarian

Great food!

5 Posted on 07 / 22 / 2012

Had a wonderful lunch at Gentle Gourmet. This is a gourmet vegetarian restuarant that will be appreciated by both vegans and non-vegans. I chose the special of the day and was very pleased. The brown mushroom sauce on the seitan was rich and flavorful. Also on the plate were baby potatoes with chantrelle mushrooms litely seasoned and a medley of steamed baby vegetables provided a good contrast. The restuarant is easy to find along the canal located in a pleasant neighborhood. You must bring your own wine but the staff can direct you to a nearby market to purchase wine or beer.

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff
udi_wahr
udi_wahr
2

reviews

  • vegan

A vegan diner

2 Posted on 07 / 17 / 2012

This is an average vegan diner. Most of the food is mock meat and cheese, not very interesting, does not justify the price at all. Above all the service was slow, it took at least 90 minutes since we arrived until we got the main course. We were almost first there and saw everyone else get their food before us. It got so late that we didn't stay for dessert, though we ordered one.


dkinjer
dkinjer
19

reviews

  • mostly-vegetarian

Nicely prepared food

4 Posted on 07 / 09 / 2012

We ate here two times - one time just me and my spouse, the other with a daughter and her companion. The first time was a late lunch. Unlike some other veggie or vegan places we tried in Paris, that run out of food by 2:30 pm and won't have a refill until dinner (if they open for dinner), The Gentle Gourmet had a full menu. Lunch and dinner are practically the same menu. The food was nicely prepared - not the usual veggie stews or vegetable pies, but more gourmet, though my spouse selected the burger for lunch. I had delicately breaded tofu with lightly steamed vegetables, which included the little whole carrots that you see in the markets there. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The food was all very tasty. The portions are quite small, though, especially considering the price. When we came for dinner, I had a dish that was called lasagna from summer squash with cashew ricotta. It turned out to be a cold dish prepared with thinly sliced yellow zucchini with layers of cashew ricotta and cooked cherry tomatoes. Very creative, very tasty, quite small. Other dishes ordered were also very nice. We appreciated the upscale cooking style (not the typical rustic veggie or vegan stuff), the creativity of the dishes, tasty food, etc. But the prices are quite high, so be prepared, and unless you are ready to spend a small fortune, you will not come out stuffed. There was one service mishap - my spouse ordered a soup (cucumber avocado - very nice cold soup) and a main. Everyone else just a main (and then some of us had dessert). They asked if they want everyone's main brought with the soup and we said yes. They did so, but then forgot that my spouse also ordered a main, so it arrived much later. Oh, and the service is quite slow - perhaps a result of the carefully designed food.

Pros: upscale, gourmet, tasty, pleasant staff
Cons: expensive, small portions, slow
vegan frog
vegan frog
124

reviews

  • vegan

Excellent food!

5 Posted on 07 / 07 / 2012

My husband and I visited the Gentle Gourmet twice during our short stay in Paris in June. We first went for their excellent brunch. At 16 Euros, it was great value to have croissants, baguette and vegan butter and chocolate spread, hot chocolate and coffee, tasty seitan and tofu dishes and fruit salad. The presentation was excellent and the manager was very knowledgeable in the food prep and ingredients. Most ingredients are also organic and that's a real bonus. The manager is fluent in French and English. We went back the next night with omnivores who really enjoyed their meals. The portions are generous and very well presented. Long live Gentle Gourmet!

Pros: Great service, Vegan croissants!, Menu changes monthly
gonga
gonga
6

reviews

  • vegetarian

no bad

4 Posted on 07 / 07 / 2012

Had dinner there 2 weeks ago. New location near the San Martin canal. Food is tastly but not exceptional.
I like the face that the menu is truely vegan, but I'm not of the school that thinks that a vegan meal has to include mock meat substitues such as saitan, tofu, tempeh and other types of processed gluten or soy. A delicious and nutriutions meal can be prepared from just fruit, vegetables, grains and various legumes. I don's see the need to pretend I'm eating dead animal organs. I catually prefer not to feel that way.

Pros: Tasty, good service, location
Cons: over emphasis on mock meat, a bit expensive
vegetariangirl
vegetariangirl
84

reviews

  • vegan

amazing brunch!

5 Posted on 06 / 26 / 2012

My husband and I had the big breakfast. It came with a breadbasket & croissant with jams, juice (or fruit salad), savory dish (it was a seitan and veg stir fry with salad), a sweet plate (it was amazing French toast and fruit cup), hot beverage (including hot chocolate). All for $16 euro each. Great value in Paris, delicious and nice space.

Pros: vegan breakfast, nice space , vegan croissants
ukitrain
ukitrain
1

reviews

  • vegetarian

Best french dining experience ever!

5 Posted on 06 / 26 / 2012

Imagine experiencing french gourmet food and not feeling that you will be inundated with meat and cheese. Now imagine eating the finest ecological (organic) vegetables and fruits executed to perfection. There is something for everyone, from perfectly seasoned salads to delectable croissants and pastries. The food is delicious, the people running it are kind and yet at the same time passionate about the tremendous undertaking they have taken in shaking up french culinary history. If you are in Paris, do not miss this amazing experience!

Pros: excellent food, unique vegan options, wonderful staff
Ged
Ged
9

reviews

  • vegan

Excellent!

5 Posted on 06 / 24 / 2012

Excellent food and service. Good location near Bastille. Reasonably priced. Super friendly service. Creative menu. Fantastic choice of desserts. An absolute must visit for anyone with discerning taste. A vegan's paradise.

Pros: Tasty food, Great service, Good portions
salinaks
salinaks
1

reviews

  • vegan

Simply the best

5 Posted on 06 / 16 / 2012

Exceptional quality: for breakfast, the chocolate crepe is mouth-watering and feather light; superb croissant and muesli with dried fruits in almond milk - heaven. At lunch and dinner, the galette was airy light (though perhaps too much 'cheese'); a potato salad where you can actually taste the potatoes - and nicely balanced seasoning; the sandwiches (tofu, vegetable) are excellent; but ABOVE ALL two desserts to die for: apricot tart with almond ice cream and chocolate cake. Both more or less melt on the way to your mouth. Staff are warm and accommodating (choose your own vegetables for a smoothie). Exceptional value for money - but then everything is to one based in London. Move over RFD in Los Angeles. This vegan gem is simply the best.

Pros: extraordinary food, super-friendly staff, value for money
summersun15
summersun15
4

reviews

  • vegan

So nice!

5 Posted on 06 / 16 / 2012

First of all, the hours listed for this place are not correct as far as I know. We got there around 4:30 and were told that the restaurant didn't open until 6. So I'm not sure what the hours are, but it's not open all day.

That being said, when we arrived (after a long day and no lunch) people were outside cleaning up, and we asked what time they opened. We were ready to leave, but one of the waitresses invited us in for something to eat even though they weren't actually open!!! It was so nice and we really appreciated it.

We got sandwiches, which were very delicious and cost about 10 euros (not cheap, but not a bad deal for Paris). My sister (who is not vegan) said it was the best vegan meal she'd had in Paris, which is saying a lot for a sandwich. We also got a chocolate cake for dessert, which was fine, but it sounds like they have a lot of nice desserts, so maybe try one of those.

Pros: amazing service, delicious food, friendly staff
Cons: price
Greenyellow
Greenyellow
1

reviews

  • vegetarian

Gentle Gourmet Cafe

5 Posted on 06 / 13 / 2012

Ma fille et moi avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à dîner au Gentle Gourmet Cafe, un cadre très agréable et le service aimable et accueillant, les plats sont au premier coup d'oeil magnifiquement mis en valeur, plein de couleurs, et joliment mis en forme, et on se régale d'avance .. plaisir confirmé , plein de saveurs et tout est frais .Nous reviendrons avec plaisir dans ce lieu très prometteur, et qui fait découvrir à ceux qui ne connaissent pas encore, une cuisine végétale toute en finesse et épicurienne tout à la fois.


Vegan4animals
Vegan4animals
1

reviews

  • vegan

Gentle Gourmet Cafe

4 Posted on 06 / 11 / 2012

J'attendais l'ouverture avec impatience et je fus ravi. Le lieu est très classe et la nourriture, bien définit comme ''bistrot gourmet'', est très bonne. L'équipe entièrement vegan est accueillante et chaleureuse. J'y retournerai régulièrement car leur menu est mensuel.

Pros: Friendly vegan staff, Good bistrot cuisine, Nice place
Cons: No alcohol
Bow
Bow
17

reviews

  • vegan

Disappointing

3 Posted on 06 / 09 / 2012

I really want this place to succeed. Paris could really use a place like this. I was so excited to hear about it, and after reading the reviews my expectations were high. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to them. It's not bad - but it's not great either.
The ambiance is great and the place looks classy. The toilets are down a narrow staircase on which someone else slipped, not good if you have mobility problems. The menu was somewhat limited, not helped by the fact that several dishes were unavailable. The food we had was quite good - not amazing, but decent. I had a savoury galette which was rich but tasty. However, I was disappointed that it lacked the promised salad it should come with and that other diners had received. I like salad and had ordered an additional salad; it was very ornately presented, but drowning in dressing. Rather than offsetting the richness of my dish, it added to it and left me feeling queasy. My co-diner had a "croque monsieur" which he described as two pieces of toast with vegan cheese and ham inside - tasty, but not a "croque monsieur" as such. We finished off with chocolate crepes which were quite nice but needed more oomph.
What really let this place down was the service. After we were seated, we were completely ignored. After about five minutes I had to call the waitress over to ask if we could actually see the menu! She then cleaned our table (still dirty from the previous diners) before bringing the menu. We were given a jug of water, but had to ask again to get glasses to drink it. The biggest problem was that our food did not come at the same time. My main course arrived first; my co-diner's side dish came about 6 minutes later; his main course another 4 minutes later; and my salad about 12 minutes after my main dish. A 10 minute gap between serving the meals of two people sat together is unacceptable. I waited for him and mine had gone cold by the time his arrived. They did not apologise. I saw that all the other diners had the same experience, suggesting that this is normal practice here. They never laid the table properly and brought our cutlery out after our food.
They did bring us a couple of small free tasters of things, which was a nice touch. But overall, this was an expensive meal that was ruined by poor service, a limited menu and food that was less good than other places we have eaten in Paris. I hope this is just teething problems, but I doubt we'll go back to find out.

Pros: All vegan, Galettes and crepes, Nice ambiance
Cons: Food arrived at different times, Poor service, Food not that great
vegvet
vegvet
1

reviews

  • vegan

Beautiful Cafe

5 Posted on 06 / 07 / 2012

My friend and I ate here for dinner last week, and will definitely return the next time we're in Paris. The location is great (very easy to find), the cafe itself is beautiful, and the outdoor seating area was perfect for people watching.

As they just opened a few weeks ago, an English menu was not available, but the staff took the time to explain every dish to us in detail.

We both opted for salads, and they were incredible. The portions were generous, and they were plated beautifully. We had the rhubarb tart for dessert, and it was delicious.

I'd definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Paris.

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff, great location
AnnFromIllinois
AnnFromIllinois
32

reviews

  • vegan

A Paris MUST

5 Posted on 06 / 02 / 2012

Wow, an upscale vegan Paris restaurant! This is a trendy place in a central spot near the bastille. Atmosphere is elegant, service is wonderful and the food outstanding. If you live in Paris, become regulars. If you are visiting, don't miss it.

Pros: Atmosphere, Decor, Service
  • Carovegan Carovegan

    Thank you for your review. Our vegan staff loves to read that :)

    We hope to see you again.

    Take care,

    more-less
christiaan
christiaan
2

reviews

  • vegetarian

wonderful breakfast

5 Posted on 05 / 28 / 2012

Me and my friend had a wonderful breakfast in this all-vegan restaurant. A 12-euro-formula had everything a good breakfast needs: fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, butter and jam, a small but delicious tofu-seitan dish, a french toast, juice and a hot drink. Everything looked and tasted fresh.
For our hot chocolate we even could choose between 3 types of milk!
It was worth every penny.

The menu for lunch and dinner also looked great, full of not-ordinary creations. When I'm in Paris again sometime I'll definitely return!

Pros: High quality food, Friendly staff
  • Carovegan Carovegan

    Thank you for your review. I work at Gentle Gourmet Café and everyone is very touched with your kind words. We hope to see you again.
    Take care,

    more-less

 

This business supports the service that HappyCow provides :o)

 

If you are the Owner of a listing on this site, we invite you to join our highly successful Priority Friend program today. click for details >>

 

Close

Dear Owner and Manager of Gentle Gourmet Cafe:


While your business is currently a free listing on HappyCow, there is so much more we can do to further promote your business to the millions who visit this site every year.

Enjoy more...

Here's how you can take advantage of HappyCow's Internet popularity:

Your sponsorship will keep the HappyCow service strong on the Internet. Thank you.

Close

 

Last updated: 2014/04/22

 

Added: 2012/04/14

 

Added by: Guest

 

Close