Specify specify specify
Posted on 12 / 06 / 2012
Turkish people have a hard time undestanding what a vegan is, i know this because im a turkish vegan and my parents are confused by it even after a year of being vegan. Fortunately, a lot of appetizers, especially those with olive oil are safe. For example, fried eggplant, hummus, fried peppers, grape leaves (the cold kind not the hot kind), babaganoush, piyaz (white bean salad), lentil soup, and falafel, are almost always vegan.
Be careful of the rice, turkish people tend to cook theirs with chicken stock, so ask first. I ordered the spinach/feta pita, with no feta and NO butter on the crust. I also specified no butter or egg in the spinach mixture. The spinach mixture had chopped onion and other veggies and was on fresh baked pita. Kind of like a spinach pizza. It was yummy
can eat most appetizers
must ask questions, must specify