Responses to vegini's Review

Respond to Review of Sublime Restaurant and Bar
by vegini

Review: Unhealthy food, sugar, and bad service. I got sick last time I went. I'll never go again. Updated from previous review on Sunday July 04, 2010

Responses

jglackin
Posted by jglackin on Tuesday, November 2, 2010
What is funny is that I now get the pleasure of you following me around to all of my reviews and spewing your vitriol because you have somehow gotten your feelings hurt.

Get a life, Lamelizard.

kindlizard
Posted by kindlizard on Tuesday, November 2, 2010
just see a pattern of inappropriate reviews, not really following you as you call it. This site needs review moderation, and if I want to point out the faults w abusers like you, I will do it. Why not talk about the food instead of me (other than lack of kale, of course)? Name-calling is not appropriate either. Use your words instead.
kindlizard
Posted by kindlizard on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
again, your claims have gone far beyond bizarre. a place that donates all proceeds to animal welfare is like mcds? you are gone. they have healthy food there. like anywhere, you have to know how to order. if you order the processed food, and want fresh, then you are the idiot and it is your fault, not theirs. S Fl has no real vegan places except this place.
kindlizard
Posted by kindlizard on Friday, February 22, 2013
wow, an updated review from hate to loathing. Why would yo go back, or did yo just feel the urge to spew more vitriolic nonsense at charitable animal activists? Do you work at another veg cafe nearby? You know there is room for more than one locally , don't you? The entire reason you signed up on this site is to hate on Sublime. Issues.
kindlizard
Posted by kindlizard on Friday, February 22, 2013
Well coming from someone who added PF Changs to the website, and claims this place is too oily and no kale, I must be wrong here. Your contribution of a non-vegan-friendly CHAIN cafe is so great to this site, we should all stop to listen to your defending these lame attacks on a really good place. Now, kale has not been seen on most veg places I go, some non-veg places have kale, but they always drown it in garlic. A good vegan place has to have kale for you. I don't live in FtL but have been here a few times. And you and Paulie may disagree, that a nice place like this shouldn't exist. Perhaps you'd be happier eating the one eggplant dish vegans can have at a PF Changs and all the money went to slaughter more animals rather for animals. I don't know you or your wacked out trip. Have you ever given instructions or asked questions? Does the pizza have oil? Is it sauteed? Meanwhile, Florida in general is a forsaken wasteland of garbage and these folks have done a tremendous undertaking in representing. I can't speak to a day-to-day item to item, but when I was there it was great and even more inspired they kickdown ALL their money to animals.
vegini
Posted by vegini on Friday, February 22, 2013
The food at sublime is not healthy at all. It lacks flavor, it's over priced, the cake is death on a plate, etc. If you're the type of vegan who enjoys soy nuggets and tofurky then this place is for you. If you are looking for a healthy meal, do not go to sublime. That is 100% fact right there. It's the McDonalds of vegan places on So.Florida. Period.
vegini
Posted by vegini on Friday, February 22, 2013
ps. I have seen the kitchen at sublime and I saw a lot of cans. Cans compared to fresh, organic food makes me say it's like McDonalds. Thought I'd explain myself.
kindlizard
Posted by kindlizard on Friday, February 22, 2013
plenty of fresh items. this guy is obviously lying to defame a legit place. he has never been in the kitchen, places don't give tours, esp not to people like this.
vegini
Posted by vegini on Friday, February 22, 2013
Excuse me? Name calling because I have a valid opinion? Really. Can you show me the healthy stuff?

I've never ordered the processed meat alternatives, but my family has. I have had a taste of almost everything on the menu from ice cream to their soup to the sushi to their famous mock chicken dish. Oh, and they DO give kitchen tours to people like me. Actually.

In comparison to other veg freiendly places I have eaten, Sublime is EXTREMELY UNHEALTHY. Maybe my standards are high? But either way, It's MY opinion. Sorry for thinking out of the box a bit, but really?

They have like 2 salads to pick from and one is veg friendly Cesar. Their Portobella Stack is OK. I find the potato skins on top to be sooo oily. They took away their quinoa from the menu by the way. Who does that? You cannot order quinoa w your sushi anymore, so I hope you like WHITE RICE. Ohhh the health benefits. Let us not forget about their VEGGIE SHORTENING DEATH CAKES. Try some SOY ICE CREAM while you are at it. They call GREEN BEANS a veggie. They also took away their Mock Meat Loaf which was actually REAL food (verses soy nuggest & gardein). Should I mention the amount of sugar in their cocktails?

Sublime is great if you are not looking for healthy food and just want to spend a crap load of money on low quality food. The atmosphere is chill while the waiters can be inconsistent. It's totally up to you. I am not lying here. This is a very valid judgment.
kindlizard
Posted by kindlizard on Friday, February 22, 2013
Soy nuggets & gardein? What are you talking about? Have you been to Sublime? They have veggie food, made from veggies, and yes green beans are veggies too, moron. Check the menu, I dare you to tell me what is not vegan! This place may have issues, service can be slow because they are so packed at the one decent place in S FL, but the food is not an issue. You ought to check the menu before you spread misinformation. Anyone checking this out, check my 169 reviews compare to the 2 this person has left. They are not legit, and are only in it to bad mouth not only a very good cafe, but an all time altruistic, animal-friendly place. That alone is worth it, let alone the sometimes amazing food you get there. This person is full of __it; they were never in the kitchen, they don't offer tours of the back to haters.
jglackin
Posted by jglackin on Friday, February 22, 2013
Kindlizard, I don't believe that your attack on this person is fair. It could very well be their legitimate view of Sublime. Have you considered this? I have a friend that is a very well known vegan activist, author and speaker that feels this way about Sublime. There are plenty of vegans I know that would not like Sublime at all. They have a very strong belief that vegan food should be vegan as well as healthy and they would not like the oily, salty, fried, processed foods that dominate this menu. I have met the owner of Sublime on a couple of occasions. She is very nice, very passionate about her activism, and I admire her work, but that doesn't take away from the fact that this may be the only vegan restaurant in the world where you can't find kale on the menu, for instance. Sublime used to make great pizzas. Check the menu, the only options now are a sautéed mushroom (sauteed = oily) pizza or a Margherita pizza. In a place as nice as Sublime, with as nice a brick pizza oven as they have, this is the best they can do? Really? Sublime can easily be much better than what they are and I think people are very disappointed because they see the potential of what it could be. Why they don't take it to the next level with healthier and more wholesome food, is beyond me. It has a lot of people I know scratching their heads. In the mean time, I know a number of people that refuse to go there.
You must login to post a response

Login | Register (see member benefits)