mfenlaw's review of CLOSED: Tree House Pastry Shop and Cafe from Monday, April 07, 2008 - 19268"/>

Responses to mfenlaw's Review

Respond to Review of CLOSED: Tree House Pastry Shop and Cafe
by mfenlaw

Review: My fiance and I made an appt for a cake tasting at the Tree House recently. When we arrived, we were presented with a plate of two dry, stale cupcakes (devil's food and white) out of their display case, along with dollops of three "fillings" including basic raspberry jam (like out of a jar) and thick, pasty buttercream to try with the cakes. The staff completely ignored us throughout the tasting, and when we finally gave up and walked over to the counter to get someone's attention, were simply asked "Are you ready?" without an opportunity to inquire about all the flavors we'd been told would be options when we made the appt. We paid for the cupcakes (yes, they even made us pay for the two stale cupcakes) and left. We represented a potential several-hundred dollar order for them, and they didn't even seem to care! Do yourself a favor and take your wedding business elsewhere.


Posted by JohnnySensible on Friday, February 22, 2013
This is a great example of why HappyCow must forget about "anonymity"!

Follow the lead of Facebook guys!

Posted by treehouse on Friday, February 22, 2013
Dear mfenlaw,

I regret that you had a bad experience at Tree House. What you describe is certainly unacceptable and is not how we do business at Tree House. In fact, more than 95% of our tastings result in cake orders.

We always make samples fresh for the tastings that we offer, and never serve items that have been put on display. We never charge for tastings, either. We provide prospective cakes clients with drinks as well as the samples we offer.

I'm sorry, too that you didn't enjoy the buttercream. Yours is the first complaint we've had. The organic raspberry jam--which we use exclusively at Tree House--is a wonderful, locally-made product from Corrales, New Mexico.

Although we are willing to spend as much time with prospective clients as is requested--usually a half hour to 45 minutes with each couple--we've found that many couples do enjoy having some time to themselves to discuss their options and talk about their desires. We respect people's need for privacy and give them all they need. When couples are 'ready', we return to the table to discuss their decisions and answer any questions they have.

I'd like you to know that we do care, as we enjoy being a part of the wonderful occasions that weddings are.

Again, I'm sorry that your experience was not a good one. I wish that you had discussed with me your concerns while at the cafe--I would have done what I could to correct the errors you describe.

Please contact me at the cafe with your receipt, and I will certainly refund what you were charged for the tasting.

You must login to post a response

Login | Register (see member benefits)