Review: I've upgraded to 5 stars now that I've learned that bee products are off the menu. :-) Kudos to the sistas!
Visiting from San Diego with family members, I was eager to eat at a 100% vegan restaurant, which was what I assumed from the restaurant's name and its (former) "Vegan" listing on HappyCow.
To my surprise, bee products were on the menu. When I pointed this out to the kind, mature waitress, she said it was a good thing I mentioned it so that she didn’t serve me anything else with those items in it (which made me wonder about the smoothie I was already drinking).
After an otherwise tasty meal, I spoke with one of the “Sistas” to let her know that bee products weren’t vegan. She said she had read they were "healthy."
Naturally, I eat at vegan restaurants so I don’t have to ask or worry about animal ingredients. But after a month, their menu has not changed. I'm hoping the recent downgrade to "Vegetarian" status on HappyCow will convince the sisters to eliminate bee products.
I wish them all the luck in the world as their hearts are in the right place.
Updated from previous review on Friday November 01, 2013
Updated from previous review on Wednesday August 27, 2014
Hello Mike, we understand your concern and know that bee products are not considered completely vegan by some. Clearly, bees are an animal. But, did you know that there are countless vegan communities around the world who accept bee products as vegan? Bee products added to the vegan diet has been a point of controversy for quite some time. There are even a number of well-respected vegan nutritionists such as David Wolfe who embrace bee products. I am just using this information to point out that there are some in the vegan community who use bee products and some who don't. We respect both groups of vegans and respectfully call both groups 'vegan'. There are only 3 other vegan establishments in Memphis, and (from my experience) we all have honey in our restaurants. And, another thing that we all have in common is that we will leave the honey out of an order when it is requested- because we understand that people are at different levels. This is what we did when we found out that you did not want any honey. We used date syrup and stevia in your order instead. So, in closing, I just wanted to clarify why we call restaurant vegan, that we are not the only vegan restaurant that uses honey, and also that we leave honey out of orders when requested. We really don't use honey that often and may consider leaving it off the menu one day, but we just don't see it as a problem since we don't use it for those who don't want it. Thanks for your positive feedback- just didn't want you to think that we were forcing honey on people.
You must login to post a response
(see member benefits